Illyrion thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
I'm probably going to regret this but... sometimes people taking offense are projecting and reacting defensively. No one here has said (at least that I remember) the Indian medical system is bad. Acknowledging that some parts of healthcare in the US or Europe are better isn't the same as saying Indian healthcare is bad.
But even had someone criticized the Indian medical system it doesn't make them India haters. Just pointing out a weakness doesn't make someone an enemy! I firmly believe improvement is only possible when one is able to honestly assess what needs to be improved instead of covering it up or explaining it away. It doesn't mean disloyalty or contempt. Right now I am very critical of the US government; that doesn't make me unAmerican or mean I need to be sent to Canada to live. Criticism can come from love and hope for better.
454573 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mira.rajput

Jai hind nahi sirf thanks bol de for giving visas to needy Pakistanis for their medical treatment. Aur agar doosro ke behalf pe nahi, toh khud ko din raat india forums pe apni chipka kar beithe rehta gai apne entertainment ke liye,using baat pe hi thanks bol de.

Aur iss baar sarcasm se nahi dil se bolna please.

jao pehle woh thanks lao - jo mujhe bollywood tickets pe money spend karne pe milna chahiye

jao pehle woh thanks lao - jo mujhe 1000s of dollars grocery kar ke indian economy main contribute karne pe milna chahiye

Jao pehle woh thanks lao - jo mujhe indian restaurant and food dhabas per spend karne pe milna chhaiye

Jao pehle woh thanks lap - jo mujhe indians in US ki madad karne pe milna chhaiye

How many Indians buy groceries from Pakistani stores?

How many Indians watch Pakistani movies? or spend on Pakistani products?

You should be happy that we do not hold grudges..and play politics

And I am not going to give any thanks as asking for it is acknowledging your point which I am not going to do. Answering this is an insult to me. Those who know my nature and background know me well and what is my take on Indian issuing visas is..others can think whatever they want. lol

Edited by himmo100 - 7 years ago
Pehchaan.Kaun thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
I can give 1000 examples right at this damn moment where I have been not only harassed but was felt terrified by the doctors and their intentions in India 🤔 Right under my nose the doctors had let my FIL's health deteriorate for 3 weeks finally landing him up in ICU and miraculously recovering and getting discharged in next 2 days. And this I am talking about Apollo Hosp which is considered as one of the renowned hospitals here. I feel disgusted to site other examples atm too.

I personally find Canada/USA health-care system LOT LOT better, not even comparable to India's. I love my country, but I dont feel proud of the fact that education system and medical facility have become the most popular ways of money extortion in India.
Justmoi thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
#1 reason Privacy.
If Irfan or Sonali Bendre were in India there will be countless articles speculating crap about their health every day.Pappz may be fighting to get pictures of them looking gaunt and thin. People especially fighting cancer do not need crap like that. So they go to the west where they are just another patient.
lunza thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4
One reason is privacy. Another reason is, for some cases, like for aggressive late stages of cancer where they might even have to opt for experimental treatments and trials, US is miles ahead .
It is expensive and will cost crores for any middle class family in india to be able bear the entire cost - right from travel, stay etc.

I remember reading this recent case of IIM grad in very late stage cancer going to US for experimental treatment after the IIM alumni raised funds for him. He unfortunately didn't make it though.
Anony-mouse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: himmo100

sach bolo...lol

all i want is the truth ..nothing but the truth

if this means indian health care system better than pakistan then yes I will say that...

if it means indian system is worst than US then I will say that as well

Himmo speaks THE TRUTH

and please..dont angry me. lol

With this ranking system nations with nationalized healthcare will always score better since 2 of the 5 benchmarked parameters are directly related to public spending on Healthcare and even Out of pocket for patients is an indirect proxy for the same. I also donot see why this needs to be such a hugely debated topic in this forum when 90% of the members dont even live in India and/or Mumbai. For the likes of celebrities Mumbai offers the best of the facilities and doctors since they can afford the treatment.

