adventurousman thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Deviant_Pixel

Just watched the movie and typing on mobile . Ranbir was outstanding, no two ways about it as was Vicky. Hirani is great at portraying male bonding without a doubt be it friendship or father son. Rest of the cast was good too but Paresh, Ranbir and Vicky were the foundation of the movie.

I really enjoyed the entire movie! I do wish they had explored his personal love life more and not made the entire second half only about the case and about the media being bad. That is just one tiny criticism in a otherwise good movie.

Now addressing glorification. Frankly I have always believed that while Sanjay was undoubtedly wrong in bearing arms, he is a scapegoat for our governments inability to convict the actual terrorists. That is ofcourse my point of view and not fact. He has also done his time so do people on this forum not want to give any person convicted of a crime, time of day? I guess reformation is not everyone's cup of tea.

I guess I do not see why a movie can not be made on him or anyone else who is perceived as evil. It is done in every movie industry worldwide and this hue and cry about glorification baffles me. It is a movie at the end of the day, just a movie, assess it as just that.

That's IF for you. Janta is with him. Anyways kuch toh log kahenge

Look what people are saying
[
[YOUTUBE]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xA--S1BtyqQ[/YOUTUBE]
Edited by adventurousman - 7 years ago
cougarTown thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail 10th Anniversary Thumbnail + 6
Where to start man..lets just say..it was a MASTERPIECE!!
and before i start; let me clarify that everything i write is solely wrt the movie i.e the direction acting etc, it has nothing to do with whether they depicted the real sanjay dutt or white washed him etc etc..

where to start man

Hirani is a brilliant director..the way he executed the entire movie..not a single dull moment

and of course brilliant casting..not only the lead actor but entire cast and it shows what an amazing set of actors all ensemble'd together can do

ranbir is so so amazing..esp his breakdown scenes..what an actor man..how does he do it and that too so effortlessly..this was not an easy role at all but he owned sanju

vicky kaushal..is this the same guy in raazi? no..i cannot believe that..he catches his characters and literally becomes them..he had a great role..and he owns it big time

paresh rawal..just wow..i mean this guy was so good that i am out of words..he made me smile..he made me cry..he was brilliant

boman irani..amazing as always

jim was brilliant too..with what ease he performs man

manisha koirala..what grace..what acting! even though she had minimal dialogues. her eyes did the talking,,they displayed the pain..amazing!

sonam ditto! she acted so well in this..her breakdown scene while asking for mangalsutra..how much has she grown as an actor

anushka was natural and very effortless like she always is

diya (though the weakest actor and also having the weakest role) is okay okay

kar har maiden fateh touched my soul..beautiful song and beautifully picturized

5/5 stars

this movie will fateh har maiden

Edited by cougarTown - 7 years ago
1129726 thumbnail

Originally posted by: BeingTigress

Watching on Sunday .

Arent the reviews mixed?

I am glad its becoming a big opener.

What is the update 😆
Shaitan-Haiwan thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 13th Anniversary Thumbnail + 8
Wow... for a movie that's supposed to be a rage the topic is only at 35 pages? Lol wow.
priya185 thumbnail

Comedy Crew

my review
nobody could be Sanju other than Ranbir he really got into the skin of the character
loved all the songs har har mehdan fateh except the last one it was a bit extra
vicky was amazing quite a quirky and funny character mispronouncing words like snake in hole instead of snack in hall but his character kamlu was a true friend spent his car money to buy a plane ticket to help sanju. their first scene is funny. sanjay misunderstands him as a thief in nargis hosp room and he grabs and hurts his balls which kamlu calls eggs. then they go to stripping club it was so funn sanju takes drugs and kamlusaves him pretending sanju has cancer and its his last wish then the run away was so funny couldnt stop laughing. the friends light hearted moments are worth watching

contains spoilers
paresh was amazing as sunil dutt he portrayed all the nuances of the character so well I loved the father son bond. he really put in so much effort and struggled during sanju's lowest phases. the ebst scenes of paresh ranbir are the munna bhai scenes Im sure ost people will love it also the scene where sunil is proud sanju has recovered fro drugs he beats up jim character for swapping glucose for drugs. oot emotonal in the scene where sanju read his speech to his dad in his dream as he did not read it in anger as he was sent off from the hall where his dad was getting felicitated. I loved the scene on the premiere day they kept a seat in the middle for late nargis and sunil consoling a heavily drug addicted sanju, sanju was getting hallucinations and couldnt tell he was real or not.The strength of his dad is really commendable getting sanju out of drugs, advice on dealing with the don by singing a song and being fearless he also narrated his own story of a muslim don not accepting his marriage to nargis and how he confronted him saying either shoot me or hug me as I love nargis.

