-Ivy- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hey Arshi... Looking at a day packed with meetings, so just some quick thoughts today...

Brilliant CB as always. Very beautiful song. Thank you for a yet another gem in my SC playlist 🤗... "Chankachoor"... Such an aural, visceral, evocative word. So loaded, so brittle, chock-full of potential to cause damage and yet the v embodiment of something damaged... with impunity and beyond repair, at that. Perfect selection by you for this epi... 👏

Performances: Gautam 👏 Aanshul 👏 Jennifer 👏, take a frickin' bow, all three of you!

First, K was resolved to push the envelope with Pramad today. She had mentally steeled herself to keep strong or else her husband was going to run roughshod over her always. This resolve also depicted a split-second of her thinking practically and pro-actively about her situation. She is aware that by handing her the monthly purse strings BD has essentially dropped her into the deep end, curiously waiting to see if she will emerge or submerge under the dark deluge that Pramad brings. And she was determined to make a stand today. Till Saras entered the picture and her resolve broke. Chaknachoor. He may be her Achilles heel, ehsaas-wise, but in her current predicament, her prejudice, disdain and contempt towards Saras is her most fatal weakness. Her "hatred" of him, equally matches the "love" that rears its pure head, time and again. It is a weakness strong enough to diverge her from her most set of paths. Simply because she factors him in the picture always and by implication, in her life "decisions" still. Saras might be binded by K's explicit kasam but more tightly than him, Kumud is binded by her own prejudices towards Saras. Her desire to not owe anything to Saras makes K conceede even when she knows that weakness now will be detrimental to her cause in the future. Today too, the "Navinchandra ji" was a verbal "stop right there, Mister" and she implicitly showed him that she could handle the situation on her own terms. Fully aware that those terms are such that it will only further diminish her worth to herself and in the eyes of Pramad. Identification in the mirror is going to be further difficult now, for more reasons than one.

Second, a literal mirror broke today. By Pramad's sheer brute force, his twisted "victory-stomp" to assert his dominance again, a tiny part of illusion went chaknachoor and pierced Kumud, not only at bodily level but also at the level of soul, consciousness and identity. That mirror had caged Kumud herself. It was a perfect square of marital facade shattered beyond repair. Witness how her reeling visage got reflected in one brilliantly jagged shard? A tiny bit of Kumudsundari's true soul, self-esteem and identity got released today. More telling what she did with it then... She refused to let Kalika sully it with her "dirty hands"... She herself walked over it, uncaring, in a daze, until a tiny bit penetrated her on something more than the visceral level... Her "soul" trapped, recently freed, thus entered her body again, causing a "mini-awakening" of sorts... And what did she do then? She blazed another trail in "red" to finally release her tormented thoughts in a way "Kumudsundari Desai" was prone to do. She sought refuge straightaway in the habit of old. She penned them, her nightmare, like she used to pen her brilliantly promising dreams and desires, once. This is a crucial point. As soon as granted "release", Kumudsundari submitted an earnest, breaking petition, a soul SOS... And it was heard. She may have believed she was conceeding only to herself, but at soul-level her anguished entreaties reached elsewhere as well. To their true soul-destination.

After the press conference apology, the "twin monologue" scene or perhaps, a single monologue scene of soul-companions today, was also entirely at the level of soul. Witness how she closed her beseiged orbs only for him to open his barely in control ones, and turn away aghast, shamed and unable to confront the very witness of their love. They were so perfectly in sync. The scene also continued yest's reprised version of the engagement night sequence. Only the moon and lotus pool were missing yest. Today the moon was present but not to bear witness to their love, as it used to be her custom but it was more to illuminate the burned out golden halo's lying at S' feet. Halo's that used to represent the vows he made whilst "in love"... It was there today to bear witness to Saras' "fall from grace" in his own eyes. Where, once not long before, S delivered passionate, soulful proclamations staring at it straight in the eye, confident that his commitments will be divinely "rubber-stamped"... Today he averts his face from it, fully abashed, realising he has but utterly failed to uphold the vows he so purely undertook. Another chaknachoor. This time of Saras' tender hope and faith in himself, that he is still worthy of the love that he once proudly and fully claimed as his, in an utterly different life. Their "ehsaas" may be fully intact but it has survived through nothing less than a malestrom of hell. And the moon showed him today that if Kumud has "fallen" in her own worth and eyes, then Saras too has fallen, in the eyes of his own love (K), his ehsaas, and his witness (moon). A brilliant parallel in operation... Whereas one mirror broke and granted release, another mirror (moon) was revealed to reflect, shame and imprison a bit of Saras in itself today. Now to heal, Kumud needs to turn her back to the mirror completely, while Saras, needs to be able to fully face the moon again and see his love, himself and his vows reflected back, basking his soul in their pure luminescence. A bit of Saras' soul was left in the dark today... The bit he can only re-claim when he is able to turn to the moon once again, and unflinchingly call upon her to bear witness...

