The wielding of power reveals who you are

AreYaar thumbnail

I feel like this dialogue from the Professor yesterday deserves a special mention alag se..... "If you want to get the measure of someone's character, give them power and see what they do with it".

The whole episode was such a study built on this dialogue. We all saw how Imlie didn't abuse the power that she was given, however briefly. It would be easy to assume that she couldn't do anything to fight back against her tormentors cuz she wasn't in a position of power or privilege....but even when she was given that power briefly, she didn't abuse it.....this shows that the core of her character is pure and compassionate. She doesn't believe in running down people even if she has the power to punish them.

What a 180 degree contrast from Malini ji and her mahaan mom. Let's just start with the basic point that these two women are SWIMMING in privilege and power and have NO gratefulness for it. Instead they are filled with ENTITLEMENT from top to bottom.

The Professor's power test can easily be applied on Malini's recent behavior to show how it revealed her true character. She is currently in a position of power and privilege as compared to Imlie.....both because of her wealth, background, as well as her status as Tripathi house ki bahu....and how does she use this power? To DEMEAN Imlie, to RUN HER DOWN as not having achieved much simply by coming second in her exam.....snapping at her to learn manners....calling her "naukraani".....where else would all this come from if not a core of obnoxiousness over your privilege and power? That is who Malini is, for all her endless bechaargi waale aansu. Her abuse of the power she gets reveals who she really is.

AC is the same....just much more OBVIOUS in her abuse of the power and privilege she has in life. But it's ironic how the fear and paranoia of both mother-daughter compels them to instantly run down Imlie on the basis of her background and demean her educational achievements as not being a big deal......lol as if those educational achievements threaten their stature of power in this society so they must label her worthless to prop up their own illusion of power.....lol

Imlie doesn't crave power, yet she automatically earns admiration through the way she conducts herself in resolving conflicts, managing relationships. This is something that Malini and her mom are incapable of so they are destined to marinate in their delusions.

Edited by AreYaar - 4 years ago

water_83 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Perfect analysis on that sentence AY ...

This sentence totally resembles mother daughter jodi ..

Malini was always ..born with silver spoon in her mouth ..she got the best what ever she desired in her life..so to handle this rejection was very much difficult for her ..so she is running away to accept the truth or reality secondly in back of her mind it's like she has lost her husband from imlie a simple village girl but the reality is malini don't know the ..struggle which imlie has faced through out her life and most important is she has been taught by her mother to adjust according to the situation Which she did it ..when adi was not in love with her she let him go away rather than holding him back or demanding her rights ..

Whereas moon has still not come to this terms ..anu has never taught her to adjust ..I guess ..

Then both mother daughter jodi don't like no 2 position as I have mentioned in your thread ..these two have lot of complex....so this is the reason moon cooked up story and she can tell in society that she left him...rather than him leaving her ......👍🏼already anu is hating imlie as she is suspicious about adilie or say imlie getting more importance than her daughter eg by adi,t PPL,her husband but jab sach ayega saamne we need to see her take also ....👍🏼

Edited by water_83 - 4 years ago
Dreamer007 thumbnail
Dazzler Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail

One very important difference between Malini and Imlie ... she is a complaint box ... like whatever happens she will ensure entire family knows it ... when Adi left for PD man there was a big conference questioning him like a teenager ... she made sure that those 5 days entire family also face the same turmoil what she was going through ... she is not matured enough to handle crisis by her self and always comes forward as weak. Always Aparna has to tell Adi ... “JA Jaake use manna”mat lab let them sort out their problems stop interfering so much.

AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: water_83

Perfect analysis on that sentence AY ...

This sentence totally resembles mother daughter jodi ..

Malini was always ..born with silver spoon in her mouth ..she got the best what ever she desired in her life..so to handle this rejection was very much difficult for her ..so she is running away to accept the truth or reality secondly in back of her mind it's like she has lost her husband from imlie a simple village girl but the reality is malini don't know the ..struggle which imlie has faced through out her life and most important is she has been taught by her mother to adjust according to the situation Which she did it ..when adi was not in love with her she let him go away rather than holding him back or demanding her rights ..

