Mannat Har Khushi Paane Ki: Episode Discussion Thread - 23
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai July 29, 2025 Episode Discussion Thread
MAIRA IS SAD 😞28.7
BALH Naya Season EDT Week #7: July 28-Aug 1
CRYING FAMILY 29.7
Gen 5 Storyline
Anupamaa 29 July 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
In the ruins....I found you ❤️-A Prashiv ss
If you had the power of vanishing one nepo kid?
Will Dhadak 2 surpass Saiyaara? 😎
Kajol screams like Anjali (in K3G) for Nysa’s graduation
Kyunki Saas bhi kabhi Bahu thi 2 : EDT # 1
Will WAR 2 Surpass Saiyaara
Tanushree Dutta Requests People To Cooperate With PM Modi
19 years of Omkara
Official Trailer - Andaaz 2
Who did it better?
Anupama back to Shah house , at Baa's feet !
PART EIGHT
Jainandini
I really should think before I talk. I don't know why I got this sentimental and frankly stupid idea to cook for Yash. I don't even know how to turn on our stove! I've never stepped in the kitchen! Ok. I need to calm down, freaking out is not going to help my situation. Breakfast is over, and DS is heading out for some meetings, Dad is going to the club, and I think mom is going with him for once. It means I can head down to the kitchen without anyone paying attention. I look down at the sunny yellow Yves Saint Laurent dress and shudder. Is this proper cooking apparel? Oh well. I hesitantly make my way towards the kitchen, and I think the help are just as confused to see me down there, as I am being in there.
I've seen the kitchen in passing, I've called down numerous times to ensure that my specialty food is made, or order a late night snack. But I never realized it could be so intimidating, so many things, stoves, grills, pots, pans and knives. I sort of want to run back, but I control myself. I can do this. I'm a princess. How hard can this be?
The head chef comes and greets me, obviously nervous at my presence. Oh Boy, this is not going to be easy.
Me: Mario, I'd like to use the kitchen for the next while please.
He looks like he's about to faint or something as he hesitantly steps back and looks around.
Mario: But Princess, just let anyone of us know what you'd like and we'll gladly make it for you.
I feel like saying "6 rotis and some daal would be nice" but I bite my tongue. I can't. I've lied a crap load to him already, would it really be so terrible for me to cook something for him? I could, couldn't I? How difficult could it be?
Me: No Mario. I'd like to experiment in the kitchen alone. I'll be fine. Please take your leave.
Mario: Madam! Rajmata will have our heads.
Me: Leave DS to me. No one is home, and I'll be finished before you know it. Now, leave. Go for a walk, break or whatever.
He cowers away and his assistants leave with him. The kitchen is utterly silent. The place isn't completely foreign to me. I recognize the fridge, stove and pantry. I do know what a kitchen looks like, even if I've never stepped insider one. I pull out the folder in which I had printed out the recipe for making a roti. There must be some left over from last night, If not I could buy some dish on the way to meet him, and tell him I bought it: no need to lie about that at least. True enough I could probably just buy the rotis but to be honest, I really don't want to. For some really odd reason I want to be domestic. I want to make something that will be appreciated by him. Now, the real question is if it will be edible. I look through the pantry and everything is neatly labeled: Flour, Rice, Sugar, Salt, Pepper in clear cylindrical tubs. The recipe said I needed three cups of flour, and 3 fourths of a cup of lukewarm water, and 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil. I need a bowel of some sort. I look through the shelves to stainless steel bowels, and take out a mid-sized one. The measuring tools are beside them, a clear pitcher type of cup, with increments in milliliters written in red on the side. Three of these? That would be a lot of flour. But, I don't want to mess up the recipe. I dump in the flour and cough, the powdery substance is clogging up my nose. Nice. I take the measuring cup with me to the counter near the sink. Placing the bowl in, I turn on the water and read the recipe. 3 fourths? I pour in the water, but it's too dry. I had in another three fourths. But it's too wet now. I should have worn gloves. The stick substance is all over my hands, crusting over my pristine pink nails, and hiding under the nail beds. Ew. My hair's getting in my face, I push it back only to realize I have flour on their now. Damn it! I try to walk back to the pantry to get more flour.
Manyata: Jai? What on earth are you doing?
I almost dropped my bowl at the sound of Manyata's voice. Oh shit. What the hell is she doing here?
I look up and she looks like she was doing her tuition stuff, reading and writing. Surprisingly she's caught on fast, her English is far improved, but her accent is thick. Her Hindi is a vast improvement as well. Her hair is in a neat bun, and her light blue lacy suit is simply and her house ware. She doesn't like to get dress up at home. No makeup and simply pear studs make her looks squeaky clean. Had it been a month or two ago I would have had some smart remark of "What does it look like I'm doing?" but I simply ignore her and head to the pantry, trying to ignore the sight I must be. Flour on my face and hair, the bowl looks like something died inside and is decomposing, and my dress has flicks of gooey flour on it. YSL, $500 down the drain. Crap. Dry Cleaning maybe? Whatever. I head towards the pantry and Manyata cuts me off. Shouldn't she be running around with Uday or something? God! What is wrong with her!
She looks at me, and back at the bowl, then back at me again. Crossing her arms she has a confused look on her face, but that doesn't stop her from questioning me.
Manyata: Yeh Kya hai Jai? What are you doing in the Kitchen?
Me: I could ask you the same thing Jeeji.
She snorts in a very un-lady like manor, and looks at me. Oh boy. She better not rat me out, or I will'don't know what but I'll do something!
Manyata: Jai, you don't know how to cook, why are you trying.
