kuhelidebbarma thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail
Posted: 1 years ago

Originally posted by: hypnotoad

The truth of the matter is that no one would rank BA in even top 5 or even top 7 Wahaj performances. It is better than Mein, but that is such a low threshold.

The character of BA had so much potential, and this could have been among Wahaj's top 3/top 5 performances, but Wahaj (and Haseeb) have dropped the ball. Wahaj is really good in specific moments and scenes, but the way he developed the character and his character graph are weak and all over the place. Like he performs someone who is drunk in his drinking scenes but he is not playing an alcoholic character. His love gazes and in love expressions on their own in isolation maybe nice but they do not make sense if you want to understand how BA's feelings have evolved.

On one hand, the writer didn't have a grip on the characterization but neither did the director and the actor, and it shows. Where Haseeb has focused on just making frames look beautiful Wahaj only focussed on doing individual scenes and not focusing on how his performance fits on the character graph. I had really hoped that, considering Wahaj wasn't doing another drama at the time or many ps, he would have paid more attention to properly conceiving and developing the character.

I'll be very honest..after epi 12 and epi 13 teaser...I lost interest in SMD..I feel like all the other characters doesn't make sense...at this point I feel even Bilal and his over affectionate feelings for Sadaf and her family is also not making sense..I know I m being very critical and brutal but somehow the connect is really lost.

And I myself thought Bilal have the potential to be Wahaj's one of the memorable character..but I am sorry...the whole show and the whole dynamics is just falling flat..!!

I hope Wahaj come back with a good project and a good character..!!

Aaaaaaa77 thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail

Wahaj is a good actor ,he should definitely have a filter of writer and script

All the A listers should stay away from KRQ

I hope Wahaj does performance based role before TB2 or any other masala shows

He had a better judgement before TB's success

He should do something different now

Sparkle232 thumbnail

Originally posted by: hypnotoad

The truth of the matter is that no one would rank BA in even top 5 or even top 7 Wahaj performances. It is better than Mein, but that is such a low threshold.

The character of BA had so much potential, and this could have been among Wahaj's top 3/top 5 performances, but Wahaj (and Haseeb) have dropped the ball. Wahaj is really good in specific moments and scenes, but the way he developed the character and his character graph are weak and all over the place. Like he performs someone who is drunk in his drinking scenes but he is not playing an alcoholic character. His love gazes and in love expressions on their own in isolation maybe nice but they do not make sense if you want to understand how BA's feelings have evolved.

On one hand, the writer didn't have a grip on the characterization but neither did the director and the actor, and it shows. Where Haseeb has focused on just making frames look beautiful Wahaj only focussed on doing individual scenes and not focusing on how his performance fits on the character graph. I had really hoped that, considering Wahaj wasn't doing another drama at the time or many ps, he would have paid more attention to properly conceiving and developing the character.

A man with sad past regarding women will take time to fall in love. But bilal loves sadaf to the death. For what? He fell in love by seeing her crossing the road. We can say that is love at first sight. But he labels her as achi ladki just by seeing her. What did she do for him to say she is achi ladki, she is trustworthy, she can do no wrong. Her being his employee's daughter reason was not enough for such extreme love and trust.

In tb and Mpht, his characters loving fls made sense because both meerab and maheer are familiar to his characters since childhood. Here it is not making sense.

Edited by Sparkle232 - 1 years ago
anshvi thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Aaaaaaa77

Wahaj is a good actor ,he should definitely have a filter of writer and script

All the A listers should stay away from KRQ

I hope Wahaj does performance based role before TB2 or any other masala shows

He had a better judgement before TB's success

He should do something different now

Better judgement in what sense ? He always has done variety of shows be it masala shows like Fitoor where he wasn't even the lead or GPM where he played a cameo or similar stuff before that.....before TB, IJ was very good but average in terms of numbers.....JBG was very niche, didn't garner ratings or views plus he had limited screen space or DNUTH where again he had limited screen space and the show didn't garner ratings or views.

After TB he has only signed SMD.

Wahaj has done variety of roles of different genres which is great tbh.....SMD is not meant for a wider audience who enjoys masala stuff, it's slow with a old world charm which many might not enjoy.

Hopefully his next is a central role in a different genre project.

TwinkleStar12 thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Romantic Reveries

Originally posted by: Sparkle232

A man with sad past regarding women will take time to fall in love. But bilal loves sadaf to the death. For what? He fell in love by seeing her crossing the road. We can say that is love at first sight. But he labels her as achi ladki just by seeing her. What did she do for him to say she is achi ladki, she is trustworthy, she can do no wrong. Her being his employer's daughter reason was not enough for such extreme love and trust.

The thing is Bilal baba is actually in love with namdaar sahab, he decided not to drink before him because he feels uncomfortable and thinks it's haraam. Also said unka daatna achha lagta hai.

But since nm uncle is a man and is no more now. So that's why Bilal is interested in his by product i.e sadaf. And wants her, he sees nm uncle's parchai in her, sadaf ko dekhke unki achhi parvarish dikhti hai baba ko jo unhe kabhi nahi milismiley36

anshvi thumbnail

In Veer Zara, Veer fell for Zara the minute he laid eyes on her. In Ranjhana, the hero fell in love with Zoya the minute he saw her for the first time that too when they were kids....In Rehna hai Tere Dil mein, hero sees the heroine dancing in the rain and falls head over heels in love her at first sight!

