Disappointed....Rudra was SO not in character

st03im thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail + 2
Ok, for all the hype this episode got, it was a major disappointed. I don't normally do full episode reviews but I couldn't help myself for this one. Logic was majorly missing in most sections, Rudra was totally not himself and Zain and Aliya (forgive me, I don't watch that show so I don't know if the cheesy mushiness is the norm or just a special treat for us today) were annoying.

To begin with, why oh why did they have to come all the way to Mumbai if there already is a good doctor in Chandangarh? That too an army doctor? Singh Saab wouldn't have known to refer Rudra to him? And that much confidence in this Mumbai doctor that you book a return ticket for the same evening? Leaving a few scant hours for treatment is a bit too optimistic, don't you think?

And the whole Dargah thing. Paro my dear dear child. I am aware that you believe strongly in duas and mannats and all that jazz. And so you should. BUT, going off to the dargah, with a stranger in a strange city, WITHOUT telling your kadak, jallad-type husband, I'm sorry, but that is really really irresponsible. And what was it that convinced you? A stranger telling you that if he loves you he will find you? Come on! Do you not know your husband at all? That husband who has been known to do some ferocious taandavs when it comes to your safety and security! You just left? First I thought that Aliya would tell Zain who would then tell Rudra, but logic clearly was too high of an expectation for today's episode.

And freak out he did. That was fairly realistic, true Rudra style. His dismissal of Zain was also in character. But what really got to me was how he DIDN'T ream Paro out when he finally found her. She didn't even ask for forgiveness. After the obligatory 'bawli hogayi hai' dialogue, he just went mum? Her soft dua-asking voice was all it took? I'm sorry, but that was not cool! I know you've mellowed out dude, as you should, but don't not be Rudra! And then they just pick up and go off with Zain and Aliya for Mumbai darshan! What sort of Mumbai darshan was that?

Rudra's comment on keeping the PDA in check was bang on. As usual, Paro baisa does not agree. But really, Zain and Aliya really do need to reign it in. You bring guests over to your home, and instead of bringing them in and showing them around, you leave them in the car and go in to do gutter-goo with each other? Seriously? Where's basic manners and etiquette man!

Paro and Rudra on the beach was the only part of the episode that I enjoyed and that was in character for both of them. As usual, he says no right away when she asks to go to the beach. But as expected, he follows her like her shadow. Being away from Paro, not able to watch after her, or protect her, is against his very instinct. And so he will follow her, not letting her out of his sight. And Paro too, is getting more comfortable around him. She's starting to be herself around him, letting go and just enjoying moments. We saw this when she fussed with him about the eye drops in her eyes, when she let him feed her, when she climbed through the window so that she could stitch his button, and when she's trying to decide what gola she wants. And here, she frolics in the water. Her faith in him is rock solid. She knows he'd never let her drown and so she plays. Even when she slips, she knows he'd be there to catch her. That simple self-assurance in him, in her faith in him, is what makes Paro so special, and so different. And continuing the trend we have been seeing with them, they have a comfort with each other. The share pieces of themselves with each other, solidifying the trust that they've been building. Today we learn that Rudra won a medal in swimming. He learns she likes the beach. Sigh, if only the whole episode was this moment alone. But too soon, it ends.

Now Zain bhai comes to Rudra to tell him to izhaar his pyaar. First of all, Rudra does not get candid with ANYONE. Even with Paro took a long time. He doesn't share his feelings with his father, or even Aman, and not even Singh Sir and Gitanjali, who he clearly has alot of respect for. But here, so easily, he talks to Zain about his relationship? And when Zain tells him to say "I love you", instead of saying, please mind your own business (which the Rudra we know would have said), he doesn't deny anything and just gets pensive? Really?

Moving on to the garden. Zain and Aliya. I get that you are in love, but that does not excuse you from basic manners and courtesy. Here you are entertaining guests, people you barely know, and there you are sprawled on each other whispering sweet nothings to each other? And Paro, you support this? I know that love inspires you, but please do not aspire to this. And Rudra my man, why didn't you WALK AWAY!?! Instead, you give in to Zain's stupid request to romance your wife?! Rudra is an extremely private man and he expresses his concern through actions not words. And when he wants to share words, he shares them privately. How many times have we seen him take Paro inside their room, or to an isolated place, where he can ensure time and attention to the task at hand. This same man will romance his wife in front of others? That too with Kuch Kuch? CVs, overdoing it much? The kuch kuch moments of the past were special. When he was trying to make her laugh, pacifying her, comforting her. It was his silent surrender, placing her needs before his pride. Totally misused and misplaced today.

And one of my last annoyances of the episode, Paro giving "energy" to Rudra. I like this couple, because they are in sync with each other. They create their own special moments, out of mundane situations, moments that they both mutually contribute to. Be it burnt sabzi, or a chuha in the room, or even the more passionate moments of returning earrings, these moments mean something to both of them. They are their own, moments they both own. Paro taking someone else's moment and trying to make it hers with Rudra, felt wrong. Contrived. Fake. The only part about it that made sense was Rudra's reaction. Dude, don't worry, I totally feel the same way.

