grace pls update soon yar
sherma thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Waitng for a update.pls cntinue soon
iheartChai thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6
I've got a bit of writers block LOL...hopefully soon...trying to collect my ideas and focus them 😳

Edited by iheartChai - 13 years ago
Ms.Raizada thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
hopefully soon di.. i m waiting!

Hcsee17 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
pls grace update dis is ff u ve not update ...
iheartChai thumbnail
Will be updating soon...sometime this weekend 😎
427936 thumbnail
wow thats gud news thanks update soon waiting and plz a long update...
iheartChai thumbnail

Finally posting something up 😆 Thank you all for waiting so long and not giving up on me.

Please excuse the spelling and grammatical errors 😳

Chapter 91: Transitions

Duncan smirked as he spotted his friend standing at the far side of the bar with a drink in hand. "Given up wine I see...tonight it's going to be whiskey? Johnny Walker I see from that."

"What's wrong with getting a drink? You drink too," Nihaal replied. "It's been a pretty stressful week. And this is my first and only one."

"Okay, besides the two glasses of wine you had," Duncan dryly replied.

"Congratulations," Nihaal said rising his glass in the air to him. He turned around so his elbow was leaning against the dark wood grain bar. "Quite a turn out."

"Thank you," Duncan answered. His left lip curled upward in a gentle grin as he noticed his friend's eyes were watching a certain girl from across the floor wearing a pink salwar kameez. "They look good together don't you think?"

"Who?" he asked as he took a sip from his glass.

"Veera and her friend...what's his name again...it starts with a..."

"Rishabh. He's from Australia," Nihaal replied.

"I knew the Australia part. Anyways, she's made a good comeback...not that you aren't a catch yourself...but Rishi seems nice."

"Rishabh," Nihaal corrected.

"Right. I wonder if he will end up extending his semester in school so he can stay in Canada a little longer. I think that would make Veera really happy. Or maybe she will try to transfer to a college in Australia...a summer program or something. That would be nice...summer in Australia."

"She can do what she likes," Nihaal replied feeling slightly uncomfortable with the conversation.

Duncan suppressed his smirk and continued to prick at his friend. "It's funny how things work out. You and Rads and Veera and Raj. You were worried over nothing."

"Rishabh. And there is no relationship."

"Oh, between Veera and um, Rahul? I don't know about that...there seems to be some fondness between them. Or did you mean you and Rads? Aren't you guys going to get engaged soon?" Duncan replied. "You know while they are here I think we should all go out on a couple date. Me and Joyti...you and Rads...Veera and Rahul...maybe see if Prem and Heer and Preet and Meher want to join us. Should be lots of fun." He could see how his words were starting to irritate Nihaal as his face tightened. "Let's go to that food event that's happening in Central Park. We can show Rahul the best of New York cuisine. I wonder what he eats in Australia...kangaroo? You think they eat kangaroo? What about koala? Hey maybe we should take Rahul to Yankee Stadium..."

"Rishabh...RISH-AHB...his name is Rishabh! Why are you pestering me about him? Do what you want to do. You want to take him to Yankee Stadium go right ahead," Nihaal shouted finally snapping back at his friend.

"Geez, I was only asking," Duncan pouted trying to sound as innocent as he could. Nihaal finished the rest of his drink in one gulp and slammed his glass down on the bar top before storming away. Duncan smirked at his behavior. "Looks like I hit a nerve."

Preet smiled brightly as his eyes finally located what he had been searching for in the past ten minutes. "There you are," lightly tapping her shoulder. "Where were you? I've been looking for you all over the place."

Meher turned around her soft curls bouncing gently on her shoulders and gave a tiny grin. "I went to the ladies room."

"What are you doing here all by yourself?" arching his eyebrows as he titled his head towards the large window she had been facing. He could see the moonlight shining back through the reflection in the glass.

"Nothing really," Meher replied. Preet noted the hint of sadness in her voice making him frowned. He wrapped his arms around her waist and pulled her into a back hug. He could feel her body go stiff at his actions and her hands pushing at his arms. "Preet...there are people here!" she said nervously.

"So? There are people everywhere," he joked back.

"What if your mother or father sees us?"

