loveinshi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: AllThingsNice

I am hoping they don't use this standard track, but I guess we all need to now gear up for a Kumbh Mela separation track 😃

if not kumbh mela then surely docs will have some important role as usual..😆 like said in precap..😆
manali65 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

The title expresses my feelings in Kutumb style...didn't know what to make of the epi and so, didn't know what to call the post. So fell back on the standard expression that Kutumb uses for everything - good and bad 😛

After today's epi, I want to know what exactly the Lahorewali's condition is. Is she mentally sound or unsound? Seemed to me today that she could grasp Zara's state of mind, comfort her, and even readily go into the mental hospital to get out of Zara's way. She voluntarily said 'bye' to Zara and returned the mangalsutra to her. A mentally unsound person is surely incapable of understanding the significance of any of this. When Rishi first brought her home, the doctor had said that she is like a child who needs care and understanding even in daily routine tasks.

Coming to Rishi, his impotent rage was well expressed. But he brought this upon himself, right? If he left the decision to Zara, then he must live with the decision. And if he wanted Indira by his side, then he should have communicated his decision to Zara instead of allowing her to decide. His anger is directed at himself for believing that Zara would decide in accordance with his wishes. But having handed it to her, he should have accounted for the fact that this may not go entirely as he wishes. To call Zara's concern for Indu hypocritical, then, was not correct.

Indu fainted! Imagine! Whether it was for the jolt of not seeing her mother, or whether it was because her own tantrum was too much for her, we will never know.

But she fainted at the same time that Lahorewali did! God at work again showing us His mysterious ways and how He treats mothers and daughters who have a "dil ka rishta". Except that He was slightly harsher on Lahorewali. She hurt her head, cracked her skull, and bled a bit. (Ramble: At this point, I remember thinking how exciting and innovative it would be if they showed that through the crack in the skull caused by this injury, Lahorewali's tumour seeps out and she is completely cured. But the precap was about some scam 😔. HD is very much into social awareness. They will now educate us about corruption in mental hospitals. Already, the doc that Zara left a hefty cheque with has been shown to be a cad).

Question: Why did Zara give money to the hospital? If she is a police officer who is in tune with the times, then she knows that in India, no institution of this kind uses donated money for the patient. (Going by that logic, the fact that she thinks that Indira will be cared for in a better manner in the hospital is slightly unbelievable. But this is just a show.) Was she trying to alleviate her guilt by paying for Indira's treatment? I am inclined to think not, but would be glad to hear what others have to say about this.

No doubt, she will bring Indira back home. But not only because of Rishi's reaction. She has to uncover the hospital scam and rescue Indira from there.

Am finally done. Thanks for reading. 😊

Nice Post.@ Bold .I can't agree aboutRishi's anger.
He requested Zara to take decision which will not hurt others.He had complete faith on her that she would not admit LW in MA.Being a Father who is away from her mother,he assured will not break his faith and bring LW back.
This is not first time From Bhopal, this is third time Indu get faint,and Zara donated her Blood,
She would have listen Rishi to concern about Indu or Indu would hate her.But Zara failed out of luv with Rishi and giving importance to her emotions and decide properly
Hence Rishi's anger is justified,he is totally helpless.Iam not bashing Zara
I still love Zara character was also helpless paid he entire gift amount to ensure proper treatment of LW
Let us wait and see without leaving LW in MA story cannot move Ahead. I hope After taking Brain treat ment centre, she may get cured and truth may be revealed

Edited by ratisumitvats - 13 years ago
AllThingsNice thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Anu_1

I had written about this someplace before in the context of their portrayal of the police force as bumbling fools. In daily soaps, all sorts of misleading stereotypes abound.

About the statement in bold, you're right. Corruption does exist, but not to the extent that it does in many other fields. Organ harvesting is a big issue. Also, due to the shortage of cadavers, there is a nexus between doctors and patients awaiting transplant. There are malpractices associated with gender identification and several other issues related to the dubious functioning of regulatory bodies and the availability of medical services.

But this is in the context of the medical field in general. When it concerns mental health, the issue is much, much more serious. Detailing it here is impossible, but The Times of India had broken a story in which they had mentioned that families, many of which have limited financial means, leave their family members in the mental hospital because they cannot care for them. In the mental hospital, life is of the worst kind. Doctors are not qualified and not interested in helping them out. Well-to-do families do not want to bother with a mentally ill member of their family. Many times, they refuse to pay for the upkeep of the patient after admitting them. Food is substandard and of zero nutritional value.

