punjini thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Originally posted by: Swar_Raj

Shady , OP's music will always keep him alive. For title I think I added ..Loss of... on the day we lost this great artist. He lived a life he wished for. He did not force anyone to be with him. He preferred to be with his arrogance and i see nothing wrong as he kept it as a open book. Bollywood is full of people doing same thing but behind the scene. it takes courage too to openly speak out your weakness.

Where as another person takes advantage of his weakness, try to be a shadow of him, forbids him to take any other singer to her fullest and then sheds him away , not only that never shows up on his death. when whole industry was there.
What a respect to the person that build your carrer to this extent.😕

SwarRajji, can you explain why OPN's arrogance gets exonerated and Asha's so-called opportunism is condemned? I do not like duplicity of this kind. Please be consistent.

If Asha used OPN, OPN also exploited her. OPN has mentioned somewhere (probably in this thread itself) that he broke up with Asha because the astrological signs poined towards a split. And Asha has said that she never left any man on her own - it was always she who was thrown out.

If you don't want to judge OPN, kindly stop judging Asha too. And please give some benefit of doubt to Asha regarding why she did not attend his funeral. Respect does not mean just going to someone's funeral. Respect also means keeping silent when someone is speaking against you. Asha kept silent all the years when OPN kept raving and ranting against her and talking about their private life to the press.
*dolly* thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Asha Bhosle - Partnership with OP nayyar

Music director O P Nayyar's association with Asha Bhosle is part of the Bollywood lore. When her talent was not recognized by anybody in Bollywood, O P Nayyar recognized her potential and gave patronage to her. He was the composer who first gave Asha Bhosle her own distinct identity. Many people speculate about a romantic relationship between the two.

O P Nayyar first met Asha Bhosle in 1952, at the music recording of Chham Chhama Chham. [5]. He first called her for a film called Mangu (1954)). He gave her a big break in CID (1956). However, it was the success of Naya Daur (1957), that made the duo very popular. After 1959, she was emotionally and professionally involved with O P Nayyar.

The team of O P Nayyar and Asha Bhosle is best remembered for their breezy and sometimes sirenish songs. Some good examples of their sensuous numbers are Aaiye meherbaan picturized on Madhubala (Howrah Bridge, 1958) and Yeh hai reshmi zulfon ka andhera picturized on Mumtaz (Mere Sanam, 1965).

They recorded songs for many hit movies like Naya Daur (1957), Tumsa Nahin Dekha (1957), Howrah Bridge (1958), Ek Musafir Ek Hasina (1962), Kashmir ki Kali (1964), etc. Some of their most popular songs include Aao huzur tumko (Kismat), Jaaiye aap kahan (Mere Sanam) etc. O P Nayyar used Asha Bhosle-Mohammad Rafi duo for his most popular duets. some of these songs include Ude jab jab zulfein teri (Naya Daur). Main pyaar ka rahi hoon (Ek Musafir Ek Haseena), Deewana Hua Baadal, Ishaaron hi isharon mein (Kashmir Ki Kali) etc.

Asha Bhosle recorded her last song for O P Nayyar in the movie Pran Jaye Par Vachan Na Jaye (1974). The solo number Chain se got many awards, but it wasn't included in the movie.

They split on August 5, 1972. It is not clear what made them part their ways. On being asked the reason for their parting, O P Nayyar once said, ...now that I am seventy-six, I can say that the most important person in my life was Asha Bhosle. She was the best person I ever met." [5]. The Asha-O P Nayyar parting was bitter, and probably therefore she has hesitated to give Nayyar his due. While talking about O P Nayyar in an interview with The Times of India, she once remaked - "Whichever composer gave me work, it was because my voice was suited to his music at that point. No one musician did me any favor by asking me to sing for him." She gives the credit for her first big break to B R Chopra.