"They know that we are dating," Preet replied. He loosened his hold and spun her around so that she was facing him. "Have I told you how beautiful you look tonight?" Meher felt her cheeks turn pink and she lowered her head. She was wearing a yellow and red anarkoli salwar. He pinched her cheek making her lift her head up and pout at him. "Beautiful."

"Preet," Meher said shyly as she hit his chest with her fist.

"I'm only going to be gone for a semester. I'll be back before you know it."

Her eyes lit wondering how he had known she was thinking about his impending trip to London. "You know I'll miss Ma, Bauji, Kul Di, Kiran Jiju, Rishi, Tanu, PB, Heer Bhabhi, Harman Bhaiya, that annoying punk Veera...Sang, Abhi... " He tried not to laugh as he saw how her eyes were darkening getting angry that he hadn't said her name yet. "And of course the person I'll miss the most...how can I forget...Scotch!" Meher gave him a stern look and pushed her hand against his chest. "I'm joking. You know I'll miss you the most." He hugged her tightly. "I'll call you every day. And I'll take good care of myself so you don't have to worry."

"I know you will," Meher replied with a warm smile.

"So, Ms. Maan care to dance? Let's go out on the floor and show them how it's really done. I hear the DJ starting up," Preet said.

"Let's dance," Meher smirked as she slipped her hand into his and let herself be led to the dance floor.

Prem smiled politely at the group of women standing in front of him. His wife had gone to get something to drink leaving him all alone. It had only been a few minutes when he was suddenly surrounded by a group of aunties. They seemed very curious and were chatting with him about everything. They wanted to know about his family, how his married life was going, and when he and Heer would be expecting to have children. His eyes silently roamed around the room hoping to see his wife and be rescued from their onslaught of questions. He relaxed as he finally located her. She was walking back towards his direction until she saw who had surrounded him. She stopped and hid behind a pillar. Prem's eyes bulged at her actions and he began throwing silent facial signals for her to come back out. Heer was tucked behind the pillar but peeped her head out just enough to see what was going on. She shook her head at her husband refusing to come out of her hiding spot. Prem flared his nostrils at her childish actions scowling at her.

"You know Prem my daughter is only about a year younger than Heer. She's a finishing up dental school. Her fiance is a programmer," smiling fondly as she recalled some memory, "Your parents and I and Uncle Dev use to meet every other weekend...go see a movie together, have dinner together, play cards...do lots of things. I remember how well behaved you were...a true gentleman. And Katrina would always follow you around...if you wanted to eat a snack she too wanted to eat a snack...if you wanted to play video games she also wanted to play video games," chuckling softly, "I have to confess I was a little saddened when you got married. I had dreams of one day uniting our families together. But life has a way of changing things around. Since you can't be my son-in-law...I'll settle for your son for my grand-daughter?"

Prem eyes widened at her comment and he was left speechless.

"Sara, there you go again," a woman wearing an orange sari replied. "You know everyone will want their granddaughter to be married to Prem's son. Wait in line like everyone else." The rest of the women in the group laughed along with her at her joke while Sara frowned.

"Dear Priyanka, how's the groom hunt for Vaibhavi going? This is your second marriage bureau you are going to?"

Her eyes crinkled as she scoffed at her words. "My future son-in-law won't have to wait for his papers to come. He'll be born here," Priyanka jabbed back.

Prem swallowed uncomfortably and was in complete shock that they were fighting like this in public. He needed to get out of this situation and quick before they started to talk about their grandchildren and how one would be superior than the other's. He turned his head and lifted his arm like he was waving and shouted, "Bauji, I'm coming." He quickly said his goodbye and then rushed off towards the hallway hoping the aunties had not figured out that he had just ditched them. As he approached the pillar where his wife was hiding behind, he reached out and grabbed her arm pulling her with him into the hallway. "Hiding and laughing at me?" Prem accused when they had made it safely to a corner outside the reception hallway.

"Maybe," Heer giggled.

Prem let out a large sigh and said, "Those aunties are crazy. They were trying to get our future children engaged with their future grandchildren. Sara Auntie wants our son to marry her granddaughter and then Priyanka Auntie made some joke...I had no idea but it seems Sara Auntie and Priyank Auntie do not get along...they started arguing...Sara Auntie made some comment about Priyanka Auntie going to a marriage bureau and it's like her second one she's gone too...I guess they are having a hard time finding someone for Vaibhavi. And Auntie made a comment about Katrina's fiance Amit...apparently he doesn't have papers and she was making it sound like Amit was only marrying Katrina for his papers.

