642126 thumbnail

Yes exactly.

It is easier to make it to unis abroad if you have famous parents.

You want me to believe kids of desi mantris, businessmen, stars, made it to Ivy league unis purely on merit?

Legacy admissions are a thing.

Plenty of articles and reports about it and elitism of these unis and how unfair it is for ordinary kids.

Comparing it to SSR getting AIR 4 in AIEEE and saying it is no big deal to get admission in medical or engineering is unfair. Getting AIR 4 in AIEEE is hard work and not a small thing at all for a boy from an ordinary family in Bihar.

myviewprem thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: atominis

Yes exactly.

You want me to believe kids of desi mantris, businessmen, stars, made it to Ivy league unis purely on merit?

Plenty of articles and reports about it and elitism of these unis and how unfair it is for ordinary kids.

Comparing it to SSR getting AIR 4 in AIEEE and saying it is no big deal to get admission in medical or engineering is unfair. Getting AIR 4 in AIEEE is hard work and not a small thing at all for a boy from an ordinary family in Bihar.

I totally agree with you SSR getting AIEEE 4 is hard work only as his dad is no rich or famous as film actor kids

But in india MBBS has management quota and there is reservation quotas etc If you know some college professor easier to get MBBS seat under quotas

Now with management quota its become like Ivy league pay millions get MBBS admission

If you know someone in college management or lecturer its easier to get MBBS seat too even if you get low marks under various quotas fees may be more.

But yes you cannot get into IIT/IIMB/IISc by influence you need to pass the entrance exams and have minimum marks to get inside. Also than a normal medical college its not easy to copy and pass exams in IIMB/IISc/IITs etc you have to have real brains to be there

But in MBBS since managemnt quota etc there easier to become doctor with low marks or as repeat student too

Passing course is diff matter,

https://www.newindianexpress.com/states/karnataka/2011/jun/15/karnataka-mbbs-students-pay-rs-1-lakh-to-pass-262949.html

driven thumbnail
Dazzler Thumbnail 3rd Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: MaxMayfield

Juhi’s daughter always gave me a girl interested in academia more than being a plastic doll vibe.. honestly I am hoping Aryan and her get married..IDK this was when Aryan never used to smile for paps.. and I remember when he was with Juhi’s daughter in IPL auction..he was laughing and seemed more at ease etc

Bold- I also want the same 😳

PigBenis thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Mallika-E-Bhais

Not saying they aren’t smart but academic success doesn’t = Smartness, generally. Met too many Deans List/toppers & they’ve brains for rocks. 😆😆😆

Yes, but we are talking Columbia's Dean List. Not some random state university. It's a pretty big deal.

Mallika-E-Bhais thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: PigBenis

Yes, but we are talking Columbia's Dean List. Not some random state university. It's a pretty big deal.

Again- Idk if she is or isn’t smart, but the fact that she is very wealthy has to have a contributing factor. I am sure we all know about how wealthy folks get into ILs. Am sure to be on the Deans List she has to be academically inclined & a hard worker though. :)

Edited by Mallika-E-Bhais - 2 years ago
Mallika-E-Bhais thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: atominis

Yes exactly.

I mean the Ambani kids all got into ILs /extremely prestigious Unis & the Lalu Prasad kids did too & people actually are so naive to believe that power & wealth doesn’t get you these things. 🤣

642126 thumbnail

I clearly differentiated between merit based ranks that SSR got and colleges like IIT, AIIMS, NLSIU and private colleges or low tier colleges where paying lakhs or being related to a prof or big shot person gets you a seat.

I would not have replied had the other member not named SSR in their rant on getting admissions in medical and engineering as no big deal.

Securing AIR 4 in AIEEE is not same as getting paid seat or through quota.

642126 thumbnail

I once read a scandal at LSE how one of profs himself wrote thesis for a student who was son of a president of a country.

It was all over media then. The unfair and undue advantage these competitive unis and elite unis give, if student is child of a wealthy or powerful family.

And how unfair it is for kids of other families and ordinary kids who aspire to get into these unis or struggle to complete their degrees. Other kids keep blaming self or feel inferiority complex in self or their abilities or feel they lack intelligence or had bad schooling or poor parenting perhaps.

Privilege is real. I wonder why people deny it or try to behave as if a rich person's kid got everything purely on merit.

I refuse to believe for even a second that daughters of Smriti Irani, RS Prasad made it to elite unis abroad solely on merit and their parents being union ministers and having all networks and resources in the world had no role in elite foreign unis accepting their kids for admission.

Same goes for Ambani kids or Gandhi-Nehru kids.

I have read young Indira Gandhi was a poor student. I wonder how did she make it to Oxford then if she had a so so academic record? Being daughter of PM of India had its role to play it seems.

I also refuse to believe Manpreet Badal made it to Harvard purely on merit and his uncle being long serving CM of Punjab had no role in securing him admission there.

bollyqueen0 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: ohophelia

On another note, badhaai ho, aapki beti graduate huyi hain

😆!!

The way I accidentally made people think I'm Juhi's biggest fan when I don't know anything about her or her family 😭