Vibhishna thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail The Rang- Rasa Cronicles Participant Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: coolpurvi

Dont know what to say abt such writers. U may seen many people making skit on Ramayan or Mahabhrat. They r copy cats. this writer copied all name from Valmiki. Jab kahani hi badal diya aur main characters ko butcher kar diya toh naam bhi apne se hi de deta copy karne mein sharam nahi aaya. I think he had no confidence on the merits of his own writings. That's why he copied the name of character of Ramayan for his good for nothing story. He took the help of popularity of Ramayan to sell his book. people reading this book shud treat this story as a new story with copied name of the main charaters from Ramayan

I would say he was really very much confident about his own writing. But I agree that, as you say, he has taken the help of the popularitiy of the Ramayan. I just wish he would change the names of all characters.
Vibhishna thumbnail

Originally posted by: bharat999

I havnt read it. No. Hav never heard of this b4 actually!!

There is another book called 'Abduction of Sita'. Has any of you read that?? I only fliped through pages and didnt like it as the Author (cant remember his name now. will find out) fiddled the story a bit!

There are six parts actually - Banker has actually released the story in 6 books.
Vr15h thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Participants Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: Vibhishna

I have seen this book so many times but never could bring myself to read it or buy it so far. I have read few bits of it. Banker has a good writing style with powerful words. Had he chosen to publish this story with the names of all characters changed and said this book is based on the story of Ramayan, it would have been a best seller by now. But writing the Ramayan like this was something I couldn't digest till now. This book has not become that popular till now. I too have told my friends not to read this book unless they want an absolutely false and horrible Ramayan.

There is one other book written in a modern style - 'The Ramayana' : A Modern Translation by Ramesh Menon. Though it is not written in the classic epic style and is slightly modern in the way of telling the story, except few scenes, the rest is fine. Though I am not completely in favour of recomending this book to anyone who wants to read theRamayan and enjoy it in its original esscence, it is definitely much more better than what Banker has done.

Vibs

I'm in the process of reading Ramesh Menon's book. It seems by & large okay, although it seems to embellish things a bit, and I'm suspecting that parts may have been mistranslated (such as Lakshman refering to Sugriv as Tara's husband when she goes to placate him). One thing good about the book is that it seems to cover the Ramayan completely - the intro being about Kush & Luv appearing in Rama's court to sing the Ramayan, and it ending with a vivid description of the final departure for Vaikuntha.

On the other book, I agree with Purvi-di - just ignore such wackos, and don't give them publicity here. Godisone, I wish you hadn't started this thread.

Khalrika thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: godisone

Has anyone read Prince of Ayodhya by Ashok K. Banker? It's a fictional story based on the characters of Ramayana, and it is absolutely scandalous!🤢 I was ashamed that an Indian would write such a thing, and use the divine characters of one of the best loved epics so freely.

To those of you who have read it, what did you think? To those of you who did not read it: Don't. There are actually many many swear words and dirty words in it, which sick! And the story is on Shri Rama too!

You know godisone, most of us live in free countries and we cannot stop this kind of nonsense from being published. This wacko can write whatever he/she wants in the name of 'free speech.' We, the readers, also have the freedom to ignore him, to criticize him, and to give no importance to his work. So, let's do that. Let's not give any importance to such writers. After a time their work will sink into obscurity while Valmiki's Ramayan will be going strong like it has from Treta Yug.

It has become very fashionable nowadays to constantly belittle our great epics and Itihaas. Kali Yug is in full swing, don't you think?
Vr15h thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Participants Thumbnail + 6

Mandodari

Well said!👏

Khalrika thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Chandraketu

Mandodari

Well said!👏

Thanks Chandra
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: Chandraketu

Vibs

I'm in the process of reading Ramesh Menon's book. It seems by & large okay, although it seems to embellish things a bit, and I'm suspecting that parts may have been mistranslated (such as Lakshman refering to Sugriv as Tara's husband when she goes to placate him). One thing good about the book is that it seems to cover the Ramayan completely - the intro being about Kush & Luv appearing in Rama's court to sing the Ramayan, and it ending with a vivid description of the final departure for Vaikuntha.

On the other book, I agree with Purvi-di - just ignore such wackos, and don't give them publicity here. Godisone, I wish you hadn't started this thread.

Oh, sorry.😕 I was just so angry when I saw the book. Mods can lock this if they want.
And Excellent Reply Mandodari. I never thought of it like that, but you're right.
Vibhishna thumbnail

Oh, sorry.😕 I was just so angry when I saw the book. Mods can lock this if they want.
And Excellent Reply Mandodari. I never thought of it like that, but you're right.

Its not that the people should not be warned of what it is - but the more they hear about it, the more curious they become. By saying 'prople' I mean not only the ones who know the Ramayan but also the countless others who may read this post as it is open in the inernet. Curiosity, though not a sin, is pretty compelling and contagious. That is the reason ignoring is better than bringing certain things to the light. No offence meant, godisone. This is just my opinion.
Vibhishna thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mandodari

You know godisone, most of us live in free countries and we cannot stop this kind of nonsense from being published. This wacko can write whatever he/she wants in the name of 'free speech.' We, the readers, also have the freedom to ignore him, to criticize him, and to give no importance to his work. So, let's do that. Let's not give any importance to such writers. After a time their work will sink into obscurity while Valmiki's Ramayan will be going strong like it has from Treta Yug.

It has become very fashionable nowadays to constantly belittle our great epics and Itihaas. Kali Yug is in full swing, don't you think?

Well said Mandodari ji 👏 Though we can't prevent things like these coming up, we can only ignore it.
coolpurvi thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

I love that line of yours there Purvi. You're completely right. We shouldn't mind these kind of people, because we truly know who our Gods are, but it still makes my blood boil......

thanks latitha di🤗.
its better to ignore such writers