Whereas moon has still not come to this terms ..anu has never taught her to adjust ..I guess ..

Then both mother daughter jodi don't like no 2 position as I have mentioned in your thread ..these two have lot of complex....so this is the reason moon cooked up story and she can tell in society that she left him...rather than him leaving her ......👍🏼already she is hating imlie as she is suspicious about adilie or say imlie getting more importance than her daughter eg by adi,t PPL,her husband but jab sach ayega saamne we need to see her take also ....👍🏼

Thanks, Water ji :)

But the point I was really trying to make was not in regards to what Malini and AC think of "second position" or what Malini will do when she learns the truth. Running away from the truth and all toh is her general lack of brain power.

I'm talking about how she uses the power she been given in society.....she uses it to DEMEAN someone's SELF-WORTH.....none of this can be excused over her not knowing the truth, not being able to face the truth blah blah.

The ugly truth is that Malini is one of those abusers of power that the Professor explained in her analogy.....her lack of character has been revealed by how she abused the power she has by demeaning Imlie's achievements and self worth. Her jealousy of Imlie's press conference had nothing to do with her suspicion of Adilie....that was plain and simple basic jealousy and being unable to handle a girl who is "inferior" to her achieving more than her....and that is what the Professor was talking about....give someone power and see what they do with it....then you will know what their true self is....and Malini's true self is abusive.

Edited by AreYaar - 4 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Dreamer007

One very important difference between Malini and Imlie ... she is a complaint box ... like whatever happens she will ensure entire family knows it ... when Adi left for PD man there was a big conference questioning him like a teenager ... she made sure that those 5 days entire family also face the same turmoil what she was going through ... she is not matured enough to handle crisis by her self and always comes forward as weak. Always Aparna has to tell Adi ... “JA Jaake use manna”mat lab let them sort out their problems stop interfering so much.

Malini is an immature brat who is barely ready to face life, let alone marriage.

It was a colossal blunder on the part of everyone involved to assume she was ready for marriage or had any samajh of relationships. She is delusional about herself and everyone around her is delusional about her too in trying to make it sound like she's some susheel, samajhdaar soul......lol she creates so many tantrums but they always keep giving her a free pass.....as if no one expects any better of her but they will still keep considering themselves less than her.....lol loser mentality they all have about her.

Whatever765 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 4

So well said AY. The most inflated egos are often the most fragile. With Malini that has been the case all along. Her over protective, over bearing mother, only child in a dysfunctional family, T's who think the moon (pun intended) and the stars of her, Adi himself and now Imlie- everyone has put her on a pedestal where she questions the very basis of this mess as not why this is happening, but How this is happening to her?!

This comment from the professor yesterday was worth pondering on. Imlie in that moment could have named the kids even though that scene was just so obvious, but instead, she went on to even acknowledge that it is her that couldn't even realize that this was a trick.

Anu has been living a lie her entire life and unfortunately her daughter is bearing the brunt of it today..

I read this somewhere just dont recall where..

"watch your thoughts

for they become words

watch your words

for they become actions

watch your actions

for they become habits

watch you habits

for they become character"

Edited by Whatever765 - 4 years ago
Lodestar thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Nice topic AY!!!

I will just elaborate on this idiom about power vis a vis Imlie & Dementor Didi's power over Adi.

From the moment Adi has realised his feelings for Imlie, he has surrendered himself to her. He has given her all the rights & power over himself. He repeatedly tells the same to Imlie- that you have the right on me, I will always support you & wait for you, you claim me as your husband. If Imlie wanted, she could have had Adi tell the truth of their marriage to Dementor Didi at anytime & get the rightful position of his wife. Adi would tell the truth to Dementor Didi in 2 mins & move ahead in his relationship with Imlie if Imlie wants it.

But Imlie doesn't want to snatch the happiness of Dementor Didi & hence does not use this power that Adi has given her. Also the power that Adi has given to Imlie in their relationship is more significant because it not only comes because they are married but because he loves her.

