DurgaS thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
Chapters 16-18

So the man has fled to Bali! Hmm. .. Interesting, very interesting..

Nice flow of events. Dinner on three consecutive nights. Buaji must be sitting with a tight cloth tied to her head, worrying for the girls and saying Hai re Nand Kishore every now and then. 😆

so Khushi has blurted out everything in an instant. Good in a way. Arnav gets alert. But his cousin's marriage talks has stirred something inside him. A desire has arisen to walk the same path as his cousin. He has realised that emotionally he has gone quite far with regards to Khushi. This is a place where he doesn't want to go to. So he must act immediately. Go away from Khushi, her thoughts, the desire and concentrate on his work. At one time, he thought he could work smoothly if she was closer and saw that she worked for him. But now, he is going away.

So, what will be state of Khushi without Arnav? How long can Arnav stay in Bali without her? Will Shyam's truth be revealed? What will be the reaction of Mami towards the Gupta sisters? Agle chapter mein padhenge hum log.

Enjoying the read Indi. The story is getting interesting. Wiwy's poem is superb. And the promo is too good. 😃
indi52 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
hey, durga,

thanks for reading... me glad you enjoy story... yeah, he needs to get away. and she too is in a strange mood. these overwhelming emotions can be most unsettling.

let's see how the two of them survive this separation. you guess right, the gamchha is tied tight around bua ji's head and the locket is bobbing up and down, these girls are driving her nuts.
Edited by indi52 - 11 years ago
anu1017 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: indi52

archana, nishu_shorna,

very sorry... sorry sorry... updating definitely tomorrow evening. today got chaotic.

but tomorrow, frangipani, memory, madness, and asr in a a pacing and getting tense is back.

No problem Indu Di will wait for the update!!!!!
Edited by anu1017 - 11 years ago
indi52 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
created by supriya.arshi

chapter 19

khushi smiled widely as nani ji and anjali ji met them at the door, welcoming payal, akash and herself in. payal was looking very pretty in a pink salwar kurta that had a sprinkling of paani mukaish on it, she had tried to tie her hair in her usual fairly severe plait, but khushi had insisted she leave it open and just let it hang straight down past her shoulders in a thick dark swathe. she had also suggested the tiny white and silver bindi instead of the pink one payal had been toying with.

khushi was so happy for her sister, tonight she wanted everything to be perfect. and she made sure payal who was always a bit self effacing and never understood how lovely she actually was, looked her very best. she had pestered her jiji, even annoyed her, while getting ready, but she was pleased with the results and so had a happy satisfied air about her.

when nani ji said, "aiye, payal bitiya, i am so happy you could come," and held payal's hands in hers, khushi's eyebrows did a little dance. her eyes sparkled, and her pompoms shook a bit. she so wanted to do a quick jig. this was her jiji, and looked like akash ji's grandmother really liked her.

"khushi ji, please come in, " said anjali, "you look happy!" anjali had that gentle guileless smile that seemed to touch khushi every time she saw her. Then for some reason khushi remembered shyam ji with another woman in bali, and her brow began to furrow.

it was just then that anjali said, "chhotey bhi na! did he have to leave for bali today itself!"

khushi felt the emptiness hit her and her breath almost halt. he was not here. he had left for bali? without even telling her? how could he?

then she admonished herself... no need to think of that laad governor... one moment this, the next that... and anyway, why should he tell her? who was she to him? and he... well he was nobody and nothing to her. let him go to bali... let him go to the moon. hoonh. khushi lifted her chin and started to walk in.

anjali murmured, "and now you look very angry, khushi ji. is everything alright?"

khushi started at that, oh no, so rude of her to let all her feelings show like that. she smiled instantly and said, "nahin, anjali ji, i just was wondering if i had everything to make jalebi at home..."

"jalebi?" anjali looked nonplussed.

