Last year diwali is something that i can never forget. It is something that i will cherish all my life until my last breath... that day turned my life upside down and gave me everything that belonged to me... something that was destined to be mine, something that was meant for me, my life, my husband, my abeer... i never thought one day i will fall irrevocably in his love.. but it happened and he was the one who made me realise it.
Abeer and I... Well we grew up together. Our mothers were best of friends, our families were friends and as a result we became friends as a result. Abeer is two years elder to me and he used to tease me sometimes and other times he would protect me. Sometimes I would hate him and other times I would love him. Things changed when kuber uncle sent him to Oxford for further studies and abeer also agreed. In all the years he was away, initially I used to miss him way too much but with time, I learned to live my life without his presence in my life. When he returned after 5 years, it was like starting the friendship from all over again. We were just two strangers now but soon we catches up. He even told me that he dated a girl name Sasha and he really liked her. Well she was way too career oriented and decided to not take a step ahead. She was just fine with dating while abeer wasn't. They broke up. It wasn't like I was happy that broke up but somewhere deep my heart, I knew abeer deserved someone more better... Someone who loved him, the way he deserves to be loved.
Tayi ji influenced me to bring sasha back into abeer's life and I did whatever bua ji asked me to... Why...?? Because she made me believe that abeer's happiness lied only in Sasha and now when she was apologising, she deserved a second chance. I did everything she told me to... I tried my best to convince abeer that sasha has changed and make him believe that sasha was the one for him. Yes she broke his heart once, but I made him believe that all this doesn't matter now when she herself is apologising and realising her mistake. Moreover she is a changed person and loves him with all her heart.
After my constant efforts, abeer believed every single word of mine. I wasnt guilty because I didnt lie to him ever; I actually thought that sasha loved him and she honestly regrets the mistake she made. Abeer was now ready to give sasha a second chance. He was ready to take sasha back in his life just for my sake. He was trying to be happy with her each n every moment but i knew that he wasnt truly happy. Something was different whenever he was with sasha, a spark in his eyes was never to be seen, his smile was not like it used to be. He was no longer the abeer I knew all my life. He seemed distant and unknown... Moreover he used to be lost all day in his thoughts. It's not like i didnt try to find out the reason for his strange behaviour but somehow i couldnt because sasha never left his side. Slowly i realised that sasha didnt like me being anywhere near Abeer and i decided to stay away from abeer. My only childhood friend. Cmon why would i want to come between two people who love each other... But I could never say it to Sasha.
I distanced myself from abeer so that he could spend quality time with sasha. because time was the only thing that could strengthen their relationship. i wanted them to have their sweet quality time with each other. But i started missing abeer and his company. i started feeling like a stranger wheneber i came to malhotra mansion. But i couldnt leave Malhotra mansion, as I shifted there few days back only... Why...?? Because Abeer wanted me to be with him till his marriage. yes abeer n sasha were engaged and were to get married in a week or two. I was feeling uncomfortable in that whole marraige thing but there was no way i could refuse abeer.
I still clearly remember the day, i was getting ready for the diwali function downstairs. i was least interested in going in that so function because all of them would be busy among themselves. Earlier i used to have abeer with me but today he also wouldnt have time for me as sasha would never leave him alone for a second. I knew i would be nothing more than a piece of furniture and the icing on the cake will be tayi ji eating up my mind whole time because she also has no company like me. My mother and tunnu are also isnt in town, if it was for them then i wouldnt have been alone. I was wearing my necklace when i saw abeer's reflection in the mirror, standing behind me. The first thought that crossed my mind was "woww... we look great together..." and i smiled. i thought i was hallucinating because why would abeer come here when his sasha memsaab was there with him.
My train of thoughts was interrupted by a husky yet sexy voice.
"why are you smiling like an idiot...??? " said the owner of that voice Mr. Abeer Malhotra.
I immediately got up and turned around to face him. i was looking at him as if i saw a ghost but actually i was unable to believe that he was with me , standing in front of me and smirking with his patent raising brow. I wanted to touch him and make sure that i wasnt dreaming but before i could do anything, abeer caught hold of my shoulders and turned me right so that i was facing the main door of my room. Abeer was leaning on me with every passing second and i could feel his hot breath tickling on my face making me go insane. My poor innocent heart started beating so loudly that i was afraid that abeer might hear it.
"Woh aa rahi hai...???" He asked.
"Kaun...???"
"Sasha..." Abeer answered.
"Haan..." I replied and tried stepping back but his hold didn't let me move.
"Yahan dekh rahi hai...???" He again asked.
"Haan... abeer kya kar rahe ho...?? chodo...??" I was scared and wanted nothing to go wrong now. Not on such an auspicious day.
"Woh yahan pakka dekh rahi hai na...???" Abeer again inquired.
"Haan Abeer... She is looking as if she would kill me... let me go... Chodo..." I said in a single breath.
