FF: A Grain of Sand, EPI,pg-36

vardhani thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

DISCLAIMER: Please read my introduction first and then proceed further.

Hey guys,

"The desire to write grows with writing."

The same thing has happened with me I guess. I have always liked literature in fact English is one of my favorite subjects, I always liked writing but never took it too seriously, but now I love it. I have decided to write another FF.

This is a bit dark, not dark exactly but grey, the central characters including jai and bani are not purely white, they oscillate between white, grey and dark. It basically deals with myriad of emotions like guilt, distrust, jealousy, adultery, lies, and numerous fallings-out.

Even though I am a sucker of happy endings, but I am clueless about this one, but 80% chances are there that it would be happy.

I hope I will do justice to it. I am a bit scared though. I don't want to project it in a wrong way. So please tell me if my narrative is good or bad from time to time. I need some serious feedback for this FF.

You may find a few parallels to Tagore's "Chokher Bali" but this story is completely different from it. That was set in 19th century and was about the sexual desires of a widow and how she seduces a married man. Bani is not crafty and cunning like 'binodini'. But surely the characters are loosely influenced by Tagore's characters.

The title has been inspired from Tagore's novel, it is an idiomatic - expression called 'sand in the eye' that suggested a 'bone', a destabilizing factor - the third party in an otherwise stable relationship, usually between a man and a woman. The third party can be anything, a person, their own fears etc.

This might contain some adult stuff. So people, read at your own risk.

Thank you so much for appreciating my earlier FFs and SSs and please continue doing so. And all the silent readers, a message for you all. I love you guys but we writers take so much pain and mentally tax ourselves for writing FFs but still we don't get the expected feedback and encouragement. So please guys at least you can just spare a minute and post a reply good or bad. SORRY!

A GRAIN OF SAND

PART 1

A woman stirred in her sleep, stretching her bare arms just to find him missing, she languidly lifted her naked body, covering herself with the white quilt trying to protect herself from the chilling breeze of the A.C., her eyes lazily searched the lavish hotel room to find his tall frame standing in front the mirror, brushing his auburn hair.

"You are leaving???" the woman asked gingerly.

"Yes sona, I have a flight to India in an hour" he replied casually putting on his leather jacket.

"Hmmm..."

"You were lovely sona, I had a wonderful time" he came near her and presented her with a gift wrapped slim box. Her emerald green eyes shone with amusement.

"Thank you so much jai, even I had a wonderful time" she said slightly pecking his sensuous lips.

"Bye then!!!" he said gathering his luggage.

"Bye!! And have a safe journey" she wished him.

"Thanks!!!" he replied with his trademark killer smile.

Her sleepy eyes watched him leave the hotel room, closing the huge mahogany door behind him.

She curiously opened the box to unveil a beautiful diamond set, she gasped in amazement. He surely knew how to treat his women.

Jai, the Jai Walia, owner of the Walia Group of Industries, was one of the most handsome and charming male species ever, and spending the entire night with him was a dream harbored by almost every woman who knew about him.

Well, spending yesterday night in his arms, also in the comforts of the cozy bed was eternal bliss. He was in London for a business deal with her company, and she being one of the executives was assigned this task. She was on cloud 9, 99, 99999…the day she knew that she was going to handle the deal, which woman wouldn't be. They met, discussed business, and finalized the deal amongst the high sexual tension which was mutual. It was after the party thrown by her company to celebrate the success of the deal that they ended up spending the night together.

It would be wrong to call him a wanton Casanova or a womanizer but he was indeed a promiscuous man. Nearly 34 and a self-confessed bachelor, he surely had his needs. But rather than dating or having affairs he believed in one night stands, which were more safe and emotionless, just for sheer physical pleasure. He didn't like to be emotionally attached or swear commitment, the reason quite a mystery. In fact any woman wouldn't even blink an eyelid before accepting an opportunity to be with him. He certainly kept his passionate nights discreet and secretive.

But he was not like other men treating women merely as a piece of flesh. He did respect them and was quite quixotic, pampering them with expensive gifts, his subtle way of indicating that the liaisons are nothing but materialistic and baseless.

Pushing these thoughts away sonali went back to her sweet slumber, dreaming of him.

------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------

INDIA

"Umm…Pia …You are simply awesome…" tarun spoke in between kissing her violently.

"TArunnnnn…"pia uttered in her high-pitched tone pulling him towards herself.

