hw r u ?

n thanx 😳

HR ki sayyonni thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
Himesh(n)
By: Lalitha Suhasini
October 8, 2006
Raju Reshammiya? Lookalike Salil Raju claims he can sing better than the real McCoy and that Himesh aped his look after spotting him at a party
From Kedarnath to Kerala, all the Himesh fans know the score. Even a spoof works to Himesh Reshammiya's advantage.

Half a million minutes, 1500 participants and a sequel later MTV India's Himesh Spoof Voice Portal is proof enough that Himesh Reshammiya is still a thriving business in the music industry.

While Himesh was away on his 18-city American tour, Jhalak Dikhla Jaa, Aashiq Banaya and Aap Ki Kashish were being made into bhajans for Santoshi Maa and Maiharwali Maa. Even versions are no mean feats, say singers who have been trying to replicate that nasal twang to perfection.
We meet the Himesh sound-alikes at a suburban coffee outlet —one of the singers Upendra Verma claims that he's a good friend of the original. "Himesh's demand is growing.

Go to Vaishnodevi or any pilgrimage site and you'll hear bhajans set to his hit songs," says Upendra, who moved to Mumbai seven years ago. With straightened hair, and figure hugging clothes, Upendra looks more like Himesh's predecessor and rival Sonu Nigam.

Next up is 38-year-old Suresh Anand who has set off a tiny rage on his own, performing Himesh numbers across the rural hinterland of Maharashtra, West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh. "Unka junoon chal gaya hai. Yeh sufiwala touch logon ko appeal kar raha hai," says Anand, who has also composed for Bhojpuri films. Anand's ambition — "I want to cut my own album in Hindi just like Himesh. Unke tarah hi kuch karna chahta hoon main."

Himesh soundalike Sunny Nayar
But we were mildly surprised to know that Himesh fans from Palakkad called in to participate in the Himesh Spoof Voice Portal contest.

"There are so many in my class who don't like his songs, but it's my taste and I have a group of friends who love Himesh. I like most of his songs," says 15-year-old Class X student Abhinav Chandran from Palakkad. Another South Indian who's trying to master that sound is Sunny Nayar, a Shanmukhananda Fine Arts alumni in Hindustani Classical and Carnatic who has been quick to catch onto the craze.

"It's very difficult to sing his songs especially in bhajan form because the pitch is higher and the tempo is faster," says Nayar. Ask Himesh for a comment on the devotional versions of his hits that have been doing the rounds and he drops yet another gem: "It's absolutely divine intervention."

And then there are the likes of Salil Raju, who think that they have always sung better than the real Suroor singer. Raju definitely isn't a fan, but looks uncannily like Himesh.

"At least 10 people on the road call out to me thinking I'm Himesh. But I think he's copied my style. While I'm not a professional singer, I think I'm a better singer than him," says Raju, who has dabbled as an actor on the small screen and is currently PA to MLA Ramesh Kadam.

Suresh Anand wants to do another Aap ka Suroor
Popular RJ Jaggu of Radio One 92.5's morning show reiterates that Reshammiya has always provoked extreme reactions. "While we have a section getting angry and asking us 'Why do you play Hindi, and if you have to play Hindi why do you play Himesh?', I think that he's hit jackpot with the tapori autorickshawallas and cabbies," he says.

And the man himself has announced that he has drastically slashed 20 films from the work that's cut out for the year ahead. "I'm going to do very very exclusive music and do three-four films a year to concentrate on two or three international projects," Himesh says.

He's got Apne, Namaste London, Welcome, Mr Fraud, Goodboy Badboy, Shakalaka Boom amongst others lined up. But if you still miss him, your local transport might just fill the gaps. Says Allahabad-born taxi driver Kripashankar Tiwari, 21, "I play Himesh everyday, but I've recently lost the Aap ka Suroor tape." Only he's not the type to blare the singer's hits constantly.

"Sometimes, passengers may not like it so I switch it off," says the considerate cabbie. But on every long empty ride back home, Himesh is Tiwari's driving force.

Himesh OK please.
http://www.mid-day.com/smd/play/2006/november/146258.htm
HR ki sayyonni thumbnail
'Sonu is the best singer in the country'
By: Lalitha Suhasini
October 29, 2006

His concert opens at Wembley tonight and the singer's turning hoarse announcing his big plans. We're more interested in probing his dark side and we realise that his reasoning is tuned differently today.

Himesh Reshammiya, who once claimed he's the best thing to happen to Indian music, now indulges in some hippy babble about karma and destiny – the international tours have had some effect, eh?

You're this self-proclaimed rockstar.
That will be proved after my Wembley concert on October 29. The status of a rockstar hasn't been designed by me. I've never said that I'm a rockstar. If you go to the internet, you can check out that the world press who have covered the US shows have seen the euphoria. I've performed to a packed house at amphitheatre Hollywood, at Air Canada Centre which has the largest capacity where international rockstars perform.

But when my advertisement to announce my new projects was released with statements in world press articles, there was this jealousy among a few people. I think they've got all the right to be jealous, because God has been kind to me and this kind of euphoria is unprecedented.

