AsYa OS | It's Always Been You

dreamxr thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail + 2

Well...

This is awkward...

Sorry for writing a new story when I have soooooo many pending! But, I just couldn't help myself. I kinda needed to write something along with the QH storyline after writing AU for the past few days...Honestly I kind of have writer's block about my ff Lost Without You.

So this is a one-shot based on the Tanveer coming into the Khan Villa track. The track where my Zoe got hurt a lot😭. The story starts with Asad and Tanveer talking in the backyard after the cylinder fiasco. Aish karlo folks!

NOTE: Zoya has been fooled into thinking that her father is dead, the photo frame guy apparently got over with it quickly and delivered the news to Zoya herself.

It's Always Been You

An AsYa OS

"Tanu tum bahot acchi ho. Isliye tumhe lagta hai ki poori duniya acchi hai. Tum humare family ko jaanti ho. Uski upbringing bahot alag hai, she's very different." Asad told Tanveer what he thought. "Actually woh kisi bhi family ke saath rehene ke laayak nahi hai."

Zoya froze in the spot where she was standing. Did he just say that? Am I that bad? Does he hate me that much? These thoughts brewed in her head as she stood rooted to the spot. She saw Tanveer looking at her helplessly, and a tear made its way down her cheek. She gulped a lump in her throat and walked away aimlessly to her bedroom.

"Thanks for the coffee Tanveer," Asad said and frowned when he saw a flash of white, and black silken hair disappear into his house. His stomach clenched in an unwanted intuition. In an instant he wished that the words he'd just said had never left his mouth. He furrowed his brows.

No! No! No! Don't tell me she..

"Uh, Jammy..." Tanveer cooed, noticing where Asad's attention was wandering. "Anything else you want?"

"See this is what I'm talking about!" He said to Tanveer, trying to oversee his momentary blunder. "You care about everyone around you, meanwhile Zoya..." He rolled his eyes to the skies. That girl was going to be the death of him.

Zoya slammed the door of her bedroom shut and flopped down on her bed, crying uncontrollably. She didn't know why everything he said about her mattered so much to her. Why she wanted to look good in his eyes, why she wanted to make him happy. She was here to find her father, that was it...right? No, that wasn't it. She had found a family here, she had found a mother, a sister/BFF, and...

And nothing. He's nothing...isn't he?

Zoya placed her head on her pillow and lied down, still crying softly. What did he mean to her? Why did her breath hitch every time he came close to her or touched her? Why did she want him to come close to her? Why did her stomach erupt with butterflies every time they locked eyes?
These were the questions that rang in her mind as she tossed and turned in her bed, a restless slumber settling upon her.

On the other side of her door, Asad's mind was speeding through thoughts.

I hope she's okay.

He knew he was crying over spilled milk. He knew she'd heard him. What was the use of apologizing to her, if he knew he might just hurt her again? His hand that was about to knock on her door fell to his side. Arms hanging loosely, he went into his bedroom.

The next morning...

It felt like a mere two minutes when he'd slept when Asad's alarm rang. He groaned and went about his morning routine like always and was at the breakfast table before everyone else.

"Morning Asad!" Dilshad said as she came into the kitchen and started making breakfast. Najma came along behind her.

"Good morning Bhaijaan." She grumbled and sat down on her chair. Asad looked at her quizzically. She was still half in her sleep!

"Najma, what's wrong? Did you sleep late last night?" He asked.

"Haan, I was studying and got so focused that I lost track of time..." She said and rested her cheek in her hand. "By the way, could I have some coffee?"

Asad's brows rose, "Speaking of coffee, where's Z- Miss Fa-"

"Assalamualaikum Jammy, Khala, Najma!" Tanveer's voice floated into the kitchen.

"Walaikum assalam Tannu." Asad said politely and went back to reading his paper.

"Najma, you said you wanted coffee right?" Tanveer asked.

"Yeah." Najma nodded.

"Hold on, I'll make you some," Tanveer said and started with making coffee. Najma shook her head in hurry.

"Uh, Tanveer, actually mujhe Zoya ke haath ki coffee pasand hai. She makes it just right." She said smiling. Tanveer scowled inwardly. "I'll just wait for her to come."

Tanveer wheeled around to Asad. "Jammy aap?" She asked in her usual suck-up voice.

