The BMC's plan to construct a wax museum in the city, on the lines of London's Madame Tussauds, has been put on hold. The civic body realised only recently that the place they had earmarked for the museum falls under a green zone and, hence, cannot be developed.
The BMC had earmarked six acres of land with a built up area of 1.5 lakh sq ft behind Bhau Daji Lad Museum in Byculla for the project. Said Anil Diggikar, additional municipal commissioner (projects), "While chalking out the details of the plan in a meeting, we realised that the plot we allotted for the museum comes under a green zone."
Tussauds team to help with museum
The BMC now hopes that the government will make an exception and make the land available for the museum work. "We will forward a proposal to the state government, asking them to make changes in the reservation of the plot, as it is impossible to find another plot," said Diggikar.
"I am yet to go through the details and status of the plan, but I believe there won't be any problems. Fifteen per cent of the green zone can be used for development of the museum," said BMC Commissioner Dr Jairaj Phatak.
However, even if the state considers changing the reservation of the plot, the project may not see the light of the day for a long time.
Said T C Benjamin, principal secretary, urban development, "It is not impossible to change the reservation of a plot. But, to do so, we need to invite suggestions and objections from the public. The state can change the reservation only if it is in the interest of the public."
The construction of the museum, a Rs 100 crore project, was scheduled to start within six months.
The BMC had appointed P K Das as the architect for the project. He is expected to submit the design of the museum to BMC soon. Das said they have asked Madame Tussauds management to send an expert team to formalise the plan.
According to the proposal, the museum will have an art gallery, an auditorium and a cafeteria. Although the plan has hit the roadblock for the time being, politicians are busy suggesting names of personalities, whose wax model can occupy the space. Bal Thackerey is one such personality.