Heer's eyes widened at his story and she looked at him with disbelief. "They said all this in front of you?"

"Yeah, it was really scary." Prem then firmly stated, "I don't care if their grandchildren are nice, down to earth, and successful people...our children are not marrying into that family. I do not want to deal with the grand-in-laws." Heer started to laugh making his eyebrows crinkle in disapproval. "I'm serious. I'm not joking Heer. I will not have our Prem Jr. or Chahat get married into that family. The family is probably psycho."

"Katrina and Amit are perfectly fine and you know it. And Vaibhavi is a complete sweetheart," Heer replied.

"Yes, THEY are okay but we don't know about the rest of the family," sucking in a great breath in panic, "Oh no..."

"What?"

"What if Prem Jr. becomes the grandson-in-law for Sara Auntie and Chahat gets married into Priyanka Auntie's family? Can you imagine the feud then? Well, my grandson-in-law's kid is better than yours...he's a straight A student...well, my granddaughter-in-law's kid is better than yours because not only is she a straight A student she won the science fair!" Prem exclaimed.

"Prem, you need to calm down," Heer said sternly. "We haven't had any children yet. Why are you making yourself so worried and stressed over this? We are not going to be making any future alliances with other families. They will choose who they will be with but it's too soon to even be talking about this. Relax, okay? Please breath."

Prem took a deep breath and nodded his head, "Okay. You're right. If you see Sara Auntie or Priyanka Auntie just run okay?"

"Oh, you don't have to tell me twice. I will keep very far away from them," Heer agreed. "So, do you know what this big new project we are supposedly doing? I've had several people come up to me and hinting at it to me. Is there something going on that I'm not aware of?"

Prem furrowed his eyebrows in thought wondering what project people were referring to. "I can't think of anything. There are rumors going around about us expanding but I haven't heard anything from Bauji on that matter. It is something planned for the future but I don't think we're there yet as a company. Things are going well with our current branches...I really don't know. I thought I heard something about going to the US. The few divisions we have in Hong Kong, India, and Bali are doing well. Bauji likes to research things thoroughly...he usually sends someone to the location and gather on site statistics...at least for a year or two."

"Oh. Would he send you somewhere?" Heer pondered.

"Maybe," Prem replied. He saw the concern look beginning to spread in her eyes and he gently added, "If I get sent on one of these research assignments you are coming with me. I won't leave you here by yourself."

"You think that will be okay?"

"What do you mean? You can help me. I'm going to have to learn how to run the business so I can take care of things when Bauji eventually retires. You're working for the company...managerial and administrative duties...and you're my wife...part of the Juneja family...this is our company. We are going to run it together," Prem replied. His eyes sparked as he suddenly realized something. "Unless you don't want to run it with me. Do you want to do something else? I never asked you if you wanted to work in hospitality."

Heer gave a reassuring smile. "I like working for the family. I'm happy in hospitality."

"If I go anywhere I promise to take you with me," Prem firmly stated again.

"We'll have to see. If it's not for too long then---"

"No," Prem replied shaking his head. "I don't want to ever be away from you." He tenderly cupped her cheek, "I don't want the job to separate us."

"It won't. You and I won't allow that to happen. But seriously if you end up going to some conference in France for two weeks you would insist on taking me with you?" Heer inquired.

"Of course. Don't you want to go to France for two weeks?" wiggling his eyebrows suggestively, "We can go there for business but who says pleasure can't come with us as well?"

Heer chortled at the naughty smirk on his face. "Dear Mr. Juneja with this much romance you'll giving Auntie Sara and Auntie Priyanka even more options to which child of ours ends up in their family." Prem's eyes widen as her words processed through his mind. He tried to say something but was left mute. "Not so eager now to romance whenever we can, hmmm?" She laughed and lovingly patted his cheek. "It's time to go back inside." Prem sighed and followed his wife back inside the reception hall.