"Actually mujhe bhi Zoya ke-" Asad started absentmindedly, then realized what he'd blabbered and paused. Najma and Dilshad both raised a brow at the same time and smiled at him. "Haan, mere liye banaa dena thodi coffee. You know how I like it." The mother-daughter duo rolled their eyes and went back to their business, Asad pursed his lips to their behavior and buried his head back into his newspaper. He tried reading the headlines but his mind kept wandering back to thoughts of Zoya.

Where is she?

As if he'd spoken it aloud, Dilshad said, "Yeh Zoya kahaan reh gayee?" and went to Zoya's room to check. She knocked on the door two-three times and called out her name. "Zoya?"

"Jee Phupi?" Her chirpy voice answered back. Asad let out the breath he was holding, so she was right here. Close to him.

"Aren't you coming for breakfast beta?"

The door clicked open and Zoya stood there, smiling like she had no care in the world. "Actually, Api had called and I got so lost in the conversation I just lost track of time."

"Oh okay. Chalo then, everyone's waiting for you for breakfast." Dilshad said and went back to the kitchen, Zoya's smile faltered ever so slowly.

Everyone?

Zoya entered the dining area near the kitchen to Najma breathing out a sigh of relief. "Oh finally! Listen na, can you make some coffee? I'm dead tired and groggy, and you make the best coffee! Pwetty pweeaasee?" Najma batted her eyelids and asked cutely. Asad rolled his eyes.

"Tamater what is this childish behavior? Couldn't you just ask her normally?" Asad reprimanded, taking a slice of the jam toast made for him by Tanveer. He waited for Zoya to sass him back. His hand with the jam toast in it stopped midway to his mouth, still waiting.

"Of course I'll make you some!" Giggled Zoya and pulled Najma's cheeks softly. Asad just sat still in gall. Did she just ignore him?

"So how was your talk with Zeenat? I always miss the calls, I haven't seen her in years!" Dilshad casually asked, breaking up Najma and Zoya's silly antics and Asad's shocked state.

"Well, she was asking me when I'll be going back, she misses me terribly." Zoya answered, pouring Najma's coffee into a cup. Asad almost choked on his piece of toast when he heard the words 'going back'. "She's dead focused on getting me married. Even showed me some suitors!" She shrugged. Asad's hand curled around his cup of coffee. Tightly, if I may add.

"Really?" Dilshad asked, feigning curiosity when she observed Asad's tensed demeanor. "And what did you say?"

"Well, I don't want to get married just as yet. But she's made me promise that once I go back, I'll settle down with a guy she picks, and-"

SLAM!

Everybody turned to look at Asad, who had just slammed down his cup of coffee at the mention of Zoya settling down in New York.

With another man.

Just the thought of it made Asad want to pull Zoya onto his lap possessively and show her just how much she meant to him. The memories from the old farmhouse flooded into his mind. Zoya flashing her gorgeous smile, dancing in the rain with him. The wet sari sticking to her body in all the right places, her nose and cheeks rosy from the cold and maybe something else too. Oh he remembered all right, and he thanked god he did.

"Asad? What happened?" Dilshad asked placing a hand on his shoulder, smiling inwardly at her son's plight. Asad blinked several times at looked at his Ammi, not realizing how stupid he actually looked. Zoya and Najma giggled while Tanveer stood in the corner scowling away at Zoya.

"Huh? N-nahi, kuch nahi. I just remembered something..." He said looking Zoya dead in the eyes, her smile faltered. They locked eyes for a second before she blinked and looked away, unaware of the soft blush creeping up her cheeks. Asad felt amused at her reaction, he silently got up from his chair and went to his room. He had to stay away from her, he had to. Or else there was no telling when he would jump her bones and kiss her senseless.

Asad came out of the bathroom after a late shower, his hair was tousled and wet and a towel hung low on his waist. He searched his closet for a simple kurta and wore it, roughly towel-dried his hair and hung the towel on a bar for drying. He started going towards the settee near his bedroom window when he saw her, sitting on their bench, clutching her iPad close to her heart and a tear or two making their way down her cheek.

Asad's breath hitched. Seeing her cry always made him want to run to her and hold her all night. Slowly, he went out his room and stood behind her, he saw her take out her iPad and open the Emirates website. His blood froze, he couldn't move and his breathing got heavy. He couldn't think. All he wanted to do was to shake her by the shoulders and shout at her, 'Don't you dare leave!'.

"M-Miss Farooqui?" He said weakly, his arms hanging loosely by his side. She jumped and turned to look at him, hastily wiping her tears with the back of her hand.

