Fashion_2005 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
STRAIGHT FACE

Kaun Banega Hero No 1?

Pamela Philipose
Posted online: Sunday, January 14, 2007 at 0000 hrs

There's a new game show in town. KBC, or Kaun Banega Crorepati. You can also call it BB vs KK, or Big Bachchan vs King Khan. If you still don't get it, you are either a) a Jurassic life form b) Live in the Gobi desert c) Speak only Chinese or d) Reside in eternal peace. So here's a preview of the first episode, with ShahRukh Khan as anchor...

SHAH RUKH (flashing dimples): Deviyon aur sajanon, welcome to a brand new series of Kaun Banega Crorepati. Call me Don II, if you wish, but sometimes one has to vault over the Deewar, break the Zanjeer, arrive like a Toofan and don the robes of a Jaadugar, in order to earn one's Roti, Kapada aur Makaan. You see, Kal Ho Na Ho, I want to give this my best shot. As you know, Hum Kissise Kum Nahi and sometimes even Shahju can Ban Gaya Gentleman in the host seat. You can call me a Duplicate, or Bade Miya's Chote Miya, but sometimes Commando Abhimanyu Rai has to take on Major Saab. Yes Boss, I plan to run away with this show. Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge, and all that, if you see what I mean?

Okay, chalo. Let's play. Please welcome our first contestant on the hot seat, Rakesh Kumar. Are you ready to make Rs 1,000, Rakeshji? Right. What was the first film Amitabh Bachchan starred in? a) Deewana b) Saat Hindustani c) Kaala Pathar? d) Zanjeer? My, very quick on the buzzer. You say 'b) Saat Hindustani'? Confident? Lock kiya jaye? Very good, Rakeshji, sahi jawab diya, bro.You've just won a thousand.

Ready for the next round? To win Rs 10, 000, answer this. What is the debut film of yours truly? A) Trishul? B) Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman? C) Swades? D) Deewana? Don't get this wrong, Rakeshji. Matter of personal honour, man. Just jokin', ha, ha (dimples). You say 'd'? Confident? Chalo, let's ask computerji. Congratulations, Rakeshji, right answer.

For Rs 80,000, which is the first film in this list that starred both Amitabh Bachchan and ShahRukh Khan together. a) Kabhi Kushi Kabhie Gham b) Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna c) Mohabhatein d) Paheli. You know, I've always enjoyed acting with the Old Man. His is a class act. So polished. If I were to even presume to be bigger than him, I should wake up and apologise. Truly, cross my heart and hope to die (wink, wink, dimples). So when they asked me whether I would like to anchor this show, I accepted it in deference to the Big B. Main Hu Na?

Okay, Rakeshji, still thinking? Want to go in for 50:50? Okay. a) Kabhi Kushi Kabhie Gham b) Mohabhatein. Going for 'b'. Okay, computerji, lock 'b'. Great, you've just won Rs 80,000. I looked cute in that film, didn't I, taking on the might of college principal Narayan Shanker? Of course, I respected him, but one had to show him up, didn't one?

Now, for Rs 12,50,000, tell us the star awarded the title, 'Superstar of the Millennium'... a) Dilip Kumar b) Amitabh Bachchan c) Dev Anand d) ShahRukh Khan. Going for the buzzer, Rakeshji? You say 'b) Amitabh Bachchan' and ... you're right. How can a mere lad like myself aspire for such a title? You need to be as old as a millennium to get it. Just jokin', of course, Big B, ladies and gentlemen, is ageless.

Rakeshji, ready to win 500,000 bucks? Okay, who was the star that Time described as the most recognisable actor? a) Amitabh Bachchan b) Dilip Kumar c) Aamir Khan d) Shahrukh Khan. Got it Rakeshji? Great. Your GK is impressive. It is indeed 'd) ShahRukh Khan'. Yeh, small honours sometimes come my way. The big ones go to the Big B. I've a Padma Shri, he's got a Padma Bhushan! I know Priyanka Gandhi, he knew Rajiv Gandhi. Sometimes Kuch Kuch Hota Hai for yours truly as well!

Well, Rakeshji, ready for the Big One? You get one crore, if you tell us who the notable absentee at my New Year's party was. a) Salman Khan b) Preity Zinta c) Amitabh Bachchan d) Rani Mukherjee. Kuch idea hai? Remember aap ka two lifelines abhi bhi jeevit hain. Want to phone a friend? Go ahead. Ah, Salman Khan you say. Sorry, my friend, the correct answer is 'c) Amitabh Bachchan'.

