OS - A Cute Pick Up In The Rain
Dev Dixit's driver was getting the car ready, to go to airport and pick Dev, who was returning after attending a conference in Mumbai.
It was raining cats and dogs, in Delhi, a rare feat in itself, blame global warming.
The climate was cool, the pitter patter of the rain drops, outside, in the open, providing a soothing effect to the occupants huddled inside their houses, enjoying the downpour over samosas, kachoris, and pakodas.
The scene was no different in the Dixit household. It was Sonakshi's time to leave, and she had called a cab, to save the poor old driver some trouble of dropping her and reaching the airport in the showers.
It wasn't particularly late in the evening, hardly 7 pm but the sky was beautifully shrouded, in black, purple and violet, suddenly brightening with lightning and thunder.
It seemed as if the skies, too were celebrating the beautiful weather, as inimitable as the Kohinoor.
Sonakshi came out, to hear the driver frantically speaking to someone on the phone.
She overheard, and figured out, someone was ill in the poor old man's family, and she decided to help out, on Dev's behalf, of course. She messaged Teena, about the course of events, instantly, knowing that's what Dev would have done.
As the driver stood in a dilemma, she approached him, "Driver, aap chale jao. That, cab there, is waiting, for me. You leave, since you are in a hurry. I have asked Teena to help out with your family. Take care of them. And, don't worry, about picking Dev from the airport, I'll do that. Give me the keys. And, I won't take No for an answer. You do realise, right, how angry Dev would be, if he knew, and didn't seek help?"
The driver, quietly agreed and thanked Sonakshi profusely, which she stopped him from, midway, and hurried him to leave. Before he left, she asked for his cap. Though confused, the driver, didn't disobey.
As he left, he muttered, "Jaise, Dev Sir, waise hi Sonakshi Madam. Dil toh sone ka hai hi, zid bhi ek jaise hi karte hain. Bhagwan ka shukr hai."
Sonakshi, opened the door, and started the car.
In The Flight
The weather, was quite unpleasant when you are flying in the skies, the sky's celebrations seem quite intrusive and overbearing for us, humans.
And, the pilots were finding it difficult to land safely and on time.
Dev, was at the window's seat, a small smile playing on his lips.
He was satisfied, with the conference, things had gone his way, he had met a lot of people, men and women with far greater experience and talent he possessed, but still, quite impressively, had their feet firmly planted on the ground. Dev, felt humbled, when he met, such people. Every time, he went for such conferences and gatherings, he met new people, and learnt something more, from them, less technicality, and more humane. Business was a mind game, like chess. Civilised, strategic, interesting, and calculated. And, he loved what he did.
The constant announcements by the flight attendants, were getting to him now, and he looked up sharply. It had been a long flight, and he wanted to get home. He was tired and exhausted, to add to it, he had to endure the rains.
Rains were good to enjoy from inside homes, through open windows. Not from out in the open. Especially on Delhi roads. They couldn't handle traffic in summer.
Definitely, with the clogged drains, choked with garbage and sewage and plastics, and dirt, overflowing on the road, the smell, musty and stinking, the crawling traffic, his journey back home, wouldn't be in the least bit peaceful.
Dev's mood took a turn for the worse, and he was irritated.
Finally, everyone in the plane took a sigh of relief, as the pilots and crew had managed to land the flight, delayed by a good thirty minutes.
The usual formalities, of collection of luggage, and walking the stretch till the exit, took another fifteen minutes, and only then, could Sonakshi spot Dev, walking out.
She took the car out front, directly stopping before the gates, much to the displeasure of the airport guards.
But, Dev Dixit, was a considerably big man, for even the guards to take strict action.
Sonakshi got out, her face hidden under the driver's cap, even then, the usually observant Dev would have spotted her instantly. She didn't even have a 1 percent hope, her faade would go unnoticed, but Dev got in, without a word or a glance.
Dev was in a foul mood, in a hurry, combined with exhaustion, and impatience, in the pouring rains, and to Sonakshi's advantage, she had been wearing white that day, and, thus she escaped.
Had, Dev, known, his pickup wasn't his aged driver employed forcefully, but, a beautiful, twenty-five-year-old, his mood might have brightened.
Thankfully, for Dev, his driver was taking him through a relatively, less jammed road, and, he said, "Switch of the AC, driver."
