Posted: 17 years ago

I read recently on one of music forums that the singer of yester years Shamshad Begum (also known as Ragini) passed away few days back (on 27th February) in Lahore. She was 85. I checked everywhere but found only one news item in a Pakistani newspaper --

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C02%5C28 %5Cstory_28-2-2007_pg7_7

The news was not found anywhere in Indian media (at least google uncle did not point me to any)

I was shocked as I had read about her passing away long back in late 90s.Then I came across some sites where she was reported to have left this world on 10th August 1998 in Bombay reporting her age to be over 100 years.

http://www.dhool.com/sotd2/691.html

(scroll to the middle of the page)

http://www.tribuneindia.com/1998/98aug15/head3.htm

(scroll to the end)

I had even seen the cover of a CD released few years back in the name of Shraddhanjali to Shamshad Begum

Wikipedia says that she passed away on 27th February 2007and the news of her departing this world earlier was not correct.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shamshad_Begum

It is sad that no Indian newspaper reported this news of the melody queen of 40s and 50s who sung so many popular songs in those days -- some with Lata, Asha and Geeta Dutt.

Edited by *salil* - 17 years ago
Salil ji,

This Shamshad Begum (Ragini) was an actress, Nek Parveen being one of the films she acted in. The other two Shamshad Begum's (in the Hindi Film Industry) that we know of Shamshad Begum the singer and Shamshad Begum urf Chamiya.
I THINK we had a discussion on this a long time ago here on IF and there might be a thread archived somewhere...

Juggy Bhai -- read here --

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shamshad_Begum

The lady described here is our Shamshad Begum -- the singer -- Leke pehla pehla pyar... kajara mohabbat wala ..

The article ends with ---

She finally died (this time for real) on Feb 27 2007. She died in a hospital in Lahore, Pakistan. Last few months of her life she lived alone in the Ferdous market, Gulberg, Model coloney area of Lahore. Earlier her son died in Newyork from cancer. Her only daughter lives in Karachi with her family. Shamshad begum (a.k.a ragni) prefered herself to pass the last days of her life alone, instead of living with her daughter in Karachi, or with grandson in Newyork.

-------------------------

So what is correct?

Looks like Shamshaad Begum may have a clone in Pakistan who may have sung some of her songs..Shamshaad Begum we know of lives in Bombay and is Grandmother of Saira Bano per this article.She should make a news in India as she is mother in law of Dilip Kumar..

I am not sure How old this article is but hopefully it can revive her status from dead to alive.

http://www.downmelodylane.com/shamshad.html

Shamshad Begum, the nasal voiced legendary classical and playback singer of yesteryears was born in Amritsar. Making her debut on radio in Lahore in 1937, the Amritsar-born singer captivated the hearts of listeners with the enchanting depth of her voice. The then AIR Lahore helped her in entering the world of movies as frequent broadcasting of her songs induced music directors to use her voice for film songs. Shamshad Begum also recorded 'naats' and devotional songs for a couple of gramophone recording companies.

Lahore-based composer Ghulam Haider used her voice skillfully in some of his earlier films like: Khazanchi (1941) and Khandan (1942). When he shifted to Bombay in 1944, Shamshad Begum went with him as a member of his team. In 1944, when Mehboob Khan launched his historical venture 'Humayun'. Master Ghulam Haider used Shamshad Begum's voice in the film. The song 'Naina Bhar Aaye Neer..' captured the imagination on the country. That was the time when Amirbai Karnataki was considered number one playback singer in Bombay. With the introduction of Shamshad Begum in the film world in Bombay, contemporary composers almost fell over each other in booking her for the recording of their songs leading to an extremely prolific career till the mid to late 1950s. Music directors like C. Ramchandra, S. D. Burman and Naushad used her as their prime female vocalist in the early part of their careers.

Shamshad Begum is the mother of the silver screen heart-throb of the black-and-white era Naseem Bano and grandmother of heroine Saira Bano. Most of her songs were memorable hits. Shamshad created sensation with her songs in her very first film Khazanchi, the song was that gained most popularity was 'Ek Kali Nazon Se Pali..'. After that she gave countless hit songs like: 'Duniya Me Ghareebon Ko Aaram Nahi Milta..' (Zamindaar), 'Armanon Ki Basti Me Hum Aag Laga Baithe.' (Shirin Farhad), 'Dil Thandi Hawa Me..' (Shama), 'Mere Piya Gaye Rangoon..' (Patanga), 'Milte Hi Aankhen..' (Babul), 'Saiyyan Dil Me Aana Re..' (Bahaar), 'Boojh Mera Kya Naam Re..' (C.I.D), 'Kabhi Aar Kabhi Paar..' (Aar Paar), 'Maine Dekhi Jag Ki Reet..' (Sunehre Din), 'Kahin Pe Nigahen Kahin Pe Nishana..' (C.I.D), 'Pee Ke Ghar Aaj..' (Mother India), etc. Even the one rendered in 1960s for Kismat, after her retirement: 'Kajra Mohabbat Wala Ankhiyon Mein Aisa Dala..' composed by O.P. Naiyyar, proved a superhit. Her duet with Kishore Kumar, 'Meri Neendon Mein Tum..' from Naya Andaz, similarly, remains almost a touchstone of melodious romance.