"haan... haan woh, you know, tonight i really must make some!" khushi tried to look calm though she seethed within.

they had reached the drawing room and were sitting down when shyam and mama ji joined them. payal stood up hastily to greet akash's father who motioned her to sit and said cheerily, "arre bitiya, sit sit... namaste... and everything ok with you? khushi bitiya, aap kaisi hain, my son is a good boss or not?"

(please, dear, sit sit... namaste... and everything ok with you? khushi, how are you, my son is a good boss or not?)

shyam greeted both the girls and went and sat by nani ji, obviously she was very fond of him. khushi looked at shyam's face and felt a creepy feeling ride up her spine. the very thought that this man might be cheating on that innocent looking woman in her beautiful pale blue gauzy saree and matching glass bangles made her want to hit him.

"khushi, kya baat hai? tum... theek toh ho na?" payal's voice interrupted her angry thoughts.

(khushi, what's the matter? you're... okay, aren't you?)

again khushi rearranged her expressions, "no, jiji, i was just wondering... just wondering... akash ji, your mother isn't at home?" she tried to change the subject.

akash looked a little lost at that, really where was his mother? he was beginning to get up to go and call her, when suddenly manorama appeared at the head of the steps leading down to the drawing room, resplendent in her finery.

mami ji was wearing a heavy benarasi from the looks of it, in a beautiful pink which happened to be exactly the shade payal wore, only that instead of delicate mukaish, her saree was covered in gold, large motifs of intertwined flowers and vines covered the material end to end. the pallu had layers of zardosi work. along with it she wore a blouse in orange and red with velvet trimmings and gold embroidery. a large gold necklace studded with sparkling rubies covered her neck extending practically down to her bosom. khushi wondered how anyone could wear such long and heavy earrings and possibly hold their head steady.

"manorama!" mama ji sounded slightly shocked, "weren't you wearing a..."

"sarry sarry, everybodiej!" mami ji cut in quickly, "i am so bhery lates... fassonably na, ha ha, i am likings fasson you know... oh..." she sailed down the steps going straight to payal who by now was standing up as was khushi, "oh, my dears payal nooj, i means payal dears, how you are... see you copying me, wearings pink, ha ha... competisson competisson... sarry, i touchupiya makeupiya, so gettings late! seet seet, payal nooj, no istandings..."

(sorry, sorry, everybody... i am so very late... fashionable, isn't it, ha ha, i like fashion you know... oh... my dear payal noose, i mean payal dear, how are you... see, you're copying me, wearing pink... ha ha... competition, competition... sorry, i was touching up my make up, and got late! sit, sit, payal noose, don't stand...)

"par manorama, what happened to the..." mama ji tried to say something again.

"khushi! comes comes, so goods to see you, tonight we must talks and talks..." mami ji carried on as if she hadn't heard mama ji at all. the smile on her face was wide and fixed. khushi could feel the daggers in her eyes. she darted a quick look at payal.
oh no, jiji looked perturbed.

(khushi, come come! so good to see you, tonight we must talk...)

nani ji glared at mami ji with a frown, if only her daughter in law would behave, she knew why manorama was upset, but to make a scene in front of guests... really, wouldn't she ever learn. and why was she dressed so gaudily, even more than usual, hemangini wondered.

despite all the wonderful food and nani ji's spectacular graciousness, the evening left everyone feeling tense, strained and tired. everybody had tried so hard to keep things normal; the conversation light and happy. but mami ji did not let a single opportunity go to remind payal of her place in life, her lack of high social status, wealth, style and of course, make up. when lakshmi ji sauntered in, mami ji came up with an unbelievable,

"ee leo, our lovely missed kaal eej here!! payal nooj, you like pets... you must haves the pilenty laksmi ji's gifat to keep one, you knowj... laaats of moneys."