"Yes Mr Khan?" She sniffled softly and asked.

"You're...you're going?" He hated the words that came out of his mouth. What he hated more is that they were about to become reality. Everything was okay just hours ago!

No, it wasn't. She was smiling and laughing yes, but it didn't reach her eyes. She wasn't sassing me. On second thought, she wasn't even talking to me.Talk to me dammit! Tell me what happened! Tell me what's making you cry!

"How did you..." She wondered aloud, tears threatening to spill again. Asad silently walked up to the bench and sat beside her, she was looking at him with worry in her eyes.

"I saw the website you opened. I was standing right behind you then." He said, staring into the garden wall in front of them and resting his chin on his knuckles. "So you're finally leaving." He cringed as soon as the words left his mouth, after realizing how they must've sounded to her.

"Yes, Mr Khan. This museebat is finally going back where she came from. I-I just need to break it to Phupi and Najma."

"Why?" He asked in a weak voice.

Why are you leaving me?

"Huh?" Zoya asked flustered.

"Why are you leaving?" Asad turned towards the side so that he was looking at her.

"My work here is done."

Asad's brows rose in surprise. "You found your Abbu?"

"No, but nevertheless, it's pointless to stay here." Zoya looked to her feet and said, her throat felt like it was burning because of the tears she was holding back.

"What do you mean?" He asked again. Zoya finally rose her gaze to meet his.

"I...I found out that h-he's....no more." She said and held in a sob. Asad's heart broke for her, he clenched his fist around the edge of the bench. He ached to hold her, crush her against himself and tell her it was okay, but his logical side stopped him from doing so.

"When?" He asked, not knowing what else to say.

"Yesterday evening, just before..." She trailed off, remembering the cylinder incident and Asad's hurtful words. She quickly blinked away the sprouting tears and composed herself. "The guy whom I had given a photo to frame came here to deliver it, and told me what he knew about he photo. H-he even told me where th-the Qabar was. S-so I went there, today and..." She trailed off and let out a small sob which didn't go unnoticed by Asad. In fact it made his heart clench miserably. "Anyways, that's why I'm leaving. Mera kaam adhoora hone ke bavjoot poora ho gaya hai." She said this and stood up to go back to her room, Asad came on his feet as well. "I see no point in staying here and, my Visa is about to expire anyways. Goodnight, Mr Khan." She said and softly walked out of the garden and made a beeline to her room. Closing the door behind her, she slid onto the floor. Letting out all the tears she'd been holding in. She held her knees close to her chest and rocked herself back and forth.

No. Stop crying over spilled milk Zoya Farooqui. It's not like he's sad about seeing you go. Why should you be?

Asad stood by the now empty bench, staring into nothing and trying to fathom what had just happened. His hand had jutted out to pull her to himself, hold her in his arms and beg her not to leave, but she had been too quick and had rushed away to her room. Tears were forming in his eyes, his mind was only chanting one thing:

She's leaving.

Asad had to use all the strength he could muster to not break down in the balcony and roar out in agony.

Why can't I let you go Zoya?

Dejected, he took unsteady steps to his bedroom. Letting out shivering breaths he sank down on his bed, his tears were quite evident now. His eyes were red and his body racked with controlled sobs. As much as he wanted to burst into Zoya's room, kiss her tears away and tell her he remembered. Everything, crystal clear. He hoped he would never forget it, it was the night he had accepted his feelings for her.

Why can't I tell you that I love you?

His heart clenched and he lay down on his bed, staring at the ceiling and absentmindedly observing the slivers of moonlight coming from his window. He didn't know when or how, but an unstable wave of slumber took over him and he slept, tossing and turning as a broken Zoya's face flashed before his eyes.

It was a Sunday, an unusually quiet and droopy Sunday. Zoya was leaving, everybody was solemn yet tried to be as positive as possible. Asad was a different case altogether. He couldn't think straight! He was so all over the place, he tried to yank his shirt on as a pant! He tried to avoid all thought related to Zoya, but alas, everywhere he looked he was bombarded with memories of Zoya that were even minutely related to whatever he was looking at. As he sat down on his settee to work and opened his laptop, he was reminded of the incident where Zoya had fallen on top of him after barging into his room, thinking she saw a robber. Her hair had tickled his face as it had fallen from her shoulders. Their breaths had mingled. He'd flipped her over which allowed Ayaan to escape, of course Ayaan was the last thing on his mind right then. All he could think of was Zoya's soft body under him, one hand under her head and weaving through her hair and the other gripping her shoulder. There were so many things he could've done to her.

