Who is who? - Page 3

FlauntPessimism thumbnail
Screen Detective Participant Thumbnail ICC T20 CWC 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 9

Team Gargi

Originally posted by: jhalak7

Nope.

I read the entire original version of Mahabharata (poetry version the original one). She and her entire family was a victim. Vishma murdered her father in prison becoz they never wanted their daughter to marry a blind. Damaged Shakuni's leg in such a way that he became creeple forever. Shakuni made the goti of pasa from the bone of his dead father.Thus it never failed him. He took oath to destroy the entire family that day. He hated them forever. To save her brother Gandari had to marry Dhrtu. To prove herself "sati" she had to tie her eyes. This can't be an entertainment for a woman who is not blind to stay blind forever. Vishma and Karna were not good guys in original Mahabharata. They were cruel and selfish.

When she was pregnant her husband bashed her so much that she beat her womb and gave birth to a pile of meat. Vyas gave life to that meat. Dhritu wanted only 100son. Because this was the reason for him/Visma to marry Gandari. There was no love or honor in this union. She was like a prisoner or baby making machine for them.

Gandari wanted at least one daughter for herself but couldn't tell it to anybody. Only Vyas understood her secret desire. So you see Vyas was always kind and concerned about woman's feelings Thus it is he who made 101 pieces of meat. From which she had her daughter.

Neither her sons nor her husband was respectful to her. Sometimes they listened to her though. Not always. When she told Duryadhan to come to her complete naked he disobeyed her. This is why he couldn't be immortal. For our time this is not a big deal. But for that time mother's words were like the order from 'god'.Pandavas obeyed every single order their mother gave to them. Actually this was the final reason for the defeat of Kauravas. They never respected or listened to their woman...not even their mother.

Gandari was a kind woman in original book. She loved all equally including Draupadi. Never bashed or accused anyone except Krishna. As she thought it is Krishna who created fight in between all the 105 brothers.Or else she was a sweetheart.

I think you have read a poetry on Mahabharat's folk lores, none of the things you have mentioned are in Mahabharat. The come completely naked part to Duryodhan isnt even hinted in Mahabharat (by Vyasa). Gandhari was throughout with Dhritrashta, there was no time she could have reached out to Kurukshetra and make this naked demand to him.

Mahabharat actually mentions her father arranging her alliance with Dhritrashtra post which Shakuni came to formalize it. His brothers are mentioned in the final war, there is absolutely no reference of Shakuni being limp in entire Mahabharat. Goti of Dhritrashtra is no where at all.

I had made a video on common myths of Mahabharat check it if you feel like

Common Myths of Mahabharata - YouTube

Also I do have the link for pdf of Mahabharat CE English translation, let me know if you want (its around 5000 pages)

Screen Detective Participant Thumbnail ICC T20 CWC 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 9

Team Gargi

Also do you in Mahabharat, Shakuni always gave good advice to Duryodhan, he actually asked Dury to keep friendly relations with Pandavas and no envy them

Later after Gosala Yatra, he even asked Duryodhan to return the kingdom of Yudhishthir and make peace with them..

Yudhisthir too didnt listen to his wife, when she came asking for safety from Keechak, he sent her away stating dont put an act. Didnt punish Jaidrath despite Draupadi asking for it

Also there is one instance when Gandhari opens her patti after the war, and glances to the foot of Yudhisthir which caused the nails of his toe getting burnt

Originally posted by: FlauntPessimism

Also do you in Mahabharat, Shakuni always gave good advice to Duryodhan, he actually asked Dury to keep friendly relations with Pandavas and no envy them

Later after Gosala Yatra, he even asked Duryodhan to return the kingdom of Yudhishthir and make peace with them..

Yudhisthir too didnt listen to his wife, when she came asking for safety from Keechak, he sent her away stating dont put an act. Didnt punish Jaidrath despite Draupadi asking for it

Also there is one instance when Gandhari opens her patti after the war, and glances to the foot of Yudhisthir which caused the nails of his toe getting burnt

I didn't know any of this except for the 3rd point....