Ergo, what today brilliantly showed was that for Saras to "rise" Kumud needs to "rise" first. That is a must. Their destinies and redemption still lies entwined in the wreckage of their dreams somewhere. Not in two pieces, but still as one.

Precap: Not sure where I stand with self-harm... It just veers into the territory of typical romeo-ish stunts... Not judging but. It is kinda like a literal electrocution delivered to K. His "red" because of her "red"... She will have "red" in her ledger now. Red that she will want to wipe out. It will compel her to act, to strike, but pro-actively, practically, in contempt, in self-or-love-sacrificing mode is anyone's guess. Because a bit of "Kumudsundari" has been let loose. Exciting times to see how the lil' Alpha unleashed will deal with this full-frontal "unwarranted" body-blow. And how will the remaining, Beta counter? With the breaking of the mirror, a disconnect has happened within K's dual identities. And now, imperceptible clashes will begin anew, inside. Clashes bound to make ripples in her actions as well once S finds K's immediate breaking point. Will that be the point where his skin breaks and "red" gushes out? Or will it be another cutting red line lashed upon her self and esteem by Pramad? Or will it ultimately be the more prosaic humiliation of watching a "third-party" render her desperately guarded and replaced lines, a deception at best, invisible, struck off, & nowhere to be seen again?

P.S. Kumari, Kusum and lantern... Hints of illumination to come? Or a yet another hyped red-herring Kumud will again render implausible...?

Edited by IdiotViewer - 12 years ago
Arshics thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 6
@ ivy

Loved the mirror part saras has to face his and kumud to turn away from hers

Well since hers is shatttered by pramaad himself she has only to pick up the pieces and throw them awaay

Oyherwise she has hundreds of tiny ones each chubhoing every where she steps.

Ahain kalikas kaanch hai chubhega. A very powerful line.

I felt her navinchandra was more a plea than a push away. To me it came across as

Please dont give us away. Remembr I am not your kumud and you are nsvin here.
In this house under this roof I am mrs d and you are navin and I beg you to remember that.

Her eyes had that plesding look than the steely glint she hsd in her esrlier navinchandrs ki
-Ivy- thumbnail

Originally posted by: arshicritic

@ ivy

I felt her navinchandra was more a plea than a push away. To me it came across as

In this house under this roof I am mrs d and you are navin and I beg you to remember that.

Her eyes had that plesding look than the steely glint she hsd in her esrlier navinchandrs ki

True that also, Arshi. However, Kumud is so beseiged right now that it is near impossible to get a thorough read on her and her reactions. Like her, we too are adrift at sea when it comes to pining her motivations down. So different interpretations will equally hold water. That is the beauty of the nuanced depiction given to us by Team SC 😳
happychappy thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: IdiotViewer

... The scene also continued yest's reprised version of the engagement night sequence. Only the moon and lotus pool were missing yest.

