Qwest thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Yash Raj Films is distributing MAINE GANDHI KO NAHIN MARA all across the world. For business queries, click into any one of the following region-wise links:

India | USA/Canada | UAE| UK/Western Europe & Rest of the world

Professor Uttam Chaudhary is a retired Hindi teacher who lives with his daughter and young son in the city of Mumbai. He is suffering from what is laughingly called 'old age' – brief periods of forgetfulness, blanks in memory. Little does anyone realize that the problems are much deeper, and that this is just the beginning of a journey that will end in a man becoming a prisoner of his mind.

As his memories start to fade, a childhood trauma surfaces – a memory of being accused of murdering Gandhi. The more his life is whitewashed, the stronger this one memory remains.

As his world turns increasingly hostile, Prof. Chaudhary sees everything as an enemy…his house is a jail, his family are his captors.

And in the midst of all this is the story of his daughter. A single woman, working to not only support the family monetarily, but is also the only lifeline that can save her father from drowning in the universe his mind is creating.

It is the story of the power of one person's strength, hope and determination in pulling their loved one away from the abyss.

Indian cinema has taken us to many exotic territories around the world. Anupam P. Kher's 'Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara' based on Jahnu Barua's unusual script carries the audience to an unchartered territory, where they have never truly ventured before…the human brain.

The film structures the narrative by telling a simple story of a man's illness and his daughter's love, understanding and commitment to find her father's treatment, overcoming a host of problems through her faith and determination.

It is a film that connects two disparate events together. One, of a small middle class family in present day Mumbai struggling to come to terms with the fact that the head of the family is now suffering from early dementia and two, the assassination of the father of the nation, Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi.

The Professor's often repeated and exasperated denial 'Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara' is rooted back in an era when a truth seeking son of India became the father of a newborn nation. Someone killed this man, but his truth survives… he lives as long as his ideals breathe within us.

So though the title of the film says 'Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara', it also sends out a message saying that Gandhi ji is still alive in me! He should be alive in every one of us!

The film is directed by nine-time national award winner Jahnu Barua, and has screenplay by Sanjay Chouhan, cinematography by Raaj A. Chakravarti, music by Bappi Lahiri and audiography by Rakesh Ranjan. It stars Anupam P. Kher, Urmila Matondkar, Parvin Dabas, Rajit Kapur, Boman Irani, Sudhir Joshi, Raju Kher, Vishwaas Paandya, Prem Chopra and Waheeda Rehman.
CAST : ANUPAM P. KHER, URMILA MATONDKAR, PRAVIN DABAS, RAJIT KAPUR, BOMAN IRANI, SUDHIR JOSHI, RAJU KHER, VISHWASS PAANDYA, PREM CHOPRA & WAHEEDA REHMAN
DIRECTED BY : JAHNU BARUA
PRODUCED BY : ANUPAM P. KHER
MUSIC : BAPPI LAHIRI
SOUND DESIGN : RAKESH RANJAN
DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY : RAAJ A. CHAKRAVARTI

Edited by Qwest - 19 years ago
shootingstar thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
hey nice theard 👏 thx for all the articles he is yet another great music director
Qwest thumbnail

