RockBarbie thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 8

Originally posted by: dorindakate

Thanks for the pm...

I don't know anything about politics in India...

the tale is very intriguing...

Pondering it all while waiting to see what happens next...

You are very much welcome. It's alright if you do not know, its about understanding and co-relating to general principles of politics - which I don't think all that different in this world.

Thanks...
RockBarbie thumbnail

Originally posted by: dazzling_glory

Update was superb
Rathod and Gupta are both desperately trying to find arnav nad khushi.
But once they will understand what payal has discovered they will be shocked out of their wits. Seems like Akash is not only trying to change the goverment but he has even infiltrated the military. But then again his plan is complete. Akash would not have been able to change the government without the help of law and order.
Waiting eagerly for the next part

Thank you. You have a point there. Law and order is important to control when planning on an elaborate scheme like this. But to what extent? Is it possible to deliver something of this magnitude with UN, NATO, SAARC in? Lots of lessons were learned post WWII. Any sort of unrest in Indian sub-continent would rise lot of red flags around the world.

Thanks.
RockBarbie thumbnail

Originally posted by: kawkabon

ok so i just came across this FF and just finished reading chapter 8 and just had to say:

"OMFG, like what the hell. ur bloody amazing and either i'm really dumb or your really gd but i sooo did not think they would both get abducted together. sooo filmy man, its just so hollywood & bollywood yet i didnt guess. i'm a twat!"

ok now with that out of my system, i shall resume reading the next chapters, and rest assured I will most likely finish this tonight and then start demanding for updates like all pestering , unappreciative and inconsiderate readers😉

edit:
after reading chapter 10 i'm just speechless
and the compound it reminds me of district 13 from the hunger games, (dont know if you've read it)

edit: chapter 11
can't help but comment.
I totally agree with khuhsi's point of view. its just always so difficult to portray and express it in words though. and youve done a really good job of it.
and akash well wow seems like a lot of planning has gone into this but has there been enough thought? i think not, the consequences will b horrendous and chaotic!

Thanks. This FF has involved a bit of research and lot of discussion with a friend [ire, on this thread] which has helped me shape this up. It's just research and write. Thanks a lot.

They got abducted together because it was needed. It wasn't because drama was needed but because Akash needed absolute control on the situation. Leaving either Khushi or Arnav alone would be too dangerous and would become a major issue.

But district 13 was under totalitarian rule where people were oppressed and didn't have a choice to leave or come. But that's not true in compound. They were rescued, given lives and are at peace. I think you will know more about it in further chapters.

I am glad you acknowledged chapter 11. It was hard to write this chapter and it's written from experience.

But your parting line was perfect - planning is one thing but thought process?

Thanks a lot for your comment!
serialwatcher16 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Hi,

Thanks for the pm. I had bookmarked so that I would not lose the link. I went out of station and just hate reading on a cellphone.

Posting just to tell you that this story is amazing. I have now reached chapter 7 and I have no words to tell you how gripping it is and how well you have cast your characters. You have made me cme out of my comfort zone and I am absolutely hooked.

Thanks for writing this. Back to chapter 8 😊
RTlicious thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 7
Oh My! woman you have stunned me silly! I love this concept...I mean i can totally imagine Arnav as a politician...man he'll be soo hot! and Khushi? I love her characterization...also love the fact that you have given a good role to Akash..all the other characters are also so very well written and i can't even imagine the work and research you must have put it...I do follow Indian politics and you have tried to show the right face wound deliciously in this exciting story!

I am soo hooked on to this...will be following this FF religiously!

Looking forward to the next update and once again Bravo for this amazing story line...if you don't mind, i'd like to recommend this to some of my IF friends...do let me know if you don't want me to :)

- Arati

xx
latekate thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: RockBarbie

Thank you - for reading and recommending to your friend.

I don't know about the ease part but his opinions come from his experience. Since you brought this point, can you explain the other point that Akash makes about the same society from the perspective of coal miners? What is the use of outside world which is a constant struggle to survive?

The people under BPL who struggle on a daily basis don't particularly care about things that the outside world fret about. All they want is source of income, daily food and shelter. Only when these three basic aspects of life makes one content, they elevate to next level of participation.

Let me try.

What happens after the source of income, daily food and shelter are provided? Will the people be content? May be a few years of stagnation. Now that they need not worry for these basic necessities, they would want something more and then again it would lead to power struggle within the compound. Communism under the erstwhile USSR and its fall are a good test example.

serialwatcher16 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Finally finished reading the 16 chapters.

Some random comments which were kickstarted by all the arguments going back and forth. Totally random.

Food, clothing and basic needs only satisfy the first stage in any family, block, community, society. The second stage after the basic is satisfied will be to look for what else to satisfy. In any given family wanting for something, once the basic needs are satisfied, then what. Will you then say that a parent cannot provide for a child, till when can a parent provide for a child. Can there be rules for such things. Aren't these individual choices. How will akash control the next generation of the people he saved in the closed community he has created. Seems too much like The Truman show. Is a homogenous society what is being aimed at. So the moment a person's brain in any of the people in the community gets into action, what will akash do.

