sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
To be precise. it was not the idea of the poor Paurafv Rashtra folk. It was Chanakya's, and now he does not even seem to know WHY he kidnapped Olympias. But I am sure he will not pay any price at all for his folly.

I had lamented on page 1 of this thread about what the CVs have done and are doing to Sony Alexander. What they are doing to Sony Chanakya is almost worse.

As for the price, I am not sure of anything any more. They are showing Alexander losing every single encounter, if one can call a night chaapamaar attack an encounter, with Porus, and none of his otherwise very clever plans is working. Not with Chanakya and the bull, not with Puru on the bridge, not with Puru's attack on the Farsi camp, and now not with the Dasyus. I am sure the bridge will never be completed.

I begin to doubt if they are going to let him win anything at all.

As for Dasyurani, Puru will of course mourn her deeply.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: Radiant_Eyes_

This is the start . Pr is gonna pay heavy price for their stupid idea of kidnapping Olympia.

Idk how they will react at loss of Dasyurani ...they owe a lot to her. She provided their prince a roof when his existence was also not known to them.

inlieu thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
He will likely win in the effort to get his mother back, but will probably lose the final battle.
Unless Porus shows up at Taxila with Olympias, of course, as part of the CVs' ongoing attempts to make Alexander look like anything but a Sikander.
Edited by inlieu - 7 years ago
inlieu thumbnail
Yes Aunty, as we had discussed a while ago, Chanakya and Alexander would have made a formidable team but would have had a fallout due to differences of opinion.
Which is why Chanakya is now fearful because he realizes the consequences would be unavoidable and irreversible.

What I would love to see is for Olympias to wake up, tell Chanakya that she has already sent word to her son and that he would be coming for them all. Just the look on Chanakya's face would be priceless! 😆
inlieu thumbnail
Aunty, I have one thing to say in response to most of your comments here about Alexander's activities now: I am not surprised.

I am not condoning the cruelty or the unnecessary violence but have just accepted that he is going to be shown in a bad light most of the time. I am getting tired of pointing out what he should be doing vs the real Alexander, and especially of comparing his present state to the way his character and his code/principles were shown in the earlier episodes. I feel as if the writers exhibit bipolar tendencies sometimes.

The credit goes to Rohit for making us stick around and still root for Sony Alexander despite what he has done and will continue to do in the name of winning and conquering. If it had been a lesser performance, we might have even switched sides to the other camp.

The recent emotional sequence might have touched some of us, but I suspect a large portion of viewers would be rejoicing because the "villain" of the show is getting his just desserts, as is his mother. Any further horrible acts on his part will just be taken in stride by viewers who think it is normal, considering he's the "bad guy". I can't blame them because the CVs have done such a fabulous job of shredding his dignity and sense of honor and will continue to do so till the end. After the bull scene especially, I myself am no longer taken aback by what he does because somehow I have come to expect it from the CVs.

The way he trapped Dasyuraj was a smart move, but nowadays I take such moves as stepping stones laid by the CVs to show him failing yet again, such as the bridge not being built or being destroyed soon after. With Porus reiterating his oath to prevent Alexander from crossing the river, the bridge will have a very short life. Basically, the message they are sending is that no matter how smart the great Sikander's tactics might be, he will be stumped at every point on Bharati soil. Why would they care about preserving his dignity, morals, or ability to win against all odds?

I find it increasingly hard to believe that this Alexander could win the final battle, and so will the audience by the time the CVs are done destroying his character. If he had been depicted as 100% villainous from day one, then his current activities would have been more palatable because we'd have seen him as a ruthless, heartless military commander throughout the show. It is the deviation from his initial arc that is bothering most of us.

To make matters worse, we get stupid voiceovers about soch ka takraar. No such thing is being presented in this show, because if it were, then we would have been shown how each side is justified based on their respective philosophies, rather than an out and out good vs evil story. The real Alexander was not a plunderer or a raving lunatic, yet there is not much further to go before we see these sorts of things about him too. In fact, if Alexander hadn't been a legendary figure, the Sony Alexander character, by the grace of the writers, would have gone further into the depths of hell with his "evil".

This Alexander is not a Jedi anymore and like Anakin Skywalker, is well on his way to becoming a Sith lord.

Originally posted by: sashashyam

This is what comes of being a ghoul and waiting eagerly ki kab laashein bichengi. When your wish is fulfilled, the corpses are often those of one's azeez.

Inlieu, Hephaestion WOULD have stabbed Dasyurani from the back. He was bearing down on her from the back, and he had clearly NO intention of warning her. If Dasyuraj had not shouted out to her, and she had not turned, she would surely have been stabbed in the back.

