bewafa thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: narangi_77

have you read/heard Christopher Hitchens on her? Be warned though, he is a polemicist!

Hahaha...he's hilarious! He also features in the YouTube link I posted up. Too bad he didn't take care of his health as much though.
whatthewhat thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: bewafa

Hahaha...he's hilarious! He also features in the YouTube link I posted up. Too bad he didn't take care of his health as much though.

Don't know how i missed your video! That was awesome!

Love that hitch was smoking and boozing his way through it! miss hitch and the hitch-slap!
mitzification thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
@chitrashi , when Anna Hazare fasted in Delhi last year , al the dead and dilusioned , people who had given up hope ..were brought to life . There was a new hope for the people , there was a change in behaviour ... so one good leader can change the mood of the people
The lasttime I experienced something similar was when Vajpayee came to power .. but well ...what happened after that explains why I joined the ranks of the hopeless .
Media is another culcript specialy In big cities the newspaper is filled with sad and depressing news. When I go outside my city on vaccation I finf the small city newspapers to be light and educative.
Have we even seen a single TV news of people who made an impact on peoples life .
Media trend is very necessary in todays time. Social engineering goes on aided by our corrupt government and bought out media . So an initiatve to make perople socialy responsible , is highly needed today.
I have seen a changing tresnd where glossy magazines like femina and hello now highlight the socail aspect of women and known personalities.
See the new tupperware ad talking about women who changed th fate of people with their initiative.
mitzification thumbnail
You know how this government keeps us subjugated, do you know how we re victims of social reingeenering
our history books make fun of our culture and tradion
we are given no pride in being Indian
we are asked to ridicule our religion and pushed to be secular
then the pseudo secularist media reinforces these things
And we are kept in the vicious circle of all issues highlighted by Amir Khan and more so that we may never pause to think what the hell is realy going on.
rkk2 thumbnail
My mom watches every episode with me, Talking about the dowry system, she says even if people say they dont want anything, it IS granted that there is going to be something. This happens.. Has been happening.. Some refuse point blank, that is good but when people say We dont want anything, they mean otherwise. W*FF.
bewafa thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: rkk2

My mom watches every episode with me, Talking about the dowry system, she says even if people say they dont want anything, it IS granted that there is going to be something. This happens.. Has been happening.. Some refuse point blank, that is good but when people say We dont want anything, they mean otherwise. W*FF.

😆 That's true...was just talking to an Aunty...her sister suffered from domestic violence...and she goes "The in-laws never asked for anything...but we should have given them a bigger car because we could afford to AND they had given their daughter a bigger car at HER wedding...if only we had done that, then there would have been no issues"

Are you kidding me?

I asked her if they felt that need at the time...then why did they get her married into that family? She really didn't have an answer..."Oh we didn't think they were that bad"...to which I replied "but if your sister's happiness depended on the size of a car, do you really think it was wise to go ahead?"

You know what she answered with? "Usski kismat kharab thi...yeh sanjog ka khel hai, tum nahi samjhogi", laughed and then changed the topic.

Right.

I guess it is their buri kismat that they hadn't the sense to stop the wedding back then. I wonder what they must have told the woman suffering DV..."it's your kismat, live with it"?? I can understand why a lot of girls don't fight back...their upbringing just concretes them in.
Edited by bewafa - 13 years ago
mitzification thumbnail
@bewafa sadly this unjust treatment of women is the cause of 50 % of the problems in our country dowry , domestic violence, lack of education. and female infanticide/foeticide ...
girls HAVE to be married off no questions about that ...and if something goes wrong ... toh adjust karo and if you cant adjust ..to buri kismat ! bas ..life over ! next victim please !