Sonakshi took a minute longer than usual to find the controls, and Dev's eyes shot up, but he paid no heed.
He rolled down the windows, the heavy downpour had reduced, and raindrops fell inside the car, on his face, spoiling his expensive Armani suit, but he didn't care.
As if on cue, he looked in front, and the sight in front of him was the rearview mirror, something was off. [Dev was seated right behind the driver on the right side of the passenger seat.]
He looked closer, and, his eyes widened in realization.
Sonakshi didn't realise her game was up, and was driving without a care in the world.
Dev, was tempted to have an upper hand, by blowing off the faade, but he was in a sudden mood for some harmless fun, and he let Sonakshi drive him around.
After all, it wasn't every day, that one of the best nutritionists in the city, drove him home.
He grinned mischievously, devilish amusement shining in Dev's eyes.
"Driver, take the first left, then the second right."
Sonakshi, knew that wasn't the way home, but she was stuck. She couldn't ask, and give the game away, and helplessly, she decided to follow.
"Mr. Aubhodro ki khair nahi. Just because, I decided to help his driver, mujhse gulaami karva rahe hain." She internally grumbled.
After a few such obscure directions and orders, Dev, finally ordered the car to be stopped.
Sonakshi had an inkling, by then, that the cat was out of the bag.
It hadn't stopped raining. They were in a deserted area. She knew this place.
Hell, they both knew this place.
Suddenly, she broke off from her reverie, and checked to find the car empty.
Sonakshi, knew Dev wouldn't leave her stranded, and to speak more precisely, he was the one stranded, since she had the keys to get home.
She got down, from the car, and took off the cap, and shook her head, her hair, that was bunched up, to suit the cap, came tumbling down in tresses, already wet in the rain, that had sped up steadily.
She looked right and left, to find Dev somewhere, and in the two minutes she was left alone, a sudden chill ran up her spine, which wasn't only because of the cold. The streetlights, weren't working. When did the damn things ever work except in broad daylight!
Suddenly, there was a loud shout of Boo' from behind her, and in reflex Sonakshi screamed, screamed as if her life depended on it, and turned to find, Dev, who was now holding his suit in one arm, laughing his head off, at her childish fear.
Her irrational fear gave way to anger, naturally as it happens with all of us out there, and she shouted at him.
"What the hell, Dev! That hell, wasn't funny! I'd have died in the shock and fear. It is so bloody dark, and do you see anyone here? Not even cockroaches! There are only muggers and rapists! Holy Crap!..."
Before she could continue, Dev, pulled her tightly, into his arms, running his hands soothingly, up and down her back, and slowly, as he knew, she calmed down, and returned, the hug. He kept saying, "Okay, calm down. I am really, really, really sorry. It was just a joke, that's it."
They pulled back, and he held his ears in forgiveness.
"Not forgiven. Get lost."
"Please." Dev said, cutely, knowing it would melt her, and melt it did.
"Okay, its fine. Stop buttering. I don't want to become fat." She said, folding her hands, and looking away stubbornly.
"By the way, even muggers and rapists wouldn't bother with a spitfire like you, one who scares away poor things like cockroaches."
Sonakshi's mouth fell open.
"Accept it. Puri duniya mein, ek main hi ek banda hoon, jo tumhe jhel leta hoon."
Sonakshi started hitting him, with both her hands, slapping his shoulders, and Dev, tried to dodge the stroke like hits mockingly and said, "See, how violent she gets! Why would you ever think you are a catch?"
And, they both laughed, at each other, at their childishness, before it subsided, and Sonakshi was again, pulled into Dev's arms.
The rain, had their clothes soaking wet, sticking to their skins, Dev, gently kissed her cheek, and said, "I missed you."
"So did I."
The End
Note - I imagined the Dev and Sonakshi from the promos before the show started.đł
It's raining outside, and my elation with the beautiful weather, led to nostalgia and inspiration, inspiration to write such a random story, sitting near my window sill, with my desk lamp on, looking at the sky to rightly describe its colours. I am in love, with this weather.
So, celebrating my beautiful mood at this beautiful weather, and the beautiful rains, with a story.â¤ď¸
More of DevAkshi - DevAkshi Index - Flowing Thoughts - My Fiction Index
P.S. No hints or clues, this is a one piece. đ