Now, let me clarify, I don't hold this against the Angry Old Man. He probably had better things to do. Om Shanti Om, and all that. But, Hey Ram, I'm sure going to give him a run for his money. So Kaun Banega Hero No 1? Watch this space

pamela.philipose@expressindia.com
monika.goel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
PRASENJIT SARKAR has had an ex- perience akin to "witnessing two sun- rises". The contestant from Kolkata is the first to face new quizmaster Shah Rukh Khan (SRK), when Kaun Bane- ga Crorepati (KBC) makes a comeback on January 22. He was also the last contestant Amitabh Bachchan hosted on Kaun Banega Crorepati Dwitiya. "This is a dream come true. After meeting Bachchan, Khan was a bonus. I was very excited to have interacted with both of them," said Sarkar. Sarkar had to move out of KBC on January 13, 2006, the last time Bachchan shot for the show. Sarkar had by that time won Rs 80,000, but Bachchan fell ill and could not contin- ue. After waiting a year, Sarkar got a call from KBC to participate in the show again. "The organisers sent me a letter early last year saying that I would be the rollover contestant once the show resumed," said Sarkar, an inspector with Central Excise. For the 39-year-old from Kasba, the two hosts have their own distinct ap- peal. "Bachchan saab had a tremen- dous personality and would make the contestants feel comfortable. SRK is a powerhouse of energy, and this will make the show more interactive," said Sarkar. rghosh@hindustantimes.com
Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
A jay Vidyasagar, Executive Vice Pres- ident, Star India, speaks on the chan- nel's interactive plans for Kaun Banega Crorepati. What are your online plans? We are about to unveil the dedicated web- site for the television show – www.kbclive.com . The online KBC2 website was a tremendous success (with over 50 mil- lion 'page views' in two months and over 350,000 downloads of the online KBC game). This has prompted us to increase our online presence for the new season. What's new? The site is being designed, hosted and man- aged entirely by the indya.com team. This season, KBC will bring a more young and fresh flavour with Shah Rukh Khan (SRK) and the online website will comple- ment the same. The website will cover KBC bringing in the reality element with show updates, behind the scene exclusive videos, inter- views, and articles from first person account. The key offering will be a deep social networking environment that will allow consumers to discuss, comment and blog on the website. Any plans for more personal interactivity between Shah Rukh Khan and the consumers? The special is the exclusive SRK's blog which will be premiered on this website. We believe this would trigger a huge com- munity-based interaction and an opportu- nity for consumers to get close to SRK. What components are you thinking of to make KBC a marketing juggernaut? KBClive.com will be a 'beyond television' experience for the net user. While he can get all the show updates and highlights, he will also have access to some of the exclu- sive behind the scenes news and footage from the show. Also, we believe that SRK writing exclusive blogs will generate interest among the youth both about the television show as well as SRK himself. How will you ensure that the interactivity will complement rather than compete with the show? The interactive com- ponents on the webite are being built around the host and the key elements of the show. They will not clash either with the show's format or content. We will ensure that a parallel KBC show online will complement and not compete with the TV show. Also, we have signed up with Airtel as the exclusive mobile partner and we will have ring tones, ring back tones, wallpapers, images, video and audio clips.of KBC . Will online consumers get an opportunity to win? Yes, we hope to introduce a mega online game for KBC. The consumers will get a first-hand feel of sitting on the hot seat and answering questions. Besides prizes, the winners will get an opportunity to visit the KBC shoot. usha.thomas@hindustantimes.com
litlle angel thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Prasenjit Sarkar with Shah Rukh Khan in KBC

Prasenjit Sarkar's joy knew no bounds when he received the call from the KBC crew. The first contestant of the new season of Kaun Banega Crorepati, 39-year-old Prasenjit, and an Inspector of Central Excise in Kolkata is the 'roll-over contestant' of the last season of KBC, hosted by Amitabh Bachchan. Now, Prasenjit will be occupying the hotseat opposite Shah Rukh Khan.

When contacted, Prasenjit said, "I am grateful to Star for inviting me as the 'roll-over contestant' and giving me the opportunity to be a part of this exciting game once again. When I got the call, I was overjoyed and my wife and son were too overwhelmed to believe it actually happening again. Honestly, I am feeling on top of the world."

So, is he thrilled to be able to share the stage with SRK this time? "Of course I feel honoured to be able to grab the limelight with two biggest personalities in Bollywood," he added.

When quizzed about the prize money, Prasenjit was tightlipped. "You have to watch the episode when it will be aired," he said.

Ajay Vidyasagar, executive vice president of Star said, "He is the 'roll-over contestant' of the last season of KBC when Amitabh Bachchan was hosting the show. So, we decided to call him as our first contestant of the new season. This is to convey our regards to the viewers who havebeen loyal to us till now."

litlle angel thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Musical chair: Shah Rukh Khan
in the KBC music video
Shah Rukh Khan, who takes over from Amitabh Bachchan in Kaun Banega Crorepati's (KBC), has large shoes to fill once the show commences on January 22. He does not want to leave any stone unturned and is making sure that he gets the entire nation glued to the television channel when KBC's third season kicks off.

Adding to all the publicity around the show, Shah Rukh has come up with an idea to make a music video based on KBC. The video, currently being shot at Filmistan Studio, will feature Shah Rukh. The video is conceptualised, directed, choreographed and sung by Ganesh Hegde.