Brown eyes peered behind the cream colored door of the bedroom watching intently as the person inside was putting her laundry away. They watched as she folded her clothes neatly and tucked them into her dresser drawer. She walked back to pick up more clothes and then paused at the window caught in some deep thought. The brown eyes could sense the feeling of sorrow and flexed with great concern. The owner of the brown eyes quietly emerged from behind the door and made his way into the room. He slipped his hands around her waist and sighed, "You're at it again."

"Preet." Meher gave a soft grin and continued to stare out the window looking at the snow covered ground. Luckily she had felt his presence when he walked in otherwise she would have screamed sending the entire Juneja household to her room. She leaned back and let herself been encased in his arms. Preet tenderly rested his head against her head and breathed in the sweet scent of berries floating from her curly tresses. "I'm trying not to. But it's so hard."

"You're making me worry. How am I going to sleep at night or let alone function if I know you're sitting here worrying away. Promise me you will go out and have fun with friends...that you won't just sit here in this room waiting," Preet requested.

"What?"

"Promise me Meher," he urged. "I'm going to ask Heer Bhabhi, Veera, Maya, and Ash to check in on you. Make sure you are not sitting around moping."

"Preet, I'm not going to sit around and mope," Meher replied.

"Good. But I'm still going ask them to check up on you."

Meher shook her head and carelessly rubbed her fingers along his hand. "Three more weeks and you will be flying to London. You'll bring me back a gift right?"

"Of course. What do you want?" Preet inquired.

"Mmm...Cadbury chocolates..."

"Okay done," Preet answered quickly. "Anything else?"

"You promise not to eat all of them?" Meher teased making him chuckle.

"Haan I promise. I'll leave you half the bag." He inhaled sharply as he felt her jab his stomach with her elbow. "Uff...okay-okay...you will get one full bag. But I'll eat everyone else's." He grinned at hearing her giggle. He was going to miss spending time with her like this he thought to himself. His eyes sadden for a few seconds before he commanded himself not to get all emotional. He had to be strong for her sake. "So, are you almost done with the laundry?"

"Yes," Meher replied as she left his embrace and put away her jeans.

Good, come on let's go," Preet ordered.

"Where are we going?" Meher inquired.

Preet gave a bright smile and simply stated, "You'll love it. Come." Meher slipped her hand into his and let herself be led out of the room.

Meher followed Preet as they walked away from the pathway in the park and into the snow. She could hear it crunch wonderfully underneath her snow boots. She let go of his hand so she could tuck her red scarf back into her jacket. Preet waited for her as she adjusted her clothes. He then held out his hand for her to take again. Meher smiled and grasped his hand letting their fingers intertwine comfortably together. After a few more minutes of walking Preet stopped at a bench and grinned. "This place look familiar?"

Meher looked about her with a thoughtful expression and replied, "No. Is this place supposed to be special?"

Preet's face fell flat and he looked at her incredulously. "Really?" he uttered. His eyebrows crinkled when she burst out into a fit of laughter. "What's so funny?"

"Your face," Meher giggled. She then slipped her arm around his and reassured, "Of course I remember this place. How can I not? This is the place you first confessed to me. You bought that necklace. And I gave you that kiss."

"Our first kiss," Preet grinned.

"Correct," Meher nodded. She then cautiously shifted her eyes around and then planted a soft kiss on his cheek. She watched with delight as his face light up.

Preet turned towards her and pointed to his other cheek, "You missed a side." Meher shyly smiled and placed a kiss on the cheek she missed.

The rest of the day was spent going to various places that had meaning to the couple; places like the first buffet restaurant they ate together, their favorite ice cream parlor, and their special spot where they could go talk in private. It was a day of reminiscing their love story and relationship. Eventually they returned to the Juneja mansion around 4:30pm in the afternoon. Preet parked the car in the driveway but didn't immediately get out. Meher looked at him curiously and then placed her hand on his shoulder as he leaned over to try to kiss her. "Preet, we are home."

"So? We are in the driveway," he explained with a smirk. "No one is out here. It's rather cold today. They are all bundled up warm inside the house'no one is going to even think about coming out here. I unlike my PB am a lot smarter. He always gets caught with Bhabhi."

Meher chortled at his comment. "Oh please, you go out of your way to try to catch your brother to embarrass him."