We can judge the popularity of her songs by the number of remixed songs which are storming the music market. 70 per cent of these remixes have the songs of Shamshad. And by the popularity of these remixes one can easily judge her popularity in 'her' days. Many yesteryear singers and composers are against this remixing of the old songs but Shamshad feels that there is no harm if the younger generation is enjoying the old songs in their new 'avtaar'.

Today Shamshad Begum is totally out of the media and films but she enjoys the memory of the golden past even today. She listens to the old melodies of yesterdays and lives peacefully in Bombay.

Edited by Sur_Sangam - 17 years ago

Originally posted by juggyE

Salil ji,

This Shamshad Begum (Ragini) was an actress, Nek Parveen being one of the films she acted in. The other two Shamshad Begum's (in the Hindi Film Industry) that we know of Shamshad Begum the singer and Shamshad Begum urf Chamiya.
I THINK we had a discussion on this a long time ago here on IF and there might be a thread archived somewhere...

yes we had discussion on this 😆😆 ..Let me see if i can bring that thread in front...

Edited by *dolly* - 17 years ago
this is the thread.. 
Unforgettable Shamshad Begum
Edited by *dolly* - 17 years ago
Amit---

The information above again is incorrect -- just like the wikipedia one. What I gather now is

1. Shamshad Begum #1 a.k.a Chhamiya -- film actress (not a singer) -- Mother of Naseem Bano, gradmother of Saira Bano -- passed away on 10th August 1998 in Bombay

2. Shamshad Begum #2 a.k.a Ragini -- another film actress who shifted based to Pakistan. Acted in Shah Jahan, Naila and Anarkali -- passed away on 27th Feb 2007 in Lahore

3. Shamshad Begum #3 -- The singer (leke pehela pehela pyar..).. lives in Bombay with her daughter. Media confused #1 with her and reported that she (the singer) passed away in 1998 but after a whole lot of search someone found her to be living happily in Bombay with her daughter and even met her.
Originally posted by Sur_Sangam

Looks like Shamshaad Begum may have a clone in Pakistan who may have sung some of her songs..Shamshaad Begum we know of lives in Bombay and is Grandmother of Saira Bano per this article.She should make a news in India as she is mother in law of Dilip Kumar..

I am not sure How old this article is but hopefully it can revive her status from dead to alive.

http://www.downmelodylane.com/shamshad.html

Shamshad Begum, the nasal voiced legendary classical and playback singer of yesteryears was born in Amritsar. Making her debut on radio in Lahore in 1937, the Amritsar-born singer captivated the hearts of listeners with the enchanting depth of her voice. The then AIR Lahore helped her in entering the world of movies as frequent broadcasting of her songs induced music directors to use her voice for film songs. Shamshad Begum also recorded 'naats' and devotional songs for a couple of gramophone recording companies.

Lahore-based composer Ghulam Haider used her voice skillfully in some of his earlier films like: Khazanchi (1941) and Khandan (1942). When he shifted to Bombay in 1944, Shamshad Begum went with him as a member of his team. In 1944, when Mehboob Khan launched his historical venture 'Humayun'. Master Ghulam Haider used Shamshad Begum's voice in the film. The song 'Naina Bhar Aaye Neer..' captured the imagination on the country. That was the time when Amirbai Karnataki was considered number one playback singer in Bombay. With the introduction of Shamshad Begum in the film world in Bombay, contemporary composers almost fell over each other in booking her for the recording of their songs leading to an extremely prolific career till the mid to late 1950s. Music directors like C. Ramchandra, S. D. Burman and Naushad used her as their prime female vocalist in the early part of their careers.