(oh look, our lovely missed call is here!! payal noose, do you like pets, you must have plenty of lakshmi ji's gift to keep one, you know... lots of money.)

nani ji turned sharply to her daughter in law at that and said, "lakshmi ji's gift is wealth, manorama, the wealth of a good, big, simple heart is sometimes much more than money!" she obviously was at the end of her tether and had tempered her rebuke so as not to offend her guests.

however, mami ji instantly took offence and got up wailing, "nobody respectiyaing me in this house..." and left the room.

khushi had fried a couple of kilos of jalebi after getting back. it was a little past eleven at night, she sat outside in bua ji's backyard on the park bench, drinking adrak wali chai and munching on jalebis.

the evening had left her feeling worried, irritable and on edge.

where was this laad governor? the thought came out of nowhere, as it had a few times now already. she started and told herself to shut up. then she bit into a jalebi, the crust cracked and touched her palate, the syrup squirted in her mouth. delicious, she thought and the next minute all she could see was a black silk shirt with syrup sloshing down the front, orange bits of jalebi glowing bright against the black.

and a furious pair of eyes.

khushi swallowed hard. she could feel a helplessness settle over her. jiji was so upset. she had almost wept on the way back home. she knew her jiji, if akash ji's mother didn't approve of her, she would never marry him.

and from the way jiji had been smiling and radiant at the mere mention of her boss, she knew her sister had fallen in love with him.

what was to be done now?

in movies you could tell kabootars to take messages and solve things, but here, in delhi... that huge distance between lakshmi nagar and shantivan? how was this to be crossed?

she got up sadly and went inside, thinking a chat with devi maiyya might help. she sat down to pray when her eyes fell on the phone lying next to her goddess on the desk.

18 missed calls?

what???! she picked up the phone hastily thinking something was wrong in lucknow... babu ji? amma? she peered at the screen. no... the calls were from... and her breath caught in her throat.

the phone buzzed just then, she quickly answered, "hay... haylo..." her voice was tentative, lost.

"where the hell were you, khushi kumari gupta!" yelled arnav singh raizada. he continued without waiting for her to answer, "i've been trying to call you this past one hour... why the hell aren't you answering your phone... what's this new game?... i was so worried, do you even know how worried i was!! i thought something was terribly wrong! you were hurt... you were in some trouble... you were..." asr's voice was hoarse and loud, a note of panic in his voice.

"why do you care?" khushi heard herself say in a most upset voice. what was she saying? she meant to say, sorry, her phone was on silent... but instead this? care? no one cared. yet she had to say what she had to say, "who cares anyway? you went away and didn't even tell me! you just call to yell and scream and..." she was not sounding too good by now, the tears had started to pour down her cheeks.

"khushi?!!" he sounded suddenly gentle. unsettling her once again. what was wrong with this man. just now he was screaming. khushi didn't answer.

"khushi?" he said her name softly again.

khushi gritted her jaws and refused to respond to that voice, though her breath was racing recklessly by now.

"khushi," so terribly gentle, "don't ignore me when i talk to you, dammit!"

at this, khushi started bawling and ran out of the room so as not to wake payal up.

"what is the matter? why are you crying? what has happened... tell me! tell me now, khushi... shhh... shh, stop crying..." asr cajoled her, though there was a streak of impatience in his voice.

"n... nothing is the matter, " khushi mumbled, "just that... " again she sniffled...

"just that...?" he prompted, not wanting to have her collapse into tears once more.

"... i... i .. don't think akash ji's mother likes my jiji... she thinks we are too poor, not high class enough... and also my jiji..." khushi's voice started to rise.

"shh... calm down, take a deep breath..." he cut in, "and tell me..."

"also, jiji doesn't do make up," khushi took a deep breath and tried to stop the tears.

"make up?!!" asr sounded taken aback, completely mystified. "what's make up go to do with it!"

"you know that makeupiya..." khushi wailed.

"khushi! stop crying... and talking nonsense! what makeupiya...now tell me, what exactly happened?" he sounded no nonsense and so real, khushi felt her heart compose itself. it felt as though he was sitting right beside her on the bench.

she clasped her phone with both hands, then quickly reached for a jalebi and took a bite.

"mmm... mphummphgdj, she said to keep a pet..." khushi said, the jalebi crumbling and sticking to her teeth and palate...

