Telly_Addict thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Gopi aka Jia Manek of Saath Nibhaana Saathiya on STAR Plus may seem to be simple on screen but has an admirable fashion sense in real life. We get the pretty Jia to share some beauty and fashion advice with her fans.
By Natasha Coutinho

How would you define beauty?
Beauty is not about your outer appearance it's more about how beautiful you are from the inside. Inner beauty is much more valuable.

Which beauty products are your favourite?
I apply my Lakme moisturizer everyday to keep my skin smooth and fresh. When it comes to makeup I personally prefer MAC products any day but for the shoot we use Kryolan products because they last longer.

Any beauty tips that you would like to share?
I would request my fans to use minimal makeup because too much makeup really spoils your skin. I used to have lovely skin but now I use makeup for at least 15 hours a day for the Saath Nibhaana Saathiya and it has ruined my skin. Other than that eat healthy food and drink lots of water.

How would you define fashion?
Fashion is not blindly copying trends and wearing what you are comfortable in.

Favourite outfits from your closet?
I am most comfortable in my jumpers. I can where them anywhere be it a casual dinner or party. I also like short skirts and I feel one piece dresses look good on me. I don't wear jeans too much because I believe this is the time to wear outfits that I will not be able to wear when I grow old.

Fashion bloopers that should be avoided?
Do not wear anything that you are not comfortable in. If you are not feeling confident in a particular outfit it will show on your face.

Who are your beauty and fashion icons?
Kareena Kapoor is my beauty and fashion icon because I love the way she carries herself. She also has an amazing fashion sense.
Telly_Addict thumbnail
Kinjal will seek Gopi's help for letting Koki know the Truth of her affair with Umang.

Gopi will have to tell the truth of Kinjal and Umang to Koki. Coz Koki wants to get Kinjal married soon as she thinks Elesh is responsible for her pregnancy. Till now Kinjal could not tell Koki the truth so she takes Gopi's help regarding the same even when she does not share good relation with her.
Gopi will be able to tell this to Koki and this will be the biggest Shock for her.

And this will be start of a Nice and Smooth Relationship between Gopi and Kinjal.
Telly_Addict thumbnail

Giaa Maanek

Giaa Maanek has drawn a lot of appreciation for her character Gopi in Saathiya Saath Nibhaana. With her childlike smile and innocence, she has managed to become a household name; what with the show being the top ranking one across all GECs. Giaa has a candid chat with TellyChakkar. Excerpts from the interview…

Tell us a bit about your background.
I was studying when this offer came to me. I have completed my Majors in Advertising. Then I did a few commercials after which I was called for TV shows. I was not really serious then because I wanted to complete my education. I bagged a movie, makers of 'Red Alert' where I played daughter to Om Puri and Neena Gupta. That's where the producers of Saathiya spotted me and I was called for an audition. I passed the audition, the look test and I bagged Gopi's role.

Has it been smooth sailing?
No, you can't say it was easy because I did struggle for some time. I was at home for a year after my graduation, had signed a couple of shows which for some reason did not work out. So it was not like I got everything at one go.

Are Giaa and Gopi similar?
In some ways, they are. I can cry at the drop of a hat like Gopi. Giaa loses her temper quickly unlike Gopi who is very calm and composed. Gopi is very sweet, innocent and dumb but I am not. She even knows how her sister is, her plans but she never goes against her. We both believe in family values. Just like Gopi, Giaa will do everything for her love. The major differences between Gopi and Giaa are that Gopi is soft spoken but I am a brat. I also don't wear saris and prefer jeans and tee.

How is your rapport with your co-stars?
I gel well with them. I have been getting along well with Rucha (Hasabnis, she plays Rashi in the show). There are issues but we have accepted each other the way we are.

Saathiya has been the no 1 show in spite of being in the 7 pm slot…
I was initially upset about the 7 pm slot. I wondered how many people would actually be able to watch the show at that time. But we have worked hard for the show and the team effort and the content that seems to have worked and been appreciated. We have created a slot and we are extremely proud of it.

How do you spend your free time?
I love doing pottery. I have learnt horse riding. I love dancing. I like to hang out with my friends. I am not the sort who would sit at home. The only things I do at home are sleep and take a shower (laughs).

Are you a TV buff?
I was but now it is not possible to watch TV. But sometimes I do download my shows from YouTube and catch up on some episodes.

Your favourite co-star?
I like working with my onscreen saas (Rupal Patel).

What is the best part about playing Gopi?
When this character was narrated to me I was told it will be completely positive. Gopi is overly optimistic and positive. I am lucky to play such a character at the beginning of my career. Gopi gets sympathy and fans tell me they cry when they see her cry. I am happy that Gopi has been able to hold the audiences. The best part about her is that even though she is uneducated she is intelligent, more than her sister (smiles).

