No update
sonalgupta2004 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3

Perrrfect
Nisha0604 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
(Sorry you guys, no internet for two days)

Known vs Unknown

On Saturday morning Tapan called to ask if she can fly down to Mumbai for two days for what was going to be day long interviews

She had called Bally after seeing the text from him, she had taken the elevator down to the 5th floor to the Daily Perk and bought hersef a coffee and brownie
The symbolic Bally things, to begin chatting with him

"Aapko kaise maloom?" she asked unemotionally

He had sighed audibly

"Do u know people from Escorts?" she asked

"MAIN nahi yaar" Bally had whispered, conspiratorially

"RITU?" she had asked a tad louder

"Hmmm" he had nodded

"HOW can they SAY that?" II was FURIOUS

"Kaha kisi ne nahi explicitly, but some grunt that scans resumes apparently knows someone that knows her" Bally was cynical

"To main kya karoon? Aap batao?" she asked politely

"U are not obligated to work at KMPG until u retire" he said firmly

"Thats its all settled then" she said softly

"Why didnt u do a 1:1 with me before u started applying?"

"Aap phir se mana karte... Ritu has pretty much undermined whatever I have done for KMPG in two years,
if I hadnt accidentally fallen for the man whose Dad owns Excelsior, she wud have ensured I get an F from teh client"
"SHE gave me an F from KMPG" II found herself to be bolder than usual

Bally exhaled

"Main bilqul aisi unprofessional baat enjoy nahi karti Bally" she found a lump in her throat

"Iyer... yaar"

"No I am not applying for this job to spite her, or throw pie in her face" II said calmly

"JAANTA HOON boss" Bally shouted

"I cannot forever be in a limbo... for her its a new job" II whispered, as she noticed someone from KMPG Advisory Services

"Ek min" II whispered

Bally got teh hint and asked her about Nivi, II sent like a dozen pictures

"OH TERI" "U MAKE LOVELY KIDS"

"KIDSSS Nahi KID" II corrected him

"Hero khush?" he asked

"He obsesses over her, he is currently punishing himself by going away on a solo trek" she said somberly

"Yaar kya zaroorat hai to live there?" Bally asked

"He loves his job... he started the company in his early 20s"

"Haan SATHAR ka jo ho gaya" Bally scoffed

II giggled

"Can u imagine him at 70?" she whispered

"He will still be ummm... chal chhod beta... kismat hai" Bally sighed

"U ARE SO SICK!!" II warned

"Suman ko bol na" "I am sick I need TLC...' Bally cooed

"Ankur Anay kidhar hai?"

"Saala aaya hai uske saath baahar cricket khel rahe hain, I came in to help Suman" he said loudly

"HELP WELP KUCH NAHI Mujhe TANG zaroor kar rahe hain Dev"

"She sounds sooo cute when she calls u Dev" II sighed

"Toone uska" Bally began

"SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP" II stopped

When the gal with her coffee left she continued

"
I want to see if I am "Employable" even or just not" II said firmly

"Oh ho!! MODESTY?" Bally teased

"U know... I have very lil self confidence" II said firmly

"Dont Iyer... ja de interview, tujhe maaf kiya" he said

II smiled

"If u want to be my boss again I wont go" she offered sadly

He didnt respond
And she cried

She was super vulnerable since she had Nivi, she cried a lot

"U have multiple degrees, MBA, CPA, M.S. WHY do u need me? Iyer?" he praised her

"Maybe I went and got all those degrees because I lack self worth? Kabhi aise socha aapne?"

They both went quiet

"Pati kya kehta hai?" he asked

"He doesnt know" "Since he is in Grenoble" "He doesnt "get" it. He has never been employed, hes never had a boss, hes never been middle class" she said

"He knows u" Bally said firmly, as if...

SWAN123 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 4
Yay ME!!
I get to go on the same page as the update. Nisha awesome work!

I looove working II. Interesting how she leans on Bally @ work. So true Dude and she belong to different work worlds.

She has options she can take- she won't for fear of The likes of Manny ( EXCL) or make it work with Ritu by confronting her. May be that's the one streak all those degrees didn't give her- seeing things as it is and work to change what she wantsto. But W*F Uni and degrees when you can collect them do make you secure. Real life is challenging 😭

You either jump in and use all your darts or have a bunch of eclectic choices that only you can love. No harm there.. A Punjabi self made man who loves his job, and knows her should count nahi?
She reminds me of myself.. Want to everything in the world and still be nice. That can't happen - you can be nice and get lucky. You can't be nice and be awfully big can you? Look at Indra Nooyi she's a big name, all corporate and self made but I would hate to work for her after I heard about the " training" she gives her support staff on how to handle her daughter's gaming habits, or talk about coffee mornings!

We women have to make a choice - be where we want to be and learn to be happy. Just like guys do. They go hiking they leave a Wife and Daughter behind but go hiking because they love it rather than fret. But then again that would make us men and not ourselves 😃

I love this noodle and your writing Nisha. Will say that every time o get a chance to 😊
Tuc_Mob thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Like all other Titles this title is also awesome and perfect.
hemab thumbnail
Great update, thanks nisha. No internet for you and we were all longing for updates. You were in our thoughts all along and I hope you did not have too many hiccups ;-)
Edited by hemab - 9 years ago
Errantnomad thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
KNOWN vs UNKNOWN

Three things stand out for me

One... Ritu was playing II all along... That ' put in a good word for me', the reason I stopped by your cube for , the pause and the never mind actually 'and the pep talk was all a veiled attack and she was stringing II all through it after knocking on II's cube. While that may be... What stood out was the comfortable equation that Ritu now shares with Bally overriding his equation with II that she promptly puts it in Bally ears as well. When II thinks abt it, that realization is not going one bit please her.

Two... Bally... This man surely knows where his Towel is 😆 . While II is on a self mockery trip saying about an F from Ritu and all that stuff... he only exhales... Out of an understanding that it's not working ... he does not put down Ritu here to placate II . He goes silent when II asks him to take her as a direct report... either cos his work situation does not kind of fit in to take II under his wing or cos he believes that Ritu did do her job or either that he feels that job per se should be internally motivating, and not he being the Boss... ... whatever, he gives the go ahead for II to go...

And three, II reiterating that she is a big time People person. Even for a chat, she gives her a feel of the old times Bally connect, the daily perk and the symbolic connect... That's how she is and this is how she operates... a style that's in direct conflict with Ritu's style...

There's a traveling in a plane analogy used by a friend that I've heard of for switching jobs... It's like this we are in a plane ... For a long journey reaching a destination... We fly in the planes but don't fly them actually ... The radar and controls elsewhere as we are not skilled to actually fly it...
Suddenly the plane is too rocky for you, makes you jittery enough to pull out a parachute to jump out...
"KNOWN VS UNKNOWN" . And while you use a parachute to jump out all you can do is hope that it's a landscape you are landing on and not a Desert or a barren land... Landing on a now job that works out for the better is like landing on a landscape ... Let's hope II lands on a green patch...
shidin0117 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
Hello alll...
Good to be back here..
Super...superb updates...Nisha
All the future updates are simply tooo adorable...
Automatic smile generators they are...