I could've leaned down and nipped at her earlobe.

His breathing grew erratic.

I could've kissed her. Passionately.

His stomach erupted into butterflies.

I could've bit her gorgeous neck, given her a mark.

He groaned out loud and shut his laptop, his hand automatically rising to pinch the bridge of his nose. Just thoughts about her were enough to make him want her. Bad.

She drove him crazy in so many ways. Giving in to his heart's eternal desire, he started making his way towards Zoya's room. He opened his room door, and looked towards Zoya's door, only to find a laughing Najma, smiling Dilshad and an ecstatic Zoya...in the arms of another man.

He saw red. His fists clenched and his nails dug into his palms. He gritted his teeth and breathed heavily. Who the HELL was that?

Get. Your. Hands. Off. Her.

"Oh my gosh Zayd! I didn't know you were in Bhopal!" Zoya said as she (finally, Asad thought) broke the hug and stood beside him, interlocking her arm with Zayd's. He was pretty good looking, Asad pondered. Tall, dark, and stylish. His radiant smile had everyone stunned and Asad was fuming.

That's it. She isn't going anywhere.

"I was actually studying in Kashmir. The music there has always interested me so I went there with my band!"

Great! He can sing too.

"...I loved playing with the locals, and the children were just so talented! So it was all fun!" Zayd explained to an impressed Dilshad. "I got a call from your Api that you were going back to NYC, and I was coincidentally leaving on that same day! Well, today. So I thought, why can't we just leave together?" He shrugged. Asad's glare was probably burning holes through the black jacket that Zayd was wearing.

"What a coincidence! My childhood bestie and I going back home together." Zoya sighed dreamily. Asad's glare towards Zayd only intensified. He had a feeling that Zayd would notice anytime now.

Don't you dare take her away from me. She's mine, you get that? MINE.

"Oh Mr Khan! You're here...finally." Zoya said enthusiastically but faltered, when she saw the anger evident in his eyes. "This is Zayd, my childhood best friend! He's come to pick me up!" Zoya said plastering a smile on her face. She guessed Asad was relieved to see the museebat leave. She was breaking inside but wasn't going to allow anyone to see that!

"Pick you up? Where are you going?" Asad asked, now adamant to claim Zoya. Nothing, nothing was going to stop him now. Enough of hiding his feelings, enough of keeping her away from himself. He needed her, she was literally the woman of his dreams, the candle in his darkness. Dilshad smiled proudly at her son and Najma's jaw fell open.

Zoya looked flustered and furrowed her brows in obvious confusion. "Allah Miyan what's wrong with you Mr Khan? I'm leaving for New York today." She said and pointed towards her packed bags lying in the corner of her room, trying her best to keep her voice from cracking.

Asad almost smiled at her use of 'Allah Miyan'. He shook off the distraction and focused on the task at hand, stop Zoya from leaving and tell the world and her that she was his. "Are you?" He raised a brow and asked. Zayd stood in the corner, observing the exchange and giving a knowing smile to Dilshad, who nodded back.

The plan is in action.

Flashback

"Yes Zeenat! I can literally see the sparks flying between them. They fight and bicker, but can't stay away from each other." Dilshad said nodding to the screen in front of her. She was talking to Zeenat through the Skype on Najma's laptop. She was alone at home, Zoya had gone out, Najma was in college and Asad at his second home, office.

"Hmm, well I think we can work something out. See I know that Zoya's childhood best friend is on a tour of Kashmir, and he's got a flight to here on Sunday as well! It's as if the world want this plan to work! I can speak to him and he'll behave accordingly, done?" Zeenat said ecstatically.

"Done!"

Flashback ends

"Y-yes, I am...Mr Khan." Zoya stuttered, not knowing what to say. Dilshad, Zayd and Najma had slowly crept out of Zoya's room closing the door on their way out. Asad took steady steps into her room. Zoya took steps back.

"Why?" He asked, still taking steps towards her and his voice now husky. Zoya felt goosebumps trailing down her arms. His low, husky voice did...things.

"I-I already told you, I see no point in-" She gasped as she felt her back hit the wall. "In staying here." She breathed.

Okay Zoya, something's wrong with Akdu. Unnhh why does he have to be so close?! Breathe Zoe breath...In. Out. In. Out.