The Bappi Lahiri Chat

Bappi Lahiri, unflappable, as usual. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:12 IST)
Hi everybody, Bappi Lahiri here. Tonight, I'm with you everybody:-) and anything you have to ask me about my musical career or new upcoming movies you can ask. Today is a very great event. I'm at Rediff On The NeT. My privilege they have called me. I am very much happy to come over here. Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:15 IST)
Mr Lahiri, did I tell you that I used to freak out on your music when I was in my teens? Dance Dance and all those Mithun stuff.. wow, man, you had something going there!! Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:19 IST)
Nandini: I started disco music in Indian films, especially Suraksha, the first picture with Mithun, it was a phenomenal hit, and then I have given Disco Dancer, and then it started like a Disco wave all over India. Young generation liked the songs of Rambha Ho in Arman and Hari Om Hari in Pyaara Dushman, and my private album with Runa Laila named Superuna. That time the music was so much fresh and it was a new type of music in the industry. Now the same type of music is being enjoyed by the generation all over India and all over Asia. This is my privilege to have given today's music in the 1980s. Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:17 IST)
Mr Lahiri, now let me ask you a couple of questions I have been dying to ask you. Number one: you have been away a long, long time. What's happening? Has the market slid from under you, or is it 'cos of some personal reasons? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:22 IST)
Nandini: I have given music for 400 films in 26 years, and I'm now very choosy and want to give good music every year like Aankhen, Sawaali Saloni teri jheel se aankhen. I have become a producer. It is my prediction that Love Story'98 will be the greatest musical hit of the year. Lovers of my music will enjoy the fresh and melodious music. Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:22 IST)
Mr Lahiri, since you are my hero, I think I will overlook your pompousness! *g* Now tell me, isn't it queer that all the singers you used -- Vinod Rathod, Alisha, yes, Runa Laila etc etc -- they have all sunk (like yourself, I should add) into oblivion. Why? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:25 IST)
Nandini: It is a very wrong question because my career was spent with Kishore Kumar, Asha Bhosle and Lata Mangeshkar -- they are already legends of the music industry of India. What names you have given I have introduced them -- not Vinod Rathod -- but Alisha Chinai in Tarzan. Alisha also is the most popular singer among them all. romit (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:25 IST)
Hi Bappi Lahiri, I was from St Stanislaus. I know your son really well. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:26 IST)
Romit: My son Bappa, your friend, is sitting with me and we are both very excited to see your name and take my love:-) Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:26 IST)
Bhappida, did you never feel that your so-called "inspirations" have actually resulted in moral (and possible legal) crime? Do you think money is all? Or is job satisfaction insignificant for you? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:29 IST)
Dhun Chor: It is job satisfaction because the musical notes Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Dha Ni Sa are the same all over the world. But if I take the inspiration of any good note or good melody and adapt it in my style, it is a good creation, it is not a crime. Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:27 IST)
Mr Lahiri, does it bother you that your music is referred to as unoriginal...? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:32 IST)
Saisuresh Sivaswamy: Who says? Chalte Chalte is original, Namak Halal is original, Sharaabi is original, my new film Love Story 98 is original. I have done so many films. From my catalogue of films, so many songs, I think I can tell you, are totally original. These days no original music is going, everything has been heard before. Old is Gold, that's why all my old film songs are being remixed and becoming hits. rakeshs (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:30 IST)
Hello Mr Lahiri. In the 80s there were some accusations that music directors like R D Burman lost out because the fees you were charging were much lower then what they were asking. How do you respond to that? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:36 IST)
Rakeshs: When I came to Bombay from Calcutta in 1972, I started my first movie, Nanha Shikari and superhit movies Zakhmi and Chalte Chalte and especially the superhit song Bombai se aaya mera dost sung by me in Aap Ki Khaatir. One by one all my music became superhits, and no cutting down my price. My quality has come up and every one all over the world likes my music up till now. Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:36 IST)
Mr Lahiri, who would you rate as your true successor in Bollywood today? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:38 IST)
Sai: My successor as a hero? music director? singer? producer? rakeshs (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:40 IST)