Today the moon was present but not to bear witness to their love, as it used to be her custom but it was more to illuminate the burned out golden halo's lying at S' feet. Halo's that used to represent the vows he made whilst "in love"... It was there today to bear witness to Saras' "fall from grace" in his own eyes. Where, once not long before, S delivered passionate, soulful proclamations staring at it straight in the eye, confident that his commitments will be divinely "rubber-stamped"... Today he averts his face from it, fully abashed, realising he has but utterly failed to uphold the vows he so purely undertook. Another chaknachoor. This time of Saras' tender hope and faith in himself, that he is still worthy of the love that he once proudly and fully claimed as his, in an utterly different life. Their "ehsaas" may be fully intact but it has survived through nothing less than a malestrom of hell. And the moon showed him today that if Kumud has "fallen" in her own worth and eyes, then Saras too has fallen, in the eyes of his own love (K), his ehsaas, and his witness (moon). A brilliant parallel in operation... Whereas one mirror broke and granted release, another mirror (moon) was revealed to reflect, shame and imprison a bit of Saras in itself today. Now to heal, Kumud needs to turn her back to the mirror completely, while Saras, needs to be able to fully face the moon again and see his love, himself and his vows reflected back, basking his soul in their pure luminescence. A bit of Saras' soul was left in the dark today... The bit he can only re-claim when he is able to turn to the moon once again, and unflinchingly call upon her to bear witness...

@Green, Ivy what was the reprise yesterday? I missed that...😕

Edit- Oh sorry, found this in your IvyBytes of yesterday... Got it now.
"Special mention: Last post, I mentioned engagement night, lotus pool... Today seeing the sari so reminiscent of that, seemed like a fond knock on the head from CV's... Took me back to the sequence. The companion reflection still has not forsaken Kumud, now only if she dares to see in the reflected pool of water once again... This convo with Sid in between seemed like a reprise in some respect. Saras making "promises" but their affect on Kumud has changed now... They sound hollow, instead of meaning the world. On the other hand, Kumud stating her ideal, but it is just a revisit now... What they had before was the pinnacle, they're plumbing but the deepest, darkest depths of relations now. Betrayal, heartbreak and the faith, the resolve ensuing from that to strive on relations, even relations beyond repair or redeeming. Kumud is set on one path, and Saras is set on following her through it. Come. What. May."...

@Pink, Brilliant... you added so much to that scene! 👏

Edited by happychappy - 12 years ago
-Ivy- thumbnail
Happy, it was more of a "subjective reprise" I felt, added by the impact of Kumud's sari no doubt... 😳

Edit: So you did find it 😆 I get really happy when I find markers like such that CV's have placed and that I think that CV's have placed... and I just have to share it 😃
smrth thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: *Reemz*

^Didn't even think about the poem like that. I knew she had written it for herself but then I also thought she was writing it to Saras. Just never joined the two together! Very rightly pointed out there. Did you notice how when Kumud closed her eyes, that's when Saras opened his? Brilliant editing there. It was as if he heard her plea.

Jenny was awesome there...hapless sorrow at a loss, she did not bargain it for being in love with a most genuine person, and she is reduced to pray for a tiniest respite!
But are Cvs planting 'infallible' evidence? She is writing. And same hand handwritings on a henna printe shirt? With Navinchandra if 'missing' SC has brought it along. ( most likely if he is keeping Kamarban with him).
hotdogg thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: IdiotViewer

True that also, Arshi. However, Kumud is so beseiged right now that it is near impossible to get a thorough read on her and her reactions. Like her, we too are adrift at sea when it comes to pining her motivations down. So different interpretations will equally hold water. That is the beauty of the nuanced depiction given to us by Team SC 😳