Who are you jealous of?
I'm not jealous of anyone, because from the time I've achieved this success over the last two years, my dad and uncle have told me not to think bad of anyone else. Four years ago, my attitude was being a little more insecure. I was just a music director then when I used to think, 'Agar yeh meri film chalegi aur doosre ki bhi film chalegi toh competition hoga. Meri chalegi aur uski na chale toh bahut achcha hoga.' It was pointed out by my uncle and this is what Karmalogy says so. I've never have I ever wished anyone bad. It would spoil my karma.

So you've never heard another song sung by someone else, say Sonu Nigam, and thought I could have sung this better?
No. I've heard songs and felt that this is a great song. You can say that Aashiq Banaya and Woh Lamhe belong to the same genre. Like Tere Naam's music was of Lakmikant Pyarelal's genre.

So yes, you get inspired by that music. I'm an absolutely original composer but yes, I've started appreciating Pritam's, Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy's, Vishal-Shekar's and A R Rahman's music. Even Sonu Nigam is the best singer of India. This whole controversy against me and him has been blown out of proportion and I have never said anything against him.

Do you have a fear of failing?
Yes, I do. Of course, everyone has and I will accept that I do because everyday I've been putting in 18 hours of effort. Finally whether a person goes down in his career or goes up, I have realised that it's all because of destiny.

What's your worst composition?
Many like Ande ka funda, which I did at the beginning of my career. This was a time when I did what the producers and directors wanted me to do.

You also tried something different with Ahista Ahista, but it bombed.
Everyone loved the music of Ahista Ahista and Aap Ki Khatir. They didn't do well because all the four releases Ahista Ahista, Aap Ki Khatir, Dil Diya and Rocky were timed at the same time, clashing with each other in August. I told my producers to space it out but they couldn't because they wanted to release them before Shraad, Ganesh Chaturti and Diwali. I heard 16 songs being blasted on one Sunday. We didn't know how to position the slots and obviously, sales were affected.

http://www.mid-day.com/news/city/2006/october/145721.htm
Jem4Himesh thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: bigmouth

oye! hi everyone😳 congratz jani...YAY you're a senior member now!!😃 jussst keep on climbing that ladder😉 celina congratz on getting a job sis...im SO happy for you😃 oye jem dii no offliners OR chatting these days😭 i miss it yaar😳 badi it's been forever...where are you these dayss? (technically U should be askin ME that question...😆...but either way we haven't been talking much na? thanks for the trillions of articles ash😛😉😃 love you guys🤗😳

🤗himani sis...sorry yaar I have been sooooo busy lately...i'll send u an offliner right now 😉 missin ya too 😭 glad to see u postin again here 😃

Jem4Himesh thumbnail

Originally posted by: Celina7

aww thanx hun😳. haha u kno yday wz ma 1st day n i took 2day off cuz we have a reli bad blizzard.. now we have more than 2 ft of snow n it lookz like ima have 2 take 2morrow off 2.. wht a bad start huh? but o well it int ma fault lolz..

yea jem di ur neva online

celina sis...i told u before naa...im quite busy @mo & coz of time difference between states & UK you are not online when I am sis 😳

Jem4Himesh thumbnail

Originally posted by: HR ki sayyonni

hey all !!!!!!!!!!!!!

gals plz plz plz vote 4 himeshji here !

Please vote for Himeshji in online poll here, its for deciding top ten gujaratis of the year 2006

http://deshgujarat.com/

unfortunatly bulk voting is not allowed ! - sooo evry1 plzzzz vote !

click on the link - a new page will open - n there u'll c a running mssg - click on tat n vote - plzzzzzzzzzz

ash sis...will def vote!!! us gujju's rock 😃 (awesome siggy sis 👏😉)

HR ki sayyonni thumbnail

hey jem di !!

every1 - i think we need to decide on our timings !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
soo plzz every1 do tell us wen u'll wld be free !!!!!!!!

i've got holidays nw - soo i'm free alwayz ( except if i'm goin out somewhere ) 😛

HR ki sayyonni thumbnail

Originally posted by: Jem4Himesh

ash sis...will def vote!!! us gujju's rock 😃 (awesome siggy sis 👏😉)

yep gujju 's rock !!!!!!!!! 😉😃 !!!!!! aweee hope himeshji wins !!!!!!!!!!!!
a polition called Narendra Modi is very much in the lead ! - n himeshji is jus within 70 votes

hope HR wins ! 😛😳

oh n thanx di ! 😛

Jem4Himesh thumbnail

Originally posted by: HR ki sayyonni

hey jem di !!

every1 - i think we need to decide on our timings !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
soo plzz every1 do tell us wen u'll wld be free !!!!!!!!

i've got holidays nw - soo i'm free alwayz ( except if i'm goin out somewhere ) 😛

yep sis...I agree too! I jus voted...shame bulk votin isn't allowed 😡😆

HR ki sayyonni thumbnail

Originally posted by: Jem4Himesh

yep sis...I agree too! I jus voted...shame bulk votin isn't allowed 😡😆