Me: It's none of your business.
Manyata: That's not the point. You'll give the poor person food poisoning.
Crap. I hadn't thought of that. I wouldn't want to happen. Oh crap. She must have sensed my moment of resolve and she gently takes the bowl away from my hands. The gooey gunk has stuck onto the side and looks pretty nasty.
Without giving me a backward glance she guides me to the sink and turns on the water, telling me to wash my hands. I do as instructed: letting the lukewarm water slowly work away the congealed flour, getting it out from underneath my nails and ring. She patiently hands me a wet cloth and I whip away the excess flour from my face and finally ever so gently she shakes the flour out of my hair and pats down my dress.
Manyata: there, now you look decent.
Smiling she takes me to the pantry and we start again, measuring out the flour, pouring water in a jug. And finally we rest on the counter.
Manyata: It's not that difficult once you've gotten the hang of it, the first time is usually a mess.
She starts pouring water and this is going to be a disaster! She's not following the recipe!
Me: Jeeji! You're doing it wrong! That's not what the paper says.
She looks at me and rolls her eyes.
Manyata: This is Wolf Gang Puck Jai. There isn't a recipe, just eyeball it. The key to being a good cook is knowing how to do things without a measuring cup.
I'm still flabbergasted at her Wulf Gang Puck reference. What on earth has the world come to?
I heed her advice and start kneading the dough as directed, and find it relaxing. This time the dough doesn't stick to my hands as Manyata had lightly coated them in olive oil, and before you know it I have the atta done. We lean against the counter not speaking to each other. I'm just waiting for her to start questioning me and asking me what this is all for. But she doesn't. Instead she asks something completely out of the blue.
Manyata: Are we OK now Jai?
Startled I look up at her, not knowing what to say, I look away. How do I respond to this? Is everything alright now? I don't know. I don't hate her anymore'but I don't feel any love either. Her presence in my life doesn't bother me anymore but I don't think it makes me any happier. In fact...I still feel this slight envy to be honest. I look at the relationships she's fostered with mom, dad and DS...and I feel like an outsider. I feel this lump rising in my throat and I push it back down. I don't need to give in to this feeling of self-pity. I can do better. I can be stronger.
Me: I guess we are. Still think you're weird as hell though.
She laughs her musical laugh while turning around and hugging me. It's an awkward hug. I don't know where to place my hands, but hers are over my shoulders, so I gently pat her back.
Manyata: I'll make it up Jai, I promise I'll be the best big sister ever!
I feel obligated to say that I'll be the best younger sister ever, but I can't guarantee that. As if sensing my hesitation she gently holds my face. It's almost comical because I'm taller than her in these heels.
Manyata: It's alright. You can continue as you are. Younger sisters are supposed to be the Brat.
The makes me laugh, and suddenly I'm hugging her back. She's changed, I've changed. Why not change together?
She lets go of me and places the fresh dough in the fridge, shutting the door behind her she leans against the stainless steel.
Manyata: Now, I'm not going to ask, because if I don't know, I can't tell. But, I do need to know this much, what are you going to make with the roti?
She has a point. If making the dough for the roti was this difficult, how the hell am I going to make food?
Me: I was thinking I'd buy some curry or something.
She scrunches her nose at me in distain. At a wave of her hand she opens the fridge and gestures me over. We both huddle near the fridge. The cool air laps at my skin and Goosebumps arise. Ignoring them we examine the contents.
Manyata: Pindi?
Me: Ewww No way. Gross.
Manyata: Gobi?
Me: Only good in Paranthas.
Manyata: Want to make Paranthas?
I think about it. I don't know which Parantha's he likes though.
Me: No, something else. I'm making plain roti with something.
Even then Manyata takes the Gobi and places it on the counter.
Me: What for though? We're not making paranthas.
Manyata: Correction, you're not making them, but I am.
I grin, I don't have to ask twice as to who those paranthas will be for. Uday.
We turn back to the fridge and continue our search. Finally we see the prize. The Eggplant.
Manyata: Let's make bharta!
Me: It looks difficult Jeeji.
And it does seem difficult, how on earth does one purple thing turn into so much savjee? She laughs and we start. Cutting onions, ginger, garlic, tomato, taking out the spices and oil. I don't know how much time had passed but I had fun. We talked of the most odd things, our favorite actors, food, drinks, chocolates, colours. Things hadn't bothered to learn about her before. Before I knew it, the bharta was compete and we started on the rotis. Manyata made it looks so easy, but I burnt the tips of my fingers. Three times.
Like a mother hen she would scold me, and rush me towards the cold water. I'd stay put for a few moments, but I'd be back, determined to make these rotis myself. I mean, Manyata practically made the entire bharta, the least I can do is actually make Yash's Rotis!
In the end I have 6 rotis. I think 6 is more than enough, considering I burnt all my fingers to make them.
They're sort of deformed. OK. Not sort off, they are deformed. In odd shapes, sort of rectangular, and uneven, but they're cooked through and good to eat, at least that is what Manyata said. I pack them carefully in foil, and Manyata gets a tiffin out and packs the bharta and some yogurt.
It's almost noon and I swear I feel like I'm going to drown. I look down at the neatly packed food in the wicker basket, water bottles and soft drinks in hand. I have to tell him. I have to. He'll understand. It wasn't so much as a lie, as it was an omission. Who am I kidding? I lied. About my name, my family, my home. I've lied so much. As if sensing my confusion, Manyata puts a reassuring hand on my back.
Manyata: just go, have fun. Be happy. It will get better.
