Alexander: a redemption & Porus: a heedless martyr

sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Folks,

On Friday last, I sat, or rather endured thru 24 :08 minutes of mind-numbing nonsense watching a heedless, self-centred youngster drive his mother to tears and his father to near despair as he insisted on making a bali ka bakra of himself to save his criminal foster brother from his well deserved punishment. I did it in the faint hope that there might, just might be salvation in the end, and this time, I was rewarded.

The 5:46 minutes of Alexander (which is par for the course for him, for as I noted in my last thread, he gets only about 20% of the telecast time, less than is given to Puru's wavy locks and slo mo strides) that rounded off the episode were manna from Heaven!

As those who read my post A hatchet job on Alexander? , would remember, I was afraid that with the baby killing scene, the demonization of Porus' antagonist had begun. It now seems that I was wrong, at least for now.

Alexander's revulsion at Olympias having used black magic to fuddle Arridaeus's brains was instant and strong, and he had made this quite plain to his mother in a manner that I had then felt was too harsh. It did not matter then to Alexander that Arridaeus had made an attempt on his life; he would not stoop to such underhand methods.

Innate nobility

The Friday closing segment made it clear that this display of an innate nobility was no flash in the pan. It is an integral part of Alexander's mental make up. He still feels guilty about what had been done to Arridaeus. Pehle hi Arridaeus ki zindagi barbad ho chuki, jiski wajah main hoon. Which other king would make such a confession?

His sharp warning that there should not, in the future, be even a kharonch (scratch) on Arridaeus, could not have been more blunt: Sab gaur se sunein...Agar kisi ne bhi...- and his eyes rake the assemblage, lingering just an instant longer on Olympias - aur kisi ka matlab kisi ne bhi, mere hukum ki nafarmani ki, to use mere sile (?) ka saamna karna padega.

At one stroke, he makes it abundantly clear who is master, and Olympias stands warned against attempts at backseat driving. More to the point, all those present too realise that this young man is no pushover, that he can neither be manipulated nor conned into doing anything against his will, and that he will brook no flouting of his orders.

And yet all this is done with a silken deftness that would have made a seasoned diplomat proud. Alexander does not give any indication that he realises it was his mother who had ordered Arridaeus killed, and he sweeps the whole issue aside with a self-assured skill that exposes no faultlines that outsiders could exploit.

The high priestess of the Delphic Oracle seems disturbed when the sunlight fades after Alexander announces his intention to conquer Bharat, but not he, now raring to teach rebellious Thebes and Athens the lesson of their lives. As the episode ends on a close up shot of Alexander, his golden hair slicked back and confined by his coronet, the sharp planes of his face making it look narrower than usual, the eyes glowing at the prospect of the battles ahead, he looks for all the world like a noble bird of prey, a king eagle about to take flight.

The casting director should get a solid round of applause, for he or she has found the perfect Alexander in Rohit Purohit.

Porus: a heedless martyr

I have no desire to relive those 24 :08 minutes, which set my teeth on edge, so I shall just post a few questions that occurred to me. Many or all of them might have occurred to you too.

Q1: How is it that Puru thinks only of his Baba Ripudaman, and what he owes to him, and not at all of his mother, or, more important, of what would happen to his beloved mathrubhoomi if he were to be executed in order to save Hasti? Yes, he will realise this last tonight, like a tubelight with a faulty choke😡, and of course he will somehow escape his capital sentence, for the titular hero cannot die in Episode 91! Hamari show ke itne bhi bure din nahin aaye hain.😉

Q2: How come all and sundry troop after Bamni into Kanishka's sickroom? Not only Puru and Anasuya, which can be understood, but Darius and Barsine, and even Hasti and Pritha!!! It was exactly like the drawing room scenes in any Ekta Kapoor soap, where every member of the cast squeezes himself or herself into the shot regardless of propriety.

Q3: How come an outsider, Darius, is allowed to take and hold centre stage in what is, all said and done, a family affair for the Paurav royals?

Q4. Most important of all, how come Anasuya does not resort to the time-honoured ploy beloved of the script writers of our soaps, the mere sar ki saugandh, to force Puru to tell the truth? All she had to do was to grab his hand, put it on her head, which is at a conveniently lower height😉, and demand that he fess up. He would have been cornered. But the foolish woman does no such thing.

Q5: Finally, a prahar is about three hours. Assuming a 12 hour night, this would mean 4 prahars. 50 lashes per prahar would mean 200 lashes at the very least. Most able bodied men cannot stand even a 100 lashes. Puru would have been dead at the end of 200 lashes. But there he is the next morning, looking as fresh as a daisy, bar an artistically placed streak of blood on the right side of his mouth.How come?

