Hi Peeps..!! I am very happy today because its my sister's birthday. She is always with me and she is like a brother to me. She is the one who supported me in my bad phase along with my elder sister. I love them a lot. So I am going to dedicate this update to my sister.
Happy Birthday Akka..!!! Thank you so much for everything..!!!
Chapter 8:
Swara rushes out from the conference room with speed, startling everyone present. Sanskaar Maheshwari smiles to himself and also begins to gather his stuff like the others, ready to leave and get on with his day. He ignores Laksh's murderous glances and walks on out after cheerfully greeting everyone...
Tears roll down her cheeks and blind her eyes, blurring her vision. Swara takes the pallu of her saree and begins to wipe away her rapid falling tears as she practically runs to her office. As she reaches, she pushes her door open and closes it quickly. Resting her back against the wooden door, Swara lets out a sob and cries her heart out...
How could he...How dare he...He has gone beyond the limits...He's cruel... completely cruel. Did he not once think of what I will go through? Did he not think of my feelings? How this will affect me? -- oh, who am I kidding, Mr. Maheshwari would never think about that!... He knows...oh he knows to well what it means to me and he used it against me!...Swara stifles a sob with her hand. She closes her eyes and feels her wet eyelashes stick with one another. My childhood home...where I grew up...where Maa and Papa gave me so much love...where I lived with my small family...where I shared my fights with my sisters...He is buying that same very land and turning my home into a-a Casino?
Swara feels the doorknob move against her back and moves away, letting the person get in. Laksh steps into the office and shuts the door behind him. He looks down at his sister and his heart goes out to her... She is a terrible mess... Her eyes filled with tears, bloody red, her face pale, tears rolling down her cheeks... and this was all because of her husband, Sanskaar Maheshwari. His blood begins to boil on the thought of him. Laksh had enough with Sanskaar lately. Still he treats Swara with so much detest, so much hate, so much disrespect... He had thought that the phase would go away...his anger would cool down...he would eventually forgive and forget Priya and had accepted Swara has his wife... So far, Laksh didn't see anything but Sanskaar's repetitive snake like moves, tantrums, and hurtful words.
Laksh lays a gentle hand on Swara's shoulder.
Laksh: Swara?
Crying even more than before, Swara wraps her arms around her brother and cries into his chest.
Swara: Oh Bhaiya! He's taken my heart and stabbed a knife through it over and over and over!
Laksh: Swara, calm yourself. Do not lose hope.
Swara moves back and stares up at him.
Swara: Bhaiya, how can I stay calm? He is going to tear down my home and replace it with a Casino where filthy people will go to gamble! And he-he made me-me give a presentation about the land! Me! He's doing this purposely, to hurt me! Bhaiya, he's doing more than just hurting me, he's killing me...
She continues to weep openly in front of him. Laksh pulls her back into his embrace and pats her hair down.
Laksh: I promise you, Swara, this will not happen. I will not let it happen. Sanskaar Maheshwari will not get away with hurting you like this. Priya had betrayed him- not you. He needs to learn this.
----------
He hears his cabin door fly open and Sanskaar finds Laksh, peering at him with so much hate in his eyes.
Sanskaar: (smiles) Laksh, my friend, what brings you here?
The door closes behind Laksh as he barks, "Oh shut up, Sanskaar!".
Sanskaar: (continues to smile) Ouch. What a way to greet your best friend, Laksh. Anyways, I was just about to call for you--- Mr. Obreoi has made a ----
Laksh: I've had enough with you, Sanskaar Maheshwari! Enough! (his voice strong, determined)
Sanskaar throws him a puzzled look and lets out a short chuckle. He places the file in his hand back down onto his desk.
Sanskaar: It's only been what--- 5 years? You can't put up with me any longer?
Laksh: What you did to Swara was not right!
Sanskaar's grin vanishes and he becomes grim.
Sanskaar: And what did I do, Laksh? Please, enlighten me.
Laksh: You have played with her emotions and feelings, Sanskaar! -- How dare you! Can you not see how hurt she is! Ever since she has been married to you, she has been putting up with your nasty behavior with her quietly, but what you've done today has crossed the line! I've never seen her so upset up until now. Sanskaar-- how could you even think of doing such a despicable thing? Making her home, where she has so many memories attached to, into a Casino?!
Sanskaar is quiet for a short moment, looking as if he's pondering about something, before asking gently, "Where is she?".
Laksh, who had so much anger building inside of him, is taken aback and calms down by the concern in Sanskaar's voice and the sincerity in his eyes. Did Sanskaar really truly care now? Has he realized his mistake? He unfolds his fists and responds back in an equal calm tone.
Laksh: She's in her office...
Sanskaar: ...Is she crying?
Laksh nods his head after a small hesitation.
Laksh: I just came back from meeting her...she's really torn up.
Sanskaar lets out a heavy sigh and rests his hand against the filing cabinet next to him. He does something that surprises Laksh...he smiles.