Yah, I was going to ask you about Bombai sey aaya mera dost. That was a wonderful song. When is the Love 98 music going to be released and which was your last movie before this? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:42 IST)
RAKESHS: Love Story 98 music has been released by Venus, especially the song Chun Liya Hai Lakhon Mein Jisee and Dewaana Hoon Mein Tera. For the first time, Boy George, the British pop star, has sung and performed in Love Story 98 along with another pop star, Aapche Indian. It is a song called Chachi. It is bound to be a hit. My last movie was Military Raj and the song Balle Balle is very popular. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:43 IST)
Look at you...and Anu Malik also. Both of you have talent, but refuse to be original...is all the "chor" status really worth it? Your good music is often overlooked... IS IT WORTH IT???? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:46 IST)
Bunty: Shankar Jaikishen, S D Burman, R D Burman, and so many music directors previously got inspired by so many songs, so why condemn me or Anu Malik? The music also depends upon the producer and director who select the songs and compositions. Good music is always remembered for times to come. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:45 IST)
Do you really think Kumar Sanu is the best male singer? He is very nasal and seems to lack the vital CLASSICAL background. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:47 IST)
Bunty: Sanu is a good singer and people like his voice. rakeshs (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:48 IST)
Hi, me again. Saw you in the mid 80s in Vancouver, Canada, with Kalpana Iyer and others, enjoyed it, Have you performed any recent stage shows in Canada or USA? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:49 IST)
RAKESHS: I performed in LA on New Year 1997. I'm planning to come very soon to the US and Canada. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:49 IST)
I agree Mr Lahiri. Even the great Naushad was inspired by Punjabi/Pakistani folk ragas and songs. Yet will they be remembered as the MDs who copied? Anu and you are good...then why copy? Is it worth the "chor" next to your names? A R Rahman too copies certain things...but tell me why he is not called a tune thief? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:51 IST)
Bunty: The media has created those myths, they need good gossip about music directors. Had I been bad I would never have been in this industry for the last 26 years. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:41 IST)
Mr Lahiri, who would you rate as the best MD in India?? South and/or NORTH??? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:53 IST)
BUNTY: Nobody is number one in this industry, a song becomes a hit and that is the only thing that matters in the industry. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:55 IST)
I heard that your movie was nominated for the Oscars....yet I did not see it in the "nominated listings" here in the USA. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:56 IST)
Bunty: Best Film of 1997 Lal Darja (Red Door) is nominated from India for the Oscars. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:59 IST)
So...why don't you produce a VERY VERY good song/album that will make people and critics really stoned??? Isn't that a dream for you as an old MD?? Even Rajesh Roshan had a semi-comeback with Papa Kethe Hain... He is one of the few (only??) 70s MDs around. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:1 IST)
Bunty: Now I'm not giving so many films because today in one film there are so many music directors and the music director becomes popular by a song composed by somebody else. This type of hotchpotch situation is something I don't want to be associated with. That is why I have given my best music in Love Story 98. I think every one in the North will like this one. My latest non-film album for Mother Teresa's death anniversary, sung by me, will be premiered on television channels very soon. The cassettes and CDs will be available on Venus. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:5 IST)
Last questions please:-) bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:4 IST)
Please...think about making a comeback album...something that you want to be remembered as the 90s Bappi Lahiri... Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:6 IST)
Bunty: You will feel the music of Love Story 98. Mother Teresa is a very fresh abum when you hear it. bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:5 IST)
Thanks for the Chat, Mr. Lahiri. 1 more question before I leave! :) What do you think of ARR's music? And what did you think of the Titanic music???? Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:7 IST)
Bunty: Titanic is film music totally based on its theme. A R Rahman's music is one style that is going on, and nothing to compare with Titanic's music. dhun chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:5 IST)
Bappi, what's your real name? I am sure like your music BL is not the original. PLEASE enlighten ALL of us. Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:8 IST)
Dhun Chor: Bappi Lahiri is my real name.