On the other hand, Dementor Didi uses her position of being Adi's wife & being in a relationship with him for 7 years as a tool to make him come to heel when he does anything that is different from what she herself believes in. And this is not a recent development after she got suspicious regarding Adi-Imlie. It has been there right from the start- extracting unrealistic promise from Adi of never fighting with her, making a public spectacle of even minor disagreements between them, etc. If Adi does not agree with her pov about any thing, then she coerces him into submission by involving the family members. Also always painting Adi as the bad husband who fights with the adjusting wife.

Now since she has actively become suspicious about Adi harbouring feelings about Imlie, she uses her position as his wife & bahu of T house to demean Imlie continuously. Be it her dismissing Imlie's hard earned achievement of being a state topper, rudely scolding her about learning manners, who can forget about the sindoor tamasha. She is so petty that she even used her position to rudely tell Imlie to sit in the backseat of the car when she was sitting in the front seat😆. Even after coming to the conclusion that Adi doesn't love her, she is still back in T house & hoping that Adi would still continue being married to her. She just cannot let go of the label of being his wife.

So yes, the welding of power does indeed reveal who you actually are as a person.

SNOWWHITE83 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 12th Anniversary Thumbnail + 5

Malini is insecure.😆. Pagdandiya hamare beech mai agayi lol

She loves to give poetic speech.🤣

She is a pampered princess who loves to be pampered 😂

She loves to be upper hand in any relationship be it Adini or MaLie😆

She is emotionally fragile . I want to laugh when essays are written on strong malini

She is egoistic.

She loves to maintain an image😆

She loves to inflict pain. Other wise she won't invite Adi to see her suicide attempt. And want her parents to have a happy image of her.

She is delutional with zero brain.

She loves to bring her tension on the family. It's visible from first Pagdandiya trip.

If she is toned down can use in Rashmi sharma daily soaps. 😆 not a GK material.

Edited by .SNOWWHITE. - 4 years ago
Dreamer007 thumbnail
Dazzler Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail

Best was after Imlie was injured she pretended to have memory loss and Malini copied her after that bridge collapsed incident I was like wht ... 😂

AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Whatever765

So well said AY. The most inflated egos are often the most fragile. With Malini that has been the case all along. Her over protective, over bearing mother, only child in a dysfunctional family, T's who think the moon (pun intended) and the stars of her, Adi himself and now Imlie- everyone has put her on a pedestal where she questions the very basis of this mess as not why this is happening, but How this is happening to her?!

This comment from the professor yesterday was worth pondering on. Imlie in that moment could have named the kids even though that scene was just so obvious, but instead, she went on to even acknowledge that it is her that couldn't even realize that this was a trick.

Anu has been living a lie her entire life and unfortunately her daughter is bearing the brunt of it today..

I read this somewhere just dont recall where..

"watch your thoughts

for they become words

watch your words

for they become actions

watch your actions

for they become habits

watch you habits

for they become character"

@bold: But the way you've worded that again seems to lay the entire onus of her situation on others....is that not the whole basis of the current sympathy gathering operation for her too? There are always excuses.....her upbringing, her mom, her weak mind.....anything that helps portray her as a victim of her background and circumstances rather than call out what she is DOING to others in the garb of playing victim herself.

My funda is simple....I can very well view Malini as a tragedy of a toxic upbringing if atleast there was a dose of KARMA being acknowledged for her in the story......but all we get are endless rounds of bechaar-giri and labeling her a victim, propping her up and justifying all her BS.....so that makes me totally apathetic to any arguments that want to claim her as a tragedy.

And it will continue to confound me on what basis she's been put up on a pedestal.....what exactly has she achieved or given to anyone to command such a high standing? lol it's absolutely zilch shown to us in the story but we are expected to just buy it as a basis ki Tripathis, Adi-Imlie keep singing her praises liken she's some Goddess so you all also buy that she is......oh please

Koi basis dikhaao for why they all think she's worthy of being on a pedestal. Or my contempt for her will only increase exponentially daily at this rate😛. Have no patience for self-absorbed manipulative soul-sucking types.