garimaarya thumbnail
Hope you are fine
Missing your story
Plss come back soon and update
suri2610 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 2 Thumbnail + 5

A/n: I have to, have to start this update with a BIG BIG Sorry. And a big BIG BIG THANKYOU.

You have no idea how much your comments have supported me. Thankyou... thankyou so much ... Through this story I have come to know all of you... couldn't be more thankful for that...

Not only my illness, but the update itself was very tricky. I had to have a full layout before I posted any part of it. But then, I was only days away from giving the final update. Its lengthy. So you may want to split the reading time too.

I have split the update into two chapters. The split was required so as to enable the reader with a change in mental set up needed.

Very very eager to know your thoughts... I am really anxious posting this update. I have touched upon some topics about which you may opine differently. I am quite eager to know your point of view as well.

Honestly, there is so much more to say...And sometimes, no matter how much you describe, one or the other facet gets left behind. I hope I have been able to communicate the state of mind of the various characters of the story.

So, without any more delay, and very anxiously, I present to you the next update.

CHAPTER 28

Khushi lay on the bed but was hardly able to sleep. Her mind and heart had stilled in only one moment - Their intimate hug, the series of kisses and the look in his eyes. Her mind played the moments over and over again. Though Anjali was fast asleep on the other side of the bed and totally unaware of the incident, she felt extremely shy. She covered herself with the blanket. Making a private place for herself to relive the moment. She smiled biting her lower lip. She felt his breath on her lips again. She covered her face with her palms and hid into the pillow. Wasn't it similar to the soft cocoon of his embrace? And that look of fondness from him had warmed her from within. Nobody had ever seen her like that. She took a deep breath and surprisingly she still smelt him. She longed to be in his embrace again.

And all of a sudden she felt him close by. She peaked through her blanket. No one was in front of her. Her mind had gone crazy. He must be fast asleep. She tossed over to the other side, and shot up to sit on her bed. There he was, standing at the door of her room.

The soft light from the night lamp in her room was the only source of light. And his face seemed slightly stumped and stupefied. Their eyes locked. Her heart was thudding. He took a step towards her, when they both heard Naani from behind him.

"Chotey, kal raat aap kab wapis aaye? Aur Khushi bitiya bhi aapke saat ma thi na?"

He shut his eyes, pursed his lips and fisted his fingers tight, visibly frustrated with the interruption. As it is it had taken lot of effort on his side to come this close to Khushi. He had not slept a wink either. The Arnav and ASR voices within him were chewing his head. One asking him to confess like "right now" and the other warning him about the timing. He had stopped all the voices within him. And had decided to end his agony. Not because of anything else, but because of only one reason. Earlier in the morning, when he had held her in his tight embrace and seen those eyes of sheer devotion and complete submission, he had this uncontrollable desire to kiss her passionately. Make her his. And become her's. Enjoin with her. And that need was rising by the minute and was not letting him rest. He had made up his mind to take her to the nearby park, where he went for his daily run and confess his feelings for her. He would also lay out his past. And then would leave it to her. He had no idea what he would do, if she rejected him. But if she did reciprocate his feelings, then he had no idea how he would kiss her. Because by now, his mind had conjured atleast a 100 ways of how their first kiss would be.

He turned towards Naani. "We came back a bit late Naani. Yes, she was with me in office. I was delayed in some meetings, so didnt think it was safe to send her alone at that time of the night. So "I" asked her to wait up."

"I dont like it Chotey. You could have sent her back at an appropriate time with the driver. Or your Maamaji would have come over to pick her up."

Khushi lay back quickly and covered herself with the blanket again. As if that would stop Naniji in case she came over to scold her too. She couldn't stop herself from peeking through the blanket though.

Arnav was in no mood to hear his Naani's admonishing so early in the morning. And now talking to Khushi was out of question.

"And I have been watching you stand there since 5 minutes. What's happening?"

"I came over to talk to Di. But she is sleeping."

"Obvioiusly. Has Anjali bitiya ever woken up before 7 AM?"

"I am going out for a run. I hope to see you in better moods when I return. Good Morning Naani!"

"Chotey... Chotey... You cannot leave all our conversations mid-way like this."

Khushi waited with baited breath. But Naaniji did not come into her room. She relaxed and went back to her thoughts. What was Arnavji doing near her door?

Sleep was no where in sight, so she decided to wake up and help Maami in the kitchen. Arnav came back from his run. Khushi knew it was him at the door. And Arnav realised she was in the kitchen, Maami was giving her instructions as to how much dough to knead. He went into the kitchen, had a glass of water. All the while, looking at her. She was flustered visibly, adjusting her dupatta, sneaking glances at him every few seconds.

He got ready quickly. Now that she was with the family, there was no way of taking her out. He sat on the dining table with his laptop, directly keeping her in his line of sight. She dexterously made the breakfast, laid it on table and soon all at home, except ofcourse Kumbhakaran Aakash were at the dining table. Anjali slapped Arnav, on the shoulder and took his laptop away. Khushi grinned at him, finding it funny that Arnavji got bossed over as well.

Breakfast table - Six chairs - occupied by Maama and Maami one one side and Anjali, and Khushi at the other. And Naani and Arnav taking the two ends.

Khushi served everyone. Arnav didnt like that one bit. Normally, everyone sat around and served themselves. Just when she was about to sit, Aakash walked in, yawning.

"Aaah... Kya baat hain. Maatey, since when have you started making food without burning. And its smelling so good. I can hog eternally."

"Hein..." Maami brayed.

"Aayiye Aakashji. Have breakfast." Khushi offered her chair. Arnav didnt like this either. It did not bother anyone that she had no chair to sit. They were busy savouring the food. He walked up to his work desk and brought a chair for her. Khushi was glad that no one noticed. But the oldest and the youngest pair of eyes noted everything.

As if fate was against her eating, Aman walked in right after that. Before she offered her chair, Arnav offered his. And got a stool for himself and sat beside her. She was going to be a member of the family goddamnit. That would not convert the rest of them as guests, who will get her to serve them all the time.

Khushi stood up to serve Arnav's plate with sabji. And Arnav picked up the hot casserole and served paratha's to both of them. A mundane task which would hardly be noted. But Khushi's heart warmed at this small but significant gesture. That he was in no way superior to her.

"Wow ASR, having breakfast?!!" Aman pointed out. "I guess today the office brains are safe." And he started to eat.

"Huh?!!" Anjali frowned in confusion.

"Oh I didnt tell you this joke in the office right?"

"Nahi nahi Amanji... Dont say it..." Khushi stopped him. She had heard it from Munna. She began to giggle, and her mouth was full with the first bite.

"What's that...?" Arnav curious to know what Khushi had heard about him.

"Well the thing is, everyone thinks that you dont need food like us mortals..."

"Amanji... stop!!" Khushi quickly gulped her food down, lest she spurted it on someone.

But Aman continued. "You actually survive by eating our brains all day. And you give each team two or three days gap, so that their brains grow back again, and you get to hog on a fresh harvest!"

Everyone at the table burst out laughing.

"And you knew about this?" Arnav glared at Khushi, surprised.

Khushi covered her mouth and nodded a Yes. "Munna told me." She added later, between spouts of laughter.

"Aur Amanji, do you know his nickname in our Office."

"Khushi...!!!" Arnav cautioned her. But there was no anger in there.

"Yamraj!!" The table roared.

"And her name was Chitragupta!" The laughter didnt stop.

"Suits you Khushi." Aman pulled her leg.

"Haawww Arnavji. That's not fair." Khushi protested

"You asked for it." Arnav cocked his eyebrow with a mischievous smile. Khushi stilled for a moment. Arnav continued to eat - talking and teasing Anjali, Aakash and Aman with his subtle one-liners. The two siblings and the close friend shot back at him equally.

Khushi stopped eating and saw everyone around her and her eyes finally settled on her Arnavji. She had seen him in his house, but never like this. So normal and casual... Just like a normal member of a normal family. His skin was soft and supple, glowing in happiness, the creases faded and the eyes twinkled, the stiff jawline relaxed.

Arnav noticed her observing him closely.

"Kya hua?" He asked her discreetly. Without attracting the attention of others.

She smiled and nodded a nothing.

Arnav looked on, slightly confused what was going on in her mind. He served her another paratha, thinking everybody were otherwise busy and would not notice him.

While everyone else were busy with their chitter-chatter, Arnav revelled in his own thoughts. He loved this feeling... A feeling of a private space with Khushi, even in a crowd... May be this is how his Mamma and Papa felt whenever they were in a family gathering... He smiled to himself, and joined back the conversation at the table.

As the children teased and laughed, Naani had tears in her eyes. After so many years, happiness had entered this house. And she of all was the most grateful to Devi Maiyya for this.

Maami smiled along... remembering her own younger days. The table used to be at its noisiest best espcecially when Didi and Jijaji were together. Hmmm... she sighed hard. No point in remembering those days... After all, forget about speaking, even thinking about Didi and Jijaji was banned in this house.

As soon as they finished the breakfast Aman asked -

"ASR, shall we leave?"

"Aman, I have a meeting. I will be back in less than an hour. If you are not otherwise occupied, we can go together, once I am back.

"Oh! What meeting is this? It's not on my calendar" Aman checked with his friend-cum-boss.

"Well, it's a personal one... ahem... ok see you in an hour then." Arnav quickly exited from the scene.

I don't know what's with ASR now a days. He has long drawn personal meetings, with company lawyers and others. I don't even have a clue what's cooking. If he makes any random demands out of the blue, I am definitely going to punch him on the face. After all, I have earned it, haven't I? Jija jo banne wala hoon!! Aman shouldered Anjali and grinned.

Aman!! Anjali warned him.

Khushi had this slight unsettling feeling. Every one at home seemed clueless as to what Arnavji was doing and going through.

She was worried and it felt as if her mind and heart had walked right behind him.

Soon, the younger lot settled on the carpet in the living room while the elders carried on with their daily chores.

"So Di and Jiju, out with it... give me all the juicy stuff." Aakash rubbed his palms waiting to hear their love story.

