O.P. Nayar: story of a musical genius

Sur_Sangam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Latest on O. P. Nayyar

By Dr. Narasinha Kamath

This is my subsequent blog on Late Maestro O.P.Nayyar. I am sure many of you must have read my previous blog "O.P.Nayyar is NO MORE" which was OP's biography. I was following up every bit of news about him after he passed away on January 28th, 2007. What bothered me was that no prominent film personality from Bollywood went to pay their last respects to OP. And since OP was estranged by his wife and children and also the relatives, no relatives came to his funeral. I just wonder how can one hold grudge against a person who is no more. This is total callouness.

From Bollywood, I had expected at least few of the present day music directors, singers or Lyricists attending OP's funeral. But there was none. No actors or actresses came to pay their respect either. This shows that if someone is not in limelight, nobody bothers about him. Even singer Asha Bhonsle whom OP groomed during her struggling years and gave her big break in singing world was nowhere to be seen.

Very few cine artists like Mahesh Bhat, Rajesh Khanna , Tabassum and Sharmila Tagore at least came up with statements praising OP's work. I do not think all Bollywood biggies were out of town on January 28th. This is really a very sad affair.

NCP President Sharad Pawar was prompt to go to Thane and pay his respect in person to OP on behalf of Central Government of India. Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh paid tributes by calling OP a creative genius.

Finall, Nakhwa Family with whom OP was living for last 13 years as their special guest performed the last rites at Thane Civic Crematorium. Marathi speaking Nakhwa family took very good care of OP. OP considered Mr. Nakhwa as his own son.. It seems that Mrs. Rani Nakhwa used to work in one STD booth in Thane 13 years back where OP used to come to make telephone calls. OP was staying with his friend at that time. And he was looking for an accommodation for himself in Thane near Mumbai.

For few days, Rani did not know that the person who was coming quite often to STD Phone booth was indeed the famous music director O.P.Nayyar. OP asked Rani if she can find someone who can provide him accommodation in Thane. After few days, Rani came to know that the person asking for accommodation was indeed the Great Music Director O.P.Nayyar of yesteryears. Rani thought for a moment and after consulting with her husband decided to give accommodation to OP in their flat in Thane. She considered this event to be an honor to their family. OP was glad that he found a place to stay with a very caring family.

Other day, when I was watching Zee TV paying tributes to OP, their cameraman and the interviewer had gone to Thane to take interview of Rani Nakhwa on January 28th. I saw Rani in total grief standing next to OP's mortal remains giving her interview while crying. She said it will be very hard for both of them to live henceforth without OP in their house, since they were so much attached to OP for last 13 years as a member of their household. I also heard them talking in Marathi that even OP's real daughter also did not care about OP and OP had instructed Nakhwa family not to inform his family members in the event of his death. I felt very sorry to see OP's smart black hat and his famous cane lying next to his body before his last journey. This scene was very poignant indeed. As in words expressed by my best friend Shri Subramaniam Viswanathan (a Sulekhite) "OP's hat and cane were symbolic of his magnificence, self-respect and uncompromising steadfastness to his principles and profession". I recorded the whole interview for my future memory. I loved O.P.Nayyar all my life and I do not want to hide the fact that O.P.Nayyar is my most favorite music director. I myself learnt a lot from OP's music. In fact, I grew up with OP's music. OP is like a Guru to me. And this is the reason, why I am writing on OP so extensively.

Also during last few weeks, just before OP's passing away, OP had visited Chandigarh and Bangalore where he was being felicitated for his lifetime achievements in Music. And he revealed very frankly many things about himself which were unknown until then. I would like to summarize them below for the benefit of the readers.

It seems that last 2 years he was not watching any Hindi movie or listening to any Hindi music. He did not watch even his films were he gave music. Only exception was the movie he liked to watch multiple times a day Ye Raat Phir Na Aayegi (1965) where he composed beautiful numbers. OP said while watching this movie he used to get some strange feelings. My favorite song from this movie is Mohobbat Hai Chhez Hai Kya by Asha Bhonsle. What a composition! At the time of writing this blog, I have been listening to this song repeatedly. I love this song.

