Today's Take - ChhanMan Tension, Dadaji's Delusion

DiyaS thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 7
Another great episode ... the episodes are flowing smoothly and contiguously now, the tracks all well planned and laid out ... and the loops opened actually get closed with a semblance of logic ... at least good enough for a daily show 😆

Episode starts with major ChhanMan tension as Sonali changes her statement about her fiance's name ... Manav is upset and furious that Chhanchhan could think so badly of his mother. Uh oh ... dikra is back.😲
But he does ask his Umaben if she is fully happy with Chhanchhan, despite having to change so many rules for her ... of course Umaben reassures him she is doing all this out of love for her children ... pretty unarguable.

The ChhanMan tension persists unabated ...
Chhanchhan still perturbed ... asks Umaben the same question, are you happy with me as bahu? Umaben is very smart in her answer .. she actually told her the truth and made it sound like a lie ... but it seems Chhanchhan is not swallowing it now ...👏 Smart girl!!!

And Umaben discloses why she does not want Chhanchhan as a bahu ... she changes too many rules, asks to many questions, and challenges Umaben's undisputed fiefdom ...
But Umaben has seen the tension between Manav and Chhanchhan ... her plans seem to be on track ... 😕

One loop closed, and some questions answered ... Sonali did not know that Manav was married, the tattoo parlour meeting was an accident ...
But now that Sonali does know, she is still all right with marrying Manav? Or did she agree to change the name for some other reason ... like not wanting to rock the ChhanMan marriage? Sonali is still an unknown entity as of now ...

More cracks appear in the Mukut-Kaumudi relationship ... it's not just that Kaumudi is too involved in the housework, Mukut seems to have some problem with her otherwise too ...

Umaben appears at night in ChhanMan's bedroom - does she make a nightly visit there every single night? 😕 Presents Chhanchhan with a new suit for the barsi and an alarm clock ...
ChhanMan tension persists ... a barbed conversation between ChhanMan ... 'the alarm clock does not work ...' 'that's because the battery is loose, there is nothing else wrong ...'
Both equally certain that they are right in their thinking ... she still suspecting something wrong, he still sure that nothing is wrong ...

Dadaji has an attack of "I think I'm dying" at night ... the doctor tells the family it's all in his mind and if only he could get rid of his delusion that his wife is residing in that kalash and actually mourn her death, he will get better instantly ...
SN - In Hindu tradition, ashes are not kept in the house ever ... they are never brought back home after cremation ... they are taken straight for immersion ...
So Chhanchhan decides to do the needful ...
Next morning, Dadaji throws the grandfather of all tantrums at his precious kalash going missing ... and Chhanchhan appears with the empty urn ... she has immersed the ashes in the Ganges at Sabarmati ...😲 much to the consternation of the entire family ...

Tomorrow there is going to be major drama ...

Newbiesoapfan thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Good episode. Some loose ends tied ... others opened! Sonali is a huge loose end for me ... I have deduced as of now that she SO wants to be UB's DIL... which girl wouldn't want it... hopefully we will see her true colors soon!

Loved the way the CVs handled the tension between the couple... their dialogs were wonderful.

Dr.Dia -- if you could also explainiya how much of psychology and psychiatry they teach in medical school...uh -oh -- no logic boat wa there --- so will go with BWlogy ( coined by Diya)! to explain the doctor's diagnosis...

P.S Methinks the empty kalash is a dummy... Dadaji will himself need to immerse the ashes and bid goodbye for a complete catharsis...

UB's plans succeed ... i think that Thursday's 6 was followed by 4 today as she reinforced the dikra- fication of Manav...

So UB is 10 up!!

Edited by Newbiesoapfan - 12 years ago
MeeraHK thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
thanks diya.a wonderful epiosde again..i guess we aare married diya we knw how the life changes after marriage..anf men are men..thy will never believe things so easily..that too when their mom is involved..manav is surely gonna repent for what ever he told..ahd i knw he will shw his romatic side...any way good epiosde..