Let us not be in a hurry to talk of the Macedonian code. Yes, Alexander does declare to Darius that he never stabs anyone in the back. But what he does to the Farsi soldiers he has killed after offering them a safe conduct is nothing but stabbing them in the back. He pledged his word as a Shah, and then went back on it blatantly. What kind of honour is this?

I can understand the need for him to identify the bad apples, but he could have jailed them. Instead he has them killed in cold blood after giving them his word that they would be safe.

But Chanakya would have approved. I have always felt that Alexander and Chanakya were birds of the same feather.

That was of course part of the relentless campaign by the CVs to make Alexander look worse and worse. The pointless and savage killing of Kanishka- - which was the trigger for Ambhikumar's defection - was another. If Alexander had not killed Kanishka for no real reason at all, Ambhikumar's defection would not have taken place, and the bridge would have been completed.

The stated reason, to send the dead Kanishka as a substitute for the missing Chanakya, is totally illogical. Losing Chanakya would have really been a bad blow for Porus. Losing Kanishka, who Porus knows hates him, and who had almost had Porus's parents killed, would have hardly mattered to any normal person. So why does Alexander see Kanishka as a suitable replacement for Chanakya?

Kanishka did NOT betray Alexander. He failed in his mission. If that were to merit the death sentence- and Alexander himself goes to murder an unarmed man in his prison cell, which was ugly enough - Alexander would have no allies left in Bharat, or indeed anywhere else. What was he saying to Hephaestion in Caria, and what is he doing now?

The sadistic way of executing Ambhikumar was an extension of the horrible bull sequence. It was savage and unnecessary, 😡as I have noted in an earlier post. Yes, he might have deserved to die, but why in such a horrible fashion? Those who say they didn't mind it must be all Game of Thrones aficionados.😡

The advice he gives Ambhikumar's mother, that she should go inside and see nothing, and then aapko takleef nahin hogi was, for me at least, unbelievable, cruel mockery of her feelings.

Don't fudge this, my very dear friends, just because it is Alexander doing it. It hurts me to see you so deliberately blinding yourself to the things that are, increasingly, wrong, badly wrong with him, and trying to put a positive spin on every negative sequence.

Rohit's superb performance glosses over the cruelty, at times wanton cruelty, of Sony Alexander. But the young, gallant Alexander I loved is fast disappearing. By the time the CVs are done with him, he will be pitch black.😡

It is wicked of the CVs to thus systematically destroy the sole attraction that this show has for many of us. Earlier, it was by suppressio veri, as by dropping Sisygambis, and details of his interaction with Kalana and the other wise men of Bharat, to mention just two examples. Now it is through unceasing, overt attacks on his character, from which they want to leach the last shred of nobility.😡

Enough of this. To revert, apart from the very moving scenes between Dasyuraj and Dasyurani, what I liked was Alexander's unruffled calm - he never frets and fumes, whether it is Bessus or the Dasyu royals letting him down . And of course his extremely shrewd move to box in the Dasyuraj. His capacity for thinking out of the box is phenomenal. I admired both his cool poker play and the easy, gliding grace of his movements. I have always loved the straight-backed, supple way in which he walks. It is so elegant.

Shyamala Aunty

sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
You know, my dear, that would compensate me for all that has riled me these past several weeks?

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: inlieu

Yes Aunty, as we had discussed a while ago, Chanakya and Alexander would have made a formidable team but would have had a fallout due to differences of opinion.

Which is why Chanakya is now fearful because he realizes the consequences would be unavoidable and irreversible.

What I would love to see is for Olympias to wake up, tell Chanakya that she has already sent word to her son and that he would be coming for them all. Just the look on Chanakya's face would be priceless! 😆

inlieu thumbnail

Originally posted by: sashashyam

You know, my dear, that would compensate me for all that has riled me these past several weeks?

Shyamala Aunty

Well, then hope this happens! 😉
luckySnow thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
You guys are bit too much 😛 Alexander not going to lose any battle...there is no way he can lose...world knows he was unbeatable so he can't lose here also...
Chalo c ya after some days
Edited by luckySnow - 7 years ago
inlieu thumbnail

Originally posted by: luckySnow

You guys are bit too much 😛 Alexander not going to lose any battle...there is no way he can lose...world knows he was unbeatable so he can't lose here also...

Chalo c ya after some days

Yes, we know he won, but SidT probably has other ideas. As I said, at most there will be a tie, but they can't show Porus losing.
luckySnow thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: inlieu

Yes, we know he won, but SidT probably has other ideas. As I said, at most there will be a tie, but they can't show Porus losing.

We will see
inlieu thumbnail

I hope you're right because I too wish Alexander would win with full glory after a very tough battle against PR.