I liked it that Bamni held out to the bitter end, and fought hard to make Puru back off. He seemed to have hardly listened to that long, vicious harangue from Darius, for at the end of it he again asks Puru Kya tum ab bhi kahoge ki Rajkumar Kanishk ke praan lene ka prayaas tumne kiya hai ?, and shuts Kanishka up bluntly when he protests. But his despairing attempts founder on the rock of his son's bullheadedness, as Hasti smirks in the background and Pritha looks curiously disturbed. Maybe, just maybe, she will crack up and tell the truth, though I would not bet on it.

If you happen to read this post and enjoy it, do hit the Like button. I always want to know my readers! Also, please do not mind if I do not respond to any comments at once. This post has taken a toll on my arthritic fingers, and they need a rest. But I will get around to them as soon as I can.

Shyamala Aunty (for most of you, or whatever else you prefer)

Edited by sashashyam - 7 years ago

ananda29 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
How come Puru boasts that he does not leave any job incomplete but promptly accepts his guilt and death punishment even though his own mother is begging him to tell the truth.
...Srushti... thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
I agree to each and every part of the post. Especially everything said about Puru's part. On point. But I wonder how Puru will be saved this time. As you think, will Pritha tell the truth? Idk. I do not trust her enough. And what about the Dasyus?? Their part of story has suddenly disappeared. They were in grave trouble. God knows what's happening in the show.
One more thing, the Promos are always misleading. Take for example the Puru fighting Farsi warriors or The whole Puru identity thing. They always show something very different from actual.
Sandy6018 thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
I to do agree on it I agree what you said about Dairius involved. I. It know I couldn't watch Sunday's on YouTube. So I don't know what they said. 😒 A lot going to have to happen. Soon I hope
daphnejasmine thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
True aunty alex is for me one of the best anti heroes unlike so many who just are full of lust for the female lead n stupid ideas. Inspite of some of the questionable scenes he is true tp the character of world conqueror. Puru is thinking only of ripu n hasti ripu deserves respect which should not be lost for an idiot son. Puru is not going the right way to save his honor. But anusuya putting her saugant is too cliche.there is enough melodrama already . love your post.
newtoIF thumbnail
Great presentation of the post Shyamala Aunty.😊
The trrr of the Puru track by you was😆😉😛 nothing to add more. Liked Bamni at least for being the saving grace in his pathetic rashtra, giving the suicidal prince a second chance, annoying his brat of a victim of the murder attempt, by repeating his question-kanishk sulking was hilarious.

Disappointed with Queen Anusuya again.Looks like her son inherited her genes more than daddy long legs.All her actions, although with 1 single purpose, are a miscalculation repeatedly.Strategic intelligence is all about time and place, and as a queen she lacks tactics.Was dumbstruck to hear her blame it on the Farsis for this as well ! Contrast her to the go getter and kingmaker that queen Olympia is😡

Am not sure about Alexander's regard for Arrihdaeus. Although he was compassionate towards him later and took him along to Babylon,coz of which the coronation of Arrihdaeus happened immediately upon Alexander's death by the generals to avoid civil war.

Alexander simply felt cheated out of an absolute thrill of winning the throne, when its his mother who weeds the challenger,Arrihdaeus,out, in her own crude way. And so his bitter behavior to her over it earlier, and I hated Alex's insensitivity to his mother's anxiety for him in that episode.She still follows him around when he was fussing over his traitorous dad.Seriously loved proud Olympia swallowing her ego for him at that juncture.
Alexander might have considered death by battle more honorable than being mentally deficient as Arrihdaeus became, as both of them were warriors and fellow soldiers.And so the sense of guilt.

But by plotting to overthrow Phillip the underhanded way, Alexander did not mind a hook or by crook method, if circumstance seemed dire.Or perhaps he saw it as a payback by the same coin.