"Chup Aakash." Anjali hit him on the knee.

"Arey Jiju... atleast you dont be a spoil sport. Come on, tell us... how did it all happen?" Aakash wriggled his eyebrows, biting his lower lip.

"Haan Anjaliji, you've got to tell us. It's been so many days I have been here. But didn't get a chance to talk to you." Khushi smiled and wriggled her eyebrows, pretending to be excited while at heart she was hoping Arnavji would return soon, just so that she would know he was okay.

"Well let me start. As far as I am concerned, I think I fell for her the first time I saw her. In retrospect, I should have proposed to her that day. But my pea-sized mind did not register it. Anjali, my jaan, please accept my heart felt apology for the delay." Aman spread his arms inviting her for an embrace.

Instead, he got hit on the shoulder. "Chup kariye Aman. If Naani sees this, then we are gone!!"

"Oh come on Anjali. Atleast now you should let me romance you openly. You know what guys, at one point, she was all set to end the relationship. Thanks to ASR, it survived."

"What?!! Bhai?!!" Aakash shrieked in surprise.

"Kaa hua... Kaa hua Arnao bitwa ko?!!" Maami sauntered from the kitchen with a knife in hand, worried about Arnav.

"Nothing Ma! I hear Bhai was instrumental in setting up Di and Jiju's rishta."

"That's true. If not for Arnao Bitwa, theses two people would have grayed their hair before letting us know that they were in love. I knew that some 'khichdi' was cooking, and was waiting for them to come out in the open." Maami waved her hands animatedly and felt proud about herself for guessing it right about them.

"Oh Wow...!! Bhai?!! And I always thought he is against love, marriage and those kind of mushy stuff."

"Isn't it Aakash?!! Anjali joined in. Of all the people Chotey was the key to make this thing happen. He nudged me to come out in the open and accept my feelings for Aman. While all along, I was unnecessarily worrying that he would be the first one to oppose the relationship. Especially given the fact that he hates the concept of love and marriage. I know he is affected by what happened with Mumma and Papa..." Anjali stopped abruptly. As an unwritten rule, no one spoke about her parents in the house.

Khushi winced everytime the brother-sister duo kept repeating the same thing. Arnavji did not believe in love and marriage. It was true! He had said it himself right after Sarita's engagement was broken. And just like that all her day dreaming crashed down. Amidst this unease, she did notice how Anjaliji felt uncomfortable speaking about her parents.

"Di, you haven't told us your side of the story." Aakash steered the conversation elsewhere.

"Woh..." She started shyly, "as far as I am concerned, I cannot point a time actually. He just grew on me. Small things he did for me. He rushed home after ever trip outside the city. And I always waited up. First out of courtesy, because he was Chotey's close friend."

Here another heart fluttered at the mention of the word 'Chotey'. Wonder what he was doing right now?

"And then both of us began to look forward to those late night talks and lone time."

Khushi remembered Arnavji's Sunday visits. She wondered how time had changed. There was once a time when she patiently waited up for a week, for just an hour with him. And now she is hardly able to wait up an hour despite knowing he would be back any minute.

"And then, it was the first time I was visiting Chotey at the place where he is doing his research."

"Research??!!" Khushi asked her puzzled.

"Yeah, that's why he is in your office, right? He wanted to work as an Intern in an Indian company, to understand the apparel industry here."

But Arnavji was at such a senior position there... Khushi thought within, but did not say it aloud. Her eyebrows creased in confusion. Does nobody in the house know that Arnavji was working in his Chacha's company for revenge?

Naaniji heard the conversation and came and joined the group. All of a sudden the house was full of life. And she wanted to be as much part of it as her old bones would support.

"So, Di. You tell me. How are you finding all this? Is love better or marriage? Dont you think love would fade away and become boring after marriage? You guys should delay your wedding for some time."

Whack!! "Aaj ka humse maar khaaney ke iraadey sey uthe ho Aakass bitwa?"

"Ouch!! Maatey. This is the current generation's trend. Dont you know "Live In" Concept. It has best of both worlds. You can have all the good things about love, without the burden of marriage."

Maami's hand raised again. Aakash slipped and sat between Khushi and Anjali.

Just then Arnav walked in. His eyes searched for her. And Khushi cheered up finally, with a broad smile. Not sure how to react in front of his family, he walked towards the sofa.

"Bhai... Good entry... Come join our discussion."

"About what Aakash?"

"About love and marriage. And which one is better?"

He shot a look at Khushi. She was looking back at him expectantly, the smile still intact.

He stared back at Aakash giving a "Do you really think I will respond to that question" look but settled himself on the sofa with his laptop, to hear the conversation.

Khushi's smile faltered visibly. Of course, why would he participate in something he doesn't believe in the first place?

Arnav was in a dillemma. Oh God! What am I to do now?!! Am I supposed to keep up this "Khadoos" reputation intact in front of the family? Or am I supposed to take part in the discussion for her sake? What a pickle?!

"Bhai... Trust you to be a spoil sport. Just now we were discussing how much you are against love and marriage."

Oh Right!! Why dont you guys go and burn up the entire house. On one end he was trying to propose to her, while here his family is giving a detailed resume of his hatred towards love and marriage. Now, he needs to first undo whatever damage his family had done and "then" propose to her. He wondered how much more time he would have to wait up.

"Achcha... Aman Jiju... You tell me what is more superior Love or Marriage?"

"Umm I guess love. Without that a marriage won't sustain."

"Aisan kaise bol sakat hain... Hamarey zamaaney mein pyar vyar was a taboo." Maami reacted surprised.

"Par Manno, humney bhi to prem vivah kiya tha na." Maamaji joined in.

"Aap to shut up hi karlo. Humri to laakho mein ek shaadi hain. But in general, most marriages were arranged. And all of them have sustained the test of time. Unlike today's generation who are waiting for a chance to separate at the drop of a hat."

"Par Mom I don't agree to your point." Aakash pointed out. "Most of those marriages exist because women of that generation have no back up. Most of them can't fend for themselves and almost all have kids. So they are cornered to stay put in a marriage."

"Di you haven't said anything about it." Aakash nudged his Di to share her point of view.

"Aakash, even I feel love is important for a marriage. It is a feeling like no other. And only a person in love can understand its true sense." Khushi shot a glance towards Arnavji. He was already looking at her. His eyes trying to be soft and harsh. Eyebrows creased slightly, as if he was in a dilemma. And lips pursing and relaxing, as if he was eager to say something.

"And quite frankly how can a marriage sustain, if there is no love?" They heard Anjali continue and turned towards her. "In fact it's the courting period which is more memorable. You have confessed your love but not yet weighed down by the responsibilities of a marriage." Anjali and Aman exchanged looks and smiled.

"Sabhaas Anjali bitiya. You are truly my daughter and have kept up the traditions of the family."

"Your Maama and I were no less than the Laila Majnu of our times. The only couple who gave close competition were your Mamma and Papa."

Suddenly an uncomfortable silence spread across the room. Aman hardly noticed it, given that he was busy tracing Anjali's dupatta. But Khushi saw how Arnav froze momentarily while working. His jawline constricted, nose slightly flared up in anger.

"Mera matlab hain, Now you and Damadji have kept up the traditions." Maami fumbled with her words and tried to revive the situation.

"Khushiji aap boliye." Aakash prodded Khushi. Trying to salvage his mother's situation.

A certain someone's ears shot up. He stopped working on his laptop but did not shift his eyes towards her. Trying to forget the past and focus on the present.

An old pair of eyes noted everything. Today's generation think they can escape their tenured eyes.

"Ummm I don't know. I guess both are equally important."

"Hah! That's a non-committal answer."

"Nahi Aakashji. I cannot choose one over the other. Marriage is a lifelong commitment to love each other. And love is the Neev for any successful marriage. I don't know how to put this... Ummm..." She searched for words.

"MARRIAGE!!!" Arnav said firmly with conviction.

A/N: CONTINUED IN NEXT POST

suri2610 thumbnail

Everyone turned towards him surprised.

"Marriage is more superior." He stated asserting his opinion.

Everybody frowned to have an answer just opposite to the majority.

"A lot of people claim to be in love, but do they really know what it means to "be in love"?" Arnav asked them the key question, which always bothered him. "The love that you are all talking about is mere attraction. And in the attraction phase most people are influenced by the good-boy/good-girl syndrome. They do a lot of things because they are trying to be "nice" to each other. Only when they are married, the reality hits them."

"Oh... cynical as always Chotey! How can you undermine love so badly. Terming it as a "good-boy/good-girl syndrome"." Anjali dimissed him royally.

"Di, I dont mean to undermine love. But I believe, "Love" per se has no meaning if you don't intend to have it for a lifetime. And when people jump from one affair to another, and call it love, it irritates me to no limit." Arnav got into an assertive monologue which pretty much silenced the rest of the family.

"I believe, Love is an emotion. And Marriage a relationship." Arnav continued to put across his opinion. "Love presupposes endearment. But Marriage, in its true meaning, presupposes love, respect and a lifelong commitment to stick together, no matter what. When there is friction, love may change to hate and eventually break-up. But a marriage demands the people involved to be mature. No two people can agree on all the points. But in marriage, the couple need to somehow find a neutral field to let all the aspects of life thrive, without letting the friction take over their lives. During the trying times, Love definitely pulls them back, but the commitment to the marriage and to their respective partners keeps them grounded and stay put together."

"That's why, we see more break ups among people in "love" than divorces."

"Marriage imposes a responsibility towards each other, while granting a right over each other as well." Arnav pointedly looked at Khushi. "Love looks at only the person ahead of you. But Marriage forces you to look at a lifetime together. And in that sense, isn't a marriage different from all other relationships?"

"How so Bhai?!! At the end of the day isn't marriage just about love between a man and a woman?

"Aakash, you keep pointing that I am against love and marriage. But that is not the case. What I am against is this "narrow interpretation of love and marriage" which not only you but most people give."

Aakash's brow creased... not understanding what his Bhai meant by narrow interpretation.