And regd dadaji i liked himn from SBS days..he has a very major role to play and cc is going to be best buddyy..
kbtr thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I don't think that Chhan Chhan would have the audacity to actually spill the ashes in the river. As well, it's a closure for the grieving family, so she would never do this by herself. It's just not who she is. She is just pretending to have done this so Dadaji lets it all out, so he can begin to live normally, or as normally as possible under the given circumstances. He still has to go through the emotions and process of losing someone. Right now, he is stuck at the denial stage.
After all the rage directed at her by Dadaji and the various family members have been consumed, she will bring the ashes and have Dadaji perform the ceremony, and have the family as a support system for him.
However, I am dreading what will happen to Chhan Chhan in the meantime. She has possibly brought about the wrath of not only her in-laws, but her husband. At a crucial time when she needs his support. Of course, Dragon Lady will revel in this fallout of Chhan Chhan !!
SS88 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Sonali, as Newbiesoapfan said, is a loose end. I can't understand her motives either, did she change his name because she realized he was married, or did she already know that and decided to create a rift? See right now, if we see things from Manav's perspective, you can't call him a dikra. All he;s seen is his mum making as many adjustments as CC, plus this whole Manav Nagar/Borisagar thing just added more to the confusion. And CC is not some silly naive girl, she's seeing through Uma's sugar coated barbs, only because she knows something is fishy. Uma has managed to alienate her from her husband, but this girl is a fighter, and she wont sit in a corner and shed tears .She'll go and look for more proof, and as they say in Hindi cinema- all criminals leave behind some proof of their crime. So, let the games begin!
P.S. I dont think she immersed the ashes, I think that empty pot is a hoax, and she's going to help Dadaji get closure. Thereby, becoming his darling.
DiyaS thumbnail

Originally posted by: Newbiesoapfan

Good episode. Some loose ends tied ... others opened! Sonali is a huge loose end for me ... I have deduced as of now that she SO wants to be UB's DIL... which girl wouldn't want it... hopefully we will see her true colors soon!

Loved the way the CVs handled the tension between the couple... their dialogs were wonderful.

Dr.Dia -- if you could also explainiya how much of psychology and psychiatry they teach in medical school...uh -oh -- no logic boat wa there --- so will go with BWlogy ( coined by Diya)! to explain the doctor's diagnosis...

P.S Methinks the empty kalash is a dummy... Dadaji will himself need to immerse the ashes and bid goodbye for a complete catharsis...

UB's plans succeed ... i think that Thursday's 6 was followed by 4 today as she reinforced the dikra fiction of Manav...

So UB is 10 up!!

Ash ... there are some medical problems that are not to be found in any medical textbook but only in the annals of BW and now Indian TV shows ... one of the commonest is - doctor, when will he/she wake up from coma? Doctor replies next 24/48/72 hours are critical, if he recovers then he will be fine ... and patient opens eyes exactly at the stated hour and not a second before, and is perfectly hale and hearty ... 😆 and all medical doctors cringe and shut their eyes🤣

So do not question BWology 😆 ... at least this one does have some basis in fact ... it is cathartic to cry after a loss ...

The bedroom scene of the couple was really good ... could feel the undercurrents and the tension in the room ... the dialogues were curt and biting ... lots left unsaid but nothing went unheard ...

Sonali ... I will wait and watch ... I think there might be more to her than wanting to marry a married man who is in love with his current wife ... I HOPE there is 😆
princessunara thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 8
ah fabulous take di..
except even now I don't believe Manav has been dikrafied..hehe funny isn't it considering I was one of the first to jump at his throat at every such trait he displayed..
well he has redeemed himself in my eyes.. so well he is no dikra even now..

in fact while dikra's trust mummy blindly he trusted his wife blindly!! and well right now he thinks that trust was broken..thus he is lashing out as he was hurt too..he will surely regret it when he learns the truth but till then he is reacting as any sensible person would..