Also, in India, the concept of counselling and asking for the assistance of a psychiatrist is still considered taboo (I am not talking of urban places). People are termed mad and shunned. I could go on and on. You would not want to read something that is turning into a rant. Sometimes, I think the stereotype is preferable to the truth.

Sorry...I am not sure this is the response you were looking for 😔

@bold: Agree with that Kanan. Same thing in urban areas as well. Still people are so stereotype in this matter, some times they are not ready to take the mentally imbalanced person to hospital due to this taboo thing and seek all that stupid things like mantra, doing some pooja... etc.

@bold blue: This is deeply frustrating. This happens very often around us. I know so many people who need help but can neither openly seek it nor talk about it with friends and family. And if they get past that stage and accept that they need help, finding a proper qualified psychiatrist is the next challenge.

Education can help reduce the bias against this, but with a population that is mostly illiterate, this is a definite challenge. In well-to-do homes, people call this a Western concept...I have heard jokes like "I am not an American who needs help to deal with shopping stress". Annoying!

Edited by AllThingsNice - 13 years ago
AllThingsNice thumbnail

Originally posted by: Heema22

Hai Rabba!!! Perfect title Kanan . Why ? Why so many characters are Ruined? First. Rishi ! Then Indu and now Zara? I still do not understand , why they have created so any likable character and then murder them ? I agree with Arpita and I Quote her because I 100% agree with her " no unity of action,no sequence of events,and no proper story telling.As a result,we have such a complicated and derailed story.Arpita perfectly written ,"

I just could not believe that they had nerve to show that Zara wrote check for 15 lacs to keep her in MH . And said " man chahe ilaj ? And then she tells them to keep her in her frocks and matching clip? Absurd!!
Kanan . As I wrote in your last post . Initially ,LW was shown as mentally challenge girl but she did not fit in the story line so now they are showing her with "Expressive aphasia " that means inability to talk but able to understand every thing around her and able to use non verbal communication . Her cognition is compromised by BT
They started to this from last three episodes . This is BT or stroke symptoms ! That's besides point . Now it's fits the story line!!
Indu OMG. We never saw her missing Sweta . Dear Sweta Mommy left her . she did not even made Phone call to tell her she misses her. Her behavior is hard to take !!
Rishi made very stupid decision and challenged Zara and now he has to suffer the consequences !! No one should be responsible but Rishi himself!! I am surprise that he does not have mental breakdown yet !! He is very close to having one !
Now , the representation of the medical field . I am totally speechless !! HURT !! Angry !! That HD is making mockery out of such a noble Profession ! They are not dealing with any social issues. I am very aware of the fact that in India we do have problems with ethics !! I am not generalizing any thing but when I talk to Medical people in India most them do have complaints !! Medical field has potential to misuse such a royal profession and I am sure this happens every where for greed . Us is not exception but in US Mds are constantly worried about Lawyers and getting sued. I work for brain trauma unit and forced to make decision in one second and not to worry about Lawyers . I have suffered many times hands of Lawyers !! Today we saw Doctor was given money to keep pt in mental hospital ,is hard to disgust . May be Zara's intentions are right but Why money ? 15 lacs to be exact !
Sandeep . I know you are about to finish med school , they spends many hours talking about Ethics ,Morals and Oath medical professional take to serve the people in need. But HD is doing more than needed to teach Medical professional " how not to be doctors" good lesson to learn .,that the only socials issue they are dealing with!

@bold blue: Heema, whenever you suggest that there may be truth in what they are showing, I start feeling anxious and start waiting for them to kill the story with their own two hands!

Heema22 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

@bold blue: Heema, whenever you suggest that there may be truth in what they are showing, I start feeling anxious and start waiting for them to kill the story with their own two hands!

Kanan, only Illa can tell. Now TRPs down .,thank God . She will take serious look at this absurd track and might improve the story line . I hope this does not turn in to Kidnapping track !! Destruction on the way !!! I want TRPs to be lower that will be eye openers " they cannot run show on weak male and female lead and no romance !! I can go on and on but I am at work ! I hope Mels and Hema will give you company!! They are on line right now !!See you later on after happy episode !! I am dreaming !!
AllThingsNice thumbnail

