19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Yeh nach tha bada aasaan!

< content=09/22/2007 name=date>
Back to Section Stories Posted On Saturday, September 22, 2007

Anil Thakraney

NACH BALIYE

Rating: * *

I have always been a big fan of Nach Baliye. Mainly because the show is a homegrown idea, unlike other reality shows which are photocopies of the western originals. And because it is a dance competition, one is guaranteed high energy levels and fewer dull moments (the latter come in plentiful in the singing contests).

As the show begins its third season, the expectations are therefore high. And the theme this year is 'Yeh Nach Nahin Aasaan', which promises new challenges for the contestants. However, what immediately works against Nach Baliye 3 are the jodis they have hitched together. The names don't send the pulse racing, and some of the performers sound quite dubious. Like Shakti Kapoor (if you want to see him dance, you really need a life, bro.). Then there's the over-used Rakhi Sawant, who's done just about everything possible on Indian television except interview Osama bin Laden. She's best suited these days for hanging out with housewives and cribbing about uncollected kachra. Shweta Keswani is a soap has-been, Karan Patel is a name that means nothing to me, Kashmira Shah should only 'act' in Bigg Boss, and quite honestly, Pooja Bedi should retire gracefully into mum hood.

To be fair to the channel however, perhaps they just couldn't find enough exciting couples from showbiz who would say yes to such a show.

Which explains why the producers are keen to make the moves tougher… if the excitement isn't going to come from talent and personality, it better come through kinky dance steps.

However, the dances in the first episode packed in none of the promised challenges. They were ordinary, routine, thakela steps, making the show a damp squib. I was expecting some really kick-arse items, like dancing on banana peels, or shattered glass or even marbles, hopefully they will arrive as the show progresses.

Worse, hosts Hussain and Tina look like they'd rather be elsewhere. However, special guests Salman and Govinda with their hilarious sense of humour and dance steps saved the day. Hopefully, the contestants will deliver soon. As of right now, it's all too boringly aasaan. And tacky.

< = src="tools/ratingsys.js" =text/>
Rate Me...
Mail this Article Print this Article
BACK TO SECTION STORIES
Your Comments

knumnum thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Which bavakoof wrote this article yaaar 😡

I dont agree with this reporter at alll.... The performances were really gud and some were flawless....We shud have asked this reporter to negotiate with the "so called" hit jodies 😡

Cant they see how much the couples are putting both their hardwork and time in this [I know they are getting paid, but hard work is a hard work, all those cramps, muscle tear].......

And who said tat Karan is not popular, come on he is coming as a lead in a prime time and tat too on a national channel and these guys saying tat he is not popular....

Wat do they expect??? Rajeev-amna or Eijaz-Anita??? We wud have gotten a nice entertainment if they are also there but its not channel's mistake if the pairs want to keep their relation personal 😆

Thanks for the article yaar

Krishi
white star thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
wooohhh wat a article 😡 n knumnum i totally agree wid wat u said
shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Post articles related to Nach Baliye 3 in the sticky topic provided for discussing Karan Amita in Nach Baliye 3. Whenever you post any article provide link to it. Below is link to the topic.

Karan Amita Zone-NB3 Discussion

Thank You,

Kasturi Dev. Team