"Look, Marriage is different from every other relationship that we know because it is a converging and expanding relationship while others can choose to diverge, stagnate or end."

"Now you are sounding like one of your power point presentations Chotey." Anjali chided him.

"Ok, let me try and put it in simple words. By converging I mean, coming together of the man and woman in every aspect of life - physical, financial, moral and emotional." The women got extremely uncomfortable with the use of the word "physical" But Arnav was more interested in correcting Khushi's opinion about him.

"In a marriage, two people come together and make an effort to walk together through the events of their life time. I agree to what Khushi said earlier. Love, affection and trust have got to be the fundamental premise in a marriage. But life itself brings lot of challenges and ups and downs. And the couple need come together in every event - enjoy the good and face the bad - together."

"And just because they become a unit on their own, would not mean they have severed all their earlier bonds. They not only create a new family but also hope to walk ahead with their existing family. Marriage entails growth or increase of everything - relationships, responsibilities and life in general."

"And as life progresses into parenthood and oldage, this bond and the trust in each other needs to grow and be stronger, to deal with all aspects of life - like older children, aging parents, their own old age and other facets of life. Basically, the entire process doesn't work even if one of them is missing."

"But in the rest of relationships, as you progress in age, you see a certain distance in the relationships. Siblings mostly take up their own paths as per their personality. And parents loose the context of the life of their children. And friends donot understand the context of life of an individual from a 360 degree point of view.

An individual pretty much treads on his own after a certain point of time.

I am not saying that a spouse and a marriage is the solution to all of this. All I am saying is that a meaningful marriage 'may' get you a spouse who 'may' stand by you during the different phases of life."

"That is exactly the point, isnt it Arnavji?" Khushi asked him agitatedly. "What is the guarantee that you 'may' get a spouse who is willing to stand by you all through your life?"

"What if you eventually feel only tied up in the bond and don't feel the happiness that the marriage needs. A person who does not believe in love and marriage would eventually feel "stuck" in a marriage. And then would leave." Just like her Babuji, she added mentally.

"And it's easy for men. They can choose to walk away from any relationship as and when they choose. But for a girl who has given her 100% she stands to lose everything."

Arnav stilled momentarily at her accusation. He knew she was talking about her father. She was basically asking him the guarantee that he would not walk away from the relationship. How was he to give her that?

"The reality is that, you donot know, beta." Naani intervened and took over the question. Khushi's was agitated to no limit at hearing the word "no".

"Naaniji, then how are you to know that the relationship will not fade away one day? One partner may enter the relationship presuming it is for a lifetime. While the other one has always kept the option of walking out of the relationship anytime he chooses."

Arnav was more than glad that someone came to his rescue while he got some breathing time to put together a response. But he knew Khushi was asking him to arrest her anxiety.

"Khushi bitiya, you are trying to have some assurance about the future, which is fundamentally not possible."

No... no... no... Naani. This isnt how I would have put it. You are scaring her away... Arnav was agitated, but Naani kept continuing... he waited for a moment when Naani would pause and he could take over.

"Tell me bitiya, what is the guarantee that you would stay committed in your marriage?"

Khushi knew she was in the spot light. She shot a look at Arnav. He was staring back at her. Waiting for her response.

Looking him straight in the eye, she said "I can guarantee that."

"How?"

"Because... because... I know myself. I would not walk out of a relationship and leave the person I married." She said confidently.

"Can you prove it?" Naani questioned her sharply.

Khushi looked here and there, thinking how she would prove her commitment to the marriage. Arnavji was hearing all this. And she had to make sure no doubts are seeded in him due to this conversation.

"You cannot bitiya." She heard Naani answer the question herself. "When another person has married you, he would have placed a certain faith in you, based on your character and without seeking any guarantees. In the same way, you should also place that faith in him. And trust me bitiya, when you find the person who appeals to your heart and mind, the trust and the faith develop automatically. These doubts will get quashed the moment you look at him. And every ounce of life in your body will push you to commit to the relationship."

Khushi slowly shifted her eyes from Naaniji to Arnavji. His breath was hastened, and he opened his mouth to say something. But Naaniji continued, softly.

"Bitiya, your question has a basic presumption that "men" are infidel. You are being biased and judgemental. Even women are infidel. Every failed relationship, be it marriage, other family ties or be it friendship, has its own story to tell. No matter how repetitive it may seem, we should not forget that each incident is unique and is a result of the people involved and not a general trend."

As the words poured out of her, Naaniji herself felt a new revelation within her. Hey Devi Maiyya, are these your words or mine?!! She wondered. But continued voicing out her thoughts.

"All you children are either fantasysing or romanticising or philosophysing marriage. I read articles in the newspapaper which talk about "work on your marriage everyday" "keep saying I love you thrice a day, to have a happy wife". Why are you burdening yourself and your partner by giving a "work list" for the survival of marriage? Do you see a child telling his parents "I love you" thrice a day?!! Do you see siblings telling each other "I love you" thrice a day?

Anjali and Aakash looked at each other and giggled. How weird would it be if they did that!!

"Of course not, right? Why is that so?"

"You can separate from your parents and live apart from the rest of the family. But the bond never dies. And that is because, no one intends to severe the bond. Why not treat a marriage on the same pedestal?"

"What you need to understand is that the dynamics of every relationship change overtime. And so is the case with marriage."

"What has surprised me the most is that Chotey has articulated the essence of marriage far better than any of you."

"At my age, after seeing considerable part of life, I can only tell you one thing. Stay connected with your spouse... Mentally... You might disagree, fight, sulk...or anything... But donot loose each other. Fight hard to stay together."

"Then there would be no need to say "I love you" thrice a day!!"

"But Naani," Anjali questioned her grandmother. "What those articles are basically saying is that your spouse may be insecure about the marriage, and therefore you need to assure them."

"Even If it means you have to assure them every day, thrice a day?" Aman asked her shocked.

"Ofcourse!! Why not? Aman, we are all prejudiced due to various incidents in our lives. Some incidents may be harmless, while others might be life changing. The bad incidents create insecurities. And if your partner's emotional health is important for you, then you will repeat your assurance till the time your partner gets it - your partner needs to know that you mean every word of your assurance - by word AND by action. And if it takes 10000 times, across 10 years, then you will do it. You will do it because you "love" the person in the true sense." Anjali's voice rose in excitement and in seriousness.

"Oh Wow... Anju... relax. If it means that much to you... I will definitely say it... every day, thrice a day... like a doctor's prescription."

"Watch Out Jiju. Look what you have signed up for? There is still time to back out..." Aakash poked at Aman.

"Arey... Saaley Sahib...Trust me... I know. And she is worth every bit of it!!!" He pulled her for a side-hug by the shoulder.

"Hello Hi Bye Bye... Kisiki najar na lagey humaarein bachchon pein" Maami gushed looking at the two of them.

The conversation moved on to other topics. Arnav kept stealing glances at Khushi. He knew she would have been disturbed very badly by this entire line of conversation. And he would assure her too. But God damn it, he was just not getting the chance.

"Aman, come let's go." Arnav stood up lie a lamp post out of no where.

"Huh!! Where to?" Aman looked up at him, puzzled.

"Office... Ofcourse. Saaley, today is a working day, have you forgotten!!"

"Chotey, watch your words. He is this house's Damaadji now." Naani reprimanded him.

"Saaaley..." Aman stood up and gripped his friend by the shoulder. "Tu ja. I will be there in an hour. Want to take Anjali out for a coffee."

"Now Naani??!! Wont you say anything to him? Just because he becomes a bloody Damaad, will he get away with murder?" Arnav complained like a child.

"Saaley... "Tu" Saala banne wala hain, mein nahi. Bhool gaya kya?" Aman teased his friend.

"Banney wala hoon na? Bana toh nahi, right? Saaley, dekh loonga tujhe. Come to office." Arnav ribbed his friend, with a smile.

"Khushi... chalo!" Arnav spoke to his next target.

"Arey, Khushiji kyon... Let her stay at home na Chotey!! I havent gotten a chance to speak to her since she has come."

Sure, Why not? And let all of you to mess with her head with your trash talk! Arnav dismissed Anjali mentally.

"Khushi Chalo." He repeated as if Anjali had spoken to deaf ears.

"Hmph... yeh Chotey bhi na!!" Anjali twisted her lips, getting upset with her younger brother.

Khushi went to her room to get her bag. As she stepped back, she heard Naniji

"Chotey, In two days, it is your Amma's barsi. Dont forget to speak to the panditji today." Khushi stilled at her spot. Letting the family have a moment of privacy.

"Naani... It is Mamma's and Papa's barsi. And I had been to visit the panditji, right after the breakfast. And this year onwards, Papa's barsi will be done too." Arnav stated as a matter of fact.

"Not another word Chotey! Naani's voice rose in anger. You do know that in this house, your Papa's name is not to be taken... Performing his barsi is out of question."

"Naani, stop right there... before this conversation turns ugly. Starting this year, I will be doing Papa's barsi as well. Whether anyone in this room likes it or not. And If you have a problem doing it in this house, I will go and do it else where."

Without waiting for her response, Arnav snatched his laptop bag and walked towards the foyer to put on his shoes.

"Chotey... stop walking out on people." Naani shivered in anger, feeling stranded in her seat on the sofa. Her old legs were too slow to compete with the pace of her grandson.

"Naani... it's been so many years. Can't you let go of it." Anjali requested her Naani sweetly. "At the end of the day, he was our Papa. Just for one day in a year, can't you let the past be?" Anjali pleaded sitting on the floor and enveloping her Naani's knees.

"Naahi bitiya. Ask me for anything else... but not this. I cannot forgive that man. Unki galatiyon ki saza kitney log bhughat rahein hain... The two of you and my son's family and your Naanaji... You are all paying the price for his mistakes even today. Ek poora parivaar bikhar gaya. Meri phool si bachchi..." Naani closed her mouth with her palm to control her tears.

"Saasuma... Nothing has happened to anybody... Don't you see? We are all happy the way we are... You should stop saying such things..." Maami held her mother-in-law by the shoulders.