Originally posted by: indianfighter

Yes light_28 (sorry I do not know your name), I am Sandeep. 😃 Yes, corruption in medical field seems to be a big problem in India and many other countries. Thanks for informing me about the current situation in India. I was not fully aware of the scale of corruption in this aspect, but from your words it is clear that the writers are touching a serious problem. However, I am still not sure if they are showing all this for the sole purpose of informing us about the reality. As far as I know HD and its writers, they are bent on depicting social issues in the traditional Indian way (filmy way) that is widely accepted by the Indian audience (I am not blaming people). HD has rarely shown things like they are in real life, but let's see how they choose to portray this serious issue. 😉 I will appreciate those efforts of theirs once I see what they bring to the story and characters. All I want to see is a somewhat realistic portrayal of this social issue. 😃

You are right about the abuse of power in medical profession. I have read a lot about that in the news too. I think most of the victims never get an idea of what is going on. Sadly the perpetrators get away easily without being detected in most cases. Perhaps that is the reason corruption is becoming a bigger problem day by day? 🤔 I am talking in general here because corruption and bribery are not limited to India.

Sandeep, you're a medical student!! No wonder it upsets you to see the brainless twerps that pass off as doctors in tellyland 😆

I know I rambled in my last response to you, but it does not prevent me from rambling again! Not sure if you will come back here and read this, but nonetheless.

@bold: Your concern about the portrayal of an issue (social, medical, legal) is valid. Walden answered that pretty succinctly. The HD writers are not capable of it and we should not hope for much.

Stereotypes in films and television are in some sort of comfort zone. They are accepted and used as such. Some stereotypes have been around for the past 50 years and will remain firmly entrenched for the next 150 years. No one will bother to look beyond that mould or present things with even some vague realism because it is too much trouble. It perhaps does not occur to them that they might owe their audiences a bit more than mindless drama.

I had written about electroshock therapy when they were showing that Lahorewali was in the mental hospital the first time round. It was done in the same manner that it has been done in innumerable films and TV shows. They perhaps are not aware of how much these images influence people. Regardless of whether they are educated or not, people hold on to the image of a person who hands and feet are bound and who is shaking from the impact of a current that is administered forcibly. It cuts across sections of people and society.

This is an issue close to my heart. I know some cases very closely and am not at liberty to divulge much information, but I am going to speak about one case here.

This patient is schizophrenic. It is severe. At the early stages, you could not detect anything. The person was a very normal, happy person by day. Would go about work and routine in as normal a manner as any other person. Was working in a pharma company and was about to get married. However, the person had very low self-worth. Would want to outperform everybody but would fail because of the extra forcing to outperform. This added to the frustration and the first symptoms were steadily increasing insomnia. Slowly, the patient would start talking to voices in the head. (According to the patient, these were real people with names and occupations. They would tell the patient what to do, where to go, and what others were thinking about the patient) The family noticed it, but because the patient was absolutely normal by day, they were confused. Lack of awareness and education. A huge contributor.

Slowly, when the insomnia worsened and the patient could not function normally even by day, that's when the alarm bells rang. After some tests, it was evident that the malaise was mental and not physical. The marriage alliance was called off and the patient sunk deeper into depression. Now, the insomnia and interacting with voices in the head worsened and occasionally became violent. Medicines were prescribed, but not taken because the patient believed that nothing was wrong; there was no illness and therefore no need for medication. The family would administer it on the sly by mixing the medicine with tea/coffee/food. But this was an unreliable method and dosages would suffer. Plus, these medicines have extreme side effects as well and one thing led to another.

The psychiatrist suggested electroshock therapy, but NO ONE in the family would hear of it. The only reason for that was they did not want their kid to suffer. They had zero knowledge other than what they had been seeing in movies and TV. It took nearly two years of convincing and creating awareness before the family agreed. Mostly out of desperation. And when it was finally done, it helped wondrously. At least for some time. It is by no means a permanent solution. During this 'better' phase, the doctor had some counselling sessions with the patient who seemed to improve. Things became worse because of some more personal setbacks. Treatment has its own time frame and does not work like magic, but the misrepresentation takes it so far from reality that sometimes families are hard to reason with.

The purpose of putting this long story down here is that care should be taken when using (may I say propagating??) stereotypes because millions of people watch TV and believe that whatever is shown there is true. The case I have cited here is one that had a happy interlude. There are hundred others I know of that have opted to suffer rather than be treated.

It is impossible to get rid of stereotypes, and ultimately, films and television are all about entertainment, but some things need to be approached a bit more responsibly and that's not too much to ask.

Sorry for the long ramble Really.