While attending Rafi Nite in Chandigarh, OP frankly said that ''Hypocrisy is not my religion. I don't believe in falsehood,''. Such a statement can only come from an honest person. When he was asked why he did not take Lata, he clarified: ''I was successful without Lata's voice. No doubt Lata's voice has a spiritual quality, but it's just that her thin, thread-like voice wasn't suitable for my rich, robust, romantic compositions. Shamshad Begum, Geeta Dutt and Asha Bhonsle were my kind of singers," he clarifies. He goes on that though he and Asha together have scaled new heights he regards Lata as the best singer, and Asha the second. OP helped Asha to realize her true potential and made her a very successful singer next only to Lata. Before Asha, he had already helped Geeta Dutt to become an outstanding singer. Before OP shaped Geeta's voice, she used to sing weepy Bhajans. And OP pulled her out of that Bhajan image. OP also got best from Rafi. OP went on to reveal in his own words ''My inspiration has come from a woman. I was a romantic in my younger days, and good looking too,''. His association with Asha lasted for 70 films together that created magic. But OP knew that Asha was career oriented woman and eventually OP would have had a second place in Asha's life. Hence OP finally parted his company with Asha. Asha then married R.D.Burman. And rest is history. OP however mentioned that R.D.Burman used to give best songs to Lata and second-best to Asha. And this was ironic indeed. OP felt that both Lata and Asha should have retired gracefully many years back. According to OP, Lata and Asha were past their prime and their voice did not have the same magic.

OP once refused to accept Lata Mangeshkar award on the ground that how can a music director accept an award named after a singer. Music Director comes first before the singer. OP was correct in not accepting the award. And as per OP one cannot name an award on a living person. Lata is alive so OP felt that it was incorrect to name the award after her name. And finally, OP said he never worked with Lata. So with these 3 reasons he did not accept an award given out on Lata's name. OP felt his biggest award was that his music is immortal. Even today, many of the remixes are done using OP's old hits. Even today, during marriage ceremony, OP's songs such as Ye Desh Hai Veer Jawanon Ka, Humdum Mere Maan Bhi Javo, Mera Naam Chin Chin Choo and many intoxicating songs are played all over the country.

When asked about today's music, OP replied candidly: "''Everything has degenerated. Our emotions, values, lifestyle ... So has music, '' he says. But he at once clarifies that the seven surs can never be cheap. Lyrics, dance movements, picturisation can be vulgar, but not music. He sums up, saying ''It's Kalyug, you see.'' He feels sad that the golden era of music of stalwarts like R.C. Boral, Punkaj Mullick, Khemchand Prakash, Shyam Sunder, Ghulam Haider, Anil Biswas, C. Ramachandra, Vasant Desai, Roshan, Madan Mohan, S.D. Burman, Naushad and O.P. Nayyar can never come back. "What's gone is gone,'' he says in a matter of fact way.

On tricks of his trade OP said:" I used to make a tune in five minutes; it never took me more than that. But I would always tell the filmmaker to come back after 15 or 20 days so that it wouldn't look that simple".

O.P.Nayyar was invited few weeks back by Rotary Bangalore Northwest, for honoring him for his lifetime achievement in Music. During this function OP said he never likes Airplane food. So while traveling in the plane, he never eats. One could not miss a Big OM tattooed on his palm while he was speaking.

Having created music for almost 2 decades OP stopped giving music in early 1970's. On this subject, OP said: ""I'm 82 now," smiles the wiry man. "I don't feel like composing for today's films. There is a time for everything... there was a time when God made me give music."