Lets not attach motives where people have not even shared any motives. Its quite ridiculous to fill up 20 pages arguing why Bendre may or may not have been treated in India
HayeSiyaapa thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: anjs

Medical tourism market, India, Swadeep Srivastava, medical tourism start-ups, Ministries of Health, External Affairs and Tourism, Manish Chandra, Tourism

The medical tourism market in India has seen a growth of 22-25% since 2014, driven by rising costs of medical treatment in developed countries and an increasing number of "medical tourists heading for India. According to experts, India's medical tourism industry is expected to grow from a $3 billion industry at present to a $8 billion industry by 2020. The number of "medical tourists from across the globe to India has been rising. In 2013, only 56,000 people visited India on a "medical tourist visa, whereas this figure was more than double in 2015, with over 134,000 people from different nations visiting India for medical treatment. In 2016, over 96,000 "medical tourists had already visited India till June, according to data available with the Ministry of Tourism.

Swadeep Srivastava, Managing Partner and founder of India Virtual Hospital, a medical tourism start-up, said: "India is going to be the hub for medical tourism in the near future, according to a report of the Confederation of Indian Industry. The treatment quality in India is at par with first world countries and the cost for the same is one-tenth here. Highly experienced doctors speaking English and other foreign languages make it convenient for patients worldwide to come and avail medical treatment in India. India has plenty of multi-specialty hospitals with enough number of beds, which makes the waiting period negligible. There are constant and huge investments in development of technology and operative techniques. Recent advancements in the medical sector like robotic surgeries, radiation surgery or radio therapies with cyber knife options, transplant support systems, among other facilities, make India one of the most sought after destinations.

The growth in medical tourism has also given rise to some medical tourism start-ups, like the India Virtual Hospital, that help patients from across the globe understand the medical sector in India, besides helping them with hospitals that offer the best packages, hotels, guidance and such other services.

Patients from Bangladesh, Afghanistan, the Middle East and African countries like Kenya, Nigeria, Somalia, constitute a major chunk of the "medical tourists in India.

Specialised treatments related to cardiology, joint and hip replacement, spine surgeries, bariatric surgery, cancer, IVF, and transplant facilities are among the most sought after treatments here in India. Even gynaecology has been a sought after branch for patients from many developed nations. Many non-resident Indians come to India for their gynaecology treatment as the cost of such treatment here is one-fifth that of their country of residence.

Experts say India has also grown as a cosmetic and plastic surgery market in the past two years, with patients, especially from the Middle East, showing much interest for such treatments in India due to easy availability of such surgeries and low costs here. The Ministries of Health, External Affairs and Tourism and Culture are working together and extensively to boost the medical tourism market in India. The Centre has launched various schemes like introduction of facility of e-Tourist visas for citizens of 150 countries at 16 different airports across the country, including extension of visa-on-arrival facility for Japanese nationals; 247 toll free Multilingual Tourist Information Line, handling 10 different international languages, besides Hindi and English, and introduction of Medical Visa and Medical Attendant Visa as separate categories to facilitate entry of medical tourists, with a view to increasing India's share in the world tourism market.

I think the bolded parts are important- Look at the countries that comprise majority of the medical tourists as well as the procedures. Plastic surgery and cosmetic surgeries are elective procedures in America- which means insurance will not cover them. That doesn't mean good plastic surgeons don't exist in America- its just expensive for lay people. The countries listed, many may also be more expensive or just not have proper doctors for those types of procedures. I have had family members who are obese go to India for gastric bypass surgery to lose weight because in America if you want it covered by insurance- you have to document medical need, document at least 1 years worth of exercise and diet failing to help with weight loss and psychological testing. If you want to pay for it on your own, you can bypass all that, but is costs so much money so they chose to go to India instead because it was cheaper with very little regulation.

However, when it comes to terminal illnesses like cancer, I would almost 100% argue that USA, London etc are better at treatment simply because there are many research trials and newer drugs that are being tested that are otherwise not available. They are expensive but celebs from India and other countries are able to afford them. American health care system is ranked low primarily because they don't have effective ways to distribute their resources- things are super expensive and insurance companies are becoming more and more difficult esp with all the changes in the political climate in regards to ACA. But if we're comparing just the treatments, then USA/Europe are ahead in those regards and it makes sense that those with $$$ would choose to come here for treatment. Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center where I believe Sonali is, is one of the leading hospitals for cancer treatments in the world, along with several other hospitals in America.
Deviant_Pixel thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
The States has prolific hospitals in cancer treatments and experimental trials. It's a no brainer if you can afford it you should go there. It's a matter of your life or death, no one would risk that for any reason. Plus in critical cases you need peace of mind and rest which let's be honest is impossible if you're a celeb in India.

India is definitely making strides in certain streams of medicine such as cardiology but in cancer treatments, the US is unbeatable in terms of innovation and better outcomes.