I look at her wondering if she knows, but she can't. There's no way she could know.
Me: Thanks Jeeji.
And all of a sudden I find myself holding on to her, choking back tears, because she's the only one that somehow without even knowing, understands.
I had told him to meet me at the beach. It seems that it's the only place where we can simply be together with each other. The water, sand and fresh air is our only company. Even in the crowd we lose ourselves. The Auto ride had been bumpy, but I'm used to it by now. Changed out of the YSL, I'm in a plain black t-shirt I use for working out, and jean shorts and flip flops. The entire thing costs more than some families make in a month. And I feel guilty. Walking towards our spot, a layout the blanket Manyata had packed and set up the food. It isn't fancy. No cheese, wine and bread. No candle light, but somehow it seems better. Hands on my hips I survey the finished product, Quite pleased with myself I pull out my phone and start to text him, It's almost 1, and I'm getting hungry. Suddenly there are hands at my waist throwing me up in the air. I scream so loudly people look around in worry. And the idiot is laughing. Dressed in cream shorts, and a red Lacoste Polo he looks amazing. I hang onto his broad shoulders has he spins me around, and finally places me on my feet. I look around and my flip flops have landed in opposite directions. I look at him and my heart gets stuck in my chest. His smile literally lights up his face, and his eyes are so expressive. How on earth did I ever find him? His expression turns concerned and he places two fingers on my chin, lifting it up.
Yash: why so glum, chum?
Is this where I tell him? About my lies? Is this where I tell him I love him? And that he should love me too? I open my mouth, but the words I'm looking for don't come out.
Me: I...I'm hungry and you're very late.
He glances down at his watch and grins.
Yash: Well...sort of late. But I consider bringing dessert a good reason no?
My eyes light up! Dessert!
Me: Dessert? What did you bring?
Yash : Well, before dessert it's the main corse, so the question is, what did you bring?
I look hesitantly at the layed out meal. Hopefully he'll like it.
Me: Bharta and Rotis! A good old home cooked meal.
He grins ear to ear and grabs my hand, eager to dig in. He sits cross legged on the ground, and I sit on my right leg leaning towards him to see him go at it,and swat his hands away. He looks like a wounded child.
Me: Be patient! Let me serve you!
Holds up his hands in defeat, backing off as I ladle out the food, I open up the rotis and feel slightly embarresed the shapes are'.off. He looks at the one on the plate and grins. But isn't eating. My heart falls into the pit of my stomach. He doesn't want to eat them. They look gross. And why do I feel so bad? Why do I feel that its important that he eat and enjoy these? Screw him! If he doesn't like them! Then I don't care! But I do care. I care a lot.
Me: They taste better than they look.
Yash: They look awesome Nandini, and I bet they taste even better.
Me: Then why haven't you eaten yet?
Yash: Well, you haven't served yourself, so I think we should eat together.
I feel irritated! He didn't care when he was opening up the food!
Me: Are you sure, or do you just want to make sure I didn't poison the food?
He laughs, and scoops up some bhata on his finger and eats it, and moans.
Yash: Holy shit. This is awesome Nandini. Now that you mention it, I should get you to be my geunie pig, shouldn't I? But it's OK, I trust you. Crap, this is awesome Nandini! Haven't had Bharta this good since mom made it last!
I feel like crying, he's gushing over the bharta which Manyata made, but hasn't even had one roti.
Me: Why don't you just eat that then! Leave the roti's!
He ignores me and starts to rip off the rotis and digs in.
Yash: Wah! Wah! Kya bhat hai!
I can't even stay mad at him, his stupid accent makes me laugh. At the opportunity, he pushes in a piece of the roti and I start chewing. It's awesome. The Bharta and the soft roti's. The texture, consistency is all perfect. I'm too busy looking at him and being fed that I don't notice that he's picked up various rotis and essentially eaten around edges, but I'm too full to care of there are scraps. I start packing up, but he pulls me back down, and I land with a thud into his arms and onto his chest. I can smell the spices from our meal, and it isn't a turn off. It's almost comforting. I guess that's what you look for in love, someone who you're comfortable with and not self-conscious. I feel as if I'm in a completely new skin when I 'm with Yash. I don't have to worry about how I look, what my hair and makeup looks like. It's just him and I.
Yash: Nandini. There's something I need to tell you.
His words bring emotions outside of my control to the surface. I need to tell him now. Tell him Now Jai!
Me: I...I need to tell you something too. It's important.
He looks worried, as if I'm about to wound him.
Yash: tell you what, I know it's ladies first, but let me say something.
Me: OK...
He holds my hands and starts.
Yash: I don't know what it is about you Nandini. I don't. You're irritating..sort of stuck up, and not completely honest. But when I'm with you...things just seem better. I feel something that makes me...more than what I am. It's this level of happiness that I've never felt in my life before. Hell, it's only been two weeks. Two freaking weeks. Can you believe it? But these two weeks, are something I can't live without. I can't simply move on and not have you in my life. Do you get what I'm saying?
I nod, because I'm at a loss for words. I start picking at the left over roti in my hands, but he pulls my hands away.
Yash: you're ruining my handy work. I worked hard for those.
Confused I look down, and see the three remaining Roti's he had torn laying on top of each other, they make shapes'and something else.
Me: What's this?
Yash: I call it food poetry.
Grinning, he places them in order, the edges ripped off the misshapen roti's make letters and symbols. The first deformed roti is now an "I" the second is a lovely heart, and the third is the letter "U"
I look at him in awe. Who the hell does this? Expresses their love in FOOD? This guy is crazy. And I still love him.