He caged her, placing his palms flat against the wall, just above her head. "Do you have any idea how much I'll miss you?" He bent low and whispered in her ear, she gasped at his statement and shivered at the proximity, her hands automatically clutched onto his shirt. His warm breath fanning her earlobe and neck sent waves of pleasure cascading down her body. He loved the affect he was having on her, if only he'd done this sooner. Zoya's mind was fuzzy with passion.

Allah Miyan did he just say that?!

Her eyes snapped open. No. She couldn't let him inside again. God knows when he'll just choose Tanveer over her again. She shoved him away, her eyes brimming with tears of their own accord. "I...I have to go Mr Khan." The words burned like acid on her throat when she said them. "I have no...nobody here."

Asad heart chipped, the words she'd just said struck a nerve. "Nobody?" He said through gritted teeth and backed her into the wall again. "You have Ammi, you have Najma and..."

He crashed his lips onto hers. This wasn't the gentle, soft kiss that he'd imagined. Rather it was urgent, demanding and absolutely wild. He savored the sweet taste of her lips, it was better that everything he'd ever imagined. He just couldn't get enough of those soft, pink, plump lips that he'd dreamt of kissing for ages. Zoya went completely limp against him as he pressed her into the wall and himself, she responded to his lips feverishly. Her body was on fire. His arms wound around her waist and his tongue demanded entry into her. She found her hands raking through his hair and pulling him closer. She helplessly opened up to him as he deepened the kiss with an audible groan. His hot tongue nudged against hers and she moaned softly. His mind-numbing kisses were enough to make Zoya lose her balance, the only support she had was Asad and the wall behind her. He nipped at her lower lip sensually, and kissed her like there was no tomorrow. They broke the kiss when they were both gasping for breath.

"And god knows you have me." Asad said breathing heavily. "I love you, Zoya." He let out the only truth he had been keeping inside himself and joined their foreheads together. "Please...don't leave."

"What took you so long?" Zoya said and giggled, making Asad fall in love with her all over again. "I love you too Akdu Ahmed Khan."

"So, you aren't leaving?"

"Allah Miyan what's wrong with you Mr Khan?" She sassed, Asad smiled. He just got his Zoya back. "D'you think I'd leave after what just happened?!"

"Worth asking..." Asad said moving away and shrugging. "You know I was kind of relieved that you were going. At least there'd be some quiet in the house."

"OH REALLY?" Zoya said loudly, eyes as wide as saucers. "You know what? I'll just tell Zayd the I'll be going with- ah!" She shrieked as Asad grabbed her wrist and pulled her flush against his chest. She glared at him.

"Don't even think about it." He murmured as his claimed her lips for another passionate kiss.

So that was the compensation for all my readers who are following 'Lost Without You'. And just another general OS for whoever isn't lol.

Well I hope you guys liked it! I will be updating Lost Without You and Dil Mein Seena...soon enough!

Do comment and let me know your thoughts about this one!

Truckloads of love!!!

Edited by Captain_Crash - 3 years ago

kavyapramod99 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Dingiri dingaleee.

I'm sooo happy that you gave us this OS.

It's soo beautiful and loved it absolutely

tanvi_mitt thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Loved it!

Asad expressing his feelings at the end moment always :D

sj_qh_kabhi thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Oh man! This was just so perfect! Ahhhh! I love you❤️ You just write so well! And take your time for the other updates😊 We’ll be right here waiting for you❤️

Loving all the stories by you😍 I so wish the track was like this! 🙈 loved this ❤️🙌

Wandering_mind thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2

Reading Asya confession one shots is something I'm never going to be tired of. Karan and Surbhi's chemistry was fire, like literally, and I so wish we could have gotten a happy, passionate confession in the show sometime:(

Nevertheless your Os more than did it for me. Asad can never act until someone literally has him on a gunpoint. He probably still won't act then, not until Zoya isn't out of his sight..but boy when that happens or anything even remotely close to that happens! I loved the intense Asad so much every time someone/something/mostly him took his Zoya away from him, because otherwise he's such a thick head when it comes to telling her he loves her..haha poor him, always tongue tied in front of his firebrand Ms. Faruqui :P

Thanks for sharing this one!

Do write more Meg! Loving everything you write!

Edited by Wandering_mind - 3 years ago
Vintage_flow thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

I loved it!! It's been so long since i've been on the forum reading or writing. Brings back so many memories. makes me want to pull up qh episodes. How I wish there was no unnecessary tanveer drama. Your writing is amazing. looking forward to catch up on other stuff you wrote.