Shamshad Begum is the mother of the silver screen heart-throb of the black-and-white era Naseem Bano and grandmother of heroine Saira Bano. Most of her songs were memorable hits. Shamshad created sensation with her songs in her very first film Khazanchi, the song was that gained most popularity was 'Ek Kali Nazon Se Pali..'. After that she gave countless hit songs like: 'Duniya Me Ghareebon Ko Aaram Nahi Milta..' (Zamindaar), 'Armanon Ki Basti Me Hum Aag Laga Baithe.' (Shirin Farhad), 'Dil Thandi Hawa Me..' (Shama), 'Mere Piya Gaye Rangoon..' (Patanga), 'Milte Hi Aankhen..' (Babul), 'Saiyyan Dil Me Aana Re..' (Bahaar), 'Boojh Mera Kya Naam Re..' (C.I.D), 'Kabhi Aar Kabhi Paar..' (Aar Paar), 'Maine Dekhi Jag Ki Reet..' (Sunehre Din), 'Kahin Pe Nigahen Kahin Pe Nishana..' (C.I.D), 'Pee Ke Ghar Aaj..' (Mother India), etc. Even the one rendered in 1960s for Kismat, after her retirement: 'Kajra Mohabbat Wala Ankhiyon Mein Aisa Dala..' composed by O.P. Naiyyar, proved a superhit. Her duet with Kishore Kumar, 'Meri Neendon Mein Tum..' from Naya Andaz, similarly, remains almost a touchstone of melodious romance.

We can judge the popularity of her songs by the number of remixed songs which are storming the music market. 70 per cent of these remixes have the songs of Shamshad. And by the popularity of these remixes one can easily judge her popularity in 'her' days. Many yesteryear singers and composers are against this remixing of the old songs but Shamshad feels that there is no harm if the younger generation is enjoying the old songs in their new 'avtaar'.

Today Shamshad Begum is totally out of the media and films but she enjoys the memory of the golden past even today. She listens to the old melodies of yesterdays and lives peacefully in Bombay.

Thank you for posting this. When I read the first article I was wondering if there was something in my coffee. One clarification though I am pretty sure this Shamshad Begum, Yusuf Khan's badi Saas passed away two years ago. Wikipedia has two biographies intertwined and looks like Downmelodylane's web page was constructed while Shamshad Begum was still alive a few years back.

http://www.indianmelody.com/shamshadarticle1.htm

Shamshad Begum, The Legendary Singer
(Source: India Post S Asia Bureau, August 98)

Shamshad Begum, the nasal voiced legendary classical and playback singer of yesteryears died in Mumbai on August 10, 1998. She was nearly a 100 years old. Shamshad Begum was the mother of the silver screen heart-throb of the black-and-white era Naseem Bano and grandmother of heroine Saira Bano (wife of Dilip Kumar).

Most of her songs were memorable hits. Even the one rendered in 1960s for Kismat, after her retirement: "Kajra mohabbatwala ankhiyon mein aisa dala" composed by O.P. Nayyar, proved a superhit. Her duet with Kishore Kumar, "Meri neendon main tum, meri khwabon mein tum" from Naya Andaz (composed by Naushad), similarly, remains almost a touchstone of melodious romance.

Shamshad—reputed to be a stunningly beautiful woman in her youth - performed live, both on stage and the All India Radio (AIR) through her musical group The Crown Imperial Theatrical Company of Performing Arts, set up in Delhi. Her crystal clear voice caught the attention of sarang maestro Ustad Hussain Baksh-wale Saheb, who took her as his disciple.

Since Mumbai had already been acknowledged as the country's film capital, Shamshad went there in the late 1930s to try her fortune.

She was immediately grabbed by master music directors like Naushad Ali, Ram Ganguly, S D Burman, O P Nayyar and Khemchand Prakash. Throughout her film singing career, she remained a particular favorite with Naushad and Nayyar who used her voice not only to its fullest range but to the maximum extent possible. Shamshad became a national rage between the 1940s and mid-1960s rendering songs in her nasal voice - which helped her carve her independent - and till date unchallenged - niche in the world of music.

She became a rage with songs like O, Lagi Lagi (Aaan) Dhadkar Mera Dil (Babul), Teri Mehfil Main Kismat Azma kar Hum Bhi Dekhange (Mughal-E-Azam), Chhau Main Rakha Virana (Deedar), Holi Aayi Re Kanhai (Mother India) - all hits for which music was directed by Naushad.

Similarly, she gave superhits for Nayyar like Kabhi Aar, Kabhi Paar (Aar Paar), Poochh Mera Kya Naam Re, Nadi Kinare Gaon Re (CID). Among other notable numbers she rendered were Saiyan Dilmain Aana Re, Aake Chhup Na Jana Re (Bahaar - S D Burman), Ai Dil Na Mujhe Yaad Dila (Saawan Aaya - Khemchand Prakash) and Kaahe Koyal Shor Machaye (Aaag - Ram Ganguly).

OK. One more time ---

1. Shamshad Begum -- the singer of 'kajra mohbbat wala' and 'leke pehela pehela pyar' is NOT the mother of Naseem Bano or grandmother of Saira Bano. That Shamshad Begum (Saira's grandmom) is a different person.

2. Shamshad, the singer, DID NOT DIE in 1998 but, Shamshad, the grandmother of Saira Bano did.

3. Media has reported incorrect info about Shamshad's (the singer) death, confusing the other(Saira's grandmom) to be the singer Shamshad.

Edited by *salil* - 17 years ago