The Women of Begusarai: Jeena De!

clarity thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Hi everyone! πŸ˜ƒ

This is my first post in this forum. Begusarai is a very gripping show that currently has me ensnared. I love the tight story telling and its freshness. I love that Begusarai is a show that doesn't follow the trite characterisation we see on most TV shows.

Begusarai tells us that there are some lines which should not be crossed and then promptly proceeds to cross them. πŸ˜‰So often, TV only has characters that are either angelic or downright devilish. Few of them tend to be human. I like that Begusarai shows that sometimes, good people can be bad and bad people can also have some good in them. πŸ‘πŸ‘

Continuing on this line, I wanted to talk about the Women of Begusarai.

In a land of ghunghats and guns, the women of Begusarai live a dreary life indeed, where their individual identity counts for nothing and their place in society is dictated by what their closest male relative does. If you are born in the house of the Thakurs, be prepared to live like a bird in a guilded cage and if you are born in some lowly mud house, be prepared to live like the dust under one's feet.

How the Women of Begusarai will chart their own paths intrigues me. I wanna see how their characters develop and how they learn to fight their battles in the highly patriarchal war zone that is Begusarai. Here's what I think of them so far:

Bindiya: Undoubtedly, she is one of my favourites. I am SO happy there is finally a female character on TV who is grey. Otherwise, women are pigeonholed into either VAMPS or the VIRTUOUS WOMAN. They can only be the Bahu or excuse my language, a bitch. πŸ˜› I am rooting hard for Bindiya and really enjoy seeing her trouble these Thakurs. They need to be brought down a notch or too. My hope for her is that the CVs can turn her into a villain, but not a vamp. They have a powerhouse like Shweta Tiwari playing Bindiya, so they shouldn't waste her talents.

Poonam: Priyom hit the nail right on the head when he compared Poonam to a bird trapped in a cage. Even while having material comforts, Poonam was just existing and not living. Her every breath was a fearful one, and she lived in fear of her to be husband- Lakhan. Her every timid footstep and bowed head told us a story of a girl who had already given up hope and surrendered to vagaries. She was living a hopeless life where she was only a lamb to be devoured by the lion. Now however, a new gust of wind has breathed life into her. The same Poonam who used to lie lifeless in her cage is now alive with happiness. Yes, she has started living. I want Poonam to have a life where she fulfills her dreams and does something with her talent. I don't care much for her love story, since I don't think there is someone for her, yet.

Maya: Priyom's analogy is fit for Maya too. Maya is the precious mynah that gets a guilded gold cage to sit in, albeit without any freedom. It seems like a Durga is lying dormant inside of her and Mithlesh's needling will mean that the Durga inside of her will someday come out. Maya is someone who is allowed to have needs but not wants. She has a husband who thinks the only place a woman can occupy is behind her husband. She has tolerate to tolerate his infidelity and smile through it for her children. Maya is treasured because of what she represents for the Thakurs and not who she is- she is their 'honour', but her personality, her likes and dislikes do not matter for them.

Guddi: We haven't seen much of her, but her position is similar to Maya's. She is the Thakur's 'izzat', but how much do care about her happiness and her wishes? What does she want? It will be interesting to see how the CVs take her forward.

Badi Amma: She is the puppet master who runs things from behind the show. With an astute brain and great wiles, she is the strength of the Thakurs and Phoolan's guiding hand. Badi Amma clearly doesn't take shit from anyone and thankfully, unlike many of the Thakurs, seems to have a moral compass. She might just be the ace that brings about the liberation of the Begusarai women.

What say, guys?

😊

Shruti21 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Nice post girl.πŸ‘ Well analysed. Anyways welcome to this forum.. hope to see you more often..😊

I will come back to comment in detail later. By thn I hope to read Ri's comment as well..😊

---
Bindiya- Shewta tiwari is apt for the role. She is not a villain yet, a grey shade character which will turn into villain in future for sure. It's quite refreshing though to have a female as the main villain. We had shyam, Niranjan agnihotri etc etc but Bindiya rani is first.πŸ˜† I am waiting to see to what extent she will go to become the begum of begusarai.

Poonam- Till last to last episode she was a cocoon, now she has changed into a butterfly. I guess this explains all..

Guddi- Though she hasn't played any major role yet but I hope Cv's have some strong story for her. I really want to see thakur girl in action. It will be fun if the war is guddi vs bindiya. though it won't happen..πŸ˜›

Badi Amma/Dadiji- Well this lady is the backbone of Thakur's clan. A body can't stand straight without backbone, she plays the same role.