Arnav dashed back into the house, walked towards the hall way and stood in front of Khushi. She was taken aback by his sudden appearance. "Tum chal rahi ho ki nahi?" He spat at her. His face and ears were red with anger. Eyes showing with rage.

"Haa...aan Arnavji." She said unsure of what she was supposed to do at the moment. "How could she step out when the entire family was upset? They would feel awkward in front of an outsider, wont they?"

Arnav pursed his lips, held her by hand and dragged her out of the house.

"Arnavji... Arnavji... yeh kya kar rahein hain aap?!" Khushi looked back at where the rest of them were sitting. The entire family was looking at them. In the few steps that took them from the hallway within, towards the foyer and through the door, she clearly saw their faces change from sorrow, confusion and was it slight disapproval. She couldn't make that out completely. Or was it her guilt pricking her.

"Arnavji, yeh aap kya kar rahein hain. What would everyone be thinking?" She yelled back at him. She saw some neighbours staring at them. Of all the people, she could never imagine the ever stoic Arnavji to create a scene like this.

Arnav was mad with anger. He grit his teeth. Khushi's protest fell on his deaf ears. The more she tried to tug her hand free, the more his fingers sunk in, to get a good grip. Khushi all but ran behind him. As they approached his car, he opened the door and forced her inside. Clipped her seat belt. And that's when he heard her for the first time since they had stepped out of the house.

"Arnavji" Khushi called out to him. Her voice was almost a whisper. Her breath fanned against his ears as he was trying to clip her seat belt. He turned his face to look at her. Their faces very close. Both out of breath due to the recent dash from the house.

"Kyun, now even you have a problem with me?" Arnav spat at her again. Khushi almost missed the sheen of water in his eyes.

"Arnavji!" Khushi's voice held despair. She had no idea what was happening.

Arnav gulped hard. The anger dropped in a second. And Khushi saw sheer helplessness written all over his face. He hung his head down. Couple of strands from his neatly gelled hair were grazing her forehead. Khushi took short bouts of breath, he was way too close...

Arnav sighed hard and withdrew. Closed her door with a bang, went around the car and started to drive.

When she thought things had settled down a bit, she asked him softly "Arnavji... what.."

"Dont... dont ask me anything right now." And just like that, Arnav went back into his shell again. After that he did not speak to her on a personal note through out the day. Munna informed her that ASR had lost it today. The way he was fuming over the staff, someone was sure to get fired. And no, he had not had any food either.

Khushi could feel the atmosphere in the office was tense. It was 5 in the evening and Arnavji was not back from his big conference room. And he had not mailed her even once today. Not even about his lunch. She sighed. What was this thing going on in that house? She was now some what sure that it was about Arnavji's father. She tried to remember when Anjaliji had spoken about her parents. Never! In retrospect, this felt strange. Parents, siblings and family do get mentioned in casual talk among friends. Should she ask Anjaliji or Arnavji...?!

BANG!!!! Suddenly she heard a bang of the door in the adjacent room. Like a frightened mouse, she sat rooted to her seat.

10 minutes passed... No noises. She wondered if she should step out and talk to him.

CRASHHH!!! She heard a crash of mug.

"What the hell is this?!" Arnavji screamed.

She rushed to his cabin. A coffee mug lay broken on the floor, and coffee splashed all over the floor. The peon stood scared in a corner.

Arnav stilled when he saw her. Khushi gave him a stern look.

"Peonji, please get a mop and clean this up." The peon ran away, grateful that he wasn't fired today. Khushi picked up the larger pieces of the coffee mug. Arnav slumped into his chair. It creeked loudly as he sat. Once done she stood up. The peon came in, cleaned up and ran away. Khushi stood in her spot through out the process while Arnav typed into his laptop fuming in anger. His jawline constricted through out the time. After the peon left, Khushi stepped out of Arnav's office and came back within a few minutes with coffee. She silently placed it on his table and walked towards her door. He had neither acknowledged her nor the coffee. She opened her room's door and turned back.

5 seconds, 10 seconds, 15 seconds... She kept staring at Arnav.

Finally, he pushed his laptop back, slid his chair closer to the coffee mug, picked it up and went back to his earlier position. Khushi knew he was going to calm down now. And she would give him the space he needed.

An hour later, she came back, stuck a sticky note on his desk and went back to her work. Arnav noted this from his peripheral vision. He did not deliberately talk to her today. He was too messed up. The events that happened 14 years ago ran in front of his eyes every moment. No one understood what it means to "see all that". No one understood then, no one will understand now. And neither will Khushi. They were his demons. And he would deal with the alone.

Once she left, he picked up the sticky note. Need to talk to you... about work, not urgent. The note read.

He crunched up the note and threw it aside. He was in no state of mind to talk to her now.

Before he knew it, it was 9 PM. And he was dead tired. His anger seemed to have simmered down. Thanks to his work. He took an update about the progress of the Mergers of the three big logistic companies. And the security personnel outside Mallik's factory, and the one following Shyam and the two guards outside Khushi's house gave him a status quo report. No new developments for the day. With no deliveries happening in and out of the warehouse, the factories of Mallik Fashions would have to be shut down in a day or two, till the mess sorted out. And in the middle of all this, there was no way Shyam was going to step out of his office. He would put double the effort in the anticipation of a take over by the European company.

And his own office had made good progress of the new deal they had received. All was well on the professional front. But personal...? Nothing was right... Nothing... Naani, Khushi...

Oh God! Khushi... He didnt see her leave the office. He walked up to the conference room door and opened it in a dash. And there she was, bent over her table. Oh God! She had hardly slept the previous night... and he had paid no attention towards her through out the day.

"Khushi" He shook her slowly by the shoulder. "Khushi, Utho..! Let's go home..." He stopped when he heard himself say "home". Home?! Was it really his home? Is it a home if you didnt have the most normal of the liberties. Like paying his respects to his dead parents - For just One day in 365 days. Naani had her way on all the other days. And for just one day could he not deviate from her approval and perform his father's barsi.

When Khushi opened her eyes, she saw Arnav bent down, closer to her, one hand on her shoulder, but his eyes had phased out. His throat was constricting. The sheen of tears had returned in his eyes.

She covered her hand over his. "Arnavji, kya baat hain?"

suri2610 thumbnail

Arnav came back from his thoughts and looked at her. Composing himself, he said

"Chalo, lets go home." He was about to pull his hand away from her shoulder, but she did not let go of it. She held it more firmly.

"Arnavji... please tell me... what's wrong..."

"Khushi... its late already. Lets go."

"Nahi jaana..."

"Huh?!"

"Because.. because... I need to talk to you... about work." She came up with an excuse.

"Ok, tell me, what do you want to talk about. Quick..., then we are leaving."

Khushi updated him with the day's analysis. How they both had to be careful from being directly implicated. She was still serving her notice period. It would get over in just over two weeks. She asked Arnav about his. Around the same time, he replied casually.

"Nahi Arnavji. I need to make sure of the dates. The report to the authorities should reach only when we are legally out of the company." Arnav sighed, exasperated at her insistence. In the bigger scheme of things, all this did not matter. But right now, she wouldn't understand. He let it be.

Khushi didnt expect their conversation to get over so soon. She chewed on her nails, trying to think of some other reason to stay back.

"Why are you biting your nails? Khana nahi khaya..."

"Nahi... aapney bhi to nahi khaaya na?" She answered innocently.

Arnav sighed hard. What was he to do with this girl? He ordered for food. Once it arrived both of them sat down to serve and eat. Somehow the food today was more appealing. Probably because, after so many years, this was the first time someone had cared to wait up for him and eat by his side. Sometimes, its just nice to have some company... Arnav's disturbed mind started to relax.

By the time it came they ate, chatted a bit and then reached home, it was close to 12.

They drove back in silence. As Arnav stopped his car in the parking lot, Khushi spoke. "Arnavji, do you know what the biggest gift is that we can give to ourselves?"

Arnav looked on, unsure what she was trying to get at.

"Sanity!" She replied. "We are all fighting our private battles Arnavji. And it is normal to be overcome by despair and anger. But we need to not let them cloud our vision and thoughts. I don't even know if what I am saying addresses your problem, but can you step out of the anger and despair and take stock of exactly what's causing it... basically what is it that your heart wants?"

Arnav silently heard her. But did not reply. In a few minutes, they stepped out of the car.

Naaniji, spotted them from her window of their apartment. She had been watching the car, since the time they had parked. She wondered what they had been doing for so long inside the car, instead of heading home directly.

As they stepped inside the house, Khushi stopped, seeing Naaniji in the hall. Arnav had noticed her too. But did not acknowledge Naani. He asked Khushi to go to her room asking her to be ready by 6 AM. And before Naani could say anything, he went to his room and locked the door. The next day, the atomosphere in the house was tense as well. Naani and Chotey were not talking to each other. Khushi's heart was thudding with tension. They got ready and left for office soon.

Towards the evening, Arnav took stock of the situation again. There was no visible change. But Arnav knew how businesses worked. If not anything else, Mallik was a very perceptive man. He would do everything in his power to save his company. Most likely raise a loan first ... What personal collateral would he give... His house... Uh huh that isn't enough to infuse enough money into the company ... What else... What else...Seesh Mahal ?!! May be... There is a fat chance... Because right now it's a crisis and stakes are too high. He located some real estate agents in Lucknow and using Aman's name said he was looking for an old palatial house to convert it to a hotel. And slipped in additional information that he is an NRI and is willing to pay more if he likes the property. He was ok either renting or buying the property.

As he cut the calls to the agents, he thought - If a property like Seesh Mahal were out there in the market, then he would definitely get the information. It was a long shot, but there was nothing to lose by trying.

Seesh Mahal! His mind took him back to the old days. His Childhood home...There was a time when a young Arnav's heart always felt secure, just by looking at his parents exchanging assuring glances every now and then, no matter where they were. Inside the house on a lazy sunday afternoon, or in the middle of a huge family gathering, among tens of people.