Reality shows for you?
I am dying to be a part of a dance reality show. I hope Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa considers me but I guess since I have been in this industry for just six months I will get reality show offers over a period of time.

Message for fans?
I would just like to thank my fans for their love and support. Keep watching the show and showing their love. Thank you.

Telly_Addict thumbnail
Gopi-Aham share some special moments

Saath Nibhaana Saathiya has some big twists and turns in store for its fans this week. The biggest surprise will be Gopi and Aham sharing some romantic moments during Kinjal's sangeet ceremony.

Sources reveal "Kinjal and Eelesh's families will play a game of passing the pillow at the sangeet ceremony where Aham will be made to confess his love for Gopi".

When spoke to Gopi about the sequence, she said "I am hoping that things will get better between Aham and me and I keep doing things to make him feel special. However he wants me out of his life and Ma ji has even promised him that she will send me out of the house after Kinjal's wedding. At the sangeet ceremony when the pillow comes to Aham he is asked to give me a rose. He does not want to create a scene in front of Kinjal's in-laws and therefore gives me the rose".

Aham aka Mohd Nazim says " When it is my turn during the game I am asked to give Gopi a rose and confess my love for her, so yes it is romantic but I only do it because I am forced to".

Another huge twist this week is that Kinjal does not have the courage to inform Kokila that it is Umang and not Eelesh who is responsible for her pregnancy, so she pleads with Gopi to do it. This incident may also bring about a change in the relationship that Gopi and Kinjal share because Gopi has always been her well wisher but Kinjal has always insulted Gopi in return. Gopi says "Kinjal cannot muster up the courage to reveal the truth to Kokila and pleads with me to do it. Kokila is furious and hits Kinjal". Aham adds "Yes the truth about Kinjal will be revealed not just to the family but outsiders will also find out about it. The Modi family is well known and will have to face humiliation after the news spreads".

The show also recently witnessed the entry of Rashi's cousin Dhawal. Speaking about the new entry Gopi says "I had mentioned about Dhawal bhaiya some episodes back and asked Mami to keep a rakhi for him. At that time Dhawal was a mystery which has finally been revealed". Aham says "I will have some scenes with Dhawal in the upcoming episodes and I am looking forward to them".

This surely looks like an eventful week for Saath Nibhaana Saathiya

Keep watching Saath Nibhaana Saathiya every Monday to Friday at 7 pm only on STAR Plus to catch all the excitement.

http://starplus.startv.in/news/1082/gopiaham-share-some-special-moments.aspx

Telly_Addict thumbnail
Newcomers who rocked 2010
Buzz up!
As we head towards the end of 2010 we take a look at some newcomers who made a mark on Indian TV. Take a look at those new faces whose charmed their way into the hearts of the viewers with their acting talent.

By Natasha Coutinho

Showing 4 of 7 images Previous Next

Jia Manek: The meek and docile bahu Gopi aka Jia Manek of Saath Nibhaana Saathiya on STAR Plus charmed her way into the hearts of the audience. Saath Nibhaana Saathiya is currently leading in the TRP race and the protagonist Gopi has a huge role in making the show so popular. Jia's innocent looks and attempts to win over her husband Aham who hates her are a hit with the audience.

http://www.indya.com/gallery/indyagallery.aspx?p=Newcomers-who-rocked-2010&aid=2396
Telly_Addict thumbnail

New entry in Saathiya Saath Nibhana..

Friday, December 10, 2010 | 6:57:15 PM IST (+05:30 GMT) New entry in Saathiya Saath Nibhana..

Star Plus' Saathiya will see the entry of Dhaval Pandya who will provide for some light moments in the show..

Telly_Addict thumbnail

I'm bubbly and talkative in reality: Giaa

TNN, Dec 27, 2010, 12.00am IST

Giaa Maanek
It's almost unbelievable, but yes, the number one show on TV today is a show that's aired at 7 pm and it's a typical saas-bahu drama.

We are talking about Saathiya, which is doing very well on the Television Rating Point (TRP) charts. One of the lead characters in this show is Gopi vahu (bahu), a docile, simple and sweet girl, who always puts her family before herself. So what's this new popular daughter-in-law on the small screen all about? Is she similar to her onscreen character or very different? TOI finds out...

Are you a Mumbai girl? Tell us a little about yourself...
Yes. I am born and brought up in Mumbai and I have done my majors in advertising and marketing from Ruia and Somaiya college. I love dancing and acting.

