Cartoon.Buff thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2

A very shoddy attempt, but after a point I had no idea on how to build it. I had it in my drafts for too long now.

Any criticism is welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Her boss was one taskmaster. He did not believe in having a personal life, the workaholic that he was. And that meant even his employees were expected to forego their personal lives, especially her, who was an junior architect and was expected to shadow her boss in everything he did to get the kind of exposure that others would die for. She knew she was learning from the best but when weekends after weekends were spent on studying reports and preparing summaries or working on some assignments for 2 months straight when your friends were partying until the wee hours of the morning, some anger and disappointment did creep into her.

What the hell was she thinking when her elder brother suggested her to get an MBA from one of the most prestigious institutes after she was trained in their own business, and also almost forcing her to get through Khurana Constructions when they had come for placements. She was all but 25 and this was also the time to enjoy and not just learn. Hmph!

Enough of this now, she thought sullenly getting back to another one of her weekend reports. Just as she got back to her report, her phone beeped. A wide smile spread across her face as she happily received the call.

"Helloooo...", she chirped

"Hi, did you look into the file for Xyz Associates? I need you to walk me through your draft. I am working on their blue print now.", he spoke in a boss-like tone.

"Saddu!"

"Geeeett..."

"Whatever" she remarked as she started briefing him about the client specifications gathering all her professionalism in a serious tone.

When she finished, she asked him if he needed anything else and after waiting for a second, she curtly bade him a bye.

She was fuming but decided not to let it get the better of her. She went to get her fix of her favorite Chole Bhature with Lassi that her mom had cooked for her. That managed to calm her down a bit and she got back to her work.

After another hour she managed to complete the last task for the weekend and decided to nap for a bit. The heavy lunch made her drowsy.

She was sleeping soundly when she was woken up by a rude jerk. She came awake with a start and looked around disoriented. When the haze cleared she saw him lounging on her bed beside her and smirking at her. She only gave him a tired look and went back to sleep, covering her head with the quilt.

"What the hell! Is this how you greet your fiance whom you are seeing after a whole week?"

When she did not respond he removed the quilt from over her face and she fumed at him.

"My boss sucks all the energy out of me. I have become a corporate slave like you, so yeah, if you don't have time for me, I don't have any for you either."

"But baby, you know am clearing my schedule for our honeymoon three months later."

"Yeah, right! And where are we going?"

"France, as you wanted!"

"Wrong! As you manipulated. If I knew you have a 2-day conference there, I would never have agreed."

"But it is just 2 days, I am all yours for the rest of our time there."

"Which is just 3 days!"

"Well, I was planning on surprising you, but I don't want a mad fiaance. Soooo..."

As she looked at him suspiciously, he continued

"I have also planned for Greece and Spain after France. So it is not just 5 days, but 15."

"Eeeeee, you are the best! I love you, Maan!" She screamed as she leaped onto him and hugged him tight while he lay there enjoying her reaction and ofcourse the hug.

"So overtime this month and no complains", he said turning all serious. He might as well try, if she got mad he could always say he was joking.

"Of course, to-be-patidev. Aapka hukum sar-aankhon par."

That was easy, he thought as he rolled her over.

"Ok, let's kiss now!"

And before she could react, he quickly placed his lips on hers and they got busy.

khwaishfan thumbnail
Visit Streak 1000 Thumbnail Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail + 9

wow thanks for posting!

khwaishfan thumbnail
Visit Streak 1000 Thumbnail Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail + 9

Congrats on another OS!! hmm its not a shoddy attempt!

splendid OS!!!

Aww poor Geet! he boss is a Hitler lol!

agree with Geet that he is a saadu!

him so he is her fiance as well! glad that Maan made it up to Geet!

liked her reaction! but he used this in his favor as well!

she is indeed easy to manofy!

its_me thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3

Lovely... short & sweet !!!

Do write another...

Flame_of_Forest thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Geet has assessed him correctly. Maan is taskmaster, workaholic, businessman and a bit manipulative (not in harmful way) but more intelligent and playful way, the one that brings smile while reading it.

And the innocent, naive Geet. She again got tricked by him in the name of extending the travel and honeymoon !!

loved the shot, and the use of characteristics in human nature making it a playful one.

Commelina thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3

Hi CartoonBuff

You should know by now that I love reading you. Whether be it your comments or these one shots that leave us craving for more.

The moment I saw your post I squealed in joy because I know it's going to be a really enjoyable story. And I wasn't disappointed at all.

I kind of love the relationship dynamics between Maan and Geet that you portray in your stories. There's this playful Geet that seems to be more in touch with her feelings and then there's Maan who at first seems to be distant, not in tune with our heroine but at the end it turns out that both are on the same page and are in equally madly and irrevocably in love. While I am writing I can still remember the first two one shots of yours that I have read. See, that's what a good story is. You remember it.

I always like reading about a workaholic Maan, find them extremely desirable.😳 Especially the ones who toil day and night so they can have a stressfree honeymoon. 😉

As for Geet here, she's just my type of person. Laidback, speaking her own mind, understanding a person for what he is and alao accepting them, being professional when need arises and is so real (that covering herself and going back to sleep)

Loved their banter so much. Everything here I just loved it. But I want more!!!

Zara check karna ek do aur drafts hai kya? 😅😁

Edited by Commelina - 6 years ago
momi_angel thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Sweet and amazing os.

Keepdreaming thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Wow

You should write more

hira2010 thumbnail