Mr Bappi Lahiri (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:9 IST)
Dil Mein Ho Tum, Khawabon Mein Ho Tum, Bolo Tumhe Kaise Chaoon, Pooja Katroon, Sajda Karoon, Jaise Kaho Waise Chaoon. To all my fans. Good night and thank you and don't forget to listen to Love Story 98 and Mother Teresa's album.

Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:23 IST)
And, btw, Mr Lahiri, my first question was why are you not doing films NOW? are you keeping yourself away for personal reasons? Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:24 IST)
Mr Lahiri, a non-music question to you... considering the near breakdown in Mumbai's civic services, what is it you that the city needs desperately? Tell me one thing you believe will improve the quality of life in the city.. Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:25 IST)
Hmmm, okay..hey where's that guy who sang all the dance dance music? I am sorry, but i confused him with vinod rathod in my earlier question Anu Malik (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:26 IST)
Arre yaar, Bappi, aap idhar aaya kya? I have also entertained rediff readers earlier... Twice.. *pruning* but then, i am a more successful director than you... Tigerr (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:30 IST)
Mr lehri arnt you Bollywood people Disgusted with what Salman and the gang have done in Rajastan - i think if he is guilty salman or who ever should be licked up for a year. Whats your opnion Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:30 IST)
Mr Lahiri, what about the guy who sang those Dance Dance songs? you used him extensively. And Alisha is a popular POP singer. She is no where on the film scenaria.. And what about runa laila? And, your claim of working with Kishored and Mangeshkar - well, that's but natural. There are many who can claim that. By the way, that Tarzan number was a sexy one.. you really made good use of Alisha there... how did you first spot her? sumeetr (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:30 IST)
Bappi .... why the hell people say that you steal music? Atleast you are stealing so many heart s with it. Tell me which album of yours you like the most? Anu Malik (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:31 IST)
Arre yaar, tum log alisha ki baat kar rahe.. don't talk about her, i don't like her one bit... Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:31 IST)
But Bhappida what about the feelings the original composer would have? Have you ever met one of them after the 'inspirational' bout? How have they reacted to it? Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:32 IST)
And, Mr Lahiri, you must agree that your career ZOOMED with Alisha and the other-guy-I-was-saying.. not kishore and lata Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:32 IST)
Shame on you, Anu, you tried your dirty tricks on that poor girl and now you don't like her! Fie, fie!! (Translation, since I am sure you won't understand that: Shame, shame!) sumeetr (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:34 IST)
what is your pointof achievement in life? Anu Malik (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:34 IST)
Nandini, yaar, I didn't try any tricks with her. I love my wife, I love my wife lots. Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:34 IST)
Sai, may I join in? Bappida> Is Dance Dance original? Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:34 IST)
Mr Lahiri, a non-music question to you... considering the near breakdown in Mumbai's civic services, what is it you that the city needs desperately? Tell me one thing you believe will improve the quality of life in the city.. Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:35 IST)
Nandini *bowing* my pleasure... the floor is all yours Tigerr (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:35 IST)
Bappi are u going to comment on the Salman issue - or is it too controvercial - YOU MUST own to your peers responsibility Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:35 IST)
By the way, Bappida what on earth made you record that album with Mandakini? Weren't you trying to utilise her oomph to sellyour cassettes? amar (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:36 IST)
Tell me Mr. Lahiri , what is your favourite song out of all your songs? Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:36 IST)
Sai> I like a gentleman when I see one! *s* Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:36 IST)
Bhappiji, the fact that you are counting your original songs means that you have a lot of the 'otherwise' Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:37 IST)
Mr Lahiri, is it true that you were also a victim of gangland extortion? did you pay out? Anu Malik (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:37 IST)
Nandini, that is very true. That Mandakini female was very grating on ears. Unlike Alisha and all the others Bappi here roped in, this one was, well, horrendous. Whatever made you go for, Bappi? Were you mad or something? Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:39 IST)
Sai suresh, my dear I think you are confusing this chat with an interview where the others are a mere audience. Boss, you are supposed to write, and not to conduct Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:39 IST)
Sai, I must say that Mr Lahiri thinks quite a bit of himself! *s* Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:40 IST)
sai, there's some chor here who doesn't like you.. and, man, he doesn't know better than to shout in a chat room.. and that too with a guest on! Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:41 IST)
*sulk* Mr Lahiri, i think I will go to sleep now. I am a fan of yours, but you don't answer my queries! *sulk* Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:41 IST)
thank you dhun chor Saisuresh Sivaswamy (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:42 IST)
Nandini... yeah, Mr Lahiri doesnt realise quality when he sees it Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:44 IST)
Madam NADANI, Think you are not accustomed to the Net-freedom of speech. Anyway, is hitting madly at the keyboard your idea of a a chat? Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:45 IST)
Madam NADANI, Think you are not accustomed to the Net-freedom of speech. Anyway, is hitting madly at the keyboard your idea of a a chat? bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:46 IST)
please answer :) Nandini (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:46 IST)
Chor, sir, I know about Net and the freedom of speech. But have you ever heard of manners? I mean, the basic stuff we all need to have? Dhun Chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:50 IST)
C'mon Nadani, chors dont have any manners, by the way, I like your native GUSSA bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:51 IST)
There are lots of good singers, Mr. Lahiri. He just got lucky with N-S, and Anu Malik (namly Baazigar) adn now he is in the "cool" status. My Q to u as a MD is that is he talented enuf to be no.1?? bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:53 IST)
You are talented, no doubt. I am not a critic of ur music...I know you have survived for almsot 3 decades. :) Just curious...on the issue at hand... bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:54 IST)
Yes. I agree... dhun chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:54 IST)
Mr Bappi, It is possible to reign for not 26, but even 62 years stealing tunes in this land with no copyright laws. In other places one would have spent those years fighting cases of violation Jai Bharat bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:57 IST)
I see...thanks for clearing that up dhun chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:57 IST)
bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:58 IST)
By the way (in the north anyway) you are no longer in the race...unless you produce a VERY popular number...ask anyone on the streets...for the top 5 MD's. u will almost never be named rakeshs (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:58 IST)
Nice chatting with you Mr Lahiri and Good Luck Marmelade (Wed Oct 14 1998 9:59 IST)
Is the chat over? bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:3 IST)
I will look foward to that. dhun chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:4 IST)
Bappy Whats your real name? Im sure like your music BL is not the original. PLEASE enlighten ALL of us bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:6 IST)
thanks bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:7 IST)
I'll try to get it ;-) bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:8 IST)
But I ment...do u like ARR's music? Titanic?? dhun chor (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:9 IST)
Come on bhappi, you are a far cry from AR Rehman, please dont comment on him bunty (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:10 IST)
thanks kiran (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:39 IST)
bappida, i still feel there is a lot of depth in illairajas music when compared with arrahmans because rajas music has lot of natural composition and i feel natural composition has more depth than the programmed one jimmy (Wed Oct 14 1998 10:45 IST)
Bappi Da, what is the next film you are giving music in RUDRA NADKARNI (Wed Oct 14 1998 11:24 IST)
HI BAPPI DA RUDRA NADKARNI (Wed Oct 14 1998 11:24 IST)
R U THERE BAPPI JI arfe (Wed Oct 14 1998 11:30 IST)
hello arfe (Wed Oct 14 1998 11:30 IST)
hello amitcv (Wed Oct 14 1998 11:43 IST)
Mr. Bappi Lahiri - how do you feel when people equate Anu Malik and you ? And when you are labeled a copy-cat composer ? zap (Wed Oct 14 1998 12:45 IST)
Hi , Have I login at right time? It is 12.45 PM here in California.