The next moment i felt as if i was in heaven... it seemed like pure bliss... i never knew that it would feel so good... i was being kissed... i felt him nibbling my lower lip and pulling me closer. His hand creating havoc on my back, roaming everywhere as if he was mentally trying to remember each n every curve of mine. i closed my eyes in anticipation, and my hands made way to the back of his neck and and ruffled his hair. I didnt want him to stop but when i heard my phone ringing, i came back to my senses and i pushed him away from me. Abeer stepped back as if questioning me the reason of my previous action... I think I saw hurt in his eyes... i touched my lips with my fingers and felt as if they were burning from his touch.
I said nothing because if i would have uttered a word, i would have definitely cried. My lips were trembling, heart hammering against my chest, eyes getting moist with tears. I turned around to fix my make-up and ignored the way abeer was looking at me, as if his eyes were accusing me, asking me questions. The whole time abeer was staring at me, i could feel his gaze but i had to ignore him to forget what happened minutes back. I had my first kiss and that too with the one who was getting married to another girl. It broke my heart. When I passed abeer making my way out of the room, abeer held my hand. I tried hard to free my hand out of his hold but he was too strong. The next moment he pinned me to the nearest wall and our sudden proximity freaking me out. Abeer moved closer to me leaving practically no space between us and i felt myself melting every second. When I again felt his hot breath tickling on my lips, my heartbeat stopped and my breath hitched... I was numb unable to react, while abeer moved more closer to me and his lips were now near my ear.
"I dont regret it..."
The four words he whispered made me speechless and i was wondering what got into him suddenly.
"Do u hear it, i dont regret it... i would never regret it... never ever in my whole life... because i kissed the girl i love... i kissed the girl who i want to marry... I kissed the girl who is the reason of my existence... she is none other than you mehu... and I, only i have that right... and mind it dare you give this right to anybody else other than me... I dare you to find a guy who could love you more than i do... Because you will lose, no one can ever love you the way I do... Marry me Meher... i cannot live without you... I only love you... staying near sasha, made me realise i want be close to you not her... Its you who I love, not her... I want you... Only you..." He said his hands clutching my waist, if it wasn't for his hold; I would have collapsed on the floor.
I was so lost in the moment that i could say nothing except his name.
"Abeer..." i said.
"Shh... let me complete... thank u... thank u soo much meher... agar tum sasha ko wapas nahi lekar aati toh main kabhi samjah nahi pata ke main kya chahta hoon... main kabhi nahi samajh pata ke main sirf aur sirf tumse pyar karta hoon... aur shadi.. shadi bhi sirf tumse karunga uss fevicol se nahi... (i wanna thank u for bringing back sasha... bcos if u didnt bring her back i would have never realised what i want from life... i would have never realised that i love you... Only u.. and i will only n only marry you... Not her...)
The moment i heard abeer addressing sasha as "fevicol" i giggled. Because that's what I used to call her; secretly.
"I am serious yaar meher... i am not joking...!!!"
I smiled at his innocence and pulled him more closer and said something i never thought i would say to anybody "I love you abeer... i really love you..."
He sighed with relief and I smiled on seeing the relaxed expression on his face and the spark of his eyes returned.
The next moment i hugged him and was overwhelmed with emotions, with happiness...
By the time we both went hand in hand downstairs, half of the drama was already over. Sasha refused to marry Abeer because he loves me and blah blah blah. We saw sasha leaving and nisaar, our mutual friend did a small happy dance. I giggled seeing his happiness and then every pair of eye landed on us. Kuber uncle asked us whether sasha was saying the truth or not... And this time I excitedly confirmed that Sasha was right and I love Abeer. Madhvi aunty was so happy and that she engulfed both of us in a hug... She wasn't ready to break the hug until Abeer told aunty to control her emotions. So, within a week everything changed, everybody was happy beyond words and we got married... I mean we are happily married...!!
"Where are you lost meri meher..???"
Abeer encircled his arms around my waist and asked while rubbing his nose on my cheek.
I chuckled and replied "i was just thinking about the last diwali... "
"Meri pyari biwi, first lets go down... its our first diwali after marriage.. and we cant be late though i desperately want to stay here with you and make this diwali even more special... Hum tum ek kamre mein band ho... Aur -"
Listening to his version of a perfect diwali celebration, I blushed.
"Oh my gosh... you still blush after full one year of marriage... unbelievable but u know what i love the effect i have on you baby..." Abeer told me.
I hurriedly finished my make up and tried dragging him out of the room so that we can attend our first diwali function... Because if I left it on him, we would be spending the rest of the night, locked in this bedroom of ours. And jab hum tum ek kamre mein band ho... You know the thing that follows... Everyone does...
"Cmon abeer... Save your plans for later... Let's burn crackers..." I tell him.
"Baby don't burn pataka, date one..." Abeer replied.
"Ohh but I married one..." I replied winking at him.
"Me too..."
We make our way downstairs. First diwali as Mr. & Mrs. Abeer malhotra.