A system in any country will truly be successful the day the policy makers also use the system that they created. Imagine if the bureaucrats also had to go to the passport offices or any utility office used by common people without using their power and position, would they let the systems be this poor. My maid needs me to get her children admitted in the local government school which is her right and is free for her. But they don't give her the time of day till I go and show my face and then after that because she is able to flaunt a person who knows the law to the admin there, things becomes smooth there for her. Not that I know anything but because I can speak with a little authority to them, it helps. But why should it be like that.

Once the prime minister visited our locality and all the drains which were till then only superficially cleaned, were cleaned like there was no tomorrow. It made me wonder, let foreign affairs be taken care of by the bureaucrats in the external affairs ministry, we need our prime ministers and chief ministers to visit every locality to get the drains cleaned and ensure sanitation.

I don't even know if what i have written makes sense.

Anyway I love khushi the most till now out of all your characters. Awaiting your updates eagerly to see hw this goes forward.

RockBarbie thumbnail

Chapter 17:

"During second world war Indian army was the largest army to volunteer with two and half million men in size. It still remains the largest volunteer army in the world and the third largest army. Army budgets are rarely contested while the general and Railway budgets are…you know what they are and how they arrive at it," Payal said motioning the two men to sit down.

"Indian military refrains from being in mainstream – be it media or politics and the boundaries they draw are very strictly followed. That's why corruption, if happens in military, is really not all that known to the outside world. But the word is, corruption is relatively less." Gupta replied.

"But Gupta, the bureaucracy however is much complex and stretched out when it comes to military – especially in India since they have ensured that they stay behind the screen. Even in entertainment industry, their representation is hardly noticeable." Rathore added.

"Bollywood rarely represents any industry or work culture for that matter. So let's not take that as a talking point." Gupta chided. Rathore smiled at his friend.

"Here you go," Payal said bringing up several documents on screen.

"What are we looking at?" Gupta said wearing his spectacles and peering at the screen.

"Wait…this…cannot be…" Rathore stammered.

"This is budget and administrative requirements for implementing conscription." Gupta said. "Why would anyone want something like this? And no government would sign this bill in our country as it would never get close to approval with the size of democracy like ours. And let's not even get started on UN's pressure on us if we pursue in this direction."

"Conscription is mandatory national service which in most countries translate to military service. It ensures that major section of population is in a state of awareness and it boosts national security. On the other hand, it violates individual rights." Payal said leaning in chair.

"This is not going to work. You cannot pull off something this large without getting a full buy-in from both the houses. And as Gupta mentioned, not to mention global criticism that would come. It's…I don't know why a thought process even exists in this direction," Rathore said.

"Number of people under poverty line is only increasing. In this country you don't have to worry a lot of regulation on advancement in science and technology because we are at least a decade behind in technical advancement as compared to other developed countries. Our local police stations are far from being centralized, we have months waiting period for DNA testing, there are approximately thirty thousand open cases in Supreme Court, we still battle scams costing thousands of crore of tax payers' money on daily basis, national literacy rate isn't improving, poverty index is growing and concept of sanitation is still new and doesn't really exist in public transportation or outside comforts of a midscale establishment. Conscription brings discipline to life, improves lifestyle, provides livelihood, decreases crime and drug usage in youth as they would be drafted etc." Payal replied. "I am not saying this, but this is a part of recommendation."

"Whoever is recommending this hasn't really thought of what happens when people actually react to this madness. The concept of freedom at its truest nature stops to exist. A government robs a citizen the choice of serving the country but makes it an obligation. This in turn complicates the security process than helping. If a citizen dislikes the government or condemns the war, his political objection would be considered as a felony and not exercising his fundamental rights. It's a direct conflict to the constitutional right." Rathore explained further.

"Oh, there is a fix for that too." Payal said and opened another document.

"You got to be kidding me. There is a recommendation to amend the constitution with regards to fundamental right?" Rathore was surprised.

"That would be the first thing they will tackle as soon as parliament is in session and that would be in summer. And during winter session, conscription bill would be presented." Payal replied.

"Who are these people?" Gupta asked the question which Rathore was avoiding. Payal looked at the two men fully knowing that they already had a hint.

"Our new government," she replied bleakly. Rathore and Gupta exchanged worried looks. Their deepest fear was coming true.

"Where are we going?" Khushi asked Akash. It was early in the morning and overnight rains had made everything wet.

"You will know when we get there," he replied. She looked at Arnav, who was walking on her left with sudden burst of worry.

She turned back to Akash and asked, "Are you taking us to the gallows?" She asked seriously. Arnav looked at her startled and Akash stopped in his tracks.

"What is wrong with you?" He asked her with widened eyes.

"Execution by gunfire then?" She cottoned on.

"I am not taking you out this early in morning to kill you both," he said annoyed. He smiled and added, "It's not time for that yet." Akash started walking again ignoring the looks on Arnav and Khushi's face.

"We are here," Akash said when they reached the school premises. There were six men and three women sitting in chairs and in front of them, four couples sat.

"Let's begin the session," Akash said as soon as he was in their hearing vicinity.