He missed all of that... not the house... but the home... his home, his parents..his family...he did not want any "khairat" now. No affections on khairat anymore... No family on khairat anymore... no home on khairat anymore. Enough is enough... ENOUGH!!. He banged the table and ran his hands tightly through his hair. Hiding his face in this arms and elbow.

And suddenly a feeling of relief washed over him. Yes... this is what Khushi was talking about... This is what would give him the sanity and restore his self-esteem.

He had to had to have his own family!

He had to have his own home... no not Seesh Mahal... a home of his own. He would buy a new one, with his own hard earned money.

The house would be his base. No, he was not giving up on his family. But going forward they' would be living with him and not the other way round. Naani would no longer be able to stop him from paying respects to both his parents. And he himself would not live off the reputation of living on the "khairat" of his Maama and Maami. The world would have to change its opinion eventually.

Khushi heard the bang on the table. Fearing that Aranvji was upto something dangerous again, she rushed to the door and opened it ever so silently. Thankfully nothing was broken. But Arnavji was bent over his table, cocooning his face and head with his arms. She leaned on to the wall feeling helpless. What was she to do? What could she do to fix his problem? She had to know what went wrong in the past... only then would she be able to alleviate his pain.

Tears brimmed in her eyes, feeling helpless... seeing him so despaired.

A/n: NEXT CHAPTER COMING RIGHT UP IN THE NEXT POST!!

suri2610 thumbnail

CHAPTER 29

Arnav felt his spirits slowly coming back. It all had to start with having a house of his own. He decided to look it up on some real estate websites. He raised his head and was surprised to see Khushi near the common door. Tears brimming in her eyes.

"Hey... Khushi... kya hua..." He rushed to her and cupped her cheek with one of his hands.

He was worried... in his erratic behaviour did he miss something.. did Shyam do something?

"Khushi... tell me, what's wrong...?"

"I dont know what's wrong... and that is the problem. I cant see you like this.. so distaught, so unhappy... so, so... far away..." Her voice choked in pain.

"Hey... Ssshhh" He gathered her in his arms and she came to him willingly. She had to know he was fine. "Kuch nahi hua mujhe. I am just fine."

"No you are not! Dont lie to me." She spoke into his chest and felt him chuckle a bit. Slightly miffed, that he was hiding his grief from her, she raised her head to look at him, still in his embrace. His eyes hovered over her, with a small lopsided smile adorning his face. He liked this... a lot. She had leaned on him completely, without being shy. And she had crunched up the back of his shirt and was holding it tight. Pulling him towards her.

"Arnavji... come on tell me, what were you thinking just now?"

"A home..."

"Uh?!" She looked on, not sure what he meant.

"You told me yesterday to ask myself "what would keep me sane?"" Khushi nodded remembering their conversation.

"A "Home" Khushi. I want a home."

"But you have one already!"

"U-huh..." he shook his head. "Not that one. A new one. My home."

"A house? You want to buy a house?" Khushi's eyebrows creased. Arnavji can be very weird some times. Just a house would fix all his problems?

Not knowing how to explain the complexity of his thoughts, Arnav just nodded a yes to her.

"Then come on. Let's fix it right away." She went to his desk, took his laptop in one hand and pulled him by the other and took him to the couch in the conference room. Asking him to sit on the couch, she settled herself closer to him. Arnav smiled at her enthusiasm.

She opened a real estate website, and asked him some basic questions

"Achcha boliye, what are you looking for in the house?"

"Ummm let me think. It should have atleast 5 bedrooms. 2 guest bedrooms. 2 kitchens. A mega living room. A pool."

"Uh..." Khushi dropped her jaw down and sucked her breath. 7 bedroom house... 2 kitchens and living room. A pool! A POOL? INSIDE the house? Did he even know how much would it cost to maintain it?

"Aur kuch?!" She made a funny face. "Dont you want a cinema theatre?"

"Not a bad idea. I would love to have a home theater." Arnav put one of his arm behind her resting on the sofa headrest and moved closer.

"Hmm... this is for the family. He pinched his lower lip, thinking hard. And then I would need a study and a conference room, to facilitate working from home."

"And then there should be enough space to expand the house, when the family grows... and a good space for a garden. You know, just enough for the children to play and have fun."

"Children?!" Khushi almost gasped in surprise when she heard it.

"Yep.. children! I mean we dont have to build their rooms right away. I know it would happen a few years after the marriage. But we need to budget for the space, dont you think?"

"Marriage?!" She whispered.

Arnav was so busy conjuring up the design of the house in the mind, he did not see Khushi's pale face beside him. When he did not hear her speak, he turned his face to look at her, and was taken aback.

"Khushi, what's wrong?"

"You... you said.. Marriage... and ... and Children!!" words slipped slowly from her mouth.

Arnav realised what she was hinting at.

He covered his free hand over one of hers on the laptop. "Khushi. Why are you surprised?"

"I thought you didn't believe in love and marriage?"

"When did I say that?"

"Right after Sarita's broken engagement."

Arnav kicked himself. He vaguely remembered saying something to that end.

He heaved a long breath and rubbed his hand gently over hers.

"Khushi... Sometimes we have to put up pretences to build a certain reputation. I am sure you would have done that too..."

She nodded a no. "Arnavji, I dont understand what you are saying..."

"Hmmm..." He sighed again. This was going to be more difficult than he thought. He had to tread carefully and make sure she understood that he was very much into love and marriage, just like any other man. If anything, he regarded it more, because of all the other things he had lost out in his life.

"Khushi, when people say something, it is a mix of a lot of things - their experiences, their perception, their expectations from life, and mostly the phase of life they are currently in. Apart from all these, you also say a few things just to keep up a reputation."

Khushi looked on... thinking he would elaborate more... hopefully, in lay man terms.

"What I am trying to say here is that, you can be your real self, with only a few people. And in my case, it has been so with only one person." He paused and looked her in the eye, indicating it was only her. But her concentration was else where, in trying to decipher the his complicated words.

"Khushi, my family is a set of good people. I don't deny that. But ... But... how shall I put it," he searched for the right words, "they don't get' me. And they have a certain expectation from me. And a few things that happened in the past, has made them prejudiced."

"As a youngster, I tried for a few years to correct it. But over a period of time, I am getting too tired to correct anyone's perception about me." He phased out again, but quickly focused back into what he was supposed to say.

"You are no getting any of this, are you?" Given her blank face, he knew he had to put it in black and white to her.

"Khushi... What I meant to say is that I was lying back then... and have been pretending that I am not into things like love and marriage. But the fact is that I do believe in them."

He looked hard on their entwined fingers. And grazed her fingers gently with his thumb, all the while contemplating how he would put across his intentions in the right way.

Taking a deep breath he started, deciding to tell her the facts of his own transformation.

"Khushi the truth is... 6 months to a year ago, if someone asked me about love and marriage, I would have dismissed them right away. Honestly, I did not visualise what my life would be beyond this phase... this phase of bringing Mallik down."

"But now... ever since... you know... he hesitated... but continued nevertheless... But now, I want a marriage. A marriage in its true sense. A marriage to someone who will be as committed to me as I would be to her."

He shifted his hand which was resting behind her on the sofa. And encircled her around the shoulder.

"And love?!" Khushi asked him to elaborate.

"Khushi, for me love is intrinsic to this marriage. I am not marrying someone random, right? I am marrying someone I want to be married to and with an intention to have a marriage. Do you understand the difference..."

Khushi could not immediately understand how it was different. But she nodded a yes, nevertheless.

"I want a family Khushi. And a lifetime together. Someone who would be mine and to whom I would belong." He pressed on her shoulder firmly.

"For me this relationship is permanent. Just like between parents and children. Nobody can negate or deny that, come what may."

He looked her straight in the eye. Pulling her closer and closer as he spoke.

"And I mean and intend to stay put. For better or for worse - For a lifetime together." He repeated again and again, just to make sure she got the point.

Khushi heard him with rapt attention, all along. She knew it when he had held her by the shoulder and was slowly pulling her closer to himself. Her breath hastened. Her eyes hovered all over his face listening to every word with complete attention.

"Do you believe me Khushi?" He left her hand on the laptop and cupped her face. She was now completely in a side embrace. And their faces only inches apart ... and completely alligned.

When her eyes started to hover here and there... He cupped her face more firmly... forcing her for an eyelock.

"Do you believe me?" He asked her again

Arnav was eagerly waiting for her answer, but it never came. He kept waiting and waiting as the seconds passed. But her response was more worth the wait than any words she would have otherwise used to say a yes.

Khushi looked at him. Her pulse was hitting hard, right under his palm. He knew her breath had hastened visibily. Her bosom heaved in steady gaps. And then... her face changed, from agitated eyes.. they softened ever so slowly... the creased eyebrows relaxed. The creases on the forehead vanished one by one. The rigid lips relaxed. Her breaths came in long and slow.

And then she closed her eyes.

Taking deep breaths, relaxing more and more with each one of them. For the second time in two days, Arnav felt her submitting herself to him. She did not withdraw, but stay put. And Arnav understood that she just wanted to be held. And in his own way he savoured her serene face. His own agitation dropping by the second. His thudding heart, which was waiting eagerly for her response stopped the anticipation. It was just happy being there... bathing in the calmness that was oozing out of her.

He kept looking at her. He had earlier known that she was the one for him. But now he knew that she was the only one who had the power to calm the agitation and havoc raging within him. In all these years of adulthood, which was ridden in bitterness and despise, He had never known what it meant to feel so.. content, complete, wanted and ... trusted.

Khushi looked at his agitated eyes. Do you believe me Khushi? He had asked.

Did she believe him? Did she believe him when he said he wished to marry, despite his own proclamation to the contrary? Did she believe him when he said he would never walk away from a marriage, despite him walking away from her several times? Did she believe him? For her, that shouldn't have been the question. Rather, the real question was, could she believe him?

Khushi was very aware of the one demon within her which would haunt her all her life. And that was her ability to believe and trust people. She seldom trusted anyone. And handing over the reins of her life was unfathomable. But Arnavji... Arnavji was different...

