Ishveer Story (Our Way) - Katra Katra Main Girun It was a thunder night. Ranveer and Ishaani were heading back home from college. That day they were late because of the dance practices for the upcoming play in the university. Ishaani's family wasnt worried because they knew Ishaani is with Ranveer. Ranveer was not only their driver but he was also the best of friends with Ishaani. Therefore Ranveer went to same college for studies where Ishaani took admission. In the morning he used to attend the college and in the evening worked for Parekh family.
"Ranveer hope we would reach home on time", Ishaani asked worriedly seeing the thunder and rain outside from the car window.
"Ishaani, don't worry I am there na, I would make you reach on time." Saying this Ranveer speeded up.
But all of a sudden their car came to a screech halt. Ranveer thought what has happened now to this car he said to ishani I'm checking but u will stay inside the car...he checked car as rain started falling and seeing it ishani as she lyked rain cudnt resist and came out of the car and started feeling it...ran veer then came and said why u came out of the car i told u not to then why????
Ishani said chill ran veer its raining and u know how much I love rain but ran veer was about to say sumthing but stopped seeing her enjoying seeing her smile always his heart skips a beat...They were both silent for while.. then ishaani looked at ranveer and jokingly said i think car did not agree with ur statement and started giggling.. Ranveer was astonished at ishaanis reaction and said our car stopped and ur laughing?? While ishaani was chilled out and said u are there to take care of me why should i worry, u just said that nah?? Chalo see what happened to the car.
It rained heavily as they, Ishani and Ranveer, headed towards the car to see what had happened. Ishani looked at Ranveer adoringly as a friendly smile crept over her face while he continued to examin the engine of the car. "Is there anything wrong?" she asked. "Yes. I mean no. It's not a big deal. Wait minute!" Ranveer fumbled being mesmerized by her beauty, blazing eyes and a strange look in them.Ranveer was trying to fix up the car even though he couldn't help himself from the fact that his eyes were constantly fluttering towards ishaani and looking at the way ishaani was enjoying herself all drenched up in the rain he thought he should convey his feeling's towards ishaani ...
How much Ishaani loved the rain the more she was allergic to it. Ishaani started sneezing now heavily. Ranveer who was engrossed in repairing the car got distracted hearing Ishaani's sneezes..He rushed towards her and helding her by her shoulders asked, "What happened Ishaani..you ok?" Sneezing once again, she groaned sadly.
"Ugh, I've caught a cold I guess. Now what is Papa going to say?"
Ranveer looked at her with concern, as the frequency of her sneezes were only increasing by the minute and Ranveer could not really understand what was wrong with the car. Ranveer looked around and saw that the road was deserted. SIghing, he removed his phone from the pocket to call the Parekh mansion to ask for another car to be brought, when a frustrated growl left him. There was no network available.
Ranveer looked here and there for some help and also at the same time was worried about Ishaani..suddenly his eyes felt on a cottage kind of thing opposite the roadside... Ranveer looked at Ishaani, who was now beginning to shiver violently from the combined effect of the increasing cold and continuous sneezing and spoke to her gently.
"Ishaani, there isn't any network in my phone and I don't think there is anything we can do now except wait. There is a cottage opposite the road. Maybe we could wait over there for sometime. Right now, just sit in the car and warm yourself up a bit, while I go and find out about the cottage."
Ishaani looked nervous and quickly took out her phone to check for the network, but in vain. She nodded half-hearted at Ranveer as she went and sat in the car but before Ranveer could leave her, she caught hold of his wrist.
"Promise me that you will never leave me alone." Ranveer looked surprised, but smiled gently at her.
"Never ever." Giving a reassuring smile to Ishaani, Ranveer quickly shut the door of the car and took his umbrella and ran towards the cottage, that could very well become their refuge for the night. It took him 5 minutes to reach the cottage. It was as deserted as the road in that stormy night. There was no one there. He looks here and there to find a clue of any living being but all was in vain. "Hello!" he shouted loudly, "anybody home?" No sound returned his question. "Is this the safe place to get Ishani here," he thought to himself. "Safer than the roadside, for sure," he concluded after 2 minutes of confusion. He set out to get Ishani there. The cottage was deserted. Ranveer walked around in all the 3 rooms it had. There was not a soul nor any indication of anyone having lived there recently.. He wondered what to do...Ranveer was confused. The house looked safe enough for the two of them to spend the night in the cottage, but then again, he could not be entirely sure about it and whether Ishaani would actually agree for such an arrangement. He knew that she had very high and orthodox morals when it came to things like these and he himself wasn't overly happy about it. BUt desperate times called for desperate measure.