I burst out laughing and touch the roti with care. He looks concerned.
Yash: I know it's not the most romantic thing, but it's one of my fondest memories Nandini. My mom used to make rotis in special shapes with cookie cutters to get us to eat them. Sort of like how people do with Pancakes. On birthday and special occasions she'd always have a message written out. I want to share that with you. I want to share everything with you. I love you.
I want nothing more than to jump into his arms, and tell him the same, but my lies are weighing me down. They're drowning me, and I don't see a life boat in sight. I stumble up, clumsy on my feet, and begin to run, but he's behind me. Running. No words, just the sound of his steady feet catching up to me, and he does. He holds me close, hugging me as my head is buried in his chest. Oh how I love him. But I can't lie to him anymore.
Me: Yash...I...I
I'm sobbing, forcing myself to get this words out. To tell him the truth. To make him see before something terrible happens.
He gently cups my face, and whips away the tears, his face is so calm, sure and confident.
Yash: You don't have to say it Nandini, I don't expect anything in return. I just wanted you to know how I feel about you. It's soon, I know. You're not the type to fall for sweet words and a pretty face. I'm here, waiting for you.
Oh god, why is there not a hole in the ground ready to swallow me up and send me straight to hell? I don't deserve him. He's too good of a person.
Yash: Would you like to dance away the stress?
I look at him like he's crazy, and he laughs.
Yash: You know, this look you give me, "Yash, you're freaking psychotic" is going to be permanently etched on your face if you don't watch it.
I can't help but laugh at his charm. How does he do that? How does he know me in and out?
Me: There's no music genius.
He looks appalled at the thought and stares at me.
Yash: Are you sure you're Indian?
Me: Yes, why?
Yash: Then you should know better! There is always music!
Me: What?!
Yash: Kuch Kuch Hota Hai Nandini! SRK and Kajol!
He is just one in a million.
Me: You watched KKHH?
Yash: Dozens and Dozens and Dozens of times. My mom and sisters love that movie.
Me: I don't believe you!
He grins and we start to dance, or at least he takes the lead.
I hide my face in his chest, as he attempts to dance.
Me: There's no rain you duffer.
He pulls up my chin and grins.
Yash: Well, you're no Anjali, and I'm no Rahul. We're going to dance to our own tune.
And for the next little while, we dance to our own music, its silent, yet loud. It's tune in in our head, it's melody in our hearts, and we both hear the same song as our eyes lock together. And suddenly the song is over, as his phone rings loudly. Sighing he looks at the phone, and groans.
Yash: I have to go. It's almost 2, and I really promised I'd meet Gramps.
I nod, feeling lighter inside. He runs a hand gently down my face as mine rests on his warm chest. The tears have dried and I feel content again, he always makes me feel better.
Yash: I'll see you tomorrow. Deal?
Me: Deal.
He kisses my cheek, and runs down the beach towards his car in the parking lot.
I look towards him, feeling my heart swell. And then I realize: I still hadn't told him the truth.
She made it home by three, and the palace was in an uproar. Servants running about, DS talking on the phone, Komal and Manyata locked in a room, and Brijraj pacing about. As soon as she stepped in the all stopped and looked at her.
DS: J! Where have you been!
Brijraj: We've been trying to get a hold of you!
DS: why were you out there without escorts!
Brijraj: Where are your guards?
Komal: what's the point of having a phone if you won't use it!
J: Calm down everyone! What's going on!
DS: There's a charity event for Children's Hospital tomorrow, we need to go.
J: It's usually just Uday and...well Uday and Manyata would go.
Brijraj: No, they want the Royal House because Uday and Manyata are getting married later this year, it's important for the entire family to be present.
J: I don't have anything to wear!
Komal: Exactly! That's why we were calling you J! We need the designer to work all night and make something!
J: Is it in the evening?
Komal: Yes, the Children's Gala.
She thought to herself, that meant she could meet Yash in the morning. It would work out. She could explain to him.
J: Alright, I'll go see what my options are.
She walked back with Komal and Manyata towards the study to see though the designs, but for once in her life she had more on her mind then clothes.
She had tried to call him. To meet up, before the event. Dressed in her white Versace gown, pinned up hair and dripping in emeralds, she had wanted to see him like this, to tell him that his Nandini was Rajkumari Jainandini. But that she loved him, needed him in her life, and that she wanted forever with him. That they could make it work. That she had lied to protect herself and her family and if she could she would take it back in a heartbeat. That she was the same girl he loved. But he never picked up. His voice mail came and went, his assistant picked up his phone and stated that he was in meetings. Who could he be in meetings with? Was he ignoring her? She swallowed her pride and hung up. Perhaps the truth was not meant for today. But, her stomach was in knots. Ignoring her own foul mood she looked up at Manyata as he entered the room. Dressed in a white suite with green and gold overlay and subtle waves in her hair, she looked gorgeous. Her Coronation was 6 months away, her wedding less than two months after that. Or at least that was what the adults had planned, Manyata had not formally said yes to Uday, nor had she outright said no.
Manyata: Chaal J. We need to head out, Uday and Unnati are here with Giri Uncle.
J: Shouldn't he be called "Dad" by you now?
Manyata: Shut Up.
J: Seriously though, you should give it a try.
Manyata: J, chup. Let's go.
J sighed and clutched her phone, then thought of Yash again as she got a faraway look in her eyes. Manyata was no stranger to the pain she recognized in her sister's face, and rested a hand on her bare shoulder.
Manyata: Kya hua?
J: Nothing...I. I just feel guilty.
Manyata: Whatever for?
