luckySnow thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Sach bataun to mujhe simple english hi samjh aati hai...this all I can't understand fully🤣 Ammon amon thy thou shall be
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Where on earth is this supposed to be? 120000 killed??

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: luckySnow

Another...

From alexander to his dear mother Olympias, departing from there, we came to a verdant place where there were giant-like wild men, as big as the first, barrel-chested, hairy, and reddish coloured. And they had faces like lions. And others called Oxoli had hair four long, and they were as wide as a spear. These very powerful men came to us in tunics of rawhide, ready to fight without spears or arrows. They slew many of our group. And since many of our friends and youths were lost, I ordered that a blaze be started in order to fight them with fire. Thus the men went away, And of our soldiers, losses numbered 120,000; I ordered that pyres be lit and their remaining bones be taken to Spetriada. But they disappeared completely. And we quickly entered their caves and found tied to their doors wild beasts as large as the dogs we call (?) Dankenes four long, three-eyed, and of motley colouring.

luckySnow thumbnail

Originally posted by: sashashyam

What do you think he means by the part in bold? How could Olympias, in Macedonia, send him the possessions of Sisygambis and Stateira I?

Shyamala Aunty

Story goes that Alexander had send everything valuable he go t from Darius after he ran away to his sister and mother ...after winning that includes royal things also...he met them in later and asks Olympia to return the royal things...this is how she finds out that he hadn't enslaved royal ladies...
Edited by luckySnow - 7 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
That is Dionysus. a god from the Greek pantheon. He is supposed to have come from the East.
Shyamala Aunty

Haphestian and elipad wrote back to her... Urging her to stop querreling with him...''Stop quarrelling with us and do not be angry or menacing. If you persist, we shall not be much disturbed. You know that Alexander means more to us than anything."

Plutarch or arrian not clear...no Zeus in this letter also but some dinosys

luckySnow thumbnail

Where on earth is this supposed to be? 120000 killed??

Shyamala Aunty

Exaggerated numbers or wrong translation ...this is on his way to Afghanistan...
sashashyam thumbnail
I am sorry, my dear boy, but I am addicted to using long words, and at my age, I cannot change!😉

You are of course pulling my leg and joking, but never mind, I can always take a joke!

Shyamala Aunty

Sach bataun to mujhe simple english hi samjh aati hai...this all I can't understand fully🤣 Ammon amon thy thou shall be

luckySnow thumbnail

That is Dionysus. a god from the Greek pantheon. He is supposed to have come from the East.

Shyamala Aunty

I wonder how many god's were there in Greek 😆
luckySnow thumbnail

I am sorry, my dear boy, but I am addicted to using long words, and at my age, I cannot change!😉

You are of course pulling my leg and joking, but never mind, I can always take a joke!

Shyamala Aunty

No nodear I am talking about Greek texts translation...I don't understand them properly..koi tense banta nahin theek se...😭all these texts are from Alexander romance Plutarch and arrian...and I struggle with language 😆
Edited by luckySnow - 7 years ago