But the bottomline is, treatment meted out to enemies, was in equal measure of their own stature or action. And so happened some of the genocidal slaughters, and torture of several rebel leaders.
And in the curious case of Porus, who wanted to fight for his own martyrdom on the battlefield, well knowing that he had lost the battle to Alexander, Porus is treated as a king and not a rebel.
Edited by newtoIF - 7 years ago
Morana thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 7
Unres
It is well known that most of the great personalities , celebrities and shining stars of history were some what quirky and unpredictable . May be it's part of the package of being genius .
It is more so in case of absolute rulers and Monarchs , power , ambition and talent all in one is a heady mix.
Alexander was by no means some one sweet and benevolent . He couldn't have been Alexander the great Sikandar Mahan had he been so . But he was an enigma , not a straight cut monster like Genghis Khan . Sparks of his humanity were evident throughout his life . But he never let it be his weakness , or make a fool out of him.
Here , Alexander is yet very very young , but driven by fierce ambition , I can completely picturize him riding forward like an unstoppable great force of nature , uprooting any thing that comes on his path .
What he did during yesterday's episode was some what a mixture of his sympathy towards some one he considered a friend at one point , but more so , his irritation at being baby sited by his mother and growing desire to shake off any leash , even if that of motherly affection . Yes , if push comes to shove he'll kill his mother too , just as simply as he did during the test in the supernatural test world .
How I saw him , he's passive aggressively asking his mother to back off from being over intrusive in Siyasati mawmla , and over protective towards his security . He can look after himself.

Plus , he's most probably averse to unnecessary blood shed , another sign of being Great when you can gauze the situation to know exactly whom you can spare without harming your own hold at power or position and not indulging in perverse bloodshed that can be avoided .

As for Rohit , well he's actually not a new find . He's very much popular . In fact when the Porus forum first opened , in the introductory thread , many members confessed that they're going to watch this show only for Rohit . He's extremely talented and strikingly good looking and with his chiseled jaw lines , hawk like nose , naturally bejeweled eyes , ivory fair skin and fit toned slim body , body that befits a warrior , and sword like keen body language - he fits the role to a toe . Quite an inspired casting .
He's already done lead roles in quite a few shows and he gathered quite a fan following in his previous venture as Mirza Altuniya in Razia Sultan . He also had great chemistry with his previous co star Pankhudi Agasthi of Razia Sultan . I believe Rohit has a long way to go.

Err.. can't comment on Puru's part , I watched online and happily skipped his part in entirety . 😉 Perks of watching online.. 😉

I read that your RA is being a pain in the bum again , alas , so much for advance in modern medicine ! We can't treat this demon effectively . What can not be cured has to be endured. Take care Auntie and don't overwork your precious fingers. So glad to see you here finally. Missed you a lot. 😳

P.S. Auntie, I'm Gargi from JA forum. It's amazing to have you back. 🤗
Edited by Carmilla - 7 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
Well, here I am to begin my responses!

Puru's kaam, at the moment, is to save Hasti, and thus his Baba's family and name. So he is not leaving that incomplete, the stupid chap.😡

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: ananda29

How come Puru boasts that he does not leave any job incomplete but promptly accepts his guilt and death punishment even though his own mother is begging him to tell the truth.

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you so much, my dear Srushti. I am very pleased that you enjoyed this post. Now be a good girl and hit the Like button! You have forgotten to do so.

I thinl the masked archer will have a key role in Puru's inevitable escape from the scaffold. I could not make head or tail of what Anasuya was telling Puru last night about not wasting time looking for a way out of a dead end situation, but making/creating his own path. He is at the foot of the scaffold, what path is he expected to carve out?

Some thought that she had handed some sort of weapon to Puru, to cut his bonds with and escape. But to believe that Puru is going to cut not just the ropes but the iron chains with whatever contraption Anusuya has pressed into his hand would be outside all limits of credibility. And he is on a raised platform in the middle of a hostile crowd. How can an escape be shown realistically?

Not that the CVs will not cook up something unbelievable and shove it down our throats.

I was also irritated by Anasuya's endorsing and strengthening Puru's quixotic folly wrt Hasti. Here too I could not understand her rakshak vs bhakshak pronouncement.

As for the Dasyus, they must have teleported themselves back to their burnt down kingdom, and are probably busy rebuilding it with the stuff looted from Paurav Rashtra. All except Lachi, of course, who has apparated, a la Harry Potter, into the Paurav capital once again, this time well equipped with a blue shawl.😉If I was her mother, I would have something to say to a daughter who disappears without warning like this!😆

I never bother about the promos. They are junk, and meant to confuse the viewers.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: ...Srushti...

I agree to each and every part of the post. Especially everything said about Puru's part. On point. But I wonder how Puru will be saved this time. As you think, will Pritha tell the truth? Idk. I do not trust her enough. And what about the Dasyus?? Their part of story has suddenly disappeared. They were in grave trouble. God knows what's happening in the show.

One more thing, the Promos are always misleading. Take for example the Puru fighting Farsi warriors or The whole Puru identity thing. They always show something very different from actual.

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you, my dear Sandy.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: Sandy6018

I to do agree on it I agree what you said about Dairius involved. I. It know I couldn't watch Sunday's on YouTube. So I don't know what they said. 😒 A lot going to have to happen. Soon I hope