christopherchris (Wed Oct 14 1998 22:4 IST)
hi Mr BappiLAHIRI

Qwest thumbnail

Bappi Lahiri Develops Fourth Chin.

by Anand Ramachandran

Bappi Lahiri poses for photographers with his brand new chin.
World famous music composer Bappi Lahiri was pleasantly surprised last week when he noticed that he had developed a fourth chin to complement his already impressive fleet of three. "Yay!", he exclaimed " Now I can play four violins at a time!". " Let's see if Dr.Dre can copy this. Ha ha ha!", he added

At a hurriedly put together press conference, Bappi also expressed his delight at the total chin count of the Lahiri family being raised to a whopping 9. " That's not bad for a four member family – well above the national average." he pointed out.

The news has set bollywood agog with excitement. "Bappida is an inspiration to us all. Even in these days of low-fat food, aerobics and yoga, he has shown that a true champion can continue to cultivate chins.", gushed Subhash Ghai, another key double chin guy.

Bappi signed off on a lighter note, saying " Let Brett Lee come here now, I will show him what is chin music! Hahahahahaha!"

This article first appeared in GILFOSIA, a print magazine we brought out a year ago. It only lasted one issue before spontaneously combusting. Since we're lazy slobs, we plan to recycle those little-seen articles on this site ever so often.
Qwest thumbnail
National

A dream come true, says Bappi Lahiri By Our Special Correspondent

The Bollywood music director, Bappi Lahiri, with the Congress president, Sonia Gandhi, at her residence after joining the party in New Delhi on Thursday. At right is the party general secretary, T. Subbirami Reddy . - Photo: Anu Pushkarna
NEW DELHI, MARCH 18. The Bollywood music director, Bappi Lahiri, today joined the Congress and promised to campaign for the party to spread the message of its president, Sonia Gandhi, through his music. Through Mr. Lahiri's induction, the Congress sought to respond to the Bharatiya Janata Party's move to bring in singer Kumar Sanu. And, if Mr. Sanu changed the words of a popular Hindi film song to praise Mr. Vajpayee, Mr. Lahiri composed a few lines for Ms. Gandhi. "... Janata ki awaz hai Sonia, Janata ki Maang hai Sonia... (Sonia is people's voice and people are rooting for Sonia) were the lines he rendered at a press conference, where he was introduced by the AICC leaders, Salman Khursheed and T. Subbirami Reddy.

Mr. Lahiri said that joining the Congress for him was like a "dream come true."