Setting out to fetch Ishaani once again, he reached the car and explained the entire scenario to her. Just like he expected, she wasn't happy in the least about the arrangements, but she knew that the deserted cottage was anytime safer than the roads. Grudgingly, she got down from the car and took along with her the emergence kit from the dickey that would suffice them for the night.
On their way to cottage Ishaani was shivering a lot. Ranveer wanted to help her by hugging her tight but their friendship was coming in the way of his thoughts. He just wanted to see her safe and sound. Therefore he increased the speed of walking towards their way to cottage. The moment Ishaani entered the cottage, she stopped shivering violently, even though her teeth were still chattering. Ranveer quickly opened the emergency bag and removed a large towel from it and wrapped it around Ishaani's shoulder, so that she could dry herself properly, without falling too sick. Ranveer himself felt the bitter cold cut in his skin, for he could never bear being in so much contact with water, especially rains, but his worries could wait. Ishaani's well being was his main priority right now.
The towel helped Ishaani to stop shivering and the sneezes also reduced. But all of a sudden now Ranveer started sneezing. Seeing this Ishaani burst into fits of laughter.
"Why are you laughin?" Ranveer asked Ishaani confusingly with a shivering voice.
"I guess you need this towel now"...saying this Ishaani came very close to Ranveer and started rubbing his hair with the towel. As usual, Ranveer felt something electric course through him at the touch of Ishaani's hands touching him. But Ishaani just smiled at him and kept wiping off his hair until is was completely ruffled up, to which she gave out another hearty laugh. Hee, hee.. Ranveer, you look like a dog who didnt want to bath.. ! Ishani giggled...
Ranveer laughed too... As he looked at her, she thought his eyes looked like a puppy's too!! But she dared not say that...Then He just kept looking at her and felt his heart warming up and the love he had for her stirring inside him and the comment she gave him made him laugh and feel shy at once . The happiness at hearing her laugh and her touch was making him feel emotions he had always kept in side him.Ranveer scowled at her comment and Ishaani laughed once again, a very carefree note in her laughter that always manage to melt Ranveer's problems away in a minute. He smiled at her, in the same way he always did when she was too busy being happy than to notice anyone around her. When she finally turned to stare at him, her laughter died down eventually, as Ranveer stared at her with the same intensity of love and loyalty that he always proudly showed in his eyes and somehow, all Ishaani could do was admire the way his innocent brown eyes twinkled in the bright light of the cottage.
"Ranveer, what will we eat.. mujhe bhook lag rahi hai..." Ishani said.
Ranveer remembered that he had some theplas in his tiffin in the college bag. But the bag was in the car and it would need another trip outside in the incessant rain.."Ranveer, what will we eat.. mujhe bhook lag rahi hai..." Ishani said.
Ranveer remembered that he had some theplas in his tiffin in the college bag. But the bag was in the car and it would need another trip outside in the incessant rain..On his way back after taking the food from the car, Ranveer was running because the rains were getting more faster. But while running, Ranveer's legs hit a big stone on the roadside due to which he fumbled down and hurt himself on the legs and arms..
A growl of pain escaped Ranveer's lips as he tried to get back on his feet, while his new shirt was completely ruined due to the rains, mud marks and rips on his arm from where his shirt had torn and blood was escaping, getting diluted with the steadily pounding rains. Ranveer sighed in relief, however, when he saw that the tiffin had somehow managed to stay intact, despite the nasty fall.The moment Ranveer stood up, he felt his knees buckle beneath him but managed to catch the bark of the nearest tree for support. His legs felt a sharp jab of pain as he tried to walk and Ranveer was more than certain that he had sprained his ankle. Muttering at his misfortune of having got caught up in such a situation and having ruined his best shirt, Ranveer made his way limping to the cottage, so that Ishaani could atleast have something to eat.
After all this pain somehow though he managed to walk towards the cottage. The moment he reached the gate of the cottage his legs gave up and he fell down again this time shouting out with pain too..Hearing hin shout Ishaani, who was trying to set fire in the cottage, got scared and looked towards the door.
Seeing Ranveer all decked up in mud and blood marks on his shirt and jeans made Ishaani terrified.
Ishaani noticed Ranveer's disheveled state and immediately made him lie down on one of the couches in the room. Keeping the tiffin aside, she quickly struggled finding for something in the bag, before she removed the First Aid box from it. Ranveer looked at her surprised and was about to speak before Ishaani glared at him like a fierce cat.Ishaani walked up to him and asked him to take off his shirt. Ranveer looked at her embarrassed at first, before Ishaani glared at him harder and he quickly took it off so that Ishaani could inspect his wounds. The cuts on his arm was not deep, but it was a huge gash that had a lot of small stones and wood pieces splintered in it.
