'Will be disappointed if Bombay Velvet makes less than 150 crore'

DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
150cr will mean the project is safe semi hit likely it can do 150cr if the the film is well made

sunshinegirl7 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
if it's a good film it will make money full stop!
it will be ranbir's first solo release after a long time so that will really help
IshqBulaava thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
It will easily cross 150.

870349 thumbnail
It should go past 300 crores
KhanSinghKumar thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
I knew it! I had mentioned few weeks back that 150 crores is its safety range, a semi-hit... 😆

Final budget should reach 125 cr before release as i had predicted...
Scorpio, kidhar hai bhai tu... le sun Anurag will be disappointed if it doesn't make 150 cr...meaning that's its safety range
Edited by KhanSinghTomar - 10 years ago
Scorpio_Velvet thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: KhanSinghTomar

I knew it! I had mentioned few weeks back that 150 crores is its safety range, a semi-hit... 😆
Final budget should reach 125 cr before release as i had predicted...

Scorpio, kidhar hai bhai tu... le sun Anurag will be disappointed if it doesn't make 150 cr...meaning that's its safety range

What if he's aiming for clean hit? 😆

HNY with 150 cr budget got super hit status for 175 cr+ collection. BV should be clean hit easily if it collects 150 cr.

Also to get your perspective, how much do you think will BM need to get clean hit status and likely budget? 😊
Edited by Scorpio_Velvet - 10 years ago
KhanSinghKumar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Scorpio_Velvet

What if he's aiming for clean hit? 😆

HNY with 150 cr budget got super hit status for 175 cr+ collection. BV should be clean hit easily if it collects 150 cr.

Also to get your perspective, how much do you think will BM need to get clean hit status and likely budget? 😊

What if he's aiming for clean hit? 😆-----------Hmm. may be. But one can understand less than that for him is a disappointment, it can be interpreted in different ways.

Also to get your perspective, how much do you think will BM need to get clean hit status and likely budget? 😊----------------------- don't know the budget clearly till now. From my sources, have to admit its hit or flop status is very similar to Bombai Velvet 😆. 150 crores= hit if 110 cr budget information is right.
If 150 cr budget is right, then 175 cr will give it a hit status. People related to the movie, at some point will reveal the budget for sure.

But i do agree 150 crores= hit for Bombai Velvet too if its bugget is 115 cr. I just feel the budget is way more than this for BV because there were a lot of news and there is never a smoke without fire. I might be wrong too as official team hasn't revealed the final budget

Scorpio_Velvet thumbnail

What if he's aiming for clean hit? 😆-----------Hmm. may be. But one can understand less than that for him is a disappointment, it can be interpreted in different ways.

Also to get your perspective, how much do you think will BM need to get clean hit status and likely budget? 😊----------------------- don't know the budget clearly till now. From my sources, have to admit its hit or flop status is very similar to Bombai Velvet 😆. 150 crores= hit if 110 cr budget information is right.
If 150 cr budget is right, then 175 cr will give it a hit status. People related to the movie, at some point will reveal the budget for sure.

But i do agree 150 crores= hit for Bombai Velvet too if its bugget is 115 cr. I just feel the budget is way more than this for BV because there were a lot of news and there is never a smoke without fire. I might be wrong too as official team hasn't revealed the final budget

Yup. 150 cr would be great for a film like BV. It'd mean people appreciated it as well and likely critical acclaim for a AK movie. Still, if its good enough to reach 150 cr, I hope it does few more crores as WOM would have been positive. 😛 25 cr+ budget for big budget movies definitely guarantees hit status. For HNY, it got clean hit status. Not to forget even distribution rights were sold for 125 cr to YRF.

Kashyap did a reddit session sometime ago and he said BV succeeding is key for him since Doga needs a budget of blockbuster films collection(150 cr+). So his expectation will be that film makes profit and get a hit status so that bigger projects like Doga and Alwyn Kalicharan could be greenlit.

Edited by Scorpio_Velvet - 10 years ago
KhanSinghKumar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Scorpio_Velvet

Yup. 150 cr would be great for a film like BV. It'd mean people appreciated it as well and likely critical acclaim for a AK movie. Still, if its good enough to reach 150 cr, I hope it does few more crores as WOM would have been positive. 😛

Kashyap did a reddit session sometime ago and he said BV succeeding is key for him since Doga needs a budget of blockbuster films collection(150 cr+). So his expectation will be that film makes profit and get a hit status so that bigger projects like Doga and Alwyn Kalicharan could be greenlit.

interesting view... but why don't big production house fund his movies?😲 why are they reluctant... you cannot hope that ur movie become a blockbuster and then plan to use its fund to fund other movies...he is a director more than a producer

fir to BV ko hit hona hi hai, i want ranveer in doga or kalicharan 😆..

Scorpio_Velvet thumbnail

interesting view... but why don't big production house fund his movies?😲

fir to BV ko hit hona hi hai, i want ranveer in doga or kalicharan 😆..

He never worked with big stars before. GOW was made on 18 cr budget(9 cr for each parts). BV was the first step. Other projects are far more ambitious. He hinted Kalicharan would be his next after the International flick, but he always wanted SRK. Maybe he'll agree if BV works. Lead character is middle aged.