OP always felt that he was blessed by God. Otherwise without training in music even for one day and without knowing any Raag or Raaginis, how could he compose such enchanting music including some classical numbers? OP felt that it was divine Gift from God. As he puts it, "No one in the family was a musician and I myself had never listened to music. That's not all. "I never listened to music composed by my contemporaries either as I feared they would influence me. Even today I don't listen to any music at all! I don't listen to my own music. If the world listens to my music, it is God's grace."

It was amazing that OP composed all songs of Film Phagun (1958) in Raga Piloo.

When Classical Maestro Vocalist Amir Khan heard those songs over the radio, he immediately telephoned O.P.Nayyar at his home and congratulated him for composing all songs based on Raga Piloo. Amir Khan also was surprised to see that all songs of Phagun sounded different although all were based on Raga Piloo. O.P.Nayyar replied to Amir Khan Saab that when he composed the songs for the Film Phagun , he was not even aware of the fact that he composed all songs in Raga Piloo. What a Great Music Director!!! Truly a Divine Gift from God.

Also many songs of the Film Ek Musafir Ek Haseena (1962) were composed on Raga Kedar. The songs composed in Kedar were Aap Yuhi Agar, Humko Tumhare Ishq Ne, Mujhe Dekh Kar Aap Ka Muskuran, Bahut Shukriya etc.

About his past relationship with Asha Bhonsle, OP frankly said "Asha's magic came out when she was with me. Now there is no ras in her singing. But Asha is Asha. No one can be her." Love, he says, colored their music. "Please don't mind my frankness."

About his present lifestyle OP said ""I drink a bottle of beer in the afternoon and eat my fish or chicken, and have a peg of whisky at night with gobi bhajjias! There is this one film I see and I can see it even 20 times a day — YeRaat Phir Na Aayegi . Wah! What a film!"

Also who can forget those two songs by OP: Diwana Huwa Baadal (Film:Kashmir Ki Kali)and Lakhon Hai Nagahon Me (Film:Phir Vohi Dil Laya Hoon) where Rhythm is held just with Guitar without using Tabla or Dholak. And this is the magic of OP.

The film industry saw him as an arrogant and temperamental. But OP never cared about such a criticism. OP was a misunderstood man. On this OP says ""Everything is distorted. People who were jealous of me spread such things. Otherwise, would directors have given me work? I was humble and down-to-earth. But I do have my self-respect... "

Few years back, OP was invited by a film producer in Lahore, Pakistan to attend a function in OP's honor, but OP refused to go to Lahore because going to Lahore would have revived those painful memories of partition when OP and his family had to leave Lahore during those violent days. OP says ""We were forced out of the country when we didn't want to leave home. Politicians have divided nations. That's why I always say humanity is my only religion".

Whenever somebody changed the subject and pointed out his Black Hat with spiffy feather OP would say ""Nazar na lagao... pehle se hi kaala hai! I'm a baldy, so I wear it," he says tipping his hat charmingly, as his eyes crinkle up behind the lined cheeks. "It adds to my persona, you know. I love black."

In the last few years, OP was very happy to work as Homeopathic Doctor where he used to treat his patients free of charge. Dr. S.P.Pathak was his Guru who taught him Homeopathy. OP said during yesteryears, he gave medicine for soul thru his music and now he was giving medicine for human body. OP went on to say in Chandigarh that Music Director O.P.Nayyar is dead but Doctor O.P.Nayyar is alive and active.

Personally, I had a great desire to see OP at Thane and talk to him for hours. But now such a thing is not possible. I wish I was living in India and I was living with Nakhwa family of Thane for last 13 years. And in such a hypothetical situation, I would have had a great opportunity to talk to him every day for hours on Music.

There can only be one O.P.Nayyar in entire lifetime. May God rest his soul in Peace.

Time and Tide waits for no man. "KAALAY TASMAIN NAMAHA".