Ivy-
Good to know you are now well...and How!!...great perspective as usual...
...between you and arshi, you tend to lift the most mundane of epis into something far more substantial...so good for the rest of us!!
Had been out of circulation last few days due to work...and used to look up CB rather than the epi to keep in touch!...
😊
On kumud I tend to agree with arshi...it was more of a pleading than a push-back...
I have noticed that for kumud ...
1) the internalization of the understanding of the acceptance of her condition started from the last few epis... (saras has already reached the understanding...so gone is the now so trivial looking searching for an apology).
2) kumud now no longer fights / blocks out saras with the same anger / fierceness / 'pig-headedness' that she used to... in fact there have been no fights, especially from the day she was witness to saras in the same room during BD & pramad fight...
Why?
3) kumud is ONLY NOW slowly realizing (maybe only at the subconscious level still) that in her new world...only 2 elements have remained constant from the age of innocence...elements which anchor her identify to kumud she once was...(i) her marriage to pramad which was her last free willed choice and (ii) saras (whatever errors he has made)
4) yesterday's epi depicted the shattering of (i)...so wonderfully as you described..
5) But now all will NOT be lost...because now she can cling on to (ii) and still survive without losing her identity..
6) So good to see her finally communicating again...still tenuously ...but its a start nonetheless..
Notice the letter which she wrote...started out as a depiction of her condition, but ended up as a plea to saras! Why oh Why did you forsake me? Was I not worth it types..But there was no anger only questions!
There was also the scene earlier where she comes to saras room and says she hasn't changed!
Maybe that was the event when she sub-consciously added (ii) to her list which had only (i)...it felt to me then a bit disjointed...but now I feel it was a marker left by the CVs (using an Ivy term here!!)...
Maybe it was a signalling of a truce..
So very much following the same pattern of the exact role reversal we had discussed some CB back...just like saras then...kumud is now fighting tooth & nail, but starting to communicate and beginning to trust saras (again)...and (hopefully) allowing saras to lead her back purely basis this trust...call it Mr. Ehsas / love whatever...but basically this feeling that he means well... so If I don't know what to do, I will do what he wants me to..
This is a good logical development if samud has to get back together in the future...it is very important for kumud who has a strong & absolute moral sense of right and wrong to also resurrect saras from the dust-bin where she has consigned him ...
Also hoping that If she has resurrected him somewhat, then when the reality strikes (saras came back but was knocked out by umesh)...the shock would be lessened and she will not beat her up that much...
However, like how it went with saras...I expect a non-linear transition...2 steps forward, 1 step backward type progress...
...But eventually both need to arrive at the same state ...only then can they move on / move forward...
Edited by hotdogg - 12 years ago
-Ivy- thumbnail

Originally posted by: hotdogg

Ivy-
Good to know you are now well...and How!!...great persepective as usual...
...between you and arshi, you tend to lift the most mundane of epis into something far more substantial...so good for the rest of us!!
Had been out of circulation last few days due to work...and used to look up CB rather than the epi to keep in touch!...
😊
On kumud I tend to agree with arshi...it was more of a pleading than a push-back...
1) the internalization of the understanding of the acceptance of her condition started from the last few epis... (saras has already reached the understanding...so gone is the now so trivial looking searching for an apology).
2) kumud now no longer fights / blocks out saras with the same anger / fierceness / 'pig-headedness' that she used to... in fact there have been no fights, especially from the day she was witness to saras in the same room during BD & pramad fight...
Why?
3) kumud is ONLY NOW slowly realizing (maybe only at the subconscious level still) that in her new world...only 2 elements remain from the age of innocence...elements which anchor her identify to kumud she once was...(i) her marriage to pramad which was her last free willed choice and (ii) saras
4) yesterday's epi depicted the shattering of (i)...so wonderfully as you described..
5) But now all will NOT be lost...because now she can cling on to (ii) now and still survive without losing her identity..
6) So good to see her finally communicating again...still tenuously ...but its a start nonetheless..
There was scene earlier where she comes to saras room and says she hasn't changed!
Maybe that was the event when she sub-consciously added (ii) to her list which had only (i)...it felt to me then a bit disjointed...but now I feel it was a marker left by the CVs (using an Ivy term here!!)...
So very much following the same pattern of the exact role reversal we had discussed some CB back...just like saras then...kumud is now fighting tooth & nail, but starting to communicate and beginning to trust saras (again)...and (hopefully) allowing saras to lead her back purely basis this trust...call it Mr. Ehsas / love whatever...but basically this feeling that he means well... so If I don't know what to do, I will do what he wants me to..
This is a good logical development if samud has to get back together in the future...it is very important for kumud who has a strong & absolute moral sense of right and wrong to also resurrect saras from the dust-bin where she has consigned him ...
Also hoping that If she has resurrected him somewhat, then when the reality strikes (saras came back but was knocked out by umesh)...the shock would be lessened and she will not beat her up that much...
However, like how it went with saras...I expect a non-linear transition...2 steps forward, 1 step backward type progress...
...But eventually both need to arrive at the same state ...only then can they move on / move forward...

