Pavitra Rishta Written Update 26th November 2013
Episode continues from yesterday, at Kirloskar House
Arjun is yelling at Purvi: Tell me Purvi, why did u take so long? And now you are asking me, after such a long time? Where were you then, when I tried everytime to tell u! But u rejected me everytime! I stayed away because of you! Everything happened because of you! And when I called you the last time, do u know what Pari said to me?
Flashback scene: Pari is about 10 years old. Purvi wishes her Happy Birthday and kisses her. She takes out a huge teddy bear from a gift box and says, A cute soft toy for my cute Doll!
She gives the bear to Pari who says, Wow Ayi, this is really wonderful! I love you!
Purvi tells her, I made a chocolate cake for you, your favorite! You will have it naa (Pari says yes) Purvi tells her to finish her homework, then get ready for the party.
Purvi leaves the room, Pari is doing homework when the mobile rings. Pari looks at the caller ID and frowns. She picks up the phone and Arjun says, Purvi, I just want to wish Pari...its her birthday...
Pari cuts him off, Why do u call my Ayi repeatedly? If you really love me, then never call here again!
She cuts the call and Arjun sadly says, Happy Birthday, Pari!
Flashback ends.
Arjun is telling Purvi...That was the last time I called till today! I didn't call u since that day! Neither for personal nor for professional reasons! Because I knew it was no use calling you as you wouldn't listen to what I had to say and u wouldn't understand! You can thank that girl Ankita for whom we are standing here today! Otherwise we wouldn't be standing here talking to each other!
Arjun is striding off, Purvi grabs his coat again: Arjun, why are you doing this to me?
Arjun turns around and asks angrily: Then what should I do, Purvi?
She holds his face in her hands and cries: I loved you, Arjun!
Arjun yells angrily at her, Didn't I love you too?
Purvi cries, And I spent 20 years by turning this love to hatred! But now I only have anger in my heart! But not at you! Im angry for everything on earth that separated you from me! Do u know what u have missed in these 20 yrs? Not just our 20 yrs together, but u missed being with our daughter for last 20 yrs! Her childhood, her happiness, her tears... and all this happened because of your Ego!
Arjun grabs her arms and tells her, Not because of my Ego, Purvi! Because of OUR EGO! You forced me to do all this! Because of you...if I wanted I could have moved forward in life! But I didn't, because I still love YOU! I spent all these years, calling my servant's child as my daughter because I couldn't call my daughter my own! Its been 6 days since you came here, right? You are staying in a hotel room, how many times did u call ur Ayi or ur family in last 6 days whenever u felt lonely? Its been 20 yrs for me! For last 20 yrs Ive been living in this house like a hotel room, and I didn't have anyone to call when I felt lonely!
Arjun pushes her and turns away from her, Purvi is crying copiously. Then she turns and walks out of the house!
At the bar that Soham frequents:
Bar owner (same guy who tried to take Ankita's house) is telling someone to pay up the old debts and then drink.
Soham enters the bar and asks Chhotu to give a full one.
He lifts a full bottle of wine but the bar owner snatches it from him, and says, Again ur here to have free drinks! Get out of here! This time u wont get a drop of alcohol on credit. And yes, where is that cunning girl, ur daughter! She assured me that she will pay back 70,000 rupees in 70 days! What happened? She didn't even pay back 7 rupees till now! You two father daughter are both frauds!
Soham laughs, Ey Sattaar Bhai! Do u know how to read and write?
Sattar Bhai retorts, what do u mean read and write? How do u think Im running this business?
Soham says, I meant that as u know how to read and write, didn't u read today's newspaper? Owner of 7 Crores is standing before you and ur talking abt 70 thousand? If u don't give me drinks, I will go somewhere else and drink there, u keep peace.
Soham is leaving, Sattar Bhai stops him and says, Wait, why are u talking in riddles? Tell it straight!
Soham says, First I will drink a glass, then I will tell you, okay?
Soham takes a bottle, pours a glassful for some other bar customer and says, its my treat!
He and the bar owner sit at a table and he calls for a glass!
Sattar Bhai asks him to tell, Soham says, See Sattar Bhai, we have an old friendship, I have built up my strength from drinking at ur den. Now after getting rich, if I go to the next door bar, it wont be right! Im an honest person, but if u don't want profit then I will leave...
Sattar Bhai makes him sit down again and asks what profit is he talking about?
Soham takes out the newspaper and shows Sattar Bhai the photo of Naren and Ankita's engagement. He says, Look here, tell me who is this? My daughter! And who is this? Millionaire, my daughter's would be husband! Does this ring a bell in ur brain? Arey leave 70 thousand she can give u 70 Lakhs in one day! And u weren't giving me my drinks! Fool! Understood? Just wait for her wedding, but u are always so impatient! So Im leaving now!
Soham pretends to get up, Sattar Bhai makes him sit down again and asks, Are u telling the truth this time, Raghav? Or are u making a fool of me as always?
