AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Jiarao

Yes before Aniruddh's entry everything was OTT in the show. Ashnoors acting has improved a lot. She has learnt a lot of things which I would like to think through Aniruddh. I feel she gives her best in the scenes with Aniruddh. Considering her age it's a great thing. She is way better than all ITV heroines. She is gonna be a superstar soon.

Lol Ashnoor was a really good actress even before this show. She was awesome in NBT.

I think she’s maturing with age, so that maturity reflects in her acting now....and it helps that she has a very layered character to play in the form of Mini.

She was fantastic with her previous co-star Kunal as well. The girl is a born rockstar.

And now she’s found a great dynamic with Aniruddh too...but talent toh inherent hai chhori mein.

Edited by AreYaar - 6 years ago
inlieu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: LoveInAutumn26

This was the scene that I was talking about earlier. Aniruddh's plus point is that he can emote through his eyes. He had so much emotions in his eyes during this scene, you could just feel it. It seemed like Paridhi was holding back her emotions during this scene. Maybe thats how the director wanted the scene to be portrayed. Babita also as a character does hold back a lot, so it would make sense.

Aniruddh no doubt is a very good actor, better than Paridhi in most scenes for sure, but I don't think its fair to compare Aniruddh and Paridhi, given the different kinds of characters they portray on screen. Their characters are poles apart from each other, so it wouldn't make sense for them to react the same way. Like, I said Aniruddh emotes through his eyes, so it seems like he's literally living the character of HS.

Ashnoor I would say used to give OTT expressions and reactions in the beginning. She's much more mellowed down and natural in the recent episodes... she's also just 15 so I would cut her some slack, and she also has a lot of experience to gain down the line. For her age, she is really good.

Actually, I have always loved Ashnoor's work especially because she's shown growth as an actor. I just don't see that in Paridhi. I'm not comparing her caliber to the others because it's not fair, rather I'm talking about her approach to the scenes. With her it looks like she's playing the character rather than being the character.

I don't think it's the director per se. Yousuf Ansari is fabulous, I am just in awe of his work on this show.

Even in scenes where she's not with Aniruddh or Ashnoor, e.g. with NB or with Lala, you can still tell the difference. Even when she is on her own just being Babita, something is off.

I don't mean to offend any Pardhi fans here, I get she is better than many, but after all this time on the show I was hoping to see some growth in her as an actor, which I don't see. Generally it's ok, but the sobbing scenes just don't cut it for me and have often ruined moments where I was really rooting for Babita's character and trying to feel for her.

As I said, the ensemble cast is just so brilliant on this show that her being just "good" is just standing out among the excellence that I see everywhere else on the PB team.

Edited by inlieu - 6 years ago
inlieu thumbnail

Originally posted by: AreYaar

Lol Ashnoor was a really good actress even before this show. She was awesome in NBT.

I think she’s maturing with age, so that maturity reflects in her acting now....and it helps that she has a very layered character to play in the form of Mini.

She was fantastic with her previous co-star Kunal as well. The girl is a born rockstar.

And now she’s found a great dynamic with Aniruddh too...but talent toh inherent hai chhori mein.

Seriously, sometimes I forget she's only 15. I can imagine when she has more experience what a superstar she can become. She managed to impressed Anurag Kashyap already. I am sure there will be more of amazing work coming up.

The best part about her is how down-to-earth she is.

inlieu thumbnail

Originally posted by: LoveInAutumn26

Sometimes, it seems like Paridhi holds back a lot of the emotions... like she doesn't give it all the way. Maybe its just how they want Babita's character to be portrayed, given that it is a repressed character.

Agreed. Its not fair to compare Aniruddh and Paridhi. She does suit Babita's character in my opinion too. She has stood out in a lot of scenes actually, such as aftermath of court scene, Dheere Jalna, Ashok slap scene, Alcohol scene with HS, recent outburst with Khuranas etc, so I wouldn't call her a bad actor. She's pretty good, but there is a scope for improvement as well.

Oh she's definitely waaaay better than the majority of actresses playing female leads on ITV.

I was hoping to see some growth in her since her role as Jodha and also during the course of this show while working with such a brilliant cast... No chance...

inlieu thumbnail

Originally posted by: AreYaar

Everyone was OTT in the beginning of this show including Paridhi 😆....I couldn’t stand the whole show in the first week with the hyperness of all the characters. They all settled in after HS entered.

Otherwise I would say Ashnoor is a tremendous performer for her age....she brings a maturity beyond her years to her acting. On top of that, she has naturally charismatic screen presence. Way more than many ITV female leads. Woh uska khud ka talent hai....I’m not comparing Paridhi to her cuz they are just playing very different characters here too.

That said, I won’t deny that I have a much softer corner for Ashnoor 😆 and I see her growing into a tremendous actress.

Oh yeah, if I had watched the show from week 1, I would have quit pretty soon. I only caught an episode a few months after the show started, liked HS, and then went back to watch it from the beginning. I did cringe at the melodrama initially, for sure.