"I do not," Preet defended. "I don't want to talk about that now. Give me a kiss."

"Preet'" Meher gently protested.

"Just one," he pleaded with a sad face.

Meher sighed and nodded giving into the request. After all what Preet said did make sense there was no one around to catch them. She leaned towards him and let her lips be captured. They sat in the car for some time enjoying their makeout session. Preet had one hand cupping her neck caressing her jawline while Meher had one hand wrapped around his back pushing him closer to her. Their bodies were being warmed by their affectionate gestures for each other, despite the fact that the heat from the heater had already dissipated in the car.

They gingerly broke apart and smiled at each other for a few minutes before delving back into another tender kissing session. Meher suddenly shrieked causing Preet to jerk back in surprise and look around him wondering where the loud knocking sound that had disrupted their peaceful interlude was coming from. His face redden when he saw his brother waving his hand on the other side of the drive side window. Preet didn't want to roll down the window but his brother continued to gesture for him to do so. "PB," Preet nervously greeted.

"Having a nice romantic car date?" Prem inquired. He then looked towards Meher's direction, "Is he bothering you?" Meher shook her head confused by his question.

"PB," Preet pleaded. "We were just talking."

"Talking? Oh, I see...this is how you talk? I didn't realize you had to be that up close and personal to talk to someone," Prem replied. He was thoroughly enjoying this moment. Preet always seemed to find a way to interrupt his romancing with Heer. He'd tease them and then run off to go find someone to tell. Prem would eventually bribe him with something to keep him quiet.

Preet slapped his hands together in front of his face and implored his brother, "Please PB. I'll do anything. I'll do your laundry."

"That includes my wife's laundry...you're not touching her clothes."

"Then I'll wash your car," Preet said. "Please PB."

Prem chuckled and crossed his arms across his chest, "So this is what it feels like." Ever since the breakfast fiasco he was looking for a way to even the score. He smirked knowing he finally got the upper hand this time around. "I wonder if I should call Bauji? Have him call up his good friend...Mr. Balraaj Maan? Tell him that a certain Preet Juneja is getting fresh with his youngest daughter."

"PB you're joking right?" Preet replied as he swallowed nervously. He could see this mysterious twinkle in his brother's eyes making him seriously worry. "I'll do anything just tell me what you want."

"You can't wash my car unfortunately but you can defrost it in the mornings," Prem mused out loud. "Make chai for me and your Bhabhi in the afternoon when we come back from work."

"Okay done," Preet agreed nodding his head.

"Oh and---"

"Prem, what are you doing?" Preet lips curled upward in a smile as he watched his brother's face suddenly turn to panic. "Leave them alone."

"But Heer,'" he pleaded as she grabbed his arm pulling him away from the window. "Preet is getting fresh with your sister. Don't you want me to do something about it? I should put a stop to this reckless behavior."

"Reckless behavior?" Heer asked trying not to laugh.

"Haan...your poor defenseless sister. I'm saving her honor," Prem continued with great sense of responsibility.

"Come inside the house," Heer simply stated.

Prem furrowed his eyebrows and pouted, "This isn't fair. Why do I have to do that? He gets away with everything...interrupting me, interrupting us, informing everyone one about my private matters...that's not fair!"

Heer sighed and rolled her eyes at her husband, "Prem, come inside and I'll make you some hot chocolate."

"I don't want any hot chocolate!" Prem exclaimed. Heer ignored his outburst and dragged her husband inside the house.

Preet sighed in relief that his Bhabhi had saved him. He looked over at Meher and gave an apologetic smile. Just as he was about to open his mouth and say something there was a knock on the car door. "You're coming in too, right?" Preet look back and say Heer standing by the door. He nodded nervously. "Meher, come to the kitchen and help me make the hot chocolate."

"Ji, Heer Didi," she obediently replied.

Preet watched as his sister-in-law left and sighed disheartenedly. He had been defeated. His brother had won in some way. He glanced over at his girlfriend and saw her getting ready to exit the car. "Are you coming?" she inquired. Preet simply nodded his head and got out of the car.

Sorry for the shorter chapter than normal. I know I usually write more but I've been having a bit of writer's block for this FF 😕

Hopefully next chapter will be better.

Edited by iheartChai - 13 years ago