Qwest thumbnail

Bappi Da Ka Draam (Read it as Drum)...
By: madsadman

Javed Akhtar once said, ''Have you ever heard a Bappi Lahiri song that is dull? His songs are so bright.''

This is Bappi Da.....

Bappi Lahiri was born in the family of music (his mother was a clasiccal singer and his father a musician). He started to learn classical music from his parents. He still holds the record for being the youngest music director to give music in a bolly wood music. He gave music to Daadu , a bengali film released in 1972, at a very small age of 14.

His music created huge waves asross the nation in the 80s. People associate Bappi Da with loud and Disco music. I requested MS to add this category so that I can put up a few of his masterpieces.

I will divide his style into three sections -

1. Disco and fast numbers (He is so good at them)
2. Romantic Numbers / Sad

Songs
3. Other numbers which do not fall into the first two categories....

-------------------------------------------------------
Dance Numbers

1. Yaar Bina Chain Kahan Re - Saheb
Singers - Bappi Lahiri and S. Janaki

Arguably the best disco number from Bappi's factory of Disco. The song's opening piece of music has been used at a lot of places. Bappi Da's improvisation on Boney M and ABBA's tunes was marvellous. This tune is also a direct inspiration from Boney M's Rasputin. The tunes may not sound alike but the pattern of the song, the placement of the interlude are all same. The song is great because of the energy in the song. He used himself as the singer alongwith the legendary S. Janaki from south to create this masterpiece.

2. Yaad Aa Raha Hai - Disco Dancer
Singer - Bappi Lahiri

I was confused where to put this song. In category first or in the second one. Then I remembered my uncle's marriage in which people of Bappi's era turned hell upside down, dancing on this particular song. I decided to keep this one in dance numbers section. Now about the song, Bappi Da's selection of himself as the singer over Vijay Benedict (Singer of I am a Disco Dancer) turned to be the perfect choice for the song. The highs and lows of the tones in Bappi Da's voice make this song a worth listening song.

3. Humko Aajkal Hai Intezaar - Sailaab
Singer - Anupama Deshpande and Chorus

If I say Sailaab was a good movie , what comes to your mind first? The konkani dance of Madhuri Dixit if I am not wrong. This is the greatness of this song. The best part of this song is that Bappi used only the same tune and the same rhythm throughout the song and this 4+ inute song did not become dull. Anupama Deshpande's vocals are excellent and Bappi proved that he is good at other forms of dance music as well

Romantic Numbers / Sad Songs

4. Pyar mein kabhi kabhi – Chalte Chalte
Singers - Shailendra and Lata Mangeshkar

One of the best duets of all time, this song is a perfect example of how cute a chhed-chhad between two lovers can be. It is a different kind of song from Bappi's catelogue. It had different rhythm, different singers (Bappi rarely used Shailendra) etc. and the result came out as one of the best duets. Interesting isn't it?

5. Kisi Nazar Ko Tera - Aitbaar
Singers - Bhupinder and Asha Bhosle

Now those of you who think that Dada has not composed any ghazal, please listen to this song. This is one of the best ghazals I have heard. The ghazal talks about the wait, which a lover is doing for his beloved and full justice is done by the singers. You can feel the pain of waiting in their voice.

6. Manzilen Apni Jagah Hain - Sharabi
Singer - Kishore Kumar

A sad song. Spreads sadness around you and that is the greatness of the song. Very few sad song can really make you sad and this one is certainly one of them. The vocals of Kishore Kumar are as powerful as ever and the composition allows him to show his versality, thanks to Bappi Da.

7. Title Song - Chalte Chalte
Singer - Kishore Kumar

One of Kishore Kumar's all time greatest song. The song was an instant hit even though it was composed for a small budget film with apparently no big starcast. This rarely happens and thus the credit should go to the excellent composition of Bappi Da. This song's composition is a bit inspired from Rabindra Sangeet and has a distinctive touch of Bengali film music in it. The experiments are melodious and this makes it a winner.

Other Songs

8. Shyam Rang Ranga Re - Apne Paraaye
Singer - K. J. Yesudas

A bhajan by genre, this song is not inspired by Rabindra Sangeet. It is Rabindra Sangeet. We all know that Rabindra Sangeet is treated as one of the most melodious form of music in India. But the problem before recording this song was that Yesudas was a pioneer in Karnatic music and Bappi da wanted him to sing him an entirely different style of song . Fortunately for music lovers, the song proved a classic gem in one's collection.

