shaan and kk are not that much popular i think
paklover thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
good to see my post growing but very gradually
709927 thumbnail

Originally posted by: iambest

rahat is a different thing he is a qawal he needs to be in leauge of all fateh ali khan type singers in playback singing he dont deserve a chance he isnt made for it in duets he sang with sonu nigam ...sonu nigam out shined him with all his expressive and expressions in singing . their is a difference between a authentic playback singer who actually emote feelings and a qawal who mostly do alaaps or hi scale singing... rahat dont suite to any actor face though

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mX8T9RyxkhQ[/YOUTUBE]

Thanks for sharing the song -- had never heard it before. :)

I've heard both of them live and IMO there is simply no live performer like Rahat - his talent is on another level. Even in the duet you shared, no doubt Sonu sounds sweet and very nice, but his voice lacks the depth of Rahat. They both handle emotions well, albeit differently. Whether one does or doesn't do playback doesn't connect to whether or not they can be expressive in a song. Regarding "playback", singers like Sonu, Udit, Kumar, etc. definitely work better as playback for heros but that's not what I look at when assessing singers. Arijit's voice in fact doesn't match up to many heros i.e. SRK - yet he gets to sing for them.
709927 thumbnail

Originally posted by: paklover

good to see my post growing but very gradually

Nice post! Great to see posts on music!
iambest thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: sinisterstorms

Thanks for sharing the song -- had never heard it before. :)

I've heard both of them live and IMO there is simply no live performer like Rahat - his talent is on another level. Even in the duet you shared, no doubt Sonu sounds sweet and very nice, but his voice lacks the depth of Rahat. They both handle emotions well, albeit differently. Whether one does or doesn't do playback doesn't connect to whether or not they can be expressive in a song. Regarding "playback", singers like Sonu, Udit, Kumar, etc. definitely work better as playback for heros but that's not what I look at when assessing singers. Arijit's voice in fact doesn't match up to many heros i.e. SRK - yet he gets to sing for them.

i agree with most of the part but differ with the live performer thing ..best live performer in india pakistan has to be sonu nigam alone ...because live performance isnt something about how great u sing its about the connection with the audience and i havent seen any one else getting so much invloved with audience as sonu does . rahat is amazing in his zone which is a limited zone of Qawali genre no one can sing better qawali;s than him ...even though i belong to pakistan i dont rate rahat as a best pakistani singer best here is sajad ali but no one knows him sadly because he havent been to bollywood . we can agree to disagree on opinions but without thinking i am biased to sonu 😊 u should see the connection he made to audience
[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZqSh_r3dZQk[/YOUTUBE]

and for depth u must see he is Live and i repeat no one else could have given this emotions and deepness in a live performance than him

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDImF2UCNmw[/YOUTUBE]

n

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBPl7G3gSG4[/YOUTUBE]

and this energy when he sing on stage the energy is on some other level

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTRpoHiZg94[/YOUTUBE]
Edited by iambest - 7 years ago
709927 thumbnail

i agree with most of the part but differ with the live performer thing ..best live performer in india pakistan has to be sonu nigam alone ...because live performance isnt something about how great u sing its about the connection with the audience and i havent seen any one else getting so much invloved with audience as sonu does . rahat is amazing in his zone which is a limited zone of Qawali genre no one can sing better qawali;s than him ...even though i belong to pakistan i dont rate rahat as a best pakistani singer best here is sajad ali but no one knows him sadly because he havent been to bollywood . we can agree to disagree on opinions but without thinking i am biased to sonu 😊 u should see the connection he made to audience

and for depth u must see he is Live and i repeat no one else could have given this emotions and deepness in a live performance than him

Yeah, I know you like Sonu! I do too. It's great to share opinions and I agree with you too - it's just about how we are looking at it. I tend to look specifically at power, range, and level of singing whereas you are looking at the entire package and the way the performer connects with the audience. There is no doubt at all that Sonu connects with the audience in an incredible way and gets them involved far more than Rahat. But then for the kind of singing Rahat does, I am also stunned by his performances and how he can sing with such power on the song's original scale for several hours at a stretch. In comparison, Arijit always tones down his songs or turns them into "rock versions" and often doesn't even hit the notes that were in the studio version, but his stylistic handle and versatility makes him coveted.
iambest thumbnail

Yeah, I know you like Sonu! I do too. It's great to share opinions and I agree with you too - it's just about how we are looking at it. I tend to look specifically at power, range, and level of singing whereas you are looking at the entire package and the way the performer connects with the audience. There is no doubt at all that Sonu connects with the audience in an incredible way and gets them involved far more than Rahat. But then for the kind of singing Rahat does, I am also stunned by his performances and how he can sing with such power on the song's original scale for several hours at a stretch. In comparison, Arijit always tones down his songs or turns them into "rock versions" and often doesn't even hit the notes that were in the studio version, but his stylistic handle and versatility makes him coveted.