Edited by *dolly* - 18 years ago
*dolly* thumbnail

Originally posted by: Swar_Raj

Dolly I also agree on your point that we are really not qualified to comment or judge the work of great artist like Asha, Op etc. Pur kya karre..kahawat hai
Apni akal aoor apni aaulaud sabse badi lagti hai 😛

😆.....

*dolly* thumbnail
source :http://www.southasiapost.org/2007/20070215/culture.htm

During the seventies, much younger in age than . Nayyar, R.D. Burman got closer to Asha Bhonsle. Their association also led to the creation of some most memorable Hindi film hits. When O.P. Nayyar discovered this newly emerging relationship, he was shocked beyond imagination. This unfortunate split eventually led to the downfall of O.P. Nayyar's career as a music composer.

As the frustrations grew, O.P. Nayyar started getting irritated. During the nineties he broke up with wife after a forty year long married life. This led to his leaving his household in Bombay and moving to a suburb Thane, where he lived with the family of a family friend, who understood O.P. Nayyar's nature quite well.

During the nineties he composed the music for two more movies, "Andaz Apna Apna" and "Nischay". The music was reasonably good, but the tastes, especially of the younger generation, had changed a lot. So the music did not do too well.

O.P. Nayyar was held in high esteem by the TV industry. He was invited as an expert and a judge on several shows meant for discovering young talent. Ten days after he turned 81, he left for his heavenly abode after a heart attack.

*dolly* thumbnail
Filmmaker Mahesh Bhatt described Nayyar -- who was always seen in public in white attire and a hat -- as "an audacious man who was a king in his time".

"Asha Bhosle owes whatever she is to him. The distinct sensuality that was injected into Asha's singing was the contribution of this extraordinary man," Bhatt said.
*dolly* thumbnail

By Asif Noorani

The one singer in whose voice O.P. Nayyar would have loved to record his compositions was Noor Jehan. When he made his debut in Mumbai, she was in Lahore. 'She used to sing with full-throated ease,' he said of the Malika-i-Tarannum

A couple of decades ago, I played O.P. Nayyar's songs to pop singer Junaid Jamshed when the band Vital Signs had just made its debut. Junaid was swept off his feet. "This is the music of our times," he enthused, to which I responded, "I think his music has a timeless appeal. It was trendy yesterday, it is so today and it will remain so for years to come." I was proved correct the other day when I saw a four-year-old tapping his feet to the pulsating rhythm of the Asha-Rafi duet from the film Naya Daur, Mang ke saath tumhara, Mein ne mang liya sansar.

Yet it was surprising to see that after enjoying two-and-a-half decades of immense popularity, Nayyar went into disfavour with producers. They said he had lost his touch. That may or may not have been true, but he had certainly lost two of his best singers: Mohammed Rafi and Asha Bhonsle. "The biggest mistake that I committed in my professional life was to quarrel with Rafi just because he came a couple of hours late for my recording. He was the greatest male singer and was also a very fine person. I had to opt for Mahendra Kapoor, who just did not have the verve or the vocal quality to do full justice to my compositions," he told Sultan Arshad, the national flag carrier's former manager in Mumbai, with whom he stayed for a few days after he walked out of his house in 1989.

Not many people know that Nayyar sahib made his debut as a singer in the children's programs of All India Radio's Lahore station and the composer was none other than Master Inayat, who later made it big with his score in many Pakistani movies. All those who pay him tributes call him the rhythm king, which he was. But his compositions were highly melodious as well. For instance his Talat-Asha duet from Sone Ki Chidya — Pyar Per Bus To Naheen Hai Mera Lekin and Asha's solo from Pyar Jaye Per Vachan Na Jaye — Chaen Se Humko Kabhi Aapne Soney Na Diya are no less mellifluous than the numbers of Naushad, Madan Mohan, S.D. Burman and Khursheed Anwar.

Nayyar sahib was also into homeopathy. He never charged money from his patients. I saw him phoning his patients every morning and enquiring about their conditions.

*dolly* thumbnail