Her mind ran through all the events since they met the first time... Her mind and heart, for the first time spoke in sync - He went away, but he came back. He came back and he apologised. He apologised and assured with his words to be there for her. He assured and backed it up with actions. Frankly today, he had held her more securely than anyone in her life ever had. She had never felt so safe and revered.

And then the question remained about the future. Even if he went away, what would she do? She would be crushed. Just like her Amma. There was no doubt about it. But she would be ever so thankful to him for letting her experience the feeling that she was experiencing at the moment. She knew, right then, only her Arnavji could make her feel so content, complete, wanted and revered.

Slowly but surely, the demons within her started to shrink. She knew they would not go away completely. They would exist all her life. But with Arnavji by her side, there was a possibility that they would not come to the forefront ever again in her life. And the hope of that possibility was just enough for her to hold on to. As her thoughts moved from doubts to stability, she relaxed, her breath more even, easing herself in his embrace.

She opened her eyes and saw him ever so softly. Arnav had never known who had seen him so kindly... yes...yes... two people had done so... a long time ago, his parents...

She believed him... she believed just like a child trusted its mother. And Arnav did not know what had he done to deserve such unconditional faith. But... there still remained a big BUT.. how would she react when she heard about his Papa?

Arnav's calm eyes showed signs of agitation again. And Khushi was disturbed... again. He removed his hand, that was cupping her face and went back to hold her hand again, near the laptop. He dropped his head to look at the entwined hands. He wouldnt be able to look her in the eye while narrating such a shameful event. Squeezing her hand time and again, he spoke softly.

"Khushi, there is something you need to know, before... before..." He left the sentence unfinished... No point in letting her know that he loved her, if this love had no future in the first place.

"Its about my Papa... my Mamma and Papa." The events ran through his eyes again. And some how the pain he had felt as an adolescent, returned now. Khushi saw him pursing his lips, they turned upside down in sadness. He was visualising something. She knew whatever he was remembering must have been very painful... 'coz his lips and chin quivered in pain and the eyes had a sheen of tears. He gulped hard, shut his eyes tight and held her firmly, reliving those horrifying moments.

"Arnavji... Arnavji... bas... enough..." she cupped his face. "You dont have to do this... you dont have to tell me anything.. whatever it is ... it is in the past...please leave it there... Arnavji... listen to me?"

Arnav bent his head... seeking support from her palm. He couldnt do this right now... He knew he had to do it... tell her the truth. But right now, he was too overwhelmed just remembering them.

"Khushi... I need some time... to share everything with you... can you give me that? Please..."

"Arnavji... you dont have to tell me anything..."

"No, no Khushi. I have to. I need to... for my own "sanity". I need to know what you feel, about it... before...before... I ..." He left the sentence unfinished again.

"Ok... ok... Arnavji... If it means so much to you then, alright... Anytime you want to. But right now, can you please calm down...please..."

Arnav withdrew from her, creating some distance between them. And covered his face with his palms, trying to calm down. He heard Khushi speak to him, but her tone was very despondent and resigned.

"Arnavji, nothing that your Papa or Amma might have done, could surpass what my Babuji did. For years, I searched for a closure. And finally when I got it, it was very brutal. I told a thousand things to myself to come to terms with it. But the fact is that, no matter what, we will never come to terms with it. So, just like the dirt in the house, which has been swept and placed at a corner, I have brushed aside those thoughts. It is right there, in front of my eyes, in my thoughts every day, but in reality, I can do nothing about it. For me, this is the new-normal. I would be lying if I were to say "I have made peace with it". Its just that "I am trying to learn to live with it". Hopefully over time, I learn how to."

Arnav heard her. Finally sharing the real truth as to how she dealt with her Babuji's truth. He hated this... where both of them were remembering their bitter past, instead of foreseeing a beautiful future.

Holding her arm, he apologised "Khushi... I am sorry... I shouldn't have brought all this up..." Having been preoccupied with Arnav's anxiety, it never occurred to her that he never asked what she was referring to. Arnav behaved as if he knew the context already.

Khushi, closed her eyes to pull herself together. And suddenly, she stood up... lively and all.

"Chaliye, now we need to go home. Otherwise, Naaniji will make a murgi' out of us."

She giggled and went to put her purse together.

Arnav smiled, a small one. "How do you manage to shift from an ugly mood to a good one in the span of a second?" He asked her, quite amazed at her changed demeanor.

"Arnavji, its something Chutki and I taught ourselves. We've had our share of difficult days, but with Chutki around, there was no chance to brood or feel sad. She has the ability to transform any grave situation to a funny one." Khushi spoke proudly about her little sister.

"You miss her, don't you?"

"I do. More than missing, I am worried about her." Her smile faltered.

"You should talk to her as often as you want?"

"I do talk to her everyday. She and the security guardji outside the house have become very good friends. By the time, Chutki takes the call, he gives me all the antics she has been upto through out the day." Khushi smiled again. She didn't want to bother Arnavji with the truth. Her mother had broken the hell lose. And had been cursing her every wakeful minute of the day.

They stepped out of the building and started to drive towards the house. And all along she continued to narrate some funny incidents of their childhood. Arnav smiled. She was trying so hard to make him happy. It felt nice when someone was going that extra mile, for his and only his sake, just to put a smile on his face.

As they approached the house, Naanji wathced them again from the window. For the third day in the row, they had returned late. What do they think of themselves? And Chotey... After all it is his blood's doing ... Like Father, Like Son. This time, she wouldn't allow it. It is one thing to talk all fancy about love and marriage. While there is no telling what's going on in the minds of these foreign returned. If Chotey has bad intentions towards Khushi bitiya, then she will nip it in the bud. She resolved strongly.

The following day was his parents' barsi. Arnav fetched the Panditji and as they started to make the preparations, he went down to his car and brought a large packet. Everyone inside the house gathered to see what it was. As he tore the wrapper, he eyed his Naani sharply, eyes red with rage, challenging her to stop him.

Everyone gasped as they saw him keep it in the middle of the preparations. It was the enlarged photo frame of both his parents. He brought a sandal flower garland and hung it on both the ends of the photo frame.

"Chotey!!!" Naani bellowed.

"Saasuma... Not now... You come with me ... Lets go inside." Maami took her mother-in-law inside by force. This was not the time for digging up the past.

Khushi saw him pay respects to his parents. Through out the process he was phased out. He looked at no one in particular... and at nothing in particular. Mechanically doing what the panditji asked him to do. Naaniji did not step out of her room. Maamiji and Anjaliji wept in silence every now and then. And Maamaji, Aakashji and Amanji looked on, comforting the ladies. And Khushi had eyes only for her Arnavji. Not one person held his shoulder in assurance. No one supported him. In general, men are expected to hold themselves together. But how was she to tell them, that this boy... this small boy had not moved past his parents' death. He was still stuck 14 years ago.

After the rituals, Aman and Anjali went away to drop the panditji.

"Khushi... chalo. Let's go to office." Arnav instructed Khushi.

"Ji Arnavji." Khushi moved towards her room. The moment she was away from their eyeshot, she heard Naaniji's cold voice addressing Arnavji.

"Aaj kitne bajey aane ka socha hain Chotey?"

suri2610 thumbnail

Arnav shot a sharp look at Naani. But did not talk.

"Chotey, hum aapse kuch poochat rahe. It is bad enough that 'you' have no respect for social norms. But now you are tagging along Khushi bitiya too?"

"Naani, we are not going away to party... We go for work."

"Chotey, I hear this everyday. But you need to understand that Khushi bitiya is a girl. And a good sanskaari girl from what I see. And I hear from Anjali bitiya that her father is no more. Do you realize how much her mother must have struggled to bring her up?"

Arnav hung his head down. His anger was raising by the minute. It was one thing to attack him. But there was no way he was going to let his Naani point fingers at Khushi.

"Kal ko oonch-neench ho gayi toh?" Naani continued. "Both of you are young. And every relationship has a daayara and maryada (boundaries and respectability)."

Naaniji's voice was raising slowly. Feeling scared and guilty Khushi slowly walked up to her room's door. She heard Naaniji continue angrily.

"Agar samaaj mein Khushi bitiya ke samman ko tthes pohonche, toh kaun uski zimmedaari lega? Aap? I don't think I have to remind 'you' of all people Chotey! Once a person's reputation is tarnished it can never be set right."

Something shifted in Chotey's eyes and for the nth time Naani was disappointed with herself. Of all the people, she had turned out to be the one who reminded the two children of their bitter past and despicable father.

"Naani..." Arnav warned her slightly asking her to stop her trail of talk right there. But Naaniji had had enough today. She went on.

"Khushi bitiya is here temporarily. Till then it is our responsibility to make sure Her respectability is intact. You and your ways are just like..."

"Enough Naani!!"

"Let me make this very clear..." His jawline constricted in anger. "Khushi and I are currently working on an important project. And things are going to be like this for some time now."

"Par..." Naani interrupted.

"Lemme finish Naani!!!!" He tried to keep his tone as polite as his raising temper could manage. "Khushi is as much part of this home now as we all are. And trust me, if anyone raises as much as a finger pointing her samman and respectability, then I am the one with whom they will have to deal with. And to answer your question 'Haan, absey Khushi ki zimmedaari meri hain. I am responsible and I am taking the responsibility for anything that would happen in her life. I will stand by her come what may!"

Maami gasped in surprise and Aakash couldn't be more proud of his older brother. When his mother moved to say something, he held her back, stopping her from talking.

"Chotey do you understand how serious that statement is?" Naani shot back at him.

"I am totally aware of what I am saying. And given your experience I believe you understand it completely too."

Khushi gasped in surprise. Did Arnavji actually say what he just said? That too in front of his elders... Does it mean... does he...? She didn't want to acknowledge the truth to herself before he said it, in so many words.

"And have some faith in your own judgement Naani. Every man would have built his reputation with lot of effort. And when one event questions his entire credibility then aren't we supposed to question that event in the first place?"

"Aakhir mein aapka khoon bolney laga, Chotey." Naani mocked at him. "Aapne Papa ki wakalat mat kariye. Everyone knows very well exactly what happened."