Hgg bhai... Good to see you back too! 😳

On the topic of K, I will always defer to you (resident Kumud champion 😊)... And again you explained so neatly 👏 I guess I extreme correlated here... Saras was bound and in some ways so was she, since the moment he entered the room, from doing what she wanted to (not submit to P)... Plus coupled with the taunts delivered to S yest... I felt K was exerting again both hadd and haq (FB) on Saras at that point. Maybe it was just haq, after all... There is but a fine line, separating.

I agree yesterday's epi was a pivotal turning point... I want to now how Kumud deals with that sight of self-harm Saras is going to subject her too... Which identity is going to reign supreme... "Mrs. Dharmadhikari" or "Kumudsundari Desai"... That will provide further indication of future steps.

Bold One: I just cheated and read up a spoiler (my first one in weeks!) so you're bang on the mark here... Her tipping point is going to be reached by not one but a mixture of elements... A volatile mix, if one may... They both are going to try meeting each other at that same point. However tenuously and tenderly, the chasm is likely to be bridged.

Bold Two: Very well put. Kumud is still using Saras' "dhokebaazi" as a crutch... She needs to be at a semi-stable equilibrium before that crucial crutch and the rug gets pulled off from under her feet regarding the events of wedding night.

KK84 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

love your post Arshi! you're a natural!

Yesterday's epi was a turning point for me, for Samud! Yes there are boundaries between the two which they cannot cross. She is married. She feels cheated. He has duties and responsibilities towards Mr Budhi. All these Maryadaas but yet there were so close through ehsaas.
When Saras comes to the rescue...He could feel her pain. She could feel his pain. His pain of seeing her like this. Pramaad's violent behaviour and way of talking to Kumud was killing him a thousand times over. Way more than the pain of Kumud's accusations.
They both understood each other's pain and thats why sahi maine mein..they are husband and wife.
Just like she could not bear Pramaad saying all those horrible things to Saras...treating him like a low life. She wants to stand up for him but yet she is helpless.
Helpless because her definition of relationship is to fulfill it.
I hope the CVs work on something where Kumud realises that khokle rishtey nibhana isn't a good thing. To support a husband who is so violent and has no respect for her...to maintain that relationship is wrong.
I am not liking this side of kumud but I understand its necessary...Kumud has to be shown as abla naari and vunerable because they want to show that Saras is there supporting her and thats when she may realise that he does love her...so in that sense its good.
Saras's confession to the chaand was amaazing! Such brillaint dialogues!
Precap: totally looking foward to it! how long will Kumud be able to bear seeing Sara hurting himself like that! cant wait to see this scene!!
Gautam as usual was on par superb!! he really surpasses all expectations! He is so talented!
Jenny is doing a really good job too! But I miss the old Kumud! the happy bubbly yet mature and responsible girl!
My wish - Hope Kumud does go for pag phere and cos Pramaad wont go...Mr Budhi sends Saras with her! and so its like a newly married couple doing their pag phere rasam!!!
pasumarthisa thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Arshi and Hotdogg

Ivy-
Good to know you are now well...and How!!...great perspective as usual...
😊
Why?
3) kumud is ONLY NOW slowly realizing (maybe only at the subconscious level still) that in her new world...only 2 elements have remained constant from the age of innocence...elements which anchor her identify to kumud she once was...(i) her marriage to pramad which was her last free willed choice and (ii) saras (whatever errors he has made)
5) But now all will NOT be lost...because now she can cling on to (ii) and still survive without losing her identity..
Notice the letter which she wrote...started out as a depiction of her condition, but ended up as a plea to saras! Why oh Why did you forsake me? Was I not worth it types..But there was no anger only questions!
There was also the scene earlier where she comes to saras room and says she hasn't changed!
I agree with Arshi and you on Kumud's reaction when Saras came in. There was a definite shift in her thought process. She was infact taking strength from his earlier advice. But at the same time trying not to involve him in this mess and also trying to deal with it her way.
Her letter to herself turned out to be one for her soul mate. A plea to lessen her pain but addressed to him. And he opens his eyes as if her plea has been heard. this plea has huge ramifications in future.
Edited by pasumarthisa - 12 years ago