Soham gets angry, Why are u talking like a fool? I don't have so much money right now that I will publish this in the papers myself? I still didn't get the money that I will make up these lies on paper! Are u drinking what ur selling too? Let me show u something that will make u believe that Im telling the truth! What I will show u now will make ur whole family believe this!
Soham takes out the earring he had stolen from Ankita and shows it to Sattar Bhai who gets so excited he shouts, Arey, this is made of diamonds!
Soham makes him shut up! He warns why is he saying it loud?
Sattar says, Raghav this is made of diamonds...your life is set, man! Tell me what do u want to drink?
Soham smiles with self satisfaction. Sattar Bhai asks bartender to give whatever drinks Raghav wants!
Soham tells him, Its alright, I will take drinks anyway but I have to ask u for something else. I need money, see its my daughter's wedding, first we will have to spend, then she will get married na...then I will get my hands on all that money..
Sattar Bhai says, I understand! Tell me how much money u want? 10 thousand, 20 or 30 thousand?
Soham is grinning and says, enough...that is enough for today!
Sattar bhai tells him to wait and he will get the money for him!
Soham pours drinks into his glass, grinning away and singing, Naa Baap bada naa Bhaiya, the whole thing is that ke bhaiya sabsey bada rupaiya!
Sattar Bhai brings 3 stacks of notes and counts it...10, 20, 30...here, take this!
Soham stares at the money and then takes it.
Mumbai streets at night, cars and autos rushing past
Purvi is walking sadly along the road, sad song playing in the background: Benaam rishta wo...
Shes remembering all her romantic, cute moments with Arjun. The rain confession, Arjun saying, I love you, Purvi!
She sits down at a bus stop, remembers her own confession of love to Arjun. Their wedding, garland exchange.
She hears Arjun saying, Not because of my Ego, because of Our Ego! You forced me to do all this! She remembers Arjun saying he couldn't move ahead in life because he still loves her!
Purvi is crying copiously, while thinking aloud, 20 yrs ago, that day I left him hurt and crying, I thought he had cheated on me, the man whom I loved the most he had hurt me, but today I came to know he had never cheated me!
Purvi is walking along, she comes to a railway bridge and goes up the stairs and sits down on one side, still thinking aloud: Arjun, my one misunderstanding became my life's biggest mistake! I wasted so many years, punishing you, punishing myself by staying away from my love! Its so strange, I don't know if I shd be happy to know the truth or sad for spending 20 yrs away from him! Im happy that my Arjun is still mine! But its so tragic that it took me so long to realize this!
Ankita's chawl
Soham is returning home totally drunk! He collides with a guy, who yells at him, Look out, old man!
Soham yells back, Old man must be your father!
Pranav who was playing outside the house, sees his dad, he runs inside to tell his sisters.
A nearby stall vendor comments abt Soham, Now here he comes to create trouble! Hes come in suit boot today, it seems he stole a suit from someone today.
Pranav goes and tells Ankita that Baba is in a suit and is fighting with people. Ankita is surprised that why is Baba in a suit?
Prashant was rushing outside to tackle Soham but Ankita stops him, Don't do anything today, he is already drunk and will create a scene outside! Lets bring him inside.
The kids gang go outside where Soham is dancing drunkenly in the lane, singing, Yeh suit mera dekho yeh boot mera dekho...jaisey gora koi London kaa...
Ankita and Prashant come and grab him, he grins and says loudly, Arey my darling daughter! Hey you old guys (to the neighbours), look at this photo, I have money now, money! And look at my imported drinks, my suit...
His bottle falls on the street and breaks as his kids drag him into the house while he yells for his bottle.
Pranav quickly closes the door. Soham is lying on the floor and drawling... I will get more imported wine, I have money...
Prashant asks him angrily, where did u steal this suit from?
Soham smiles, My enemies may steal, why will I steal? I bought this myself!
Ankita frowns, You bought it? Where did u get the money? Soham laughs drunkenly, says, That bar owner, he gave me 30 thousand!
All kids are shocked! Prashant asks Soham, So much money! On what grounds did he give you so much money?
Ankita yells, Tell us! Why did u have to take so much money? How will we repay all that money now?
Soham laughs, Ankita ur too nave! Here read this!
He throws the newspaper at her, she looks at it , hes saying, Theres ur photo in the papers, ur a Millionaire's wife! Lots of money, lots of money!
Ankita is very upset, thinks aloud, I already have so much tension, and on top of that Baba! What shd I do? From where will I bring so much money? And this marriage, I don't know what to do! Naren Sir is such a nice guy but his mental illness? And I don't want to take advantage of his illness, that too for this person! Never!
Next morning at Karmarkar house
Rushali is talking to someone on the phone: I cannot call Ankita, she didn't answer yet but I cant call her.
Just then Ankita arrives at the house and is shown inside by the butler. Rushali sees her and hangs up.
She calls Ankita inside and says, I was waiting for you so eagerly, I have never waited for anyone else so desperately...anyways, shall we sit?
Ankita tells her somberly, I came to answer your question. I cannot marry your son!