"what are you doing?" his voice was sharp now, "eating?"

"n..no no, just drinking chai..." khushi said defensively.

"no... you are eating... jalebi, aren't you?" he had such a soft edge to his voice she again wanted to bawl.

"okay, so mami ji was not happy... anything else she did beside saying payal is not wealthy enough?" he sounded as if he was thinking of something.

"no... but you know i noticed mami ji wore a saree which was the exact same colour as jiji's!" khushi had been very intrigued by that and she had noticed how every time mama ji tried to say something, mami ji ignored him, "i think she wore it on purpose," khushi's voice was very small. she hated talking about elders in that way, and this was akash ji's mother, who might be her sister's mother in law some day. babu ji and amma had taught them to always respect elders, even if what they said was not correct or edifying... this felt so difficult. khushi frowned.

"khushi, tum theek ho?" he asked and she could feel the soles of her feet go warm at that something in his tone.

"ha-aan, theek hain... theek hain," she managed to say though her throat felt constricted.

(khushi, are you ok?

ye-es, ok, i'm ok.)

"ok then, " now he was crisp and matter of fact, "i'll talk to mami, you go to sleep now, it's late."

"mami ji, you'll talk? late?" khushi exclaimed, "but it must be two o'clock in bali!"

"yes... so you know i am here?" why did it feel as though his voice stroked her arms gently and wafted away? she could almost feel it on her skin.

"yes, anjali ji said..." khushi sounded a little peeved. but her heart went dhak dhak dhak dhak.

there was absolute silence from the other end. khushi wanted to say something but had no idea what.

then he said, "goodnight, khushi..."

she muttered, "good night..." bring me a jwalamukhi from there, will you... said her heart.

the disquiet that had come upon her that morning when he had shouted for no reason and later after hearing he had gone away, was somehow settled and not gnawing at the back of her neck any more. never occurred to her to wonder why he had called her in the first place.

asr was working out on the ocean's edge, his dumbbells moving to a steady pace. it was a bright clear day, the sea was calm with white bordered surf moving gently along the shoreline. flocks of birds flew overhead through a classic light blue sky dotted with cotton wool like fluffy clouds. the sun rays were beginning to get a little warm.

she had walked up that day as he exercised and stood right there, looking at him... asr smiled meanly as he looked at the spot. it was fun relinquishing that dumbbell in her palm and watch her stagger.

she hadn't faltered though, she had taken it in her stride.

asr smiled again. this time not so meanly.

he had decided to drive up to the volcano once more in the suv he hired when he was here. as he drove, the skies seemed to gather dark clouds all of a sudden and very quickly, soon afterward the rain broke and came down in cascades, lightning split the sky... every now and then the sound of thunder rumbled somewhere.

what was missing from the idea, the whole feel, he kept thinking. blooms in agung. it said fire, gentleness, beauty, red orange white black purple, mesmerising, evocative, explosive, heat, flow, lava, gorgeous, ravenous...

ravenous?

asr frowned. why did that thought cross his mind? where was that feeling in a volcano and a flower that could withstand very high temperatures and still survive, thrive, look beautiful?

insatiable... was a volcano that? what did it want to consume?

and like the free flow of rain, danced before him images of a girl... she was running down a hall and dashing into him... her eyes were so large when she looked at him petrified, so hazel... she sat in the plane looking scared and then she grabbed his hand... she had excitement on her face beneath that fear... she slept peacefully right by his chest, her cheek resting against him like it was meant to be there... a lock of hair fell forward onto her forehead, he reached and touched it tucking it behind her ear, her skin felt so crisp... he was kissing her on the chaise longue in his room, he just wanted to kiss her till... she was playing with something on the beach right here, jumping up and down in her yellow churidar kameez, what was wrong with the girl... he thought she had drowned.

his heart seemed to seize at that. he closed his eyes involuntarily.