Ishaani brought a bowl of water that was kept in one of the rooms and started washing Ranveer's wounds. Ranveer yelled loudly as the water stung his wounds severely and half bit his lips in pain until it started bleeding too, as Ishaani started removing the foreign particles from his wounds.
Everytime Ishaani cleaned one wound, Ranveer would growl in pain. Ishaani was not able to see his best friend like this. She was feeling guilty that why did she sent him again. On the other hand Ranveer was just staring at her lovingly. She looked more beautiful when was more closer to him. And the moon light that fell on her face made her face glow thw more. Ranveer stared at the way the moonlight kept glistening on Ishaani's face as the latter's face was screwed up in concentration while she was tying up the bandage on his arm. The moonlight made Ishaani's eyes sparkle all the more and made her look much more beautiful. Ranveer forgot about his pain as he stared into her eyes, oblivious to any of his sufferings, for all that mattered to him was her safety and security.
Ishaani looked up at him finally and saw him staring at her, with an innocent smile on his face. She looked guilty and tried to avert her gaze from his, but somehow, his chocolate eyes seemed to have been giving her a warmth that even the cozy atmosphere of the cottage was unable to give her. Ranveer's stare was making Ishaani uncomfortable but at the same time she felt like this moment should not stop and she continued staring at each other. Their eyes locked each others for quite a sometime until a loud sound of thunder disturbed their sweetest moment. The thunder sound was so loud that Ishaani actually got scared and ended up hugging Ranveer tightly. Ranveer was startled, for their eye lock barely been interrupted and Ishaani was holding on to him as though there was no tomorrow. But he smiled as he started patting her head awkwardly, for he knew that she was very afraid of lightning. Ishaani seemed to be shivering once again in his arms, but not because of the cold rains, but in fright.
Ranveer did not know for how long he held her this way before his wounded arm went limp and dangled down useless. This managed to snap Ishaani back to her senses.
"What happened Ranveer? Dard ho raha hai" asked Ishaani in a frightened tone looking at his arm and also trying to hide the shyness of what just transpired between them."Zyada nahi bas thoda sa." Said ranveer keeping his other hand on his arms.
"Chalo tum so jao", Ishaani said this while getting up and trying to make Ranveer lay on the couch
"Nahi its okay Ishaani. I am fine" said while resisting Ishaani's suggestion to sleep.
"I dont wanna hear anything Ranveer...you are sleeping" Ishaani ordered him and made him lay down.
While Ishaani was leaving from there, Ishaani's bangle got caught with one of the opened strings of the thread which tied on Ranveer's wrist. Due to this she felt a jerk and she fell on Ranveer's bare chest which also resulted of their lips being touched unintentionally and they ended up giving each other a kiss.
Both of them were stunned with this sudden development..
In so many years they were never aware of each other's physical presence like at that moment.. Both felt their faces reddening.
Thankfully there was little light in the room for them to see each other's faces and the embarrassment..They were embarrased of what just happened between them but at the same time they were happy and shocked too. Ishaani for the first time realized what she actually felt for Ranveer. She started realizing her true feelings for his childhood friend. She always loved his presence in her life but that one moment made her realize that yes she loves him too and wants to be in his arms life long.
Ranveer who always loved Ishaani since he was 9 years old, that moment felt like heaven for him and he wished to have Ishaani in his life. And wanted to make her his life.
There was a sudden tenseness in the air, something that had never been there ever before between them. It was as though some kind of tension was building up around them, inside their hearts, for that one innocently unintentional moment had brought about a wide variation of emotions.Startled and embarrassed at first both of them separated themselves from each other and Ranveer heeded Ishaani's advice and tried to go to sleep but in vain. In his mind, the same crackling sensation kept giving him goosebumps over and over again and his heart seemed to have been beating irregularly.
Ishaani, on the other hand, tried to eat the thepla that Ranveer had brought her, but she could no longer swallow it and she felt as though the hunger was snatched away from her. She absent mindedly kept touching her lips, until she felt too stunned to think about anything else and closed the tiffin, hoping that they could have these theplas for the next day maybe.
As the thunder kept cracking noises like a whip, Ishaani didn't dare to hide herself in Ranveer's arms for refuge for the moment that had just happened between them seemed to have been suspended over head about her, her conscience guilty even though it was just an accident.
Funny, how a silly little incident could change the dynamics and atmosphere of the room within a spur of 5 minutes.