Rushali is stunned. Ankita continues, Ma'am Im sorry, I know u did a lot for my family! You got my father released from jail, u preserved our family honor! I will never forget your kindness! But ma'am, I can see certain things that perhaps u cannot see. Ma'am, my father is a very crooked person. Ever since he found out that the family Im getting married into are millionaires, I don't want him to take advantage of u or Naren Sir in any way! That's why...
Rushali asks her, Ankita whatever ur saying now, did u take this decision after a lot of deliberation?
Ankita nods, says Yes Ma'am! I cannot marry Naren Sir!
Rushali sighs and says, Okay, I was expecting u to be diplomatic alongwith being intelligent. Youre using ur father as an excuse to express ur own feelings. Because you also feel that Naren is crazy and there are no chances of his ever being normal again! The real reason for ur rejection is this, right?
Ankita says, No Ma'am! Youre misunderstanding me! I have more reasons why I cannot marry him. I have younger siblings for whom Im responsible!
Rushali cuts in: All those responsibilities will be mine, then whats the problem?
Anki says, there is a problem, Ma'am! I cannot leave them alone there! My dad is a drunkard, I cannot leave my siblings alone with him! And I cant bring them here because theres Naren Sir here. If they come to know abt Naren Sir, then I don't know what will happen! That's why...
Ankita takes off her engagement ring and holds it out to Rushali whos looking very upset, Anki says, I cant marry Naren sir, because of all this...
Rushali takes the ring back unwillingly, Ankita does Namaste to her, says Im sorry and leaves the house.
Raunak comes down the stairs with a nasty smile, he had been eavesdropping apparently.
Naren comes to Rushali and asks if Ahana had come there? Why didn't she meet me? Did she come?
Rushali notices hes wearing a white sherwani and asks him why hes wearing that? Naren says, hes going to wear that to his wedding.
Raunak comes forward and tells Rushali, I will marry in place of Bro...at least Bro will get a chance to wear those wedding clothes! Hes not getting married anyway, Ankita refused to get married naa?
Rushali glares at him but calls Naren to stop. She goes to him and says, I was thinking this is nice but not that great! And my son's wedding will be so grand that nobody ever has seen such a grand one! Like never before! So the dress shd be also grand, right Raunak? Something just out of this world for my son, right?
Naren says Ok Mom! Thank you! Then he goes upstairs again...
Rushali goes back to Raunak and taunts him, What happened? Wont u get ready for the wedding? Its ur brother's wedding!
Raunak asks her, Why are u so desperate for brother's wedding? I just don't understand! Probably that's the only way to treat his illness right? And if wedding doesn't happen then brother wont recover! And if brother doesn't recover then whole world will come to know that brother is crazy!
Rushali shakes her head in disgust: I just cant believe this! So much hatred for your brother? Why? Because hes more talented than you, he has more brains than you, for that?
Raunak mocks, One more big misconception! Mom, hes wearing a wedding sherwani at home! For a wedding that's not even guaranteed yet! And ur saying HE has the brains?
Rushali tells him, Raunak, if Naren is wearing wedding sherwani then he only will get married!
Ruanak says, Just now that girl rejected his proposal and still you...
Rushali tells him forcefully, What did I tell you just now? Make wedding preparations! Your brother's wedding will happen! You mark my words!
She marches off, leaving Raunak worried.
Purvi in her hotel room
Shes calling her mother and crying, Ayi, where are you? Ayi I really need u here! I miss you!
Archana in Canada is saying, Purvi please calm down, tell me first why are u going on crying?
Purvi holds the wall for support and tells Archu, Ayi, I and Arjun ...20 years...
Archu urges her to tell what the matter is, Purvi why are u crying so much, tell me what happened? Im getting too much tension, please tell me...
Purvi tells her the whole truth.
Archana is very upset, she takes off her glasses.
Purvi sobs, Ayi, Arjun was never wrong! The circumstances were wrong! I was wrong! He had even tried to talk to me but I never gave him a chance! He was never wrong! He tried so many times to tell me the truth but I didn't listen to him even once! And I used to think that hes happy with Ovi but he was all alone here, he wasn't with Ovi! He could have lived with Ovi if he wanted ...he could have remarried but no...he didn't do anything like that! Its all my fault, Ayi! I kept my child away from her father! I stayed away from my love! Im guilty towards both of them! I made a huge mistake! Arjun was alone for 20 yrs because of me! Its all my fault!
Purvi sobs, and sits down on the floor, still sobbing. Archana hangs up, shes also crying.
PRECAP: Archana is crying and telling Manav, Twenty years ago, Arjun and Purvi separated from each other! But none of us tried to find out the real reason for their separation! Somewhere it was our fault, Manav! Being Purvi's parents, we shd have tried to reason with her, we shd have told her that maybe she was mistaken, we shd have seen if Arjun was really wrong or not! Because of our mistake, 3 lives have been ruined! Manav, please do something! I have to go to India!
Manav is pacing around in agitation, he stops and says, Archana, Arjun was with Ovi, right?
Archana cries, Arjun is innocent, Manav, he didn't do anything!
Manav looks shocked to hear all this!