Arijit is a mediocre singer its just he has been the flavor of audience for quite some time ... rahat is a fav though he is trained on those notes which he sings .. .. to me what most matter in singing is expressions so my judgement for a qawal is that he cant sing the essence of romance or depth of pain in sad songs or a arrogant badmash or tapoori expression because its what only real playback singing teaches you which is muhammad rafi school of thoughts 😊 rahat can express bollywood songs he knows his job but he cant express the way it should be expressed the plus point playback singers with the likes of udit , sonu and kumar sanu had they knew how to express romance one cant expect rahat to romance a song like suraj huwa madham 😊 it would not suite his voice ...thats why i dont rate him in playback singing and nether the likes of arijit because they are not what u call authentic playback voice who can emote and at the same time can be called as voice of a hero ...classical or harqat murkiyaan is secondary to me ...best classically trained vocalist of the world could not sing a song like kal ho na ho with the deepness ...or udit narayan song meri zindagi ke maalik mere dil pe hath rakh de ...
709927 thumbnail

Arijit is a mediocre singer its just he has been the flavor of audience for quite some time ... rahat is a fav though he is trained on those notes which he sings .. .. to me what most matter in singing is expressions so my judgement for a qawal is that he cant sing the essence of romance or depth of pain in sad songs or a arrogant badmash or tapoori expression because its what only real playback singing teaches you which is muhammad rafi school of thoughts 😊 rahat can express bollywood songs he knows his job but he cant express the way it should be expressed the plus point playback singers with the likes of udit , sonu and kumar sanu had they knew how to express romance one cant expect rahat to romance a song like suraj huwa madham 😊 it would not suite his voice ...thats why i dont rate him in playback singing and nether the likes of arijit because they are not what u call authentic playback voice who can emote and at the same time can be called as voice of a hero ...classical or harqat murkiyaan is secondary to me ...best classically trained vocalist of the world could not sing a song like kal ho na ho with the deepness ...or udit narayan song meri zindagi ke maalik mere dil pe hath rakh de ...

I'd agree to disagree on the romance song part - romance songs are in Rahat's capacity. Suraj Hua Madham is simplistic and it wouldn't be a stretch to see Rahat do it. O re piya, zaroori tha, samjhawan, etc. are all examples of romantic songs loaded with expression and power that he has done. Tum jo aye, jag soona laga, etc. all demonstrate his ability to emote. However, I cannot see him doing songs like Zoobi Doobi and Love is a Waste of Time. Then again, Sonu cannot do a Rashke Qamar. Sonu's softness and expressiveness in a song like Kal ho Na Ho takes the song to the next level. Arijit's strength is ability to carry all types of songs - perhaps not at the level of Rahat or Sonu but nevertheless his versatility is a huge asset. He's the only one I can see carrying a Channa, Bulleya, Nashe, Phir Bhi Tumko, Breakup song simultaneously. They all have their strengths.
Arijit Singh is most popular these days i guess.
iambest thumbnail

I'd agree to disagree on the romance song part - romance songs are in Rahat's capacity. Suraj Hua Madham is simplistic and it wouldn't be a stretch to see Rahat do it. O re piya, zaroori tha, samjhawan, etc. are all examples of romantic songs loaded with expression and power that he has done. Tum jo aye, jag soona laga, etc. all demonstrate his ability to emote. However, I cannot see him doing songs like Zoobi Doobi and Love is a Waste of Time. Then again, Sonu cannot do a Rashke Qamar. Sonu's softness and expressiveness in a song like Kal ho Na Ho takes the song to the next level. Arijit's strength is ability to carry all types of songs - perhaps not at the level of Rahat or Sonu but nevertheless his versatility is a huge asset. He's the only one I can see carrying a Channa, Bulleya, Nashe, Phir Bhi Tumko, Breakup song simultaneously. They all have their strengths.

Its not about simple or tough its about the emotions and therow or sukoon which sonu bring in suraj huwa madham is something else each word have expression when he say saans thamne lagi he actually do it the way one can feel the desire of love ...n the line haaye the asman yeh "haaye" this is what rahat can't do ...like song mujhe raat din bas mujhe chahati ho kaho na kaho mujh ko sab kuch pata hai HAAN karoon kya mujy tum batati nhi ho chupati ho mujhse yeh tumhare khata hai ... The "haan" have so much of bechaani or helplessness hidden in it ...its not rahat forte at all ... He will sound bland ... Contrary sonu have sang few of rahat songs equally beautiful include lagan lagi man ki lagan and jiya dharak dharak with him on chote ustad show they were the jugdes ..he can be able to pull Rask e kamar as he can change his voice he sang tere mast mast do nain in a rahat tone on star plus ...but I don't expect rahat to sing a song like to say saathiya , sau dard hain or dewna tera tujhe hi bulaye or the pain in o sahiba .or a song like satrange re .. Rahat can be master of classical but sonu is master in expression I believe no one can express better than him its the quality he earned from Muhammad Rafi ...sonu plus point is he can change his voice for different song if u study sonu carrier he is one singer who did romantic n umber, sad songs, patriotic songs, loofer songs like what is mobile number, sharmana chor dal , Aslam Bahi , classical , a qawali , ghazal , Muslim naat , Sikh gurbani, bhajans, disco songs like chiggy wiggy , just chill chill , akhiyoon SE goli mare . to a song like Yeh Dil dewana from parades to a satrange re from Dil SE ..to a song like Singh sahab the great where he completly change his voice to sound like folk singer. To a song like tees maar khan which he sang in 54 differnt voices .to a song like ..as pukare tujhe yeh Dil mera he sang this compeltly in head voice one of the most difficult song its from his pop albums of 90's.on arijit I guess he is bit monotonous n sometime sound so sleepy he still have long way to overdo the versatility level of sonu nigam

Edited by iambest - 7 years ago