Sarees are going out of fashion in Bollywood Movie

surkikhani thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

Sarees are going out of fashion in Bollywood Movies. These days, on the big screen, most Bollywood actresses are seen in western attire or in fusion wear - but hardly ever in a sari, unless the role involves an older woman.

One reason for this is that art imitates life and vice versa. With today's young people largely opting for Western wear, it was only natural that this would be reflected on the big screen, experts say.

"Today's generation is more inspired by fusion and Western wear," designer Leena Singh of the Ashima-Leena duo said.

She, however, was confident that the sari would one day regain the pre-eminent status it enjoyed in Bollywood till the late 1990s.

Designer Ritu Kumar had a different take on this.

"I do not think that saris have disappeared. They have just shifted from the big screen to the small screen," Kumar told IANS.

"You can see them in different avatars and vibrant colours on the small screen. As a matter of fact, the sari will always remain in fashion one way or the other," she contended.

It's not that the sari has totally disappeared from Bollywood films but its appearances are few and far between.

"This is just a phase. A sari is a designers' paradise and every woman's desire. It will surely make a comeback," Leena Singh maintained.

Earlier, Bollywood producer-director Yash Chopra's movies invariably featured the leading lady in a sari. But today, Western outfits have replaced this trademark of his movies.

One only has to compare his "Silsila" in the early 1980s to "Tara Rum Pum" of 2007 in which Rani Mukerji wears only Western outfits to realise the truth of this.

"Today, young actresses are more comfortable in contemporary Western dresses and their fans, who look up to them, also imitate them," designer Kavita Bhatia pointed out.

R u Agree with this Article ?????

goody2shoes thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
i dont neccessarily agree, because i dont know about saris since i dont wear them but i wear shalwar kamez and one things for sure desi clothing will never go out as it is a part of us besides this western attire to to attract youths but then again im a youth im 16 and i can tell you know i feel a lot more comfortabel in shalwar kameez.
i can comfortably go into town or supermarkets like asda or tesco (uk) and not feel embarassed!
but i suppose its an individual thing
har kisi ki baat alag hoti hai
xx
Nitika2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: goody2shoes

i dont neccessarily agree, because i dont know about saris since i dont wear them but i wear shalwar kamez and one things for sure desi clothing will never go out as it is a part of us besides this western attire to to attract youths but then again im a youth im 16 and i can tell you know i feel a lot more comfortabel in shalwar kameez.

i can comfortably go into town or supermarkets like asda or tesco (uk) and not feel embarassed!
xx

I agree with you im not a sari person either but dont think theyl go out of fashion cos they still look good when young actresses wear them; makes them look very elegant! 😊
MizzSoni thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: goody2shoes

xx

agree with u too
i dont think they will go out of fashion
i luv sarees
i try to wear them to weddings wen i get the chance although i only have a few
n i also find desi clothes way more comfortable 😊
in the home ill always be in desi clothes
MrsKaranGrover thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
i am a huge sari fan and feel a female looks her best in a saree!..no way will they go out of fashion..
x Mrs.KaranSinghGrover x😳
xChandnix thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
I love saris yaar!! 2 young 2 wear them but still i love saris and Katrina looked the prettiest in saris as seen in teri ore song!! I agree with every1 above. I don't feel indian clothing will ever go out of bollywood movies!!
Lost_Soul141 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
i dnt think they are goin out of fashion! i think actresses luk their best in sarees.
293418 thumbnail
They aren't going out of fashion completely, but it just is not like as common as it used to be in schools and offices like it was earlier, but then I was not around in the 1970s (just relying on secondhand info). Speaking of myself, it takes me about an hour to properly get in one because I am so not used to wearing one. A salwar kameez though is probably one of the most comfortable outfits ever for me, and I do like wearing them whenever I go to a dawat.
Edited by cinnamonrani - 17 years ago
muskan ji thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
yeh right it is still in the fashion Aish Katrina & all other actresses still wears saree in diff movies
karishmalhoe thumbnail
hm... but i love sarees even if i am 14 and can not walk good in it it still is so lovable hahah for the indian woman