Clochette thumbnail

Haila, no, that isn't a problem that I haven't watched Gadar as I never thought of both the movies as 'nationalistic' (and did not write it). For Gadar 2, I only mentioned the political climate in India, not the movie's content. Please just read my posts without a biased mind relative to me.

As for Pathaan: The fact that Jim talks about 'Mother India' shows his patriotism he lost. He felt abandoned by this mother so that his pregnant wife got murdered in front of his eyes although he had not failed in his dedication/duties to his country. Pathaan even criticised that by asking Colonel Lutra: And if it had been the son of a minister, wouldn't you have paid the ransom?

"Jai Hind" and "HIndustan Zindabad" aren't jingoistic as such, but patriotic (like 'hail India')...it is the nationalistic connoted Hindustan that gives it a leaning more towards nationalism than patriotism.

Pathaan is - in no way - nationalistic as Jim defies the term of nation/religion/borders...he has become a terrorist-to-hire.

Would you tell me, what exactly you found "sooooooo Bad" in Pathaan?

Clochette thumbnail

Originally posted by: sev.puri

Aa gayi madam lecture dene phir se. Baksh do bhai, nahi sun ne aap ke lectures 🙏🏽 thanks for teaching us noobs the difference between patriotism and nationalism, we didn’t know till you posted a link from dictionary.com. Save your lectures for someone that cares for your agenda and what you have to say.

Why not save your time and skip my posts?

What is wrong with posting a source which backs my opinion? (Ah, yes, what Clochette writes has to be bashed by sev.puri...😆)

Sorry_Bol thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Clochette

Haila, no, that isn't a problem that I haven't watched Gadar as I never thought of both the movies as 'nationalistic' (and did not write it). For Gadar 2, I only mentioned the political climate in India, not the movie's content. Please just read my posts without a biased mind relative to me.

As for Pathaan: The fact that Jim talks about 'Mother India' shows his patriotism he lost. He felt abandoned by this mother so that his pregnant wife got murdered in front of his eyes although he had not failed in his dedication/duties to his country. Pathaan even criticised that by asking Colonel Lutra: And if it had been the son of a minister, wouldn't you have paid the ransom?

"Jai Hind" and "HIndustan Zindabad" aren't jingoistic as such, but patriotic (like 'hail India')...it is the nationalistic connoted Hindustan that gives it a leaning more towards nationalism than patriotism.

Pathaan is - in no way - nationalistic as Jim defies the term of nation/religion/borders...he has become a terrorist-to-hire.

Would you tell me, what exactly you found "sooooooo Bad" in Pathaan?

Couldn't get into it....and with a massive watch list....I move on to something else pretty quickly.

I think you're missing the whole point. I can justify Tara Singh's actions too & how he says that India belongs to all religions or says Pakistan Zindabad but the point isn't that. The point is that Pathan also tries shamelessly to try tapping into the nationalist sentiment. Those scenes are meant for Claps & whistles. So if you're going to accuse Gadar of doing it, you have to do the same with Pathan.

Kyahikahoon thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 4

You may confound nationalism with patriotism...the two movies you cite have to do with patriotism (positively connoted)...regimes with fascist tendencies (like current India) prefer nationalism (connoted as aggressive and negative since the dividing and authocratic fascist regimes around the world)...

https://www.dictionary.com/e/patriotism-vs-nationalism/

Have given ample proofs in many previous threads that this regime is far from being fascist and the earlier one was 😂

But then y m I even trying.

Please continue..good read

sev.puri thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Why not save your time and skip my posts?

What is wrong with posting a source which backs my opinion? (Ah, yes, what Clochette writes has to be bashed by sev.puri...😆)

Yeah because we’re so thick we couldn’t possibly know the definition of the words, so your “source” is the dictionary where you spelt out the difference for us? Are you actually that oblivious to your constant condescension, Clochette?
Kyahikahoon thumbnail

I would say (instead of "consensus") = those in power (if you don't agree/accept/follow you're against - hence you're the enemy)

Considering what happened with Sudha Murthy recently this definition fits perfectly on liberals

Clochette thumbnail

Originally posted by: 1t1svat1t1s

I didn’t watch Pathaan because obviously I have no nostalgic feelings towards Shahrukh like his huge fan base who took it upon themselves to make the movie a blockbuster regardless of the content or acting( or lack there of). But my Pakistani friends who were SRK loyalists were so disappointed by the movie and decided to never watch his movies again.

Yeah, they certainly where disappointed that a Pakistani General went rogue and secretely ordered a terrorist act against India (without the consent of Pakistan's government) - parallel to an Indian first class RAW agent who had gone rogue long ago and was about to execute this act...ah, and then a former Pakistani Secret Agent that first helped with the preparations and then helped the Indians to avert this crime against humanity.

And the not-so-heroique SRK, the more human and damaged (but very dedicated) lead not really a grand-movie-hero...right?

Maybe not so loyal, these fans, at the end???

Clochette thumbnail

Oh, I won't make distinctions between 'right', 'left', 'liberals', 'woke'...my own thinking focuses only on 'human being'...

What happened with her (something recently?)?

Kyahikahoon thumbnail

Originally posted by: Haila_tu

I've watched all of them except Pathan. I could only watch bits & pieces of it. It was sooooooo Bad...imo!!

Why do you think Jim keeps saying he wants to hurt the proverbial "Bharat Mata" over and over and over.....They're playing to the gallery, trying to rile up nationalist sentiments. I hope you're not that naive.

Or SRK's "Jai Hind" scenes.....like they're not just as jingoistic as Sunnys "Hindustan Zindabad"

What r u saying ! It doesn't have SRK..the epitome of greatness. If he says Jai Hind it's patriotic..if someone else says Hindustan Zindabad it's nationalist.

On the contrary this movie has Sunny Deol..u know who..

Doesn't matter that Gadar 1 had him mouthing dialogues like Islam Zindabad, Pakistan Zindabad, Kaaba Kaashi ek hai.

In Gadar 2 he says Hindustan musalmanon ka hai, Christianon ka hai, Sikhon ka hai, Hinduon ka hai.

That isn't inclusive u know..it's jingoistic, separatist, nationalist but not patriotic. Coz it isn't said by SRK

Kyahikahoon thumbnail

Oh, I won't make distinctions between 'right', 'left', 'liberals', 'woke'...my own thinking focuses only on 'human being'...

What happened with her (something recently?)?

Read up