and he felt a terrible need to hold her in his arms. make sure she was ok. all was well. he wanted to feel her body crushed against his and her lips, he wished he could kiss her right now, feel her straining against him, her fine boned frame fluid and beautiful colliding with his body, he wanted to let his fingers linger over her breast, stroking and feeling her quiver to his touch... he swallowed hard, yearning, wanting her near him, not so far away... "khushi!" he heard her name inside him somewhere.

when he opened his eyes, they were blazing fire. he was angry and seething with the surge of fury.

he had to stop this whole thing... these things mean nothing. they are a figment of the imagination and all they lead to is disillusionment...betrayal, death.

he was arnav singh raizada and he could control this aberrant feeling.

after driving blindly through the rain for almost an hour, he felt calm enough to call aman.

"aman, i will talk to the agency now, please get them to call me," he said brusquely. and before aman could reply put the phone down.

aman knew sir was not in the best of moods and prayed the agency had some good answers for him.

khushi couldn't sleep. she kept looking at the phone and then at the clock and then at devi maiyya in turn. more than a couple of times she said, "hum paagal hain... why am i waiting for him to call... why should he? and anyway, i don't care... yes, koi faraq nahin padta humey..."

(i am mad... why am i waiting for him to call... why should he? and anyway, i don't care... yes, doesn't make any difference to me...)

but then again, after a few seconds her eyes would stray to the phone on the desk, then to her wise and kind goddess. at some point in the night, tired of all this thinking and talking to herself, she fell into a slumber. being khushi, the slumber soon deepened into a heavy sleep.

he lay back in the lounger on his verandah and felt the desire ride him again. this was ridiculous, yet he couldn't help but look at the phone a couple of times. he decided sleep was what was needed and resolutely shut his eyes.

till the early hours of dawn sleep eluded him nonetheless. at six he got up and went for a walk. he would go white water rafting today he decided... he wanted to be completely immersed in something for a while... thoughts would flow better then.

but right now he was ravenous.

ravenous? his gut felt a jolt.

created by sunshine80

chapter 20

index

hi, everyone... sorry couldn't update earlier. i do hope this chapter is good to read. they are not in the same geography and yet, i couldn't see them apart. thanks so much for reading ncofl... this past week a few of you have written to me saying you really enjoy this story. i am madly grateful. writing aboiut asr and khushi is a little broken free fun in this one. please do leave your thoughts and comments, love reading them... always guide me. last time archana mentioned something about mami being nasty and i went, that's it... the perfect excuse fora great conversation betweemn the two. so thanks, archana... that insulting mami had the man being so sweet and gentle and the girl all needing the man... i will try to update middle of next week, just in case i can't, please bear with me, and don't you dare abandon me... need i say, samjhi aap? see you all soon and thanks so much, each one of you.
Edited by indi52 - 10 years ago
rk2127 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Khushi is such an open book to read through her expression, though ASR can read her through her eyes too so as she can for that matter. But the matter here is her changing expression while the time she spend at RM. From heart warming welcome to LG is gone to Bali, from sweet Anjali to creepy Shyam, who she was all set to give a tight slap. From annoying gaudy mami to her jiji's pain. And in all this her wondering whether their is all the material to make jalebi at back home or not.

Indi this is specially for your ASR please pass on.

18 missed call in an hour...ASR you are a gone case I can happy to declare all your fight and other measures you may apply will not be fruitful. Hence you can continue dreaming about the chit of a girl or basking in the memories of unbelievable (I don't think I need to specify who you use that word for the most.)

Or you can yell at her, talk to her like you did because you can't escape this thing these aberrant feelings...too late!!!

"where the hell were you, khushi kumari gupta!" yelled arnav singh raizada. he continued without waiting for her to answer, "i've been trying to call you this past one hour... why the hell aren't you answering your phone... what's this new game?... i was so worried, do you even know how worried i was!! i thought something was terribly wrong! you were hurt... you were in some trouble... you were..." asr's voice was hoarse and loud, a note of panic in his voice.

