Part 18
Stunned she looked at him and was about to fume when his hand seized hers in warning and Ravi returned... as he threw them a furtive amused look... 'Love birds holding hands...' He teased and Khanak blushed genuinely very aware of her hand trapped in his. Manu returned too and winking at her spoke... "So Kanks, all set? You remember our date for tonight?!" As if one could see ears perk up she felt his stiffening with displeasure and groaned in her mind.. 'Manu what are you up to.. like as if I have less on my plate...' But Manu merely smiled at her look of disapproval and turning to Ravi spoke.. "It was nice meeting you Dr. Rai.." Ravi beamed his pleasure and murmured.. "Oh please call me Ravi... Manu.. my pleasure too.. Hope to meet again.. Bye Khanak bhabhi.." She smiled feeling a tingle of pleasure at his address her that way but that pleasure was short lived as at her side he spoke.. "Jingles I hope you remember that we have to go out tomorrow.." That was news to her and she turned with a frown as they rose in askance at which he merely leaned forward not in the least perturbed by the presence of their friends nor of the fact that they were in a public place... gently grasping her chin he smiled and planted a kiss on her lips.. The contact brief and momentary yet screaming of proprietary and possession. Before she could protest she felt the pressure of his fingers in warning at her chin as with the other hand he delicately placed her errant curl behind her ear and smiled for the benefit of two other pairs... one in amused delight while the hazels were in deep regard... as if knowing something unknown to this intriguing pair.
He whispered softly.. "We need to go and meet Mr. Kalra... remember I spoke to you for legal documentation..." Manu's face changed to a frown as he in astute attention heard but quietly... as she too tried to figure as he whispered for her ears... "Contract.." As her face cleared and she glanced around but nodded and then thankfully he let her go... as he nodded at Manu curtly "Mehra" and then a soft "Jingles.. I will call you at night.." With that she saw his retreating back as they left as Manu came to her and softly spoke.. "You okay?" At her nod he sighed and placed an arm around her shoulder as if lending her some support... and spoke.. "Love is definitely in the air.. believe it or not, it is true.." As she sighed in vain and said.. "Mannnuuu..." He smiled and winking led her out of the restaurant...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
She had risen early and quivered softly as she remembered the sound of his husky baritone when she had just given up on expecting him to call her.. Her cell had rung and she frowned as she did not recognise the number that flashed and had tentatively murmured "Hello Khanak here..." He had spoken "Jingles.. I hope. I did not disturb you.." She glanced down at the diary in her hand and opened it to look into his face... as her pulses quickened and she replied "No.. what do you want Shantanu?" Unknowingly her fingers traced the a caress around his face as she heard him laugh mockingly and spoke.. "My my aren't we prickly.. I just called to say I... " 'I love you' his heart shouted for him to speak but he continued with that deliberate pause.. "I will pick you early as after 10.00 I have a surgery... So can you be ready by 9.00?" She had murmured feeling a pain slice through her very core.. but had murmured in agreement and rang off stiffly...
Presently as soon as Ma had known that she was meeting Shantanu, she had insisted that Khanak wear a saree... After a long argument with Ma and Manu who had joined hands with Ma in making her life even more miserable she lost to the duo and was ready dressed in a beautiful mustard cotton saree spattered all over with tiny red flowers all over... She was just finishing her cup of coffee and chatting with Papa and Manu when he entered looking crisp and suave in a lightest of off white coloured shirt and fawn coloured trousers... Ma showered him with special attention...as Papa too looked endearingly and Manu simply looked on... in a strange amusement... He had pestered her to no ends asking her of what legal documents, and she had murmured about getting her name changed in the passport, making applications for that purpose etc... He had been difficult to convince but he had conceded in the end...
As soon as he entered the dining he saw her seated his heart rate as ever racing at the speed of a jet, his smile encompassing all in general but his eyes resting one her a little bit more in appreciation as he saw her attire... He declined Ma's offer for tea, murmuring.. "Ma, I will come another time, it is getting late... we should be leaving..." She nodded rising as she took her purse.. Manu followed her and he frowned at that.. but she turned and spoke.."I will call you as soon as I am done.. we can then go together for our meeting.. " Manu nodded as he moved to his car but not before leaning to kiss her gently on her cheek... Shantanu's fingers tightened on the door of the car that he held for her and grimly he grit his teeth his face turning dark as an angry scowl appeared in his eyes... She smiled at Manu clueless and turned to see his anger as he slammed the door shut after she sat... the grip on the steering wheel too indicated his wrath.. but he did not speak a word... She felt as if she was walking towards the gallows.. her heart screaming as if to plead to him.. 'Don;t do this doc... I.. I love you.. I wish to be married to you for eternity.. till I breathe.. in this life.. and all others too...' But alas her voice failed her as Pride prevented her from uttering these...
At the attorney's office, all she had to do was to sign on a document... the copy of the contract that she had at home was just a mere piece of information. This was actually an agreement.. a legal deed, which said that they were to be married, and this agreement would stand null and void if either of the under named partners wanted out. The marriage could then be annulled or would end in a divorce as what ever the situation called for... She signed with a very heavy heart.. once again her heart willing her not to.. but she nevertheless did... She had also whispered to him asking "Why is there no end date?" At that his nostrils had flared and he had softly rasped out.. "I can see that your pansy boy has already been jolted... don't worry Jingles.. I shall find a way to relieve you within a year.. It need not be stated here.. I am sure you trust my word in that matter..." His harsh words had brought tears to her eyes which she furiously blinked away... 'Within a year' ringing like a dull echo which pained her to the very soul...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Daadi frowned as she spoke to Shantanu.. "Lekin ab shaadi ke liye das di hi to hain Shaan.. kya is shaher mein aur kpi doctor nahin tumhe chod ke?! No, this is not done.. You will take leave and I don't care.. ek to aisi shaadi nahin dekhi maine.. yeh bhi koi baat hui bhalaa... Aise kaise maan jaati hain Khanak tumhaara kehna.. " Madhavi came in as she heard daadi's upset voice.. "Hun kya hua maaji?" Daadi humphed and murmured "Honeymoon chodo, shaadi ke baad, kaam par jaane ki baat kar rahaa hain.. Madhavi, ab tum hi batao, kya yeh sahi hain?"
Shocked Madhavi turned to look at Shaan who busy administering an injection to daadi.. ignoring the looks of displeasure on the faces of the two women as Madhavi spoke out in a shocked voice "Shaan!!?" He sighed as he did his stuff and spoke "Mom please.. I have enough on my plate without you too adding to more.. I have already discussed this with Khanak and she does not mind at all.. In fact she is more than eager to start working on designing my clinic.. so there.. end of argument no more discussion on this matter..." He said in an ultimate voice which indicated there was no scope for any further arguments... as Madhavi grimly frowned and daadi turned her head away very displeased with him... He sighed and sitting at her side murmured.. "Hey beautiful... I promise you... we.. we will go.. later but not now... give me some time.. you know my commitments are serious.. I am a doctor.. Khanak knows that too... please..." So daadi sighed and tenderly stroked his forehead and smiled as he sighed and leaned forward to kiss her head but closed his eyes in silent apology for lying... He felt a shaft of pain shoot through his heart as he knew that even if he loved her she did not love him back...