Edited by AllThingsNice - 13 years ago
-Sandy- thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Sandeep, you're a medical student!! No wonder it upsets you to see the brainless twerps that pass off as doctors in tellyland 😆

I know I rambled in my last response to you, but it does not prevent me from rambling again! Not sure if you will come back here and read this, but nonetheless.

@bold: Your concern about the portrayal of an issue (social, medical, legal) is valid. Walden answered that pretty succinctly. The HD writers are not capable of it and we should not hope for much.

Stereotypes in films and television are in some sort of comfort zone. They are accepted and used as such. Some stereotypes have been around for the past 50 years and will remain firmly entrenched for the next 150 years. No one will bother to look beyond that mould or present things with even some vague realism because it is too much trouble. It perhaps does not occur to them that they might owe their audiences a bit more than mindless drama.

I had written about electroshock therapy when they were showing that Lahorewali was in the mental hospital the first time round. It was done in the same manner that it has been done in innumerable films and TV shows. They perhaps are not aware of how much these images influence people. Regardless of whether they are educated or not, people hold on to the image of a person who hands and feet are bound and who is shaking from the impact of a current that is administered forcibly. It cuts across sections of people and society.

This is an issue close to my heart. I know some cases very closely and am not at liberty to divulge much information, but I am going to speak about one case here.

This patient is schizophrenic. It is severe. At the early stages, you could not detect anything. The person was a very normal, happy person by day. Would go about work and routine in as normal a manner as any other person. Was working in a pharma company and was about to get married. However, the person had very low self-worth. Would want to outperform everybody but would fail because of the extra forcing to outperform. This added to the frustration and the first symptoms were steadily increasing insomnia. Slowly, the patient would start talking to voices in the head. (According to the patient, these were real people with names and occupations. They would tell the patient what to do, where to go, and what others were thinking about the patient) The family noticed it, but because the patient was absolutely normal by day, they were confused. Lack of awareness and education. A huge contributor.

Slowly, when the insomnia worsened and the patient could not function normally even by day, that's when the alarm bells rang. After some tests, it was evident that the malaise was mental and not physical. The marriage alliance was called off and the patient sunk deeper into depression. Now, the insomnia and interacting with voices in the head worsened and occasionally became violent. Medicines were prescribed, but not taken because the patient believed that nothing was wrong; there was no illness and therefore no need for medication. The family would administer it on the sly by mixing the medicine with tea/coffee/food. But this was an unreliable method and dosages would suffer. Plus, these medicines have extreme side effects as well and one thing led to another.

The psychiatrist suggested electroshock therapy, but NO ONE in the family would hear of it. The only reason for that was they did not want their kid to suffer. They had zero knowledge other than what they had been seeing in movies and TV. It took nearly two years of convincing and creating awareness before the family agreed. Mostly out of desperation. And when it was finally done, it helped wondrously. At least for some time. It is by no means a permanent solution. During this 'better' phase, the doctor had some counselling sessions with the patient who seemed to improve. Things became worse because of some more personal setbacks. Treatment has its own time frame and does not work like magic, but the misrepresentation takes it so far from reality that sometimes families are hard to reason with.

The purpose of putting this long story down here is that care should be taken when using (may I say propagating??) stereotypes because millions of people watch TV and believe that whatever is shown there is true. The case I have cited here is one that had a happy interlude. There are hundred others I know of that have opted to suffer rather than be treated.

It is impossible to get rid of stereotypes, and ultimately, films and television are all about entertainment, but some things need to be approached a bit more responsibly and that's not too much to ask.

Sorry for the long ramble Really.

Wow, now that is a comprehensive reply! I have nothing to add really. Yes, I think those so-called doctors and their mindless practices are getting on my nerves because I am into this field myself. 😆

Your story tells the sad truth of stereotypes and how they have influenced people and will continue to influence people for generations to come. Yes, stereotypes are difficult to analyze and deal with because there is always some truth in them. The film and TV industry takes advantage of this fact and continues to serve us with their mindless content and stereotypical thinking, because after all that is what sells and what will make entertainment companies more money.

I have to admit that your story about the schizophrenic patient was extra interesting for me as a medical student. I am glad the outcome of this case was positive at least, but as you say there are many people whose fortune is their misfortune and who end up suffering because of lack of knowledge or the truth. People need to take what they see on the TV screens with a grain of salt. Proper education can definitely be helpful in this regard and in breaking taboos.

Do not feel sorry yaar, we all get carried away by our thoughts and emotions at times. Actually I should thank you for sharing this interesting story! I am happy we had a healthy discussion on this topic. 😃
Edited by indianfighter - 13 years ago