And Khushi did you say you did care...oh is that why the jalebis and adrak wali chai.
But darling your questions and the tone said otherwise...must be the sanak.

"why do you care?" khushi heard herself say in a most upset voice. what was she saying? she meant to say, sorry, her phone was on silent... but instead this? care? no one cared. yet she had to say what she had to say, "who cares anyway? you went away and didn't even tell me! you just call to yell and scream and..." she was not sounding too good by now, the tears had started to pour down her cheeks.

And your this one line had me ROFLing Indi...Khushi's thoughts are unbelievable but I loved it.

she muttered, "good night..." bring me a jwalamukhi from there, will you... said her heart.

Edited by rk2127 - 11 years ago
aarwen thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Indi di you really are a gifted writer. And this story of yours never fails to bring a smile on my face. Keep writing dear..
When i started to read i was thinking.. well they aren't even in the same city how can things turn out right.. and now mamiji and payal..drama will ensue. Should have just trusted you I guess.

You managed to get my hopes high with the promise of kuch kuch hota hai Arnavji.. Will they bring the head and heart together to plan and manao mamiji and ensure the two quiet lovebirds come together?

Your words, expressions, thoughts bring so much sweetness to such simple things. The details of mukesh on a pink saree, theme of a fashion show, rain clouds far away in bali, or just a girl worried sitting with her adraki chai and being caught crunching on a jilebi by that man across the phone. Very very nice!

So he went away but did he really go away? Did he even want to go away? Can he ever go away? "Ye sochta hun main kabse gumsum..ki jabki mujhko bhi ye khabar hai ki tum nahi ho... kahin nahi ho.. magar ye dil keh raha hai.. ke tum yahin ho.. yahin kahin ho.."

Ravenous for more of this story..

Leaving you with the girl you manage to bring to life har baar. My favourite image of her as an individual is when she would sit outside in the backyard and gaze at the stars. Just enjoying life. Or sometimes asking her devi maiyya, her amma to send in their miracles. You gave her a call from her laad governor tonight.

Edited by aarwen - 11 years ago
mpuhan thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
whenever I read about this ASR my heart goes dhak dhak. It feels I am Khushi and crying and he is shushing me. That is sooo sexy😆
GunM thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
what i love about them is however mad they are at each other...they cant see each other sad
amazing update
sooo eager to read more
anu1017 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Awesome update Di!!! Absolutely loved the update 👏

So heart does grow fond in the absence of your lover huh??? Arnav Arnav Arnav when will you realize that you are absolutely in love with this crazy, child woman ??? He was all alone and just imagining her everywhere, jumps at every opportunity to help her, cannot see when she is in tears, basks in her happiness, removes every obstacles in her way and yet does not recognize what loving a person means, for a person who is so successful he is not very smart in matters of heart is he??

All through Arnav's part of the update I was reading and thinking of the song " main aur meri tanhaayi aksar yeh baatein karte hain, tum yahan hoti tho aisa hota, tum yeh bolti, tum woh kehti" lol!!! Bechara kept on seeing her and yet he is not back on the flight. Hahahaha aww Khushi wants jwalamukhi from Bali, she has all these code names for him lol!!!!

Hmm Mami was absolutely down right mean to the next level, how could she do that to a sweet person like Payal?? But her English was absolutely funny!!! I foresee that she is going to change her attitude pretty soon once we have our Arnav back and doing his ASR thing!!!

Aww thank you for mentioning me, feel all honored 😳 cannot believe all my blabbering did actually give you any idea lol!!!

Love the story and cannot wait for Arshi reunion cannot take him talking anymore with his tanhayee 😃
Edited by anu1017 - 11 years ago
Loved the conversation between the two.
As for Mamiji, she is never going to believe in the adage of growing old gracefully.
You contrasted her and Payal's clothes so well - underlining their different personalities.
I especially liked how you described Khushi going through a whole gamut of emotions when visiting Shantivan. She does tend to wear her heart on her sleeve, although that's one of the things we love about her.