"What's going on?" Khushi asked. Sleep had completely left her eyes and she was fully alert of the environment she was in. It was close to two weeks since they were living in compound but that didn't make Akash any less of a man she believed he was.

"Every once in a while we have people who want to leave this place. Holding someone against their will and oppressing their freedom inside this compound by making them stay when they don't want to, would only give birth to rebellion. And rebellion isn't good for a society like this. So in those situations, a committee would be formed and they would assess the causes on case by case basis. Many people want to lead a life which doesn't comply to the standards set here. We reach compromises in some cases and in few, we let go of the people who want to go." Akash explained.

"Aren't you worried that people who walk out of here would let others known about the compound's location?" Arnav asked.

"We sedate these people and leave them in places where they would have told us to leave them. No one comes or goes out of here with full consciousness on, Arnav." Akash said with a smile.

"How often does this happen?" Arnav asked again.

"It's not often actually. Most of them time the kids are left behind in this compound while the parents go back to the outside world because of their lingering attachments. Many here are born and brought up here and have no intentions to leave. As a part of growing up, they are given a choice to go outside this compound. My organization runs lot of schools, cottage industries, orphanages, NGOs etc. They would be hired in one of these places." Akash said.

"Isn't this a bit risky?" Khushi asked.

Akash looked at her strangely. "What do you mean?"

Khushi looked at Arnav, who took over. "There is always a risk of these people telling others about existence of such a place. Wouldn't that cause problems to you and the ideology that you practice here? I mean, being part of this society, away from civilization where you get to be….whatever you are now. Wouldn't outside interference tear down what you are trying to achieve here?" Arnav explained further.

Akash looked at both of them quietly. After several moments of prolonged silence, he smiled.

"This is frankly surprising coming from the two of you. But then again you both are morally handicapped to think other than saving your own damn asses." Akash said tonelessly.

"What do you mean?" Khushi asked.

"Check back on history Khushi. What happened when a man put his ideology before the freedom of people? The oppression led to civil unrest and the country broke down. And in another instance, what happened to the country whose leader believed that only certain people were fit to live in the country and others were to be eliminated if they didn't comply with the standards set up?" There was unusual calmness in his voice.

Khushi took a step back as if she was physically slapped. Only then she understood the implication of what she and Arnav had automatically derived out of his actions.

"Do you still believe I have robbed people of their freedom Arnav?" Akash asked Arnav remembering the accusation from days before. Arnav and Khushi hadn't been entirely wrong.

But they weren't entirely right either.

"I do," Arnav said.

"Why?" Akash asked surprised. He believed he had shown enough proof.

"Because look at them," Arnav said nodding at the couple who were presenting their case. "If they were truly free, they wouldn't be bargaining for it." Arnav chuckled mirthlessly. Akash looked at him with stormy eyes.

"The ideology is not dependent on the leader anymore to enforce it because the society has completely surrendered to it. They truly believe that the system that has been set up is right and freedom from this place requires warranty just like a commodity's shelf life. You haven't robbed people of their freedom. You have managed to mutate the thought process of an entire generation here. That's worse than kidnapping us and probably killing us too." Arnav replied. "This is nothing more than an organized zoo Akash. It's a wannabe Atlantis amidst a dystopia." Arnav's tone was filled with sorrow as the watched a couple argued about validity of the reason to go out of compound.

Akash fell silent and didn't speak for rest of the session.

Kalyaani thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

I'm such a fan of Akash at the moment; yes he said the truth so simply that no one can fault it. Yes, one man's ideology left a fractured country, more than a million dead and the largest human transfer the world has ever known. I will be honest; I am not a fan of that man the world bestowed a Nobel Prize on.

The update shows such a difference between in India and China, I want to mention this here. The two nations are corrupt but the difference lies in execution. China wins hands down on that count, it was able to pull off an event like the Olympics where as India struggled to do a decent job of the Commonwealth games.

Personally I do support conscription, it would a country like ours a world of benefit, it has its pros and cons, but that is my opinion alone.

RockBarbie thumbnail

Originally posted by: RTlicious

Oh My! woman you have stunned me silly! I love this concept...I mean i can totally imagine Arnav as a politician...man he'll be soo hot! and Khushi? I love her characterization...also love the fact that you have given a good role to Akash..all the other characters are also so very well written and i can't even imagine the work and research you must have put it...I do follow Indian politics and you have tried to show the right face wound deliciously in this exciting story!

I am soo hooked on to this...will be following this FF religiously!

Looking forward to the next update and once again Bravo for this amazing story line...if you don't mind, i'd like to recommend this to some of my IF friends...do let me know if you don't want me to :)

- Arati

xx

Hello Arti, Thanks a lot for dropping by and commenting!

I am glad you are liking the characterization. I am not sure if you are going to like them in future too :-) The three - Arnav, Akash and Khushi oscillate in all combinations against issues. Though you see Arnav and Khushi standing on one side for most of the times, Akash and Arnav take Khushi head on few times too.

Both Khushi and Arnav have a separate bone to pick with Akash...

Sure do recommend to your friends. It's always a pleasure :-)

Thanks!