I am wondering which lady will first to suspect bindiya.. I am voting for dadi..πŸ˜† that lady has a sharp mind. Kehte hai na bhudhon ko woh dikhta jo hume nahi.. unki nazar se bachna asaan na hoga bindiya k liye,,,πŸ˜†
Edited by Shruti21 - 10 years ago
sandiab thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Excellent post Apu love it. For me the 2 most interesting female characters are amma and bindiya. Amma u can see she is steel, she is the power behind the power she represents woman who learnt to adapt to a man's world bt know their power, know their strength and know hw to use their situation for their benefit. Unfortunately I haven't watched the beginning of the show and a lot of her scenes bt she did remind me of those woman who would oppress other woman if they got in the way of the men in power. Bt as said I only watched 1 or 2 scenes of her. And than there is Bindiya she is a total femma fatale she is sexy, expressive, devilish and she is so much fun to watch. shwete's acting is just making u want to watch this character more and more and u want her to be pivotal to the storyline u do not want her to be a side character or 2nd lead bt the lead. This show because of how regressive and dark it is I am hoping that they dnt skim the surface of these character and just show us a grey and white character. There are ppl like these characters and for me every1 is grey expect for poonam kumari. Bt I am hoping the Queen Bindiya is the ultimate queen in this show and I want a deeper track of her than what they have shown.
clarity thumbnail

Originally posted by: sandiab

Excellent post Apu love it. For me the 2 most interesting female characters are amma and bindiya. Amma u can see she is steel, she is the power behind the power she represents woman who learnt to adapt to a man's world bt know their power, know their strength and know hw to use their situation for their benefit. Unfortunately I haven't watched the beginning of the show and a lot of her scenes bt she did remind me of those woman who would oppress other woman if they got in the way of the men in power. Bt as said I only watched 1 or 2 scenes of her. And than there is Bindiya she is a total femma fatale she is sexy, expressive, devilish and she is so much fun to watch. shwete's acting is just making u want to watch this character more and more and u want her to be pivotal to the storyline u do not want her to be a side character or 2nd lead bt the lead. This show because of how regressive and dark it is I am hoping that they dnt skim the surface of these character and just show us a grey and white character. There are ppl like these characters and for me every1 is grey expect for poonam kumari. Bt I am hoping the Queen Bindiya is the ultimate queen in this show and I want a deeper track of her than what they have shown.

Loved your analysis, Sandi.

Yup, Bindiya Rani is the star of the show,for me. As u said, she is a total diva and femme fatale. Wanna watch how she brings the Thakurs to their knees. I also would love to see her reign as the ultimate queen. That would be one wild ride. πŸ˜‰ you said it,she is sexy and smart- the devil who tempts you to the dark side.

As for Badi Amma, she is a homage to the adage- "if you can't beat them,join them". She has adapted to her surroundings. I think she will be someone who will side with what she believes is just. She is a great judge of character as she has caught on to what Bindiya is like despite someone like Phoolan being fooled. She is a wise soul. I think she will definitely be the light at the end of the tunnel for Maya and Poonam, not so much for Bindiya.
clarity thumbnail

Originally posted by: Shruti21

Nice post girl.πŸ‘ Well analysed. Anyways welcome to this forum.. hope to see you more often..😊

I will come back to comment in detail later. By thn I hope to read Ri's comment as well..😊

Thanks a lot.πŸ˜ƒ I will have loads of fun on this forum, for sure.😳

Do chime in with your thoughts. Would love to read them.
mai_manmauji thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Welcome in the forum 😊 perfect analysis ki hai saare female characters ki πŸ‘ meri fav badi amma n bindiya raani hain,inn dono k scene bahut zabardast hotey hain πŸ˜›
clarity thumbnail

Originally posted by: mai_manmauji

Welcome in the forum 😊 perfect analysis ki hai saare female characters ki πŸ‘ meri fav badi amma n bindiya raani hain,inn dono k scene bahut zabardast hotey hain πŸ˜›

Thanks a lot. πŸ˜ƒ sachchi mein yaar. Bindiya and Badi Amma are so entertaining. So much zing in their dialogues. Mirchi.πŸ˜‰

_BleuNoir_ thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Very well written... welcome to forum..
my fav is badi amma..
vse you left rekha devi ..how well he handle his husband and son..even dare to challenge phoolan & force MT to apologize..
And punmy mom..exact representation of woman in that area
clarity thumbnail
@Shruti-
You said it all.πŸ˜ƒ

Bindiya vs Guddi would be indeed interesting to watch. Really hope the CVs don't turn Bindiya Rani into a vamp and stick to keeping her a grey character or a villain. She is sheer zing to watch. Love the bite in whatever she says.

As for Badi Amma, she will be one of the biggest thorns in Bindiya's side.
clarity thumbnail
Very well written... welcome to forum..
my fav is badi amma..
vse you left rekha devi ..how well he handle his husband and son..even dare to challenge phoolan & force MT to apologize..
And punmy mom..exact representation of woman in that area[/QUOTE
Thanks. πŸ˜ƒ

Yup, I missed them.

Rekha is a power hungry maniac who only thinks in terms of profit and loss. She is no doubt the catalyst to the violent cocktail that is Lakhan. She believes in climbing to the top of the food chain and not in dismantling it.

Poonam's mom is undoubtedly th defeatist who has been beaten down so much that the fight has gone out of her. As you said, a perfect representation of what a lifetime in Begusarai can do to a woman.