That's how love at first sight stories work! One may like it or not but to find logic in it doesn't make sense to me. Coz in that case love at first sight itself is illogical but most of the iconic and classic love stories are indeed love at first sights!

The pacing slow but Bilal's character is etched well, even Sadaf's for that matter....a rich guy who is lonely, is an alcoholic...he crosses paths with a woman who catches his attention and then when he comes to know that he indeed is Namdar's daughter, his attraction slowly grows deeper ...the more he hears about her, the more he falls for her....he is not a bad guy, just misunderstood and perceived as a bad person.....he believes in doing Good without announcing to the world about it.

Thaf's how male leads usually are of love stories...here the focus is on his one sided love for Sadaf

Wahaj is performing really well and in fact when it comes to Bilal's characterisation, I have no complaints whatsoever.

My issue is witb the pacing and over focus on the side characters instead of of the leads especially Bilal

Aaaaaaa77 thumbnail

Originally posted by: anshvi

Better judgement in what sense ? He always has done variety of shows be it masala shows like Fitoor where he wasn't even the lead or GPM where he played a cameo or similar stuff before that.....before TB, IJ was very good but average in terms of numbers.....JBG was very niche, didn't garner ratings or views plus he had limited screen space or DNUTH where again he had limited screen space and the show didn't garner ratings or views.

Wahaj has done variety of roles of different genres which is great tbh.....SMD is not meant for a wider audience who enjoys masala stuff, it's slow with a old world charm which many might not enjoy.

Better judgement as in like he used to have earlier.

Bilal Abdullah is not as meaty as his previous show characters

Even after 12 episodes we aren't aware of his character more than what was shown in teasers

There is no info sadly ,i don't agree it is not meant for wider audience ,in those shows budget is really low while SMD is really high budget,no one makes shows for social service

In fact it is being ruined by makers by stretching because they are aiming masses and views at YT

From the very beginning they have tried to milk Wahaj despite giving him minimal screen presence

kuhelidebbarma thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: anshvi

I think you are right and I totallyget your point...he has done variety of roles..but I think people's expectations have increased from him after TB success..for example-hamza ali abbasi is back in farrar with a complete different role than that of jaan e jahan..so people are expecting that from Wahaj too..

Bilal Abdullah had so much potential but nothing is good about Bilal right now except his styling and some of his dialogues....

unicornhugs thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

I realized that I’m a different type of viewer. I like to talk about shows to predict what’s coming next and the occasional rant. Those are for shows I’m interested in. I’m watching Jaan se pyara juni for example and I haven’t been to the thread once. It’s so ridiculous, that I’m just watching to see how ridiculous it can get at this point , lol. It isn’t interesting enough for me to discuss.

This one is interesting to me while I recognize that there are shortcomings. Maybe I am more forgiving with issues…I mean I’m watching JSPJ so clearly I’m fine with inconsistencies 😂 For me besides the pace and extra focus on Humsha and Ammar, I’m enjoying the show. I love Wahaj’s role in this and while I recognize that some of his fans are unhappy with it, I think there are many that are enjoying it. They just want to see more of him and the love track to begin. I appreciate the fact that this may not work for many of you but it’s a matter of opinion, Everyone will have a different viewpoint and that’s quite ok.

Like many of you have noticed, Hassan and Aamna change their viewpoint quite a bit. Also Hassan doesn’t seem to have any issues with Wahaj’s acting…it sounds more like he feels this is a mature role and he’s still young to take on a more youthful role. TBH, his opinion doesn’t affect me either way because even if he claimed that this is the best role of his life today, he’ll pretend like he didn’t say that tomorrow.

anshvi thumbnail

Originally posted by: Aaaaaaa77

Better judgement as in like he used to have earlier.

Bilal Abdullah is not as meaty as his previous show characters

Even after 12 episodes we aren't aware of his character more than what was shown in teasers

There is no info sadly ,i don't agree it is not meant for wider audience ,in those shows budget is really low while SMD is really high budget,no one makes shows for social service

In fact it is being ruined by makers by stretching because they are aiming masses and views at YT

From the very beginning they have tried to milk Wahaj despite giving him minimal screen presence

Which previous shows as per you had a meaty role? Bilal in fact is one of his strong roles. Coming to SMD, KRQ's scripts have a specific audience base which the producers know about. There is a reason why it has YT views but not great ratings.

And a lot of dramas are actually niche and made for a niche audience with the aim of creating social awareness...DNUTH was one, it neither garnered views nor ratings. ...SMD certainly is not a cause based drama but it certainly isn't a massy, masala drama like Iqtidar or TB for instance! Like I said it has a old school charm which many might not enjoy! This has a different kind of romance than those masala romantic serials.

It's been 13 episodes, so one needs to wait and see if they have milked Wahaj's name or not. I actually prefer Bilal over let's say Fitoor, DNUTH, GPM etc.where he had barely any role!

Bilal is definitely a strong role, I am just hoping for more focus on him in the coming episodes.