Sanskaar: Good. (satisfied tone)
Laksh clearly shows the shock on his face and yells, "Sanskaar, what the hell is wrong with you?!".
Sanskaar: Laksh, you should not be asking me this question, but should be asking it to yourself! ---What the hell is wrong with you--- taking Swara's side instead of mine! Is Swara your best friend or are you mine?! (full of rage)
Laksh: You're sick, Sanskaar Maheshwari...absolutely disgusting! Seeing that poor girl in grief pleases you?
Sanskaar: Yes! Because when Swara is in pain--- that damn sister of hers will be drowning herself with guilt for causing Swara's troubles! When I inflict pain on Swara, Priya will be able to feel it too! And that's exactly what I want!
Laksh: Koi to sharam kar, Sanskaar! She is just an innocent girl! She had nothing to do with Priya and Veer's betrayal to you! Why do you not understand this?!
Sanskaar: Why do you not understand that Swara has everything to do with it?! Her sister has destroyed my life! Made a fool out of me! Stabbed me in the back with a knife! And Swara only helped her in doing so! She knew...she knew about everything! She knew that Priya and that damned Veer were fooling around behind my back! She even knew that they were planning to run away to elope on my wedding day, Laksh! Do you not remember the shame I had to go through for being left at the altar?! (he shouts violently) Do you not remember?!
Laksh: (aggravated) Swara had nothing to do with any of it! You assume too much, Sanskaar! For once stop acting as if you know every little damn thing that's going around! The truth is you have no clue about anything!
Sanskaar: And what is it that I do not know, Laksh, and you obviously seem to?!
Laksh: (exasperated) Swara did nothing to betray you, Sanskaar... she didn't play with your emotions... nor did she hurt you. In fact, all Swara ever does is try to protect you...
Sanskaar: That's complete bull----
Laksh: (cutting him off angrily) She takes your hurtful words and rude behavior towards her like a punching bag! Swara allows you to vent your anger on her! She sees how it makes you happy...how it brings you happiness...and she thinks that the least she can do is let you experience it after all the heartache you've been through! However, I think that it's absolutely idiotic for her to put up with your bullshit! For her to want a sick bas***d like you to be happy! I've even explained to her quite a lot of times to fight back, defend herself, but she tells me that she doesn't mind and says that you have every right to vent out your anger on her!. ...Tell me Sanskaar, have you ever heard anything so ridiculous like that in your life?
Sanskaar's jaw tightens and he stubbornly remains mum, refusing to say anything.
Laksh: (voice calming down) Do you not remember Swara from before, Sanskaar? ...sweet innocent trustworthy Swara? She worked for you...she was loyal... honest...and absolutely trustful...she never did anything without our consult. Do you really think that Swara would ever be apart of Priya and Veer's betrayal? Do you honestly think that she could have any part of it?...Do you?!
Sanskaar is silent for a very long moment. Even Sanskaar thought that Priya was innocent and wouldn't do anything to hurt him...and look where that trust has put him now --- So how can he believe in anyone else?-- How can he believe that Swara isn't anything like her sister?
Laksh watches him with his blazing eyes, waiting for a reply to his questions.
Sanskaar looks up and stares at him hard.
Sanskaar: (bitterly) It's useless to even talk to you Laksh...it seems that Swara has now even gotten to you...no matter what I say to explain my reasoning, to defend myself--- it will have no affect on you because you, obviously, are on Swara's side...which sickens me.
Laksh open his mouth to retort, but Sanskaar turns around and says, "Just leave, Laksh, before I cross the line and forget the friendship that exists between us..." He hears Laksh heave with anger and slam his cabin door behind him...
----------
Laksh knocks on the wooden door and waits patiently for a reply. After a few moments of hearing no type of responses, he quietly opens the door and stares into the empty office. Puzzled, he looks everywhere around him, hoping that she's somewhere around. Seeing a familiar person walk past him, Laksh calls her which stops her in her tracks and look at him, questioningly.
Laksh: Sonia, do you know where Swara is? She isn't in her office?
Sonia: (face grim) Sir, she left quiet awhile ago. She didn't look too well. If I'm not mistaken, I think she was crying... She really looked awful.
Laksh curses Sanskaar silently in his head. This was all happening because of him...if he wasn't so pig-headed and stubborn--- He looks back at Sonia and smiles softly.
Laksh: Thank you for telling me...
----------
She didn't know where she was going...nor did she care. All she knew was that she was in pain...her heart ached terribly...her throat felt sore from holding her tears...she felt the need to cry her troubles out but prevented herself from doing so because she knew she was better than that. She was strong. She is strong. You can make it through this, Swara...she continues to coax herself. These bad times will soon be gone...keep your chin up and just hope for things to become well...
Her numerous tries of soothing herself in believing everything will be alright becomes useless as her mind sweeps back to the past.