Still she couldn't help stealing glances at him, his outline clearly visible in the combination of the silvery moonlight and the faint yellow flames of the fire she had lit..
It was obvious that he was trying hard to sleep.. After gatherig much courage in her, Ishaani got up from her place and started walking slowly towards Ranveer. Ranveer with his eyes closed could sense her coming near him and with that he tries closing his eyes even more harder. Ishaani dint wanted to stop herself today. She thought, "Agar aaj maine apni feelings chupayi to shayad zindagi bhar nahi bol paungi".
"I dont know what ranveer feels about me. But today i would tell him what i feel about him", thinking this she went and stood besides Ranveer's couch.
The rain and thunder had finally stopped. But somehow, Ranveer still seemed to be restless, turning his head in a toss and turn over the cushion, while he seemed to be moaning something.
Ishaani, who couldn't sleep in this din, noticed Ranveer's discomfort and walked up to him and sat beside him. She gapsed, however, when she realised that Ranveer was cryinh in his sleep, moaning something inaudible.
All of a sudden, Ranveer yelled as through strangled with pain and started pleading at the top of his voice.
"Mota babuji, please, please mujhe mat mariye, maine... maine yeh sab jaan bujh kar nahi kiya hai... nahi please..."
Ishaani looked at him alarmed, as Ranveer began to writhe even harder and Ishaani tried to shake him awake, but Ranveer still kept on crying and pleading, until he suddenly shot up awake, his head covered in sweat and tears streaming from his face and Ishaani came into view once again.
"Kya hua ranveer? Tum Chilla kyun rahe the?? Koi bura sapna dekha?" Ishaani hugged him and trying to soothe him while saying this.Ranveer embraced Ishaani and tightened the grip around her as if not letting her go.
"Woh...woh...maine...maine.." Ranveer started fumbling
"Kuch nahi hua..main hoon na ranveer...bas shaant ho jao"..said Ishaani still holding Ranveer in her embrace.
After few seconds Ranveer got calmer and both came out from their embrace. This hug made their need for each other grew even more. How they wished that it doesnt end and they stay in each other's arms for the entire life.
Both unaware of each other's feeling were dying out of shyness thinking about what all is happening to them that night..first that kiss and now this hug..and still whats in store of them for that night..the night was not ending and they dint even wanted to end.
Ranveer looked at Ishaani uncertainly as though not knowing what to expect next. The night had taken the most extraordinary turn of events and both Ishaani and Ranveer were still coming to terms with everything that happened.
Suddenly, without any notice, Ishaani left Ranveer's side and walked up to the window, where the dawn's first signs were already showing in the sky. Ranveer stared at her for severals moments, before making up his mind.
Walking up to Ishaani, he stood besise her near the window and turned her towards him. Ishaani did not look surprised by this gesture, but her eyes held an eagerness that could be easily seen.
Ranveer had always thought of this moment happening in several ways with the best of clothes and the best of words, but nothing occured to him at this moment. So, he decided to move on the simplest mode of action.
Taking Ishaani's hand within his own, he looked at her deep with his eyes and muttered the words as soulfully as he could.
"I love you."
The moment those words came out tears started showing up in ishaanis eyes. Ranveer got scared that maybe he said something he should not have. He was imagining many outcomes of his proposal but ishaani remained silent. Tears strted falling from her eyes. Raanveer got scared and slowly said ishaani i love you but i dnt expect u to love me back because i know u just think of me as a friend but i cant hide this anymore. I love you from every depth of my heart and today u know.
Slowly he turned back with the sinking feeling in his heart but suddenly ishaani held his hand and pulled him back.. Then slowly as he turned he saw her face. Tears was falling from here eye but her eyes also expressed an immense happiness which could not be explained.. Hearing this soulful words a loving smile made a curve on Ishaani's face and she felt as if heaven was there for just there and then..she finally uttered those 3 magical words too... "I Love you too Ranveer"..and saying this both finally embraced each other but this time their hug was not due to any embrassement but was out of all love.
After breaking their hug Ranveer cupped Ishaani's face in his hands and this with full authority he went close and attached his lips with hers. Taking in the taste of her juicy and pinky lips Ranveer felt as if his life mission was gonna complete and wanted time to stop there and then.Ishaani dint stopped him because she too wanted to be in that moment.
The light of the dawn fell on them, as beautiful and pure as their love.. Ranveer looked at her mesmerized by the pink orange hue reflected in her face , while she tried to fathom the depth of the love in his eyes.. they didn't speak a word. But the silence said it all...Even though there were several unsaid things left between them, silence was the one thing that managed to say it all, for they had always learnt to read and understand each other through the other's silence rather than words.