9. Aao Tumhein Chaand Par le jaayen – Zakhmee
Singer - Sushma Shreshtha (Poornima)

Sung by Sushma Shreshtha of 1975 and Poornima of today, this song might be a surprising entry in my list but I had to include it because this is another one of a different song by Bappi Da. This song is basically a children's play song and as far as I remember, when I was a kid, I used to cry after listening to the song. Might be Bappi da found new audiences with this song but yes this song has a special place in my heart.

10. Pag Ghunghroo Baandh - Namak Halal
Singer - Kishore Kumar

I could have placed this song in the dance section but believe me, I had so much of choices, I decided this one could come here. The song is a trademark of Amitabh Bachchan. If you ask anyone to sing three songs of Amitabh Bachchan, the odds are very high in favour of this song to be in the list. This song started a new kind of music in the starting 80s, it was fast dance numbers based on both drums and tablas. Even at a very old age, Kishore Kumar imparted his energy to the fullest to this song. Definitely a trend-setter song.

Some more Worth mentioning songs of Bappi Da are

Sanwali Saloni teri jheel si aankhen - Hum Sab Chor Hain
Deewani Deewani Deewana tera ho gaya - First Love Letter
Raat baaqi Baat Baaqi - Namak Halaal
Pyar Maanga Hai Tumhi Se - College Girl
Ghunghroo Toot gaye - Haar Jeet
Pyar Kabhi Kam nahin karna - Prem Pratigya
Bombay Se Aaya Mera Dost - Aap Ki Khatir
Tamma Tamma Loge - Thaanedaar
Dil Mein ho Tum Saanson Mein Tum - Satyamev Jayate
Gori hain Kalaaiyaan - Aaj Ka Arjun
Qwest thumbnail
Bappi boogies for Remix

A truly unique concept has been coined for all Indian television viewers, the title track of Remix can be part of your audio collection. Be the first to own one, today.

With title tracks getting just as popular as the series, Remix, one of the popular shows on STAR One celebrates the spirit of youth by launching the Remix Album.

This peppy music album is a compilation of hip-hop music, sung by the young and talented band, Aasma of the Channel [V] Popstars-2 and composed by Pritam of Dhoom fame. A special highlight of this album is the Bappi Mix that is composed by none other than the king of disco - Bappi Lahiri.

After the phenomenal success of the song Remix Hai Apna Jahan, the Remix music album is sure to become a rage with the youth. This album is made available through Times Music and will hit music stores today, on 8 December 2005, across India.

STAR One, one of the most happening channels today is right in claimimg that Remix is the first show on Indian television to have released a music album. With the launch of the album, Remix has now expanded beyond the confines of television. Having a strong and original musical content, Remix has created a niche amongst the youth in India. This inimitable concept celebrates the josh of youth.

Check this link to know more about the Remix Album.

Songs from the Remix Album!

Dil ki yeh Dhadkan
Music: Gaurav Issar
Lyrics: Amir Rizvi
Singers: Aasma

Remix
Music: Pritam
Singers: Aasma and Rap by BlaaZe

Mast Mast (The Vikesh Mehta Mix)
Music: Vikesh Mehta
Singers: Aasma, Rap by MC Sensor

Love Station
Music: Naresh-Paresh
Lyrics: P A Sreekanth
Singers: Aasma, Rap by Bob

Boom
Music: Deep
Lyrics: Sandeep Shrivastava

Baad Mein Jahaan
Music: Vikesh Mehta

Dance Dance
Music: Bappi Lahiri
Singers: Aasma and Bappi Lahiri
uknaik99 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Thanks for the articles Bob Ji

I love this song from Disco dancer - yaad aara ha hei
suto thumbnail
Ever since I saw Bhappi Da's interaction with kids on SRGMP, I have started respecting him even more.

It was really interesting to read all the articles about him.

Thanks.