J: Do you ever feel that you could prevent something bad from happening, but don't know what that bad is yet?
Manyata: All the time.
J: what do you do?
Manyata: You wait for the bad to happen and kick its butt when it gets here. After all the Rajkumari's of Devgard never back down.
The two sisters held each other, one soothing the other taking solace, and their parents watched with pride as peace was finally made, after 16 years.
It was an event where everyone sparkled. Glitter, glam the rich and famous made their presence known. Mumbai had come alive with an influx of celebrities, movie stars, industrialists, musicians, and models. And of course, Royalty. The Gala was going off in full force, Champaign flowed, music ebbed and the rich and famous mingled. J, stood off to the side. She couldn't bring herself to interact with half of these people. They looked the same and they smiled at her, but it was so fake. She could practically see their artificial sincerity leaking out of their pores. She shuddered at the thought that at one point in time she had wanted to surround herself with these types of people. Instead she made herself comfortable with Uday, Unnati, Manyata and Vijay. There was still loyalty among thieves. Uday and Manyata stood out as a royal couple, dressed in a black Hugo Boss ensemble with a white shirt and emerald green tie, he looked every inch the prince he was. Unnati in a hot pink jumper, hair flowing and oversized Gucci earrings looked young, trendy and elegant. Vijay with his flair for the dramatic was wearing a red blazer, jeans and a white printed T. It was an eclectic mix, each young royal looking their best in what they were comfortable with. Uday and Manyata lingered over their beverages, Unnati and Vijay were busy looking over something on a phone, and J simply walked around and looked about. She could feel eyes falling upon her gossiping, but she held her head high and continued walking, but stopped within her tracks.
Entering the Gala was Rajendra, and Yash. Dressed in a white Armani Suite, with a black shirt and white tie, he looked different. The cuffs of the shirt and sleeves were loose, his hair was tousled, and he looked like he hadn't slept. To the average attendee he might have looked like a party boy being forced to be here, but J knew he was simply a reluctant prince who hadn't slept the night. Rajendra took his grandson, and introduced him to the press.
Rajendra: Ladies and Gentlemen, I'd like you to meet my grandson, the Heir of the Ravghard Estate, Yuvraj Ar...Liam Yashvardan Ryan.
Yash's face looked ashen, absolutely ashen. He smiled and nodded but otherwise did not answer anything, soon the media backed off when the realized the new prince was not going to fall into a newbies trap and say anything headline worthy. He signaled the bar waiter and downed a tumbler of scotch, and grabbed another to drink. He kept his eyes down cast and ignored the crowd, let Rajendra do the socialization, he shook hands, smiled politely but he was not himself. Yash looked in awe as if he were stuck in a foreign environment. J hid behind people, made sure she ran in the opposite direction from him. Her heart thudded in confusion, she couldn't have him find out the truth now, not like this. After what seemed like minutes watched from behind a marble pillar as Yash spoke with Rajendra.
Rajendra: You have to stay for a few more minutes, an hour at least Aryan!
Yash: It's YASH nanaji. Y-A-S-H, YASH.
Rajendra: OK! Fine, Yash. But you have to stay. I have to introduce you to everyone still. You haven't even met Rajkumari Jainandini.
Yash looked with anger towards his grandfather.
Yash: I'm not interested in your titles, crowns and princess. I'm only here to do as much as you've asked so far and even that is too much. I'm not meeting this princess.
Yash turned to leave, but his grandfather held onto his hand.
Rajendra: Look Yash, Jainandini brings experience, she knows the ins and outs of the Royal House, she would have become the Heir of Devgard had her sister not been found. She will make you a great wife and Mahrani.
Yash looked at his grandfather as if her had completely lost his mind.
Yash: I've found the woman I'm going to spend the rest of my life with, so no. I don't care what hangs on the line Nanaj...Rajendra. I really don't care. Tell her no. Tell her family no. And most of all you should listen and understand that it's a No. It's not happening.
Rajendra: Yash! You owe me this much!
Yash didn't yell, scream or create a scene, but his voice was lethal, low, even and to the point.
Yash: I owe you nothing. You owe me everything. My mother's tears, her pain, her misery. She died missing you. She lived wanting you to be a part of her life, we asked you to come to her death bed, and you couldn't even throw your pride away for that.
He was about to walk away, but Giriraj stopped him, unfamiliar with the stranger he paused and smiled hesitantly, and suddenly Giriraj had pulled him into his arms.
Giriraj: Yash! Yash! Yash! How I had wondered when I'd see Vidya's son!
Rajendra: Yash, this is Mahraj Giriraj of Jaigard.
Yash: Hello.
Giriraj: And, from what I understand son, you already know my son. Uday.
Like a lifeline, Yash clung to Uday's hand, smiling a sincere smile after what seemed like ages. Each member of the Royal House was introduced, finally the Devgard Royals.
DS: Hello Yash beta, from what I hear there is plenty to catch up on.
Brijraj: We should bring J, you'd love to meet her.
Yash: Ah, no. I was just headed out.
Uday: Wait Yash, you have to meet my Sali she's a character. You'll love her.
Yash: No Uday, I'm fine. I have to get going.
Rajendra:Yash! This is unacceptable, you need to at least meet the young lady.
Uday: Yash, just come and say hi. From what I hear you two are going to be spending more time together down the road.
The look Yash gave Uday was not one of amusement. He looked angry, as if he would attack without a moment's hesitation.
Yash: No thank you. I've frankly had more than enough for one day. I need to get going. Thank you for your...warm welcome.