both kamlu and sunil were sanjay's backbones in his worst times.I also loved all sanjay scenes with manisha she was a delight esp the song har har mehdan fateh was touching,her scene where she lies about her hollywood film as she is going to new york for a long period of time for treatment, all her scenes in hosp.
dia was fabulous best from all the women sonams acting was average. I wish more was told about manyata-sanjay love story. karishma's role was easily forgettable. anushkas role is similar to her pk role qing sanju and previously she qs pk in jail

Overall, watch if you want to see one of ranbir's best work it is a really meaty role, if you love hirani this film is an entertainer and worth at least 1 watch for the brilliance of how the relationships are protrayed esp with sanjays parents and his friend kamlesh. I do expect autobiographical films to whitewash te lead however I am not sure what opposing views are exactly. However, I still think this film is well made and worth a watch
Edited by -Priya- - 7 years ago
ssuuvvii thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Ignore whitewashing...Watch it as any other movie ..It's excellent 🥳
cool-boy_018 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
My review:

Great entertaining movie. It got comedy, drama, emotions. The dad-son and friend-friend relationships have portrayed really well in the movie. Ranbir, Vicky and Paresh have done a great job. If you watch the movie like any other movie non ficiton movie, you ll love. it.

The following section containts minor spoilers:
Now, factually, the movie doesn't bring anything new. Almost the whole story is told from Sanjay's point of view (Sanjay narrates his version to Anushka in the movie). We don't get any other point of view. And raju doesn't investigate the facts at all, he only tells sanjay's version with no evidences to support his claims. And it's hard to believe sanjay's version because he doesn't take responsability for any of his actions in the movie. He blames his action either on someone else or on the circumstances. Also, sanjay is portrayed as very innocent, powerless and easily manipulated the whole movie. That's also hard to believe. He is the son of 2 known actors, he is rich, he's got many friends in the industry. How can he be so naive, powerless?

If you are looking to learn more about sanjay's actual life, you won't like this movie. If you re looking for a entertaining movie like other raju movies, you will love it.

8/10
Edited by cool-boy_018 - 7 years ago
rogerrocks thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
When people say they dislike the glorification, it's because the film blatantly makes Sanjay a victim of external factors and circumstances. Almost every mistake he does is because he is either misguided or depressed or pressurised or something he did out of good intention but backfired. I find that really hard to believe because we have read and seen stuff over the years which is quite contrary to what the film tries to show and I think it's convenient to pass off everything as yellow journalism. By this logic, we could justify every single person out there because everyone has their own perspective and reasons to do whatever they are doing. This to me was my biggest problem with the film. It doesn't take away anything from the film as a piece of fiction though. It's emotional, funny, entertaining and has steller performances. That in fact shows how skilled Hirani is as a film maker cos he somehow manages to make a coherent entertaining film despite the subject and the drawbacks. Ditto with RK. I'd still rate Rockstar and Barfi over this in terms of his performance but he is absolutely brilliant here in every single frame.
rogerrocks thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Also I was extremely sceptical about Ranbir pulling off the young Sanju. The wigs looked really weird and the promotional materials that were released didn't exactly help. But in the actual film, he has done extremely well. Those are in fact some of the most entertaining parts of the film. Ranbir and Vicky should do a full fledged film focussed on them because they have so much chemistry and are a riot together. Hirani as always does a great job with male bonding and friendship 😆
briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
@rogerrocks...🤗glad you enjoyed.
i know already i will too...koi shaq?😉

anyways one burning question...ruby ruby song in the movie or not?