Before I conclude, following song came to my mind which is probably appropriate since OP is NO MORE. The song is Chal Akela, Chal Akela which was composed by OP for the Film: Sambandh of 1969 written by Kavi Pradeep. This song was probably the only song sung by Mukesh for OP during fag end of OP's musical career:

Chal akelaa, chal akelaa, chal akelaa

teraa melaa piichhe chhuutaa raahii chal akelaa

hazaaronn miil lambe raaste tujhako bulaate

yahaan dukhade sahane ke vaaste tujhako bulaate

hai kaun saa vo insaan yahaan pe jis ne dukh naa jhelaa

chal akelaa ...

teraa koI saath na de to tuu khud se priit jod le

bichhaunaa dharatii ko karake are aakaash odh le

puuraa khel abhii jiivan kaa tuune kahaan hai khelaa

chal akelaa ...

Edited by Sur_Sangam - 18 years ago

punjini thumbnail
OPN was definitely a phenomenon that comes only now and then. But his family was estranged from him for good reasons. It is not normal for a family to disown someone this famous and talented unless there is some good reason. Asha would also have had her reasons.

If one reads OPN articles posted on other threads, one will find many statements attributed to him that are quite inflammatory 😊 He called Waheeda a Goanese maid-servant, Lata as "plain looking" and so on. Now, one can argue that even we would make statements like these in private conversations...but the point is that he spoke like this in interviews to the media!
Sur_Sangam thumbnail

Originally posted by: punjini

OPN was definitely a phenomenon that comes only now and then. But his family was estranged from him for good reasons. It is not normal for a family to disown someone this famous and talented unless there is some good reason. Asha would also have had her reasons.

If one reads OPN articles posted on other threads, one will find many statements attributed to him that are quite inflammatory 😊 He called Waheeda a Goanese maid-servant, Lata as "plain looking" and so on. Now, one can argue that even we would make statements like these in private conversations...but the point is that he spoke like this in interviews to the media!

There definitely was some weirdness around him😕
Qwest thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
SS, Thanks for the thread and I was pleasantly surprised to see this post. I am thankful that at least someone payed their respects to a man who gave us so many pleasant evenings with our fathers, either in Theater or unwinding in our living rooms and driving back home after a long day. Yes OPN was definitely a phenomenon that comes only now and then or will ever. There can only be one O.P.Nayyar in entire lifetime. May God rest his soul in Peace.

Here is a quote from the Interview:
There is this one film I see and I can see it even 20 times a day — YeRaat Phir Na Aayegi . Wah! What a film!"
Edited by Qwest - 18 years ago
mermaid_QT thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Qwest

SS, Thanks for the thread and I was pleasantly surprised to see this post. I am thankful that at least someone payed their respects to a man who gave us so many pleasant evenings with our fathers, either in Theater or unwinding in our living rooms and driving back home after a long day. Yes OPN was definitely a phenomenon that comes only now and then or will ever. There can only be one O.P.Nayyar in entire lifetime. May God rest his soul in Peace.

Indeed!
I am a big fan of OP, Asha and their work together.
Edited by mermaid_QT - 18 years ago
Sur_Sangam thumbnail

Originally posted by: Qwest

Here is a quote from the Interview:
There is this one film I see and I can see it even 20 times a day — YeRaat Phir Na Aayegi . Wah! What a film!"

Dada, He indeed contributed a lot to Indian music and gave us gems for ever to cherish.Thanks for your reply..
wite_rainbow thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: mermaid_QT

Indeed!
I am a big fan of OP, Asha and their work together.

as am I. we really did suffer a great loss!

Anuradha thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
People must have atleast respected him as a fellow musician and they must have come to pay the tribute.. He was indeed a great MD of the golden era and no one can deny that.. For how many of them he would have given chance as a singer and how many of them would still be listening to his beautiful compositions, atleast for that due respect, the filmstars and musicians must have come and paid the last tribute

Thanks for the article Amit 😊
Edited by Anu.Rad - 18 years ago