In fact, if you look at HS initially and now, he has toned down quite a bit, but sometimes I wonder if it's because he was a happier bachelor back then before mother-daughter brought all the siyappe in his life. smiley36

I actually think in many ways I preferred the way Paridhi played Babita earlier on in the show, it was much more nuanced.

This is the first show of Ashnoor's that I've watched and I have been super impressed, especially to see her holding her own in front of the likes of Aniruddh, but especially senior actors like Sandhya ji (who's a revelation - can't believe I've never seen her work before!).

inlieu thumbnail

Yes before Aniruddh's entry everything was OTT in the show. Ashnoors acting has improved a lot. She has learnt a lot of things which I would like to think through Aniruddh. I feel she gives her best in the scenes with Aniruddh. Considering her age it's a great thing. She is way better than all ITV heroines. She is gonna be a superstar soon.

She spends a lot of time learning things from Aniruddh, and she has spoken of this too. I think they both have a lot of spontaneity and natural flair too that makes it come out on screen. Their emotional scenes are just something else altogether.

I watch a lot of films and shows from all over the world and do a lot of critique. Aniruddh ranks quite high on the list for me and I am serious when I say he belongs in the same camp as Pankaj Tripathi... he has similar training and talent, is from the same category if you know what I mean... I totally see him up there one day. In fact, my dream is to see them both work together.

Ashnoor is starting to make her place despite her young age and I can't imagine what she'll be like in ten years!

inlieu thumbnail

Agree. She needs to work a lot on her crying skills. It doesn't come out natural. While she is good where tears just flow from her eyes , her sobbing is all artificial.

I too agree on not expecting her to match Aniruddh's caliber. It will be total injustice. He is a born actor while she has learnt acting.

What I find really odd is her never trying to bring some punjabi accent to her speech. I might be wrong here as I am not a punjabi. I am just comparing it with Ashnoor's.

You mean, you weren't convinced by her say "haye Minnie" from time to time? 😆

yoyogagirl thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: inlieu

Actually, I have always loved Ashnoor's work especially because she's shown growth as an actor. I just don't see that in Paridhi. I'm not comparing her caliber to the others because it's not fair, rather I'm talking about her approach to the scenes. With her it looks like she's playing the character rather than being the character.

I don't think it's the director per se. Yousuf Ansari is fabulous, I am just in awe of his work on this show.

Even in scenes where she's not with Aniruddh or Ashnoor, e.g. with NB or with Lala, you can still tell the difference. Even when she is on her own just being Babita, something is off.

I don't mean to offend any Pardhi fans here, I get she is better than many, but after all this time on the show I was hoping to see some growth in her as an actor, which I don't see. Generally it's ok, but the sobbing scenes just don't cut it for me and have often ruined moments where I was really rooting for Babita's character and trying to feel for her.

As I said, the ensemble cast is just so brilliant on this show that her being just "good" is just standing out among the excellence that I see everywhere else on the PB team.

I had not seen any of the trio's show before this. So, I kinda got to see all their acting through this show. Aniruddh has been a revelation to me. Such a natural actor. His eyes speak volume, it doesn't seem like he's acting, he has literally lived the character of HS. I am sure he's getting lots of recognition because of this role. I hope he wins the awards for this role as well.

As for Paridhi, there's definitely a lot to improve, but she's better than a lot of other ITV actresses. Well, she has always acknowledged that Aniruddh is a great actor and that she gets to learn a lot from him. I think she mentioned she likes doing scenes with him.

Chemistry is what works for the show to a larger extent I feel. Babita-Mini chemistry, Mini-HS chemistry and HS-Babita's chemistry.

AreYaar thumbnail

You mean, you weren't convinced by her say "haye Minnie" from time to time? 😆

Hema Malini couldn't pull off Punjabi convincingly in Veer Zaara.....lol toh aap log ITV pe expect kar rahe ho?😆

Itna suspension of disbelief chalta hai.

AreYaar thumbnail

Oh yeah, if I had watched the show from week 1, I would have quit pretty soon. I only caught an episode a few months after the show started, liked HS, and then went back to watch it from the beginning. I did cringe at the melodrama initially, for sure.

In fact, if you look at HS initially and now, he has toned down quite a bit, but sometimes I wonder if it's because he was a happier bachelor back then before mother-daughter brought all the siyappe in his life. smiley36

I actually think in many ways I preferred the way Paridhi played Babita earlier on in the show, it was much more nuanced.

@bold: That's cuz the writing gave her more to evolve with in the earlier phase.....there was a balance between the traumatized, repressed wife and the mother trying to be strong for her child.

What she's playing now are hard traits for any actor to play because Babita is being shown as a very complicated, confounding woman as she navigates this phase of getting married. Her complications form the backbone of all drama and other characters are shown managing her, rather than her character showing any growth.

I do feel Paridhi will do better if the writing gives her more to play with. Let's see.