The constant ringing of his phone disturbed them from their blissful ecstasy.

"Tarun, leave it…" whined pia.

"Just a second pia…" he told her examining his mobile screen, Daadi flashed on it.

"Shit man!!" tarun almost jumped out of the bed and hurriedly dressed himself.

"What the hell tarun" yelled pia.

"Sorry baby, I have to leave, my daadi will screw me up"

"Whatever…"

Tarun quickly left the hotel room throwing a bundle of ten thousand rupees on the bed.

------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------

Tarun Thakur, famous lawyer, and Jai Walia's best friend. He was quite a self-absorbed, flamboyant personality. He had his own private law firm, but he was also jai's official lawyer and personal adviser on legal issues.

Even though poles apart they were great friends. Their late fathers were friends and they both continued the legacy. From being classmates, college mates, and now professional colleagues they came a long way. While jai was more intense, calm, introvert, extremely private and benevolent man, tarun was overtly jovial, extrovert, violent, very much public, and he showed benevolence only if there were some personal ulterior motives attached to it.

Tarun embodied the typical egoistic males who always treat women as their subordinates and who can't see beyond their body. His illicit relationships, casual affairs, flings, liaisons made an interesting topic for page3 magazines and grapevine gossips.

Tarun hurried into his huge house.

"aagaya tu…" called his grandmother, Gayathri Devi.

"Daadi who…"

"itni der kahan laga di…"

"woh daadi, ek dinner appointment tha client ke saath…"

"Phone kyun nahin uthaya…mein kab se try kar rahin thi…"

"woh silent pe tha na toh dekha nahin hoga…"

"accha…"

"aur waise bhi aap itni der tak kyun jagi hain… apni dawayian lee…"

"haan haan le lee, neend nahin aa rahin thi…"

"chaliye mein aapko kamre tak chod deta hun…"

"haan chal…"

He nicely settled daadi in her room and came out of her room switching off the lights. He breathed a sigh of relief and went towards his room.

Mr. and Mrs. Thakur died 6 years ago in an air crash after which his daadi who was living in her homeland jaipur alone, came to live with her only grandson. Tarun was spoilt from the beginning being the only child and almost got everything he demanded. He also became a lawyer just like his father. Well, his daadi was not aware of his colorful lifestyle; her blind love for her grandson, lead her to believe that he was indeed a very good man, absolutely perfect. And she proudly dismissed all the "truthful rumors" as media speculations. Though tarun loved her but he made concrete efforts to keep her uninformed about his "other side".

God bless

Dhani

PS.: I know the introduction is not as you all must have expected, but I wanted it like that, non-heroic.

Part

EPI

TYN

Page

Edited by vardhani - 17 years ago

287618 thumbnail
Very interesting.......please do continue 😃
Vishakha_Sakhi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Mine! 😆
Hey Vardhani 😊 Interesting intro.! I enjoyed it! 👏 👏 👏 and for a change no character will be 'picture perfec't but more complex and I like that as well because that is "real life". Nice title; it has alot of meaning! 😉 I am looking foward to how the story develops! 😃 Continue soon.

V...
Edited by Vedo - 17 years ago
HumaG thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
sounds really interesting pls cont soon!
Pooja_fren thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Intresting looking forward to it.
Who was that girl with Jai? Bani?????
And could u plz tell me what does this "A Grain of Sand" mean.
I am some what poor at litreture stuff mathematically inclined 😳
Thankssssssss

P.S. Isn't the Adult contents band?
pptm469 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Dhani,
I know you say that you want silent readers to write a note encouraging you.
So here goes...
I am looking forward to your updates on this FF.
Please continue soon..
I like what I have read so far..

Sangeeta
mayurmaaneet thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
😆 .. great start dhani.. update soon.. jai is sooo bad.. very naughty.. and sonlai, pia tarun as well.. wow.. it seems like an interesting story...
bhanu thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
good start , waiting for bani's intro
swathi thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I liked your little preface to the story ! I have enjoyed reading Tagore's stories and if I may say so inclined towards them ! I also believe that characters cannot be completely White or black and they usually oscillate between them ! For me these things are a good starting points to start reading your story which I did and liked what I read till now ! You have established a clear differentiation in characters between tarun and Jai and I would like to think that it is intentional and may have a bearing in how they react to a couple of situations in future !

Swathi
preeti73 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Very nice start!!!!!!!

Waiting for the next update.........