"It's a nice area where I'm sure will be a good place to build it...the land is excellent even...", his determined voice said loudly. "But what about the house, Sir? Doesn't anyone live there?", one of his business clients had asked him. Sanskaar stared at him and responded in a curt voice, "No. Not at all...the poor man who had owned it died in an accident... and his orphaned daughters have probably gone begging for someone to take them in", he finished off bitterly as his eyes had rested on Swara, who sat exactly beside him. Everyone had grown quiet on his insensitive comment, especially Swara. "Kya hua, Darling? Are you alright?...You look a little...pale", he had said with sarcasm to her. After she blinked away her forming tears, she shook her head at him and lowered her head down. "Good then if you would please go ahead and give the presentation...".
A tear finally manages to roll down her cheek...the memories from her marriage continue to approach her, flood into her mind, and taunt her. The tears begin to flow and soon they become unstoppable and come in heavy sobs.
"I will make your life a living hell", he had said to her in a harsh tone on their suhaag raat, before pushing her out of his room. Weeping uncontrollably, Swara stops nearby a column and sits down besides it. She props her knees up, hugs them with her arms, and cries into them, shaking at the same time. The weather was cold and freezing due to the drizzling rain and the night air added to it.
After a couple of minutes, Swara feels a comforting touch on her shoulder and looks up from her knees. She stares up at the pandit with her tear stained face. He looks at her with so much concern and worry which makes her shed a few more tears. She wipes them away with the back of her hand and looks around. Swara didn't even realize that she had come to the mandir...
Pandit: Kya hua, Beti? Why are you crying?
Swara looks back at him. She shakes her head lightly and holds in her sniffles. Then taking the pallu of her sari, she wipes her nose with it.
Pandit: Beti, if you keep your troubles inside, it will only hurt you more... But if you tell someone it will be a great burden off of your shoulders... Come on, tell me...what is it? What are your worries?
Swara stares back at the pandit ji and lets the tears fall freely from her eyes. For how long can she keep the pain inside of her, to herself, which kills her slowly and slowly by each passing day?
Swara:...Pandit Ji---- woh---- (cries) woh...
He sits down besides her and gives her an encouraging look.
Pandit: Who kya, Beti?
Swara looks at him for a long good moment before spilling everything about her life to him. The Pandit listens quietly and respectfully waits for her to finish. Swara breaks out into more tears after completing her summary of her horrible life.
Swara: Aap bhi batao, Pandit Ji...what do I do now?
He is silent for a long while as Swara continues to cry before him.
Pandit: (calm tone) You had made a promise, didn't you?
Swara brushes off her tears and stares at him, taken aback. For a moment she thinks that he is talking of the promise she had made to Bhavni. A promise that she now realizes is useless. She can't bring Sanskaar Maheshwari happiness... all she ever brings him is sorrow and grief. So how can she be able to keep him happy?-- She is just about to retort until slowly Swara remembers that she hadn't told him about that promise. Then which promise is he speaking of? She looks at him with great curiosity.
Swara: Ji, ... vaada?
Pandit: When you had married your husband with God as your witness, you made a promise to stay by his side... Stay by his side in happiness...in sorrow...and in difficulties...in good times and bad... You made a promise to be with him for seven life times... You made a promise to support him... Beti, you had made a promise...
Swara continues to look at him, speechless.
Pandit: These are now your bad times... You cannot leave his side... He needs your support... he needs you, Beti.
She absorbs in his words carefully. How could she even forget a promise like that? How could she forget that she had taken saat pheres with him tying her to him for seven life times? How could she?... He was right... these are now their bad times... but bad times come and go... And so will this one... Swara had accepted this marriage even though it came to her unexpectedly... and since she has accepted this fact, she has to be able to carry out her duties...
Swara: (her crying subsiding) ... You---you're right...Mr. Maheshwari needs me... I cannot leave him... I had made a promise... and I will fulfill this promise.
The Pandit smiles and nods his head along with her. Swara looks back over to him and smiles gratefully at him. Maybe this is why she had come to the Mandir... she needed guidance which she badly needed... she needed a reminder of what she has to do... she was needed of a reminding of her responsibilities and duties of being a wife.
Both the Pandit Ji and Swara are startled by a sudden screaming and a whole bunch of yelling from gathering people. They both stand up immediately and run over to the forming crowd at the mandir's steps... there lays a middle aged woman dressed in a beige sari, unconscious and bleeding...the objects in her thali scattered around... And Swara screams --- "Maa...!!"
----------
Coming back from the office Sanskaar pulls up on the driveway and takes out his key from the ignition. Taking his briefcase and coat, he closes the car door and makes his way up the stone steps towards the doors to the mansion. Before he could even knock, he sees the door fly open and his sister's pale looking face staring at him with a frightened expression.
Ragini: Bhaiya...woh--- Maa is in the hospital...
----------
Thank you,
Shreetha.. Edited by .FireBolt. - 8 years ago