Nothing wrong with Naushad's lisp

debayon thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
Guys, I have seen many people complaining about Naushad's lisp,but I think that that is the least that he should be concerned about. It is something natural,and it doesn't affect his singing at all. In fact, if you can make it big in the industry by being nasal, this is nothing. TakeVishal Dadlani,for example, he has done tremendously well in the industry with his singing. I mean, it's not bad singing(although it's not very, very good) I hope you get my point here

Angel-likeDevil thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
I think his lisp is not a problem at all.. I mean, is his lisp so bad that you cannot comprehend as to what he says?? 🤔 No way!
Like I always say, I think his lisp makes him sound cute-r! 😳 And I guess all I care for is taal, and surs..
And, I agree with the nasal part. Someone gets the reputation of one of the most popular music director/singer even when he's nasal, I agree.. this is just NOTHING! 👍🏼 He sounds cuter this way! =P
sunandshine thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I dont know who else has been talking about Naushad's lisping except me. So if this post is directed towards me, then well my answer is that I have a problem with it. Simply because none is correcting him and its highly distracting to me. Not just that, his diction is bad.He says 'Mosam' for 'Mausam", 'MarGee' for 'MarZi' and when words are not pronounced well, the essence of the song is lost. I do not like his singing. Lisping can be corrected but someone should help him with that. I am sure Javed Akhtar would have pointed that out.
Edited by sunandshine - 15 years ago
brahmabul thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
No offence yaar. But this is not a thing to be ignored. I essentially wanted to say the same what SAS said.

Watch his Deewana Tera performance here from 2:30

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlkPapu-GTQ[/YOUTUBE]

This problem has more to do with the region from where he comes. I have noticed similar characteristics in Swaroop also and they both hail from Rajasthan.

But let us be honest here. You can not do playback with such pronunciation. It sounded very odd to me the way he pronounced 'Mausam ' and 'Marzi'. I remember Javed saab once scolding a singer in the auditions by the way he pronounced the word 'Khwaab'. Although it is written as 'Khwaab' but it is pronounced as 'Khaab'.

On the brighter side this is not a huge issue to worry about. I am sure Naushad will improve. 😊

Edited by brahmabul - 15 years ago
*Woh Ajnabee* thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail
I have a problem with Naushad's lisp. He has two problems - his lisp and his pronunciation. Mispronunciation (ie say marjee instead of marzee) is something that people who don't have a lisp also do. It is easier to fix that - he needs to listen to the song carefully and work on his pronouncing words properly. That would've been Javed Akhtar's comment on talafuz. This same comment applies to Arpita - who's pronounciation is also terrible.

Next, we have Naushad's lisp. I am not criticizing him for this inherent problem, but I do think, that as a singer, he needs to work on it. Aside from pronunciation, his words also lack clarity. He always chooses RFAK songs. RFAK songs are so heavy on meaningful lyrics - each word holds so much weight. If renditions of songs like Bol Na Halke Halke and Jag Soona Soona lack clarity in words, it takes away from the whole performance.

Naushad slurs words - which take away from the feel and emotion of the song. It takes away from his overall performance because I, as a member of the audience, feel disconnected.
brahmabul thumbnail
@WA

Ohh...I thought lisp and mispronunciation are essentially the same. I am assuming lisp has more to do with the words ending with 's'. Not sure though. Can you let me know the difference?
I looked up in the dictionary also. There the meaning of lisp is given as mispronunciation or to speak with imperfect articulation. I was assuming both of them to be same so I made my comments.
debayon was only talking about the lisp. Perhaps he was not hinting at the pronunciation part.
Edited by brahmabul - 15 years ago
debayon thumbnail
Have you guys heard Vushal Dadlani in Jab Mila Tu?Well,if he can be successful,why can't the others?
brahmabul thumbnail
Can someone clear my doubt here. Is there any difference between lisp and mispronunciation?
debayon thumbnail

Originally posted by: brahmabul

Can someone clear my doubt here. Is there any difference between lisp and mispronunciation?

Lisp is what Charlie had in Kaminey. Misprounciation is just not saying a word right
*Woh Ajnabee* thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail

Originally posted by: brahmabul

@WA

Ohh...I thought lisp and mispronunciation are essentially the same. I am assuming lisp has more to do with the words ending with 's'. Not sure though. Can you let me know the difference?
I looked up in the dictionary also. There the meaning of lisp is given as mispronunciation or to speak with imperfect articulation. I was assuming both of them to be same so I made my comments.
debayon was only talking about the lisp. Perhaps he was not hinting at the pronunciation part.

Brahmabul ji,

Lisp is a speech defect - and yes, as you said, it focuses more on incorrect articulation of words containing the letters "s", "z" and "th". Its more than mispronouncing, its having the inability to utter those syllables properly. "Marjee" and "marzee" are mistakes people who speak Hindi make because in Urdu the word is pronounced as "marzee". I don't think that Naushad made that mistake because of his lisp but rather because of his everyday language style.

But have you noticed when Naushad sings songs its hard to make out the words? We've heard these songs so often that we know what he's saying, but I feel that if it was a song I heard for the first time, I would not be able to make out his words

Does that make sense?