Anyway omg the tension in the room was WOW!! seriously that scene took the whole episode to a different level!
Be it the precise cutting dialogues,,body language, actions, reactions.. everything was so perfectly apt! the tension was building so think that u could practically cut it with a knife! it was tangible watching it from outside!!
ahhh fabulous execution and direction and Sanaya & Anuj nailed it!! WOW!!

aahhh I am absolutely loving this and I am gonna kill someone at the end of this week when that stupid 3 day weekend comes and its not there! they better start airing it 5 days a week soon! I cannot not watch it for 3 freaking days! that is cheating!!

ps: hehe had a good laugh seeing urs n Ash di's analysis on Bwology! 🤣
Edited by princessunara - 12 years ago
DiyaS thumbnail

Originally posted by: kbtr

I don't think that Chhan Chhan would have the audacity to actually spill the ashes in the river. As well, it's a closure for the grieving family, so she would never do this by herself. It's just not who she is. She is just pretending to have done this so Dadaji lets it all out, so he can begin to live normally, or as normally as possible under the given circumstances. He still has to go through the emotions and process of losing someone. Right now, he is stuck at the denial stage.

After all the rage directed at her by Dadaji and the various family members have been consumed, she will bring the ashes and have Dadaji perform the ceremony, and have the family as a support system for him.
However, I am dreading what will happen to Chhan Chhan in the meantime. She has possibly brought about the wrath of not only her in-laws, but her husband. At a crucial time when she needs his support. Of course, Dragon Lady will revel in this fallout of Chhan Chhan !!

I agree with you ... and I hope so too ... I think in the SBS they showed two urns ... so hopefully this was just to push Dadaji over the edge into letting go his anger and denial, finally accept that his wife is gone, and allowing himself to mourn for her. Chhanchhan will take the anger directed at her and that will earn her respect in Dadaji's eyes ... once he has let himself go and mourned fully ... the entire family will then take part in the ceremony ...

I don't think that part - Dadaji's anger - will be too long-lived ... so her isolation will be short. And then she will have DDji's support ... which is great, because Manav is still acting like a dikra ... yeah yeah, he is justified, but he is!!! 😛
And Dragon Lady's glee will blind her to the fact that CC has now won over a very solid support in the family ...

Let he games begin! 😆
showviewer thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Agree with you Diya, the creatives did deliver another good episode. The show has definitely taken a turn for the better and keeping fingers crossed and hoping this is just the start.

My favorite parts today were ChanMan scenes... very well conceived and executed. I especially liked the bedroom scene, the dialogues were good, but the one before UB comes was so well enacted, no dialogues just with looks and body language both actors conveyed their emotions, both getting up together to open the door and sitting and then again getting up really well directed and acted.

UB definitely can gloat today, but the weakest link in this track is Sonali, why did she get convinced so fast by UB, is she not upset with her father and UB for not telling her about Manav's marriage...there are so many loose ends here, hope the CVs give us more and just not expect us to go with what we saw today. If Sonali has a decently convincing backstory this track will pack a punch.

UB has declared war today and sounded the bugle...was very refreshing to see a female protagonist in a desi serial who believes her instincts and not afraid of standing up for herself in front of elders. Despite what Manav tells her, Chhanchhan is firm in her belief.

For Dadaji to become an ally there has to be a strong emotional connect between him and Chhanchhan and this "barsi" incident was to establish that. Chhanchhan has gone straight and touched the most sensitive issue for Dadaji, what better way for both to come together.

The creatives are already laying foundation for the Kaumudi and Mukut track and as Chhanchhan finds her footing again in Borisagar house and Manav's heart, that will explode. Good going CVs... they seem to have a plan, now the only thing they need to explain is Sonali and Thakkhar Bhai.

Agree again Diya, can clearly see why Sanaya selected this show and if CVs and writers keep improving like this, she will have a good show to her name, TRP is another game.
Edited by showviewer - 12 years ago
goguma thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
at least now, i have some gist of the episode..
tks Diya.

tension in Chhanman's bedroom...
both are upset, and none is willing to pacify the other... :(

for sonali, i guess its too early to judge her cz she may have an agenda of her own..
and how long is she willing to wait for manav..?
as much as he is upset with chhanchhan now, manav holds that wedding vows v dearly.. 😉

sensing trouble in chhanman's heaven, i am sure ub will def up her game..
she is intelligent with her moves, but smart chhanchhan is no less...

great acting from the actor who played dadaji.
from his 'dying moment' till the time he went beserk the next morning.. wow!

we are in for more gripping moments tomorrow,
with Chhanchhan taking things in her own hand to help dadaji moves on..

one Q, can CC dispose the ash like that?
is there a ritual for this.?

Edited by goguma - 12 years ago