"I have nothing more to say Naani." Arnav saw no point in revealing the truth. His Naani would only think that he is covering up for his father. "You only know what happened. But no one cared to understand the how's and the why's."

"Bas kariye Chotey!!!" Nani didn't like the fact that Chotey was turning the finger back at her.

"Naani! I don't know if you have the faith in me. After all I AM my father's son." Arnav's voice carried a sense of hopelessness. Khushi's heart wept. What pleasure was Naani getting by targeting this boy, who had done nothing? He was only working and working... all the time. She heard him continue.

"I am very well aware of the boundaries and respectability that you are talking about. And I personally honour each one of them. And at least I will not be the one to err." He softened his stance having lost the battle. His own Naani questioned his integrity. Will Khushi understand the circumstances and not judge him on the basis of the past?

Naani felt her legs giving away. She could face her grandson who fought with her. But for the first time, he had given up. As if, the child finally said "Enough is Enough!". She was only trying to correct him. She had nothing against him or Khushi bitiya. It was better if a family member stopped him before an outsider pointed fingers at them, wasn't it? His father's reputation would and does have a bearing on him even today. It's a baggage that Chotey has to carry all his life.

She dragged her old legs to the sofa. And Arnav went silent all of a sudden and went into his room. Just as he was about to enter, he stilled for a moment. From his peripheral vision, he realised Khushi was standing at the entrance of her room. Without making an eye contact, he went inside his room. He was out in a few minutes, dressed for office. He wore his shoes and left, without a word. The entire house felt hollow without him.

"Are you happy now Saasuma?" Surprisingly, it was Maami who broke the harsh silence of the house. Despise was dripping out of her demeanour.

"Are you done or shall I call Arnao bitwa back, so that he can offer himself to be badgered and broken some more?"

"Manno?!" Maamaji called out to his wife hoping she would stop.

"Wont you leave that boy till he is dead Saasuma?"

"Manorama!..."

"Manno... You are crossing your limits." Maamaji warned her to watch her words.

"What wrong did Arnao bitwa say, Manoharji?" Maamaji was slightly taken aback when he was addressed by his name by his own wife.

"And you are asking me to check my limits Manoharj? Not once in these 14 years have you stopped your mother from badgering Arnao bitwa. Does she even know what that boy must be going through? Do you even know what that boy has seen? As his elders and guardians, we have failed him in every walk of life, Manoharji. Right from the very incident which has broken that boy."

Manorama's eyes whelmed in tears.

"Manno, why do you think that? We have tried our best to provide both Arnao and Anjali bitiya, with whatever we have."

"Nahi ji, I am not talking about the materialistic things. It never bothered them. It is their emotional status. With Anjali bitiya, we atleast knew what was bothering her. And we have been with her every time this samaaj has treated her badly. But the most neglected has been Arnao bitwa."

"Did anyone of you know that most likely Arnao Bitwa has witnessed the scene when Didi and Jijaji shot themselves in the head." Maamiji went on to reveal a horrific truth.

"Uhhh!!! What are you saying Manorama?" Naaniji and Maamaji chorused.

"Even I came to know about it recently, when I met their old housemaid in Lucknow, just 2 months ago."

"But Manno, I thought that the culprit was Jijaji's younger brother. I was the first to reach the study. And as I approached, I saw Jijaji's younger brother sneak out, with an envelope in his hand. But I didn't see Arnao bitwa or any housemaid there. May be she just concocted some story just to be melo-dramatic about it. Don't you think Arnao bitwa would have shared this big an information with us. He was a small boy of just 13 years. I don't think he could have held such a big thing to himself."

"But Papa, Aakash intervened. Bhai used to wake up every night due to nightmares. And when I called for you, he would shut me up and warn me not to inform any of you." I have seen him get the nightmares, just before going to Harvard as well. "I am not sure, if he has overcome the fear of his parents' deaths." Aakash was worried for his Bhai now.

"No no Aakash bitwa. He must have been missing his parents. That's all. Don't you worry about Arnao Bitwa. He is a Sher, a Lion."

"But Munna, did you confront Damaadji's brother?" Naani asked her son.

"I did ask him Amma, soon after the police took away the bodies. But he denied it point blank. Thinking back, I think that was the reason he asked us all to move out of the house the same night." He took control on Anjali Bitiya and Arnao bitwa after that.

"But you never shared this information with any of us Munna." Naani pointed out to her son.

"How could I Amma? Babuji fell ill, immediately after the deaths. We all got busy in looking after him. And then Anjali bitiya and Arnao bitwa came over. Our family increased and with added expenses, I had no time to think through the various incidents. With Babuji's eventual death in 6 months, I was disturbed extremely. And that issue slipped my mind altogether."

"I know bitwa. They were really trying times. Your father could not digest the fact that his daughter's life was ruined by her own husband. No father can take it, if it turns out that his Damaad is an infidel, cheating his wife right under her nose. Just because of one man's vile habit, we all suffered. Within a span of 6 months, I lost my daughter AND husband. And added to that, her children got dumped on you. All these years, I don't know for whom I have been more sad about. You or the two kids. And this samaaj, it does not let us live in peace either."

"Saasuma, atleast now, can you spare the children. More than the samaaj, it is your bitter words that we are not able to digest. Please spare us. I beg of you." Maami joined both of her hands on her head, begging her mother-in-law to not nag the children.

It was difficult to say whether Naani felt insulted or hurt by Maami's words. But heart of heart she knew that she had been very unkind and harsh to the children, especially Chotey! No matter how justified she felt for her behaviour, she began to realise that being the eldest of the house, she should have taken the responsibility of protecting the children from any bad from the outside world. Instead, she joined the outside world to taunt the children. Devi Maiyya, would I ever be able to redeem myself?

All of a sudden Maamiji declared. "I am going to Devi Maiyya temple now, Aakash bitwa, can you take me there?"

"Okay Ma. Come." Aakash left with his mother.

Naani raised herself and walked to her room. Maamaji supported and took her inside.

Khushi stayed away from their eyeshot, hidden behind the door of her room.

She slowly slid down the wall, clutching her heart. It was pounding with anxiety. Maamaji was wrong. Arnavji had indeed witnessed his parents killing themselves. She had seen it in his eyes. Yesterday night. Oh Devi Maiyya, He was visualising that incident, wasn't he? Is this what he was trying to tell me all along? An incident he had never shared with anyone till now. Not even his Di! If she had known, then every one in the family would have definitely known about it.

Khushi shuddered, putting herself in the position of a young Arnav. It was unfathomable to visualise a scene where one second you are looking at your parents, and the next moment, their heads are blown apart.

Khushi shut her eyes. "Arnavji... Arnavji..." She had to see him... Was he ok? Its his parents barsi. And with Naaniji's unkind words... Devi Maiyya... Don't let him do anything untoward...Devi Maiyya... Raksha Karna... Devi Maiiya Raksha Karna...

She just ran out of the house. Her bag was already around her shoulders. She pressed the lift button. She waited eagerly for it to open, chanting Devi Maiyya's name all along. The apartment complex was big and the walk to the main gate was quite a lot. But she ran towards it. The ground was scorching hot due to the afternoon sun. She had forgotten to wear her sandals. But it did not bother her. She had to see Arnavji... Right now... Devi Maiyya... Please make sure he is alright...

As she reached the main road, there were no taxis or autorickshaw's available. The security guard said that she will have to walk up to the main road...and may be little further ahead. She continued with her search. Sweating her way through the roads. When no auto was visible, she realised, she should have called him. Atleast she would know he was safe. But no STD booth anywhere. She continued to walk... wondering if she should ask someone for their mobile.

Just then she spotted an auto. The driver was having tea. She ran up to him.

"Suniye... emergency hain... Please chaliye."

"No... no madamji. I am on lunch break."

"Suniye Bhaiyya... I will give you twice the meter. Please chaliye."

"Three times?" The auto driver bargained.

"Ok done... but drive soon..." She pleaded. As she boarded the auto, she asked for his mobile. He refused to give, thinking she might misuse.

Khushi was only praying that they should reach sooner. But in the greed for money, the auto driver took her by a circumvented route. He realised very quickly that his passenger did not know the route.

After a full two hours, she reached the office. She threw the money at the driver, without even taking the change. Asked the security guard if Arnavji was still in the office. When he said a yes, Khushi finally breathed. But she had to see him... She all but ran to the lift. The few seconds that the lift took her upstairs, were sheer torture. Without bothering about the staff on the floor, she ran up to his desk, it was empty. She ran to the big conference room. Amanji was running a meeting. Her hair and clothes were dishevelled because of the auto drive and the running. No Arnavji was not there either. And no Amanji had not seen Arnavji as he had arrived just one hour ago.

Khushi shut the door, she went to the floor, looking for him. May be he was talking to someone. Munna told her that he had not stepped out of his room since the time he came. That was almost 3 hours ago. He was not in his cabin... Which means... he must be in the small conference room... Her room... Khushi looked up towards his glass cabin from below. Dread filling her heart again. Devi Maiyya... Don't let anything happen to Arnavji... I beg of you Devi Maiyya... Don't let anything happen to him... She took slow steps up to his cabin... clutching the strap of her bag, as if her life... rather Arnavji's life depended on it.

With nervous hands, she opened the door to her room, fearing what she might find there. The room was dark. It took her a few seconds to adjust to the dark room. The room was lit only by the open door. She recognised the silhouette standing by the window, near the sofa. She pressed the switch beside the door. The illuminating lights confirmed that it was indeed Arnavji.

Life was revived in her soul.

He turned towards her, but his face was bare of any feelings.

Dropping her bag on the floor, she ran to him... climbed up the sofa. And took him in a strong embrace, as if trying to keep him safe within her bosom.

Arnav did not know what was happening, when she took him into a bone crushing hug. But he surrendered himself to her, as she kissed him infinitely all over the face.

He was almost loosing hope that she would return... Aakash had called him up, an hour ago.

Flash back - An hour ago (when Khushi was on her way to the office)

"Bhai, Is Khushiji at office?"