And with that left with his head held high, his grandfather held onto his diamond tipped cane with a steal grip. Manyata nudged Uday to go after his friend, and without a moment's hesitation Uday did just that. Hiding behind the pillar, J couldn't figure out what to do. There was so much on the line. The anger on his face...she couldn't tell him the reality that it was. He'd be hurt beyond repair. She looked around nervously and waived down a waitress dressed black dress pants and a pristine white blouse. Pulling her close she reached into her wallet and pulled out a few thousand rupee bills.
J: Trade clothing with me.
Waitress: What! Rajkumariji..I'll lose my pay for this event if I'm not here
J: I'll give you triple that. Here is 5000 now, take it, give me your cloths. Hell you can keep my gown purse and jewelry. Is that enough?
The young waitress looked in awe, but wasn't a fool to question her good fortune. She could feed and clothe her family for a year with the value of the emeralds alone.
Waitress: Yes. Yes. It's more than enough.
She followed J into the restroom, where the two switched clothing. And J swabbed off half of her make up. She had to comfort him, tell him she was here for him. She had to be near him, even if it was just as Nandini.
Yash walked out of the gala with as much ease as he could manage. Inside he felt like running, but at 24 he knew better than to run. Running made people think you were intimidated, scared and giving up. He simply wanted to leave them and their bullshit behind. Looking back at the glittering hotel, he realized it wasn't the rich he hated. He knew plenty of rich people- in fact the Ryan family was wealthy by all means. But he hadn't known they were royal. It all made sense now, why his mother never mentioned things, why his grandfather was so hesitant to talk to him, but so resilient in meeting up. This morning had been hell. He had wanted nothing more to fly back to New York and screw this apparent duty that was his.
Yash
Earlier this morning...
His grandfather had requested that he meet with him earlier this morning for breakfast at the hotel he was staying at. Reluctant, he had agreed. Although he would much rather spend the day with Nandini, he knew that there was a certain level of respect and courtesy he should show towards his estranged grandfather, after all he was his mother's son. The day before when his grandfather had called him- interrupting his and Nandini's date- he had been peeved, but he didn't particularly bitch about it. Instead he had gone and met with the old man, discussed his mother's childhood, her relationship with her older brother...but not his father. They never spoke of Mathias Ryan. Yet, even though his grandfather ignored his father, and never acknowledged his older sisters he still sat there and sipped brandy with the old man. He had gone to his hotel room, had dinner and promised him another meeting.
And here he was, walking into the private dining room with an abundance of food laid out before him. Taking the seat to his grandfather's right, he looked around at the empty space and wondered what this occasion was. He had only met Rajendra 4 times since he had arrived in Mumbai, and he hoped this was the last. He couldn't stand this false sense of family this man was trying to create. He didn't want to pertend to show respect when it was the furthest thing from what he felt for him. But, he sat down, and smiled.
Yash: Good Morning Nanaji.
Rajendra:Good Morning Aryan Beta.
Yash: Yash.
Rajendra:Yes yes, Yash.
Yash narrowed his eyes, but continued with the plesentries.
Yash: What can I help you with this morning.
Rajendra:I had some papers for you to sign.
At his word a lawyer came forward with documentation for Yash. Reading through his eyes narrowed at the text.
Yash: Crown? What on earth is this.
Rajendra:You're the heir Aryan. After Vidya you are the only direct heir left for Ravgard.
Yash: Mom wasn't a..
Rajendra:Princess? Or Rajkumari. Yes she was. Ravgard was hers to inherit before she disgraced this family and ran away with that man.
Yash gripped his fork to refrain from stabbing his grandfather, and took a deep breath.
Yash: she never told me.
Rajendra:How could she. She knew what she had done. Do you realize what has appened in the last 25 years Aryan? Our estate has become the laughing stock of the Royal House. You are the only hope I have of bringing it back to it's former glory.
Yash: I can't do it. Give it to someone else.
Rajendra:Why can't you do it! You have to!
Yash: Why!? Why should I do this! I have no obligation!
Rajendra:You owe it to your mother! This was her destiny, and she ran away from it. You need to do what she couldn't.
Yash: Mom found her destiny. It was dad.
Rajendra:Then do it for the sake of your heritage Aryan. Can you do it for a dieing man?
He looked at his grandfather and noticed the sagging of his shoulders and bags under his eyes and the exasperated look on his face.
Rajendra:there's only so much I can do with pancreatic cancer Aryan. I need an heir. I need someone to show the world that Ravgard isn't going to fall apart. After Vidya my riyasaat is all that I have left. Don't make me loose that too.
He looked back at the papers, and his grandfather. He couldn't do this. He didn't want this. But he'he could help. He could do that much couldn't he? His mother missed this man all her life, perhaps he could do this much for her?
Yash: I'll help. I'll try. But I make no promises.
Rajendra was a smart man and knew when to take what.
Rajendra:That is fine. It's a lot to take in one day.
Yash: What do I have to do?
Rajendra:Could you come to a Gala with me today? So I can introduce you?
Yash shuddered internally at the thought of being paraded around like some pet. But he nodded his head to oblige.
Yash: Yes. I can manage that.
He couldn't believe he had agreed. No good deed goes unpunished. Lost in his thoughts he almost didn't notice the footsteps rushing behind him. Almost. He turned around in time to see Uday rushing towards him slapping his shoulder in brotherly affection.
Uday: Hey, come on. I know it's a lot to take in but you'll get the hang of it.
Yash: No. I don't think I can Uday. This is not my world.
Uday: come on, if Manyata who grew up dirt poor can adapt, you sure as hell can white boy. You've grown up around wealth.