How did Saathiya happen to you?
I always wanted to be an actor, so I started going for auditions and was very fortunate to get a role in the movie Na Ghar Ke Na Ghat Ke, where I was privileged to work with renowned actors like Om Puri, Neena Gupta and Paresh Rawal. After that I bagged the lead role in Saathiya.

The real Giaa seems very different from Gopi vahu (bahu), your character in the serial...
Completely! People are quite surprised to see me in person. But they like Giaa's look as much as they like Gopi in the serial. In reality, I am a very talkative person, very bubbly and fun-loving. I'm also very sensitive. And I hate people who lie and are two-faced.

Your character's very docile in the show... would you have liked to play a stronger woman?
Obviously. I am an actor and always open to any type of challenging roles.

When you started, did you think this serial would be number one some day?
Well from day one of my shoot I had a very positive feeling that this concept will work, but yes I didn't expect it to be the number one show. I sincerely attribute the success of my show to the entire cast and crew.

What's on the personal front?
Keep guessing!

Telly_Addict thumbnail

The hits and the misses

December 25th, 2010

The year 2010 proved successful for a few serials and a few others lost their fame! While Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai and Balika Vadhu stood their ground, other star performers of last year, like Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo, Chhoti Bahu, Aap Ki Antara, Bairi Piya, Sajan Ghar Jana Hai and Bhagyavidhata received low ratings.

If Balika Vadhu created the 8 pm slot, Choti Bahu was the slot leader at 7.30 pm, which infused life into early prime time. But it started losing ground to Sasural Genda Phool and was eventually shut down in September. Says, producer Tony Singh, "It was due to the stiff competition. The channel decided to close it down though ratings were not all that bad."

Aap Ki Antara, a story about an autistic child, suffered a setback too. The reasons stated were the change in slot, followed by change in characters. Sukesh Motwani, Fiction head, Zee, feels the show flopped because it got too preachy. "Wrong casting after the generation leap is another reason," he states.

If change of slot did not affect Aap Ki Antara, it did affect Agle Janam, which was sent down to early prime time to make way for Sanjog Se Bani Sangini. Producer Siddharth Tiwari of Agle Janam doesn't blame competition alone but says ups and downs are bound to happen when a serial is aired for two years.

Bhagyavidhata, another slot leader at 7 pm, lost most of its ground to the year's most surprising and successful launch, Saathiya Saath Nibhana.

However, Ekta Kapoor's Tere Liye at 10 pm almost killed the soap, Sabki Laadli Bebo, which was shifted to 6.30 pm. However, Anupam Vasudev, marketing head, Star, claims that it was a part of their plan to boost both the serials.

Telly_Addict thumbnail
My Santa
Buzz up!
Neha Maheshwri/ Hill Road Media
Christmas is one occasion when even our celebrities don't mind shedding their starry image and going back in time to remember their good old days when decorating the X-mas tree and exchanging gifts was synonymous with the festival. Things haven't changed from then as even today they look forward to receiving gifts and they yet wait for the Santa to ring the bells. But this year round we give them a choice to decide who would they want their Santa to be and the gift they would like to receive from him.

Showing 1 of 6 images Previous Next
Jia Manek: Well, I am my own Santa this season. I have gifted myself my dream car Chevrolet Beat in red colour. It's fun to be your own Santa as you know the best what you wish to be gifted.
http://www.indya.com/gallery/indyagallery.aspx?p=My-Santa&aid=2426
Telly_Addict thumbnail

Stretching it

-A +A
Font
Chaya Unnikrishnan Posted: Dec 24, 2010 at 2041 hrs IST
Star Plus started two shows in the 7 and 7.30 pm slot, Saathiya Saath Nibhana and Sasural Genda Phool respectively.
Primetime, which was traditionally bet-ween 8 to 11 pm, was stretched to include shows from 7 pm. The trend that Colors had started a couple of years ago gained momentum in 2010. Star Plus started two shows in the 7 and 7.30 pm slot, Saathiya Saath Nibhana and Sasural Genda Phool respectively, and the former has turned out to be the numero uno on the channel.
The latest is Zee introducing fresh shows Bhagonwali-Baante Apni Taqdeer and Apno Ke Liye Geeta Ka Dharmyudh in the 6 and 6.30 pm slot thereby expanding the primetime further. Also, Colors started the trend of airing a 60-minute special episode of one of its popular soaps, which was either a wedding sequence, a major twist or revelation that would spike the ratings. Since then many serials across channels have had Saturday specials turning it into a regular fare!

The year also saw some channels like Star One extending their daily soaps by a day, which means, like it or lump it, you see the happenings in Geet, Pyar Ki Yeh Ek Kahani and Rang Badalti Odhani through the week.