"No Aakash. She didn't come with me..."

"But Bhai... I don't see her anywhere here."

"She must be there somewhere Aakash. Call for her. She will come out."

"Bhai, I have looked everywhere. The thing is, actually... Ummm..." Aakash contemplated if he should let Bhai know about it.

"What is it Aakash?" Arnav asked irritated. People should learn to make up their mind quickly.

"I think Khushiji over heard Daadi, Ma and Papa talking. They were... You know... talking about...about Bua and Phuphaji... And unlike normal times, today they discussed about it very elaborately...And I think there is a fat chance that Khushiji has overheard the entire conversation..."

Arnav's breath paced up in tension...Holding the mobile in one hand, he placed the other hand on his forehead.

"Do you know when she left Aakash..."

"Atleas 45 minutes to an hour. I have been searching for her since then...I had gone to drop Ma in Devi Maiyya temple. And when I came back, Khushiji wasn't there in the house. Wondering where she might have gone, I have almost searched the entire complex. She is not here, Bhai."

Aakash heard his Bhai sigh heavily on the other side.

"Bhai... lets wait and see.. may be I am just worrying unnecessarily. And bothering you too. ...may be she has gone to someplace we don't know about. I am sure she will get in touch with one of us ... Call me if you hear from her..."

"Ok Aakash." Arnav cut the call. How was he to tell his younger brother that Khushi knew no one in Delhi, other than them.

For the second time in the day, Arnav felt he had lost the battle...again...

Such a sensitive issue... He hoped that if it was put across appropriately... Khushi would come around... And understand him...See him without being judgemental.

It shouldn't have taken more than 45 mins from his house to the office. Say a max of an hour...He moved to her room, with his laptop. Just to feel her. As the clock ticked, his hopes started to dwindle down. Close to two hours since she had left the house... She should have definitely been here by now... Which only means she was taking some time off to digest the matter...

His phone pinged, giving an alert of an email... The subject reading "Buy Seesh Mahal"

He logged into his laptop, warily, just to keep himself occupied, and opened the attachment of the email...

He was seeing it after 14 long years... Somehow the lights in the room seemed too bright...Quite contrary to the house he was seeing and his own life at the moment... He was almost sure that when Khushi meets him next, there will be a certain distance between them. It would be awkward for a while... Before she would find a legitimate excuse to go away.

He switched off the light and moved to the window by the sofa. The light outside the window continued to illuminate the room. He walked to the window and drew the curtains close. And he stood there, with his head hung down, hands dug deep inside his pockets. Feeling hopeless and empty.

suri2610 thumbnail

Just then, he thought he heard the door open. He had no energy to interact with anyone today. He knew he didn't have the luxury to say no to work. He was neck deep in his commitments. But just for the moment, he wished he was left alone.

The person entering did not speak... And switched on the lights instead... He turned and stood frozen at his place.

It was Khushi... Was it really her? Yes... Yes... It is Khushi.

He stood rooted in his position. Some how, this time, he didn't want to take the prerogative in approaching her. Frankly, he didn't know what to make of her presence. Was she here normally or had she begun to dislike him or did she understand... Questions lingered in his mind... Because she stood there... drained... heavily perspiring... breathing heavily... As if she had no energy left in her any more... Her bag slid from her shoulders as if her frail arms had no energy to hold on to it ... And then... then, she all but ran... Climbed up the sofa beside him and lunged on to him... and took him in a bone crushing hug... then kissed on his ears... on his cheeks... all over the face...and hugged... and kissed again...and hugged...tighter and tighter... Cradling him between her arms... her one hand always on his head... Cocooning his head safely in her bosom.

He always thought that he would feel the happiness of the world, if she accepted him along with his past. How wrong was he!! Finally here was the person, who knew his past and his real' present and his real' self. His own spirits gave away, asking him to finally let himself loose... to grieve... to grieve for what happened back then, for his parents... for his family... and most of all to grieve for himself...In all of the 14 years, his eyes brimmed with tears very rarely... and tears must have dropped in the rarest of the rare cases. But he had trained himself to be hard and harsh. To not become vulnerable. But today, cradled in her bosom he wanted to let loose his fears. He lifted his hand and wrapped them around her waist. And slowly lifted his face up and looked at her. His lips turned upside down. Eyes brimmed with tears... and this time, they trickled down...drop after drop...right into her palms, which were cupping his face.

Look Khushi... Look what happened... his eyes silently essayed his pain. What am I supposed to do Khushi... Even after so many years, I still haven't figured out how to deal with it... Help me...Help me Khushi... Help me please, to come to terms with it...

Khushi saw this small boy, clinging on to her, scared...clueless... Silent tears streamed down his eyes, letting out the fatigue of a tired soul...

"Shhh... Shhh... Arnavji..." She kept wiping his trickling tears with her thumb even as the fresh set followed...

She softly kissed the tears away... and Arnav received her caress silently... He needed this... To share his pain with someone who empathised. Someone who understood exactly how it felt. He wasn't even sure how much of the details she knew. Most likely not the gory and scary ones. No one knew about it. He had not shared with anyone till today. But it was enough...for now, it was enough that she knew of his past, the way the world knew. He might share the entire incident, but definitely another time. Because, he was not ready... yet.

Khushi embraced him close to her bosom...Reassuring and sharing his pain him as much as she could. Asking him to let it all go.

And Arnav could hold it no longer... He held her tightly... as the incidents of the past ran through his eyes again...

Flashback

It was the eve of Di's wedding. Mamma had tears in her eyes. Mehendi was getting adorned on the hands of her sweet little daughter. She was remembering how tiny her little Anjali was when she was born. All of a sudden, with an urge to look at Anjali's childhood photos, she walked up towards their study.

"Di, now wait till Mamma shows off all your photos as a baby. I am going to steal one and show it to Jiju as well." Little Arnav teased his sister.

"Chotey... Khabardaar... Mamma... stop, don't get the photos... Chotey... if you do anything of the kind, then no sweets for you in the entire wedding..."

"Ha!! You fool... How are you going to stop me... You are not even allowed to move anywhere...And do you want to know the truth? I have ordered all my favourite sweets... twice the quantity..." He wriggled his eyebrows naughtily. "Tum ko ek ek mithai dikha dikhaake khaunga (I will show you each and every sweet and gobble it up)."

Arnav chuckled heartily looking at his sister's sulking face and turned around to look for his Mom. She should have been back by now. In a minute or so, Susheela returned, with an envelope in her hand. She walked straight to her husband. Arnav smiled. Mamma had to interact with Papa every now and then. Or else, how would they spend the next 15 minutes. He walked up towards his parents... He was on a teasing spree, why spare his parents? His walk slowed down, when he saw his mother had tears in her eyes and was very anxious while talking to his father. Vasanth Mallik opened the envelope that his wife had given him. As he opened to see the contents, his face transformed from a smile to worry to shock.

When Susheela did not hear any response or negation from her husband, she ran back to the study...

"Susheela ... Susheela... Wait.. Wait..." Vasanth called after her.

Worried Arnav followed them behind. The door of the study was ajar. And little Arnav peeped in.

A housemaid was cleaning up the hallway close by.

"Chotey Sahib, it's not nice to peep into the room, when your parents are talking... Give them some lone time, will you?" The maid giggled, wondering what her Saheb and Memsaab were up to. The entire town knew how much they loved each other.

But Arnav went on to see what he had never seen before. His parents were arguing. His mother brandished the envelope in front of his father, weeping and yelling all the while.

His father was trying hard to calm her down, giving his own explanations in between. And then, his mother slopped down on the floor, sobbing and wailing.

The house maid heard the loud voices, but given her distance away from the room, she was not able to hear the conversation clearly. But wondered if it would be right for her to interfere. It was may be something related to the ladke waaley. May be they had asked for more dahej in the last minute. But Sahib was very rich. He would figure it out.

And all of a sudden, his mother stood up, picked the rifle from the wall and BANG!!!!

"MAAA!!!!!"

"SUSHEELAAA!!!"

BANG!!!!!

Arnav froze. Tears brimmed in his eyes, but the shock was too much for them to flow out. They stilled in his eyes, turning them blood red, mirroring the colour he was witnessing right now.

The maid ran to the door and saw something red splashed all over. And there lay two people... with heads smashed beyond recognition.

It took her a few seconds to realize what had happened. And she covered Arnav's eyes and pulled him away from the scene.

End of Flash back

Arnav continued to hold her tighter and tighter. Khushi remembered that day, when Arnavji was at her door step. He had held her hand continuously, till the time they reached Delhi. She knew back then that he was seeking some kind of support from her... If only, if only she knew... She pulled him into further embrace...stroking his hair, his face securely resting on her bosom.

She would hold him as long as it takes...till the time Arnavji can pull himself out of it...

And just like that, the two stood in a long embrace... she on the sofa and he cocooned within her slender arms.

Devi Maiyya watched them from the heavens, loathing herself once again. When the ultimate God had created this complex-webbed world, he hadn't planned how he would control the rippling effect of one incident on the other souls immediately concerned with it. Her heart wept every time an innocent soul succumbed to the cruelties of the world for no fault of theirs. And she tried her very best to correct the wrong. On rare occasions, like this, she was able to get it right. And today a tiny part of her heart healed. When one battered soul met the right one who could heal it.

A/n: So, how was it... I am really anxious to know how you felt... Please COMMENT or hit the LIKE BUTTON.

I have lots to tell you all. But had to put the updates up first. Will put in a note some time later. The note will cover my own thoughts about a few things narrated in the update and some loose ends in the chapters. This update did not have much about Mallik. That's going to be covered in the next and further updates.

Very eager to hear from you

And take very good care of yourself... and always be in pursuit of happiness!

And thank you all for having me in your thoughts. It kept me going!! Thankyou!! šŸ¤—

Lots of Love šŸ¤—

-Suri

Edited by suri2610 - 9 years ago
aspatel2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Really Nice Updates. I loved how there is understanding between Arnav and Khushi. I can't wait for the next update. Please continue soon.