Yash: Wealth yes, but not Royalty.
Uday: you've known me for almost 5 years.
Yash: You're different outside of the title then with it Uday. I can't do this. He's practically asking me to forget everything. He's asking me to leave the woman I love.
Uday: Yash...J..she's a good girl. You'll get to know her. Give her a chance.
Yash: Why? If I asked you to leave Manyata would you be able to do it Uday?
Uday: that's not the point Yash, Manyata and I have been betrothed since childhood. I just lucked out by loving her.
Yash shoved his hands in his pockets and looked skywards for some guidance. He found none.
Uday: It's what your mom would have wanted Yash. She would want you to be a part of this. At least get your feet wet.
Yash: It's not that damn easy Uday!
Uday: It is that easy! You can do it you're just too fu*king stubborn to be bothered!
Yash paced in the hotel garden, Uday not giving up started again.
Uday: You need to understand something Yash, our lives are dictated by what is best for our people. What is best for our Riyasaat, and what is best for our crown.
Yash: what are you trying to say Uday?
Uday: I'm saying..your mother didn't do what was best for Ravgard'at leas...'at least do the same Yash.
His fist clenched, at Uday's words. Everyone seemed to deem this entire scenario his mother's fault.
Yash: Why Uday? Because she fell in love? Because she married a White man? Because she became a step-mom? Because she had me? She could have been a Yuvrani and a mother. She could have had Dad and Ravghard, but Rajendra didn't let her. There is a very big difference.
Uday: Yash! You need to understand. This isn't America, and Ravghard is not New York. Your mother had obligations, which she didn't follow through on. Responsibilities which we are cursed with since birth and rights which we are gifted with. Your mother failed Yash, you need to succeed.
The day and the information which was pouring into his mind and seeping into his veins was taking a toll on Yash. He couldn't stand this anymore. His best friend, his best friend was putting him in a position where his identity was coming into question: Where did his fate lay? With Nandini? With Dad? With Rajendra? With Ravghard?
Uday: You need to do something Yash because Ravghard does not need a Vidya 2.0
He had meant the words in jest, trying to help his friend make a decision- he had not expected a fist to come flying at his jaw. Surprised at the attack and the stinging sensation Uday stumbled back but regained his footing.
Yash: My mother did what she did Uday. And you'd best remember I'm only standing here because of her courage and decision. Never insult my mother.
Uday: You're pissed off, I get it. Remember the first one is free White Boy, after that, we start a tally.
Uday rubbed his jaw and left his friend alone. No amount of explanations, reasoning or consulting would help at this time. Bitterness, anger and confusion were potent on their own, but together they wreaked havoc on the mind.
He didn't call him back. Yash walked to the bench in the garden. The twinkling lights danced in happiness, mocking his inner turmoil. Sitting down, head in hands, grasping at his hair he wondered if he could simply turn back the clock and re-do this. Have had said no to Rajendra. Have never come here. A soft hand touched his, and he looked to his right to see Nandini sitting down next to him. Dressed in a signature waitress outfit he realized she had been at the party, working. She had seen him at his worst, and she was here for him.
Without hesitation he pulled her into his arms, almost crushing her with his need to have her close. Her hair smelt of honey and lilacs, and her neck was soft. He felt as if finally wandering around for a day he had come back to where he needed to be: With her. Could he leave Nandini for Ravghard? Could he leave her and take this unknown princess as Jainandini? No, he couldn't. Perhaps he was weak, perhaps he was more like his mother. But it was what he wanted.
There were no words needed, his eyes said it all. He looked at her, and saw complete trust, and utter concern. She was risking her job for him. Caressing her face, gently as he held onto his wrists, he was at a loss for words.
Yash: What are you doing here?
J: You...you needed me.
He laughed, her honesty and insight winning over his heart. He did need her. He needed her in every way possible. And even that wouldn't be enough.
They met each other half way, his lips finding hers, melting together in perfect harmony, soothing wounds no eye could see, paving a path that neither could take back. There wasn't any hesitation, and suddenly the calm, soft waves of their kiss grew, as if a storm was coming. Close wasn't close enough. Her hands tugged at his hair, and his fell to her waist pulling her closer. There was nothing that could separate them.
He was the first to come up for air, whispering in her ear.
Yash: We can't.
She knew they couldn't. But, she didn't care. Not one bit.
J: We can. We can.
He held her hand to his lips and kissed the inside of her palm.
They walked hand in hand towards his car, and drove in silence to his hotel. Hand in hand up the elevator, no words were spoken. Her gripped tightened on his as he opened the door. Pulling her closer, he simply held her for a moment, breathing in her scent, essence and beauty. It was more than he could bear that she wanted him and much as he needed her. It was more than just something physical. Sex was something he was privy to, and enjoyed, but with Nandini it couldn't be just sex. It was love. In every sense of the word.
She knew this too. In her world she was called many things. So many assumptions, so many titles and judgments. Never before had she wanted to give herself so completely to someone. Even if it was for one night. Even if after he wouldn't want her forever. She was willing to take that risk. He was worth that risk. To hell with the consequences.
Her eyes met his, and suddenly the distance between them was gone, the heat from his body met hers and she knew she still wasn't close enough. Pulling away once more as she reached for his tie and looked into his eyes, she spoke words that would be uttered throughout the night, but were never enough.
J: I love you.