Qwest thumbnail
Bappi Lahiri

One thing can be said about Mr. Bappi Lahiri. He is a phenomenon by himself. Overweight, fair, loaded with gold jewellery and diamond rings, with his trademark huge dark glasses on, he definitely stands out in a crowd. Clothing It is indeed a miracle that despite wearing such tight fitting, synthetic, non-breathing fabrics Bappiji manages to be comfortable enough to work at the pace he does. Though his clothes speak of a lot of money spent on them, they lack visual appeal.

But the point is his personality makes up for the void left by his non-happening clothes! Attitude and Image Just look at the guy. With loads of attitude and confidence, which proclaim, "Hey, I am a star!" he manages to impress just with his persona and his 'look-at-me-I-am-someone' attitude. At a recent awards ceremony, he actually said, believe it or not, "and the award goes to Macarooona!" Not one to be embarrassed by the public gaffe he then proceeded to calmly present the award and walk offstage regally! Now that's what we call real attitude and style. If you ever see Mr. Lahiri getting out of his car, you will notice that he always waves out to his fans, whether physically present or absent. It's the thought that matters you know. Bappiji knows he has a fan following and therefore waves out to them, even if they happen not to be around when he alights.

That's a whole new, interesting way to look at things, if you ask us! Designer Heaven knows, but whoever it is has realized the fact that it really doesn't matter what Mr. Lahiri wears. Because at the end of the day, his personality is what shines through, overpowering everything else about him. Films Yes, Bappi Lahiri did quite a few good music scores for films like Sharabi, Namak Halal, Khilona, Disco Dancer, Armaan, a whole lot of Mithun Chakoroborthy films, before losing it somewhere along the way and going not-so-strong today. Mata Moksh Speaketh My child Bappi, you need to look inside yourself and discover what went wrong with your creative energies. Inhale deeply, smell the wet earth and practice Pranayama to change your world-view and your fortunes.

Style Tips Don't ever let go of that gung-ho attitude of yours, it will take you a long way. Go in for some hair weaving and a spot of real exercise will do wonders for your physique. Also get some bodyguards to protect the wealth that you wear everyday, it will make you look more important and also protect you from would-be jewel thieves waiting to way-lay you as you go jogging with your look-alike family. And our Style Bhai of the Week is Bappi Lahiri! Background Info Who hasn't noticed Mr. Bappi Lahiri? You must be visually impaired with a brain the size of a pea, if you haven't seen, heard of or gaped at this famous music director. Loaded with tons of gold chains and gold rings with diamond ornamentation, he is a walking, talking goldmine. He makes a bagful of gold feel inferior, with his obvious display of wealth.

A caricaturist's dream, Bappi Lahiri with his trademark dark glasses, is today reduced to doing the music for B and C grade films. All potential jewel-thief's may catch him jogging on the beach with the rest of his family, though you may have a problem identifying him, as one really can't distinguish him from the rest of his clan. They all look alike - obese, fair, people with layers of fat, clothing and jewellery adorning their formless forms. Clothing Bappi Lahiri prefers tight-fitting (read bulge inducing, tyre showing) clothes, made out of synthetic, non-breathing fabrics which look rich, feel uncomfortable and make breathing an art to be painfully mastered. Attitude and Image With an attitude that screams "I am a pucca filmi jan" Mr. Bappi Lahiri's image needs a desperate makeover. What he probably needs to do is hire a PR person to do his talking for him. At an awards ceremony some time back, he actually said, believe it or not, "and the award goes to Macarooona!" Hehehe.

Yes he did, and in the process embarrassed all of us, who have been trying to combat the stereotyped image of Indians being backward. Designer Heaven knows, but we do know that whoever he is has absolutely no sense of style or visual appeal. Films Yes, Bappi Lahiri did quite a few good music scores for films like Sharabi, Namak Halal, Khilona, Disco Dancer, Armaan, a whole lot of Mithun Chakoroborthy films, before losing it somewhere along the way and going downhill. Our Spiritual Advisor Mata Moksh Speaketh You are on the verge of a spiritual crisis Bappiji. Try to look within and discover what went wrong with your creative passions. Breathe deeply and practice Pranayama to change your worldview and your fortunes. Style Tips Get a designer who can perform miracles Mr. Lahiri. Change your style of dressing before it leads to a disastrous visual hemorrhage in any of the people who are forced to interact on a daily basis with you. Also go in for a complete insurance coverage, what with all that precious metal on you, you are probably even more valuable than Fort Knox! Think about it…