Why so many Actors/Actresses going DIGITAL when the Trend is FLOP here

Neetu_Singh112 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
every single day there is news of an actor TV or bollywood making debuts on Digital medium. few days back it was even reported that SRK shall be making a guest appearance in a web series. But what I wanna ask why is the craze of going digital when the trend is itself a DUD In the country. cant believe platforms like Amazon, hotstar, netflix r putting crores of money on digital series where actually the fact that noone really remembers watching them, OK may be for some but if you go in public and ask which web series they watched last, they probably gonna scratch their heads.
internet has still a long way to go here. TV still dominates rural area which has more viewership than urban. now for urban audiences alone, they r putting up so many money this doesn't really make sense. also web series are just now advertisements. they come and go. no1 takes about their failures or successes..like a TV show meant for TRP's and movie meant for BOX Office collections..but web series count what??? views? but just even the best web series don't get billion views because they r not hugely promoted..

so what's the idea of all this...with every actor showing some sign of interest to go digital. what does it possibly signifies 😕

Mannikarnikaa thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Why the actors or the actresses should worry about the trend when they r paying huge bucks to star in the web series...tell me
What matters is money at the end.
TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
Primarily because digital medium has deep pockets. So we have Jio, Amazon and Netflix willing to invest huge amounts. TV is definitely going to shift to a much larger extent it is today as there is very less difference between watching a show on mobile vs watching on TV. Thats why most channels also have strong digital platforms already setup.
As far as films are concerned BW drove away big money like Disney by scamming the investors. So many have to now look at digital medium for investments. But if BW becomes more professional and delivers great looking cinema at fair price it can still survive. Because I also feel that soon digital medium investors will also want to see the content deliver. So either whatever films and shows they have been buying have to deliver or else they will leave the country and move on.
Edited by TheRager - 7 years ago
RheaSingh thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Net world is catching up, the biggest example here u would know that Sony Channel's most TV shows bomb because ppl watch them online I even remember a show called GEET which was flop on TRp's but was a hit online
secondly Digital is giving many jobless bollywood actors like vivek oberoi huma qureshi and others a lot of work so why they don't wanna do it. yes its in the beginning stages but it will catch up. i'm sure the investors are not fools to put so much money without a thought
Deviant_Pixel thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
Digital is big but still emphasis is on tv ratings. In the US they have Neilsen ratings that drive network shows like ABC/NBC etc., go down on ratings you get shelved. But that trend will soon change, people are looking for easy,quality content and uncensored shows. HBO and Netflix now command top rated shows, that trend will move to India soon.
For e.g. many of my friends don't watch tv shows that aren't on Netflix because its THAT convenient. India is late to catch up to these trends but it will surely in the coming years. That's a while away though, no doubt TV shows still rule big right now.
Neetu_Singh112 thumbnail

Originally posted by: bafflingtulip

Digital is big but still emphasis is on tv ratings. In the US they have Neilsen ratings that drive network shows like ABC/NBC etc., go down on ratings you get shelved. But that trend will soon change, people are looking for easy,quality content and uncensored shows. HBO and Netflix now command top rated shows, that trend will move to India soon.

For e.g. many of my friends don't watch tv shows that aren't on Netflix because its THAT convenient. India is late to catch up to these trends but it will surely in the coming years. That's a while away though, no doubt TV shows still rule big right now.

US viewership is different, they watch and accept all kind of genres..they watch even animation films which are regarded as just cartoons here and only watched by kids. so there viewership on digital is definitely not a surprise, there are a lot of Independent companies who are relied on short films and web series for productivity and that's amazing

but that's not the case in India. clearly the only problem with us we try to ape everything that goes into West. which is why now Netflix is taking its shape here but its not a success. I don't think how much time it shall take because I think instead going digital they can focus on low budgeted movies n TV shows which have wider reach. Digital ain't going to catch up soon..for atleast 7-8 years I don't think so
cougarTown thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail 10th Anniversary Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: RheaSingh

Net world is catching up, the biggest example here u would know that Sony Channel's most TV shows bomb because ppl watch them online I even remember a show called GEET which was flop on TRp's but was a hit online

secondly Digital is giving many jobless bollywood actors like vivek oberoi huma qureshi and others a lot of work so why they don't wanna do it. yes its in the beginning stages but it will catch up. i'm sure the investors are not fools to put so much money without a thought

but they all make money from Ads on online..based on viewership

and that is how it goes now

trps is so early 2000s

people don't sit infront of tv to catch their shows anymore..that died in 2012ish itself

now everything is online..
Deviant_Pixel thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Neetu_Singh112

US viewership is different, they watch and accept all kind of genres..they watch even animation films which are regarded as just cartoons here and only watched by kids. so there viewership on digital is definitely not a surprise, there are a lot of Independent companies who are relied on short films and web series for productivity and that's amazing

but that's not the case in India. clearly the only problem with us we try to ape everything that goes into West. which is why now Netflix is taking its shape here but its not a success. I don't think how much time it shall take because I think instead going digital they can focus on low budgeted movies n TV shows which have wider reach. Digital ain't going to catch up soon..for atleast 7-8 years I don't think so

True - yeah for sure digital has not taken off as of yet and not for the next few years. TV viewership is strong and loyal. Also Digital viewership in that sense if we talk about Amazon, Netflix is not of the masses. Not everyone will want to pay a subscription fees to watch TV shows especially lets be honest we don't know how good these are. They're no game of thrones or stranger things.

But the point of low budget movies - even Netflix hasn't managed to do it well in the West and even we won't. Indian audience like you said is old school. I think it is good they're trying digital but the sheer volume is quite shocking. ALT Balaji must have considered some research before doing this, lets see the numbers. As of now buzz is low.
Anony-mouse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Digital platforms don't even pretend to cater to rural audiences just like mainstream TV channels don't cater to urban viewers anymore.
Target for Netflix/Amazon etc are urban viewers- who while smaller in number have a much higher ability to pay/disposable income. Today these platforms dont have an advertisements- but rest assured those are coming :)

I for one have a defunct Tata Sky connection but instead I have a subscription to Netflix/Amazon etc.
Neetu_Singh112 thumbnail
oh yeah I forgot about the subscription part...
you have to pay membership fees to Amazon/Netflix doesn't that go against them...

atleast Hotstar is offering some free content...what's surprising that many mediums have come up this while... Sony LIV, Voot, Viu, Arre, Alt Balaji plenty of them..