Jainandini
It seems like a dream, and perhaps in some ways it is. Throughout the night I had never once wondered if what I was doing was wrong, if I should stop, part of me had thought perhaps in the morning I'll feel the guilt, dirty or perhaps ashamed. But I don't. Instead I feel this sense of completion and content as his warm body settles next to mine. His chest pressing against my back, his legs warming mine, I wouldn't trade his hard bicep for the softest pillow in the world in this moment. I feel sleep finally coming, as his right hand runs through my hair, and his left drawing invisible patterns on my bare hip.
The last words I hear are his, as his lips wander around my neck.
Yash: I love you Nandini. Sweet dreams.
And I hum in agreement. Sweet dreams in deed, as our reality is an ugly thing.
Waking up the next morning was like a new beginning. It was different waking up next to someone who you loved. Because in that moment, you'd want nothing more than to wake up next to them each morning, and realizing that every morning would feel brand new. Opening his eyes he attempted to get up, but she was sprawled over his chest, hogging all of the blanket as well. Her head rested where his heart was, and her hands on both sides of his head. He could feel the trickle of drool making its way onto his skin. Nandini slept like the dead. My moved her tangled hair onto one side and smiled at last night, now he had carefully unpinned it, but still manage to miss one which had eventually poked him in the eye. He glanced at his watch, it was almost 9 AM, and he should probably meet his grandfather and tell him that his only condition was that Nandini be the woman he helped Ravghard bring back to the present. Only her. Not some stranger. Gently he moved her aside to head to the restroom, and grab a pair of sweat pants. He decided to order some coffee, and watch some TV while she slept for a little while longer; he didn't have the heart to wake her as she looked so peaceful in her sleep. Grabbing the piping hot cup, he sat down on the bed, and felt her move closer, her arm hang over his lap. Sighing in her sleep, as he ran his fingers through her hair: he smiled at the domesticity of it all. Turning on the TV, he flipped through the channels and settled on the local news, turning the volume at a reasonably low tone and watched.
Anchor: and now for our entertainment segment. Yesterday at the Children's gala the Patriarch of Ravghard announced his heir as his nathi Liam Yashvardan Ryan, who is the child of his estranged Daughter Yuvrani Vidya Kumari. The princess had left the Ravghard name and title in pieces when she ran away with famous Architect Mathias Ryan 25 years ago.
His hand tightened on his mug as an image of his mother appeared, video of his grandfather, and eventually his father's image. Soon it was replaced by his own picture which was obviously taken yesterday.
Anchor: In another sudden turn of events it was announced that Maharaj Rajendra has arranged his grandson's wedding to Devgard's younger princess Rajkumari Jainandini. If you recall Rajkumari J was set to marry her former future brother-in-law Yuvraj Udayveer Singh of Jaigard, but her long lost sister, Rajkumari Manyata was found and now The wedding of Yuvraj Udayveer and Rajkumari Manyata is set for later this year.
His breath stopped, as images came onto the screen. He saw his Nandini, but it wasn't his Nandini. This girl was clad in a backless Oscar de La Renta gown in vixen red. Her face was smug and self-assured, beside her they held an image of Uday and Manyata holding hands, obviously by the paparazzi. He looked down at the girl sleeping next to him, and pulled his hand away from the strands of hair he had been playing with not a moment ago, as if he had been burned. The Anchor continued.
Anchor: Insiders report that Prince Yash was adamant that he loved another and would not be agreeable to an alliance with Devgard's princess J, but reporters later found evidence which contradicted his very words.
His jaw tightened as he saw the video clip from their moment last night. He hadn't thought anything of it then, but he should have. Cameras had be everywhere and even that intimate moment between them was caught. The clip was of them kissing, her holding her close, whispering to her.
He felt betrayed beyond belief. Perhaps sensing his anger J woke up. She smiled at him brilliantly but soon stopped when she saw the anger etched in his face. Turning towards the sound coming from the TV, J pulled the sheet higher on her chest, feeling more exposed than ever before.
Anchor: It seems that the two know each other very well, insiders report that the couple was seen driving away to the Prince's Hotel, and have not been seen since. Ravgard and Devgard have an alliance now, even if officially speaking the two refuse to meet at the table.
He got of the bed, and for once she wished he would speak, say something. His silence was her biggest fear. The look he gave her tore her to pieces. She loved this man more than anything else, and she could no longer see the sentiment reflecting back towards her.
Yash: You lied to me.
J: Yash..I... never.
Yash: Never what? You never knew you were a princess? You never knew you were lieing? You never knew I was His grandson?
She wanted to run to him, but felt so vulnerable and exposed in this moment. He at least had some clothing on, but here she was sitting in a bed which had been theirs only moments ago, wrapped in warm sheets which still held his scent. She held down the sob which was making its way up her throat, she couldn't cry now. She needed to hold herself together, she needed to explain.
J: I can explain...
He walked towards his closet, and grabbed a few things from his suite case and pulled on a t-shirt. Never once glancing at her, as she tried to right herself to speak to him, it seemed like a lifetime but it was a matter of seconds at most.
He glanced at her once more, and he didn't notice the woman he loved. He ignored her flushed cheeks, or the tears brimming in her eyes. He didn't see the girl with the beautiful smile. He only recognized the lies. He had had enough lies for a life time, and he didn't care to hear another, not even from her beautiful lips.
Yash: There's no need to explain Rajkumari Jainandini. You can tell your family that us sleeping together doesn't change anything.
He didn't give her another moment to speak. He didn't give her anything. He left without giving her a backwards glance, he left her there sitting in that still warm bed, he left her with nothing but tears streaming down her face and broken dreams.
What do you think?
Hold nothing back.
-Reeha
Enjoy! I have some UVCs to Type out before I get shot.