I'm not even going to bother talking about the rest of the episode. I've already established how logic was missing the day the CVs came up with this. The trend continued to the end. All in all, not really worth the bated anticipation. And furthermore, in-spite of a (maybe) valiant effort, Zain and Aliya left me totally unimpressed. Please CVs, do NOT do Mahasangams again. If you do, please inject some logic.

Love, Shy
Edited by st03im - 11 years ago

Jaz1990 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
I don't want to comment on zayn and Aliya, seen as I dont watch BI, so hence thought their parts are maybe in synced with how their characters are or should be. As for the PaRud scenes I jut cringed throughout apart from der beach scene, so u get the point lol
Edited by Jaz1990 - 11 years ago
SingaporeFan thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Agree with you...I was cringing when Rudra started singing KKHH! And that ' energy' saying was totally off...does Paro even know what 'energy' means? Bits of the episode were nice but overall I guess it's for publicity so ok...hope our Rudra will be back in character from Monday onwards...
sajanp thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail + 2
well said👏👏
the scene stood out to me is the beach scene. paro smile or rudra staring paro & their conversation is too awesome
the best part is paro mannat is too touchy
SabrinaMalik thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Since you don't watch the show, I'll give you an insight.

"(forgive me, I don't watch that show so I don't know if the cheesy mushiness is the norm or just a special treat for us today)"

Zain and Aaliya are anything but cheesy.
They made them look like a PDA couple just to make Paro long for Rudra even more.
And by the way, ZaYa confessed their love for each other on Friday and MahaEpi was on Saturday. Toh thoda toh romance banta hai.
But the CVs made them ultra-cheesy.
Not all of us BI fans are happy about that too. Ruining one couple's chemistry to boost the others.

I'm a huge fan of RR.
If anything about RR was posted on BI forum I'd stand up for RR too.
But thankfully, BI forum has been mature.

P.S.-- "And furthermore, in-spite of a (maybe) valiant effort, Zain and Aliya left me totally unimpressed." No one made valiant efforts to impress you, it's okay.
Edited by SabrinaMalik - 11 years ago
bebo2050 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
i dont noe much abt BI i watch it once in a way , they just confessed their love so maybe they were extra lovey - dovy .

rudra was in character through out except the last part when he says to zain something "voh hamesha se meri thi ' .thats not something rudra wud tell to someone he met just hours back .

and paro blindly trusting someone she met hours back was toh completely in character 😆 .

Energy thing was silly for both the couples
st03im thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: SabrinaMalik

"(forgive me, I don't watch that show so I don't know if the cheesy mushiness is the norm or just a special treat for us today)"

They made them look like a PDA couple just to make Paro long for Rudra even more.
And by the way, ZaYa confessed their love for each other on Friday and MahaEpi was on Saturday. Toh thoda toh romance banta hai.
Not all of us BI fans are happy about that too. Ruining one couple's chemistry to boost the others.

I'm a huge fan of RR.

P.S.-- "And furthermore, in-spite of a (maybe) valiant effort, Zain and Aliya left me totally unimpressed." No one made valiant efforts to impress you, it's okay.

No offense meant against Zain and Aliya. It just made no logical sense, both Zaya and Parud sections. I criticized both equally but knowing Rangrasiya better allows me to be more balanced when analyzing Parud versus Zaya.

Thanks for clarifying that this is not the norm. I agree with you, Mahasangams should be fair to both shows, and all characters should be in sync with what they've supposed to be, and not catered to specific agendas.
-Severus- thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: SabrinaMalik

I'm a huge fan of RR.

WORD!

I cringed at the energy scene and the ZaYa PDA which was done just for the sake of Paro and Rudra's love story. Hopefully from Monday all will be back to normal.

They should refrain from having these Mahasangams. Moulding one couple just to suit the other's story...urgh. Plus BI didn't have any growth in its story whatsoever so I'd rather they had given 1 hour to Rangrasiya alone.

Though yes, the actors and crews have worked overtime for this so let's just take it with a pinch of salt, appreciate their efforts and move on.

Edited by -Severus- - 11 years ago
pancakes thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 7
zain aliya just confess their love so thats why they were behaving like that.
and totally agree the energy scene and kuch kuch hota hai was too much it was not needed

the whole point of maha sangram was total waist just to cure rudra hand this could have been done on monday at their place too what was the need to come all over mumbai.

also lastly It was so unrealistic that the moment rudra was able to open the window zain at the same time broke the one
Ammu1369 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
BI is usually not like this!
It's not at all cheesy!
Please don't comment about other shows if you don't watch them.

They actually ruined both the serials by totally changing the characters of the leads..

And as for the romance between ZaYa..
THE JUST FREAKING CONFESSED THE PREVIOUS DAY!!
You can't expect them to stay away from each other when they've just confessed

After PaRud confess you will want them to have some romantic scenes, won't you?

I agree yesterday's romance was a little overboard... but they had to show them to make Paro trust them and to talk to Rudra about how cute they are together.

Even I was surprised that Rudra shared his feelings with Zain.. But Rudra has changed a lot now, hasn't he? He can't keep his feeling to himself!
And Zain is a quite trustworthy character. Maybe that's why he decided to share his feeling with Zain. (Maybe he wanted Zain's expert advise 😛)

But overall it was a cute episode!
Sorry if I sound a little rude.. but I'm tired of RR fans insulting BI
And PLEASE don't insult shows which you don't watch hereafter! 😊