Also is this the OG mahabarat english version you were talking about?

Link;

http://www.sacred-texts.com/hin/maha/

Team Gargi

Originally posted by: Pete15rogmourey

I didn't know any of this except for the 3rd point....

Also is this the OG mahabarat english version you were talking about?

Link;

http://www.sacred-texts.com/hin/maha/

This is the Kolkkata recession translated by Kisari Mohan Ganguli, I use it for quick reference.

But actually, Bhandarkar Oriental Research Institue did a research to find out which could the interpolated verses. They collated manuscripts from all corners of India (even Indonasia) checked on which are less commonly featuring verses and eventually came up with Critical Edition of Mahabharat. This entire exercise took over 48 years (1917-1966). They reduced from 2 lakh verses in some recession to 90 thousand verses using these methods, thats considered pretty close to original Vyasa's works (although we never would know what is absolutely correct)

I was referring to translation of this CE. I have a pdf link if someone wants to actually read in convenience

Also please subscribe to my Youtube channel :P

This is the Kolkkata recession translated by Kisari Mohan Ganguli, I use it for quick reference.

But actually, Bhandarkar Oriental Research Institue did a research to find out which could the interpolated verses. They collated manuscripts from all corners of India (even Indonasia) checked on which are less commonly featuring verses and eventually came up with Critical Edition of Mahabharat. This entire exercise took over 48 years (1917-1966). They reduced from 2 lakh verses in some recession to 90 thousand verses using these methods, thats considered pretty close to original Vyasa's works (although we never would know what is absolutely correct)

I was referring to translation of this CE. I have a pdf link if someone wants to actually read in convenience

Also please subscribe to my Youtube channel :P

Pls send me the pdf link...I've already subscribed to your channel...

Edited by Pete15rogmourey - 2 years ago

Team Gargi

Pls send me the pdf link...I've already subscribed to your channel...

Thankyou Bhai

Sent you the link. Be sure about multiple heartbreak while reading

Thankyou Bhai

Sent you the link. Be sure about multiple heartbreak while reading

Heartbreaks? Anyway 5000 pages means it'll take forever...

Team Gargi

Heartbreaks? Anyway 5000 pages means it'll take forever...

Yes while reading for the first time it seemed to me like i knew the entire epic wrong

Bheeshm was such a misogynistic guy. He wouldn't be ever the same for me

jhalak7 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

I think you have read a poetry on Mahabharat's folk lores, none of the things you have mentioned are in Mahabharat. The come completely naked part to Duryodhan isnt even hinted in Mahabharat (by Vyasa). Gandhari was throughout with Dhritrashta, there was no time she could have reached out to Kurukshetra and make this naked demand to him.

Mahabharat actually mentions her father arranging her alliance with Dhritrashtra post which Shakuni came to formalize it. His brothers are mentioned in the final war, there is absolutely no reference of Shakuni being limp in entire Mahabharat. Goti of Dhritrashtra is no where at all.

I had made a video on common myths of Mahabharat check it if you feel like

Common Myths of Mahabharata - YouTube

Also I do have the link for pdf of Mahabharat CE English translation, let me know if you want (its around 5000 pages)

Jee nehi. I read 1333 pg long epic by Kaasiraam Das. Not pdf nor english. Sanskrit version epic. May be you read the pdf child version where adult complecations are not included.

Kaasiram das is the best and most trusted one. I've collected that old book from the temple's library. Not from online etc.

Because Gandari's abusive marriage and tortured life was the core reason of Shakuni's outburst.

Edited by jhalak7 - 2 years ago

Team Gargi

Originally posted by: jhalak7

Jee nehi. I read 1333 pg long epic. May be you read the child version.

So 5000 page is the child version of 5000 pager text? Ok if you want to believe that

As I said Shakuni had never an outburst

About adult complications its filled with it

Mahabharata is divided into 18 Parvas so now that you have read can you tell which Parva does Bheeshma arrests Gandhari's father and what was his name

Edited by FlauntPessimism - 2 years ago