Question to readers of the novel & viewers of the 90s serial ?

Dramabeans thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Every Sunday as a kid I used to wait eagerly for Chandrakanta to come. I loved each character be it Krur Singh , badri or mukesh bhatt as tej singh.
More importantly I watched this show for the romance not of
virendra & chandrakanta (too vanilla)but of shivdutt & Kalavati.

Shivdutt was such a fascinating character to be put under one label - villain.
At times charismatic other times anti hero, a tragic boy , a romantic hero.

The way Pankaj dheer portrayed him was spellbinding.

So much so the makers shifted the focus from virendra-Chandrakanta love track to shivdutt-Kalavati love story.
Chandrakanta was entirely forgotten in the story.

I was heartbroken when the serial abruptly ended. It left me with a burning need to see that love story completed.

A need which sadly is yet to be fulfilled.

No adaptation since has got that version even this version has a shivdutt stripped of his complex character and richness & made into a stock villain. Not saying the actor is bad but his character is dissapointing. I blame the writers for that.

You might ask why I don't read the novel. Simple I can't read hindi and I don't want to read it in eng but learn to read in hindi.

So if some one will have pity on this fan girl and please answer the question below I will be eternally grateful.

regards
Desperately hopeful.

Edited by Dramabeans - 8 years ago

Dramabeans thumbnail

Is there a Maharani Kalavati in the novel as in the Tv series ? Is their love story the same in novel as in Tv series? Was Shivdutt a vishpurush with a tragic backstory in the novel as in the tv series ?

kaveriw2008 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
As per my conclusion this new chandrakanta has took names and some part from the novel chandrakanta
As u watched 1 episode of both chandrakanta...the story is totally different...
I agree with u ...that cv of old chandrakanta actually forgot ck and virendra story and concentrate of shivdutt kalavati story
I m not sure about rani kalavati in new story ...because ck and viru lovestory is not yet started...
And i haven't read that novel ...so my knowledge about chandrakanta is from the old show ...
And u can compare both stories are pole apart except names...
Just like pandit jagannathin old show was best man of shivdutt not marich..
Shivdutt was vishpurush but in new story his only brain full of poison nothing else 🤣
My fav character was badri played by mukesh khanna...because he actually ready to die for virendra and his love...but in new chandrakanta this badri is one of the obstacle in path of virendra to reach chandrakanta
Edited by kaveriw2008 - 8 years ago
Dramabeans thumbnail
I am enjoying this version as a separate entity.
Neither am I comparing the two shows

My only grouse is shivdutts characterization which is not worthy of the original.

Pankaj dheer with his coloured wig and moustache was the first bad boy of Tv

My Question is that part of 1990's serial the same in the novel

Cause I would love to read the conclusion of shivdutts &Kalavati story .

In this serial there is no Kalavati & not even required.

Thanks for replying to my question. I love having such discussions
naturesk thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
There are definitely ppl on this forum who have read the novel, i hope they reply to this post.

But as far as i know, the novel had no maharani kalavati. Even if it did, she probably would have been mentioned once or so. The original novel was based of Chandrakanta and Viren story, where Krur Singh joins hand with Shivdutt, and tries to kidnap Chandrakanta (Krur Singh wanted to rule Vijaygarh and Shivdutt was always mesmerized by Chandrakantas beauty). She runs away from Shivdutt and is trapped inside the tilisam, that is where Virendra comes to break the tilisam n save his love life.

The old tv serial deviated completely from the novel, and that is 1 reason y it went off mid air. The novel was tremendously popoular back then and ppl expected similar story i guess.

Life ok will remain true to the basics- they will keep this show as Chandrakanta And Viren story with other elements. They might introduce new characters but will not shift the story line. 😊

I am not sure what were Shiv's characteristics in the novel. Let me try to find out and get back 😊
naturesk thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Alright so i think, 1. There probably was no Kalavati in the novel 2. So no love story of Shiv existed 3. Couldnt find anything saying that he used to intake snake poison
I started reading the novel too recently but so far nothing came up which says that Shivdutt was vishpurush and nothing about Kalavati

milinda.shreyz thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dramabeans

Is there a Maharani Kalavati in the novel as in the Tv series ? Is their love story the same in novel as in Tv series? Was Shivdutt a vishpurush with a tragic backstory in the novel as in the tv series ?

Dear TM,

I have not read the original 7 part novel coz I do not possess that much knowledge of Hindi, but I have read an abridged version of the main novel in English. That book was quite thorough, I must say, so I have some idea about the main cannon.

The main story of CK centers around CK- V and how V frees Ck from Tilism and becomes the master of great wealth and wisdom in the process.

As far as I know there is no maharani kalavati in the main story, and shivdutt was actually very villainous in the story always creating trouble and Krur Singh joined hands with him later when it became apparent to him Ck would never marry him.
Tej singh was chief Iyaar friend of Virendra and helped him a lot throughout the adventure and at the end he marries chapla.

CK- V story in the novel is actually very candyflossy 😆...ck had no strength of character, just a damsel in distress waiting to be rescued. And V is the typical hero, very ideal kind of guy.

when 90's chandrakanta was shown on TV, I was a kid, and Parents didnot allow me to watch tv that much. So I was asked to choose between Chandrakanta and Sri Krishna. And I chose Sri Krishna coz I was more eager to watch Krishna's baal leela and all. So no idea what was shown there.
milinda.shreyz thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dramabeans

I am enjoying this version as a separate entity.

Neither am I comparing the two shows

My only grouse is shivdutts characterization which is not worthy of the original.

Pankaj dheer with his coloured wig and moustache was the first bad boy of Tv

My Question is that part of 1990's serial the same in the novel

Cause I would love to read the conclusion of shivdutts &Kalavati story .

In this serial there is no Kalavati & not even required.

Thanks for replying to my question. I love having such discussions

we love discussion too ! so u r most welcome.😆😆

Now as far as Shivdutt's characterization is concerned in the novel itself he is very unidimensional. He has so different shades like the one u described, shown on DD. Maybe thatz why Shivdutt became more catchy than V and the show deviated from the main focus.

I have not found any mention of Kalavati in the novel.
kaveriw2008 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Are yaar ...after reading all these meaningful reply...i feel like fool...kuch aata nahi and chali reply karne huhhh...
Bachpan mein ghar mein sablog ck, aliflaila ke fan the to tab dekha tha...

And again after some years sony ne ck ko phir se tv pe laya tab dhyan se dekha tha...lol...bas itna hi pata hai...
Novel ke baare mein mujhe kuch nahi pata
milinda.shreyz thumbnail

Originally posted by: naturesk

Alright so i think, 1. There probably was no Kalavati in the novel 2. So no love story of Shiv existed 3. Couldnt find anything saying that he used to intake snake poison
I started reading the novel too recently but so far nothing came up which says that Shivdutt was vishpurush and nothing about Kalavati

OMG !! U have started reading themain novel ?? in hindi or in english ? If english plz send me a pdf copy naah, I would love to read that too !