Confirming the news, Ganesh says, "Yes, we are currently shooting for the video and we need to shoot for two more days. The opening line is 'Kar le kar le tu ek sawaal'. It is a three-minute long song which will be premiered on January 22 just before the show will go on air."

Ganesh further adds, "It was Shah Rukh's idea to come up with a music video for KBC. We have also worked together in Don. He had told me that he has never looked the way he did in the song 'Main hoon Don'. So, this time Shah Rukh called me and told me about this video and I was thrilled with the idea. Vishal-Shekhar have composed the music."

How did Ganesh end up singing the song? "I had just done the dubbing for the song when it was being made. Everyone liked it so much that they decided to retain my version of the song. I then made the story board. It is a whacky and wild video," explains Ganesh.

Edited by litlle angel - 18 years ago
monika.goel thumbnail
From Big B's hotseat to SRK's

When Shah Rukh Khan's Kaun Banega Crorepati goes on air on January 22, Prasenjit Sarkar will become part of Indian television history.

The 39-year-old inspector with Central Excise was in the hot seat before Amitabh Bachchan when KBC went off air in 2005, having earned Rs 80,000 on the show till then, and he will return to the hot seat before Khan come Monday.

"I have been lucky to be a part of two consecutive segments, including the changeover, what with the wait of a year for the show to begin again. It's unique and by God's grace happened to me. I feel I am the luckiest person in the country and may be the whole world."

The first to face questions from both the superstar-hosts of KBC, Sarkar is diplomacy personified when asked for his opinion of Bachchan vs Khan. "I can tell you my experiences with both. I can't compare them,"

Amitabh Bachchan left a lasting impression on him. "His personality is as tall as him. His baritone, impeccable dress and whole presence influence a man to the extremes. You seem to get overwhelmed, overpowered. To tell you frankly, the first time I met him I felt I was standing in front of Lord Almighty. Slowly but surely he eased me into the show. He has that capacity to ease contestants into the game."

About King Khan, Sarkar says, "I was touched by his enthusiasm, energy and he seemed to be the most friendliest person on earth. My wife was looking forward to meeting the new celebrity. My 11-year-old son is a diehard fan of Shah Rukh."

For the rest, there is nothing much coming out of him vis-'-vis the show.

How much money does he make on the show? "To know that you have to watch the show on the 22nd."

What about the show's look and feel? "For that you will have to watch the show on the 22nd. Your readers must wait for a few days to find out from themselves."

To rewind a bit, for Sarkar, getting on the show was a dream come true. "I have been trying to get into the show from KBC1 itself, when it started about seven years back. I kept trying. I kept calling from my BSNL landline on every episode, that's how I got a chance. But my luck brought me only in the 61st episode."

Although he was disappointed when the show went off air following Bachchan's indisposition, Sarkar says he knew it would be back, along with him. "Star TV had given me written confirmation that I will be the first person on the hot seat when the program starts again."

This time round, he adds, "I was less tense. When I went to KBC2 the first time I was not sure if I would get a chance to get to the hot seat or not, whether I will be the fastest finger but this time I had no such tension."

Finally, there is the question of what he will do with the prize money. "I am going to save part of it for my son's higher education and spend a bit of it for charity. There is a list of other things to do but will plan it later," he signs off.

Interview: Priyanka Jain

monika.goel thumbnail

Freeze kiya jaye!

Malay Desai was invited to the closely-guarded KBC set to watch Shah Rukh Khan in action. He tells us what he saw inside

Back to Section Stories

< src="http://cms.mumbaimirror.com/tools/BubbleTooltips.js" =text/> < =text/>window.onload=function(){enableTooltips()}; < src="http://cms.mumbaimirror.com/tools/BubbleTooltips.js" =text/> < =text/>window.onload=function(){enableTooltips()};

Khan he swing it? Shah Rukh takes a break
The stage is set at Film City. Kaun Banega Crorepati is ready to kick off a third season, after the first two seasons rewrote TRP norms. An industrious army of security personnel is omnipresent at the venue. The audience - a few lucky friends and cousins of managers in sponsor companies - are put through pre-entrance regulations which only rival those at the Pentagon.

The compactness of the set hits you first. It is a playground for multiple cameras and a million lights, a crane, 'machans' overhead, a teleprompter and a sitting arena for the crew.

You are fascinated by the machines around when a high-pitched scream tears through the air, followed by several more such. Reason: Shah Rukh Khan. His entry gets a hysterical reaction, no doubt one he is used to.

Nineteen years of acting later, the actor is back to where he started - the small screen. But this is no romantic scene he can finish off in a jiffy. Have comparisons with the larger-than-life ex-host of the show, Big B, made him nervous? He looks calm and collected though. A closer look reveals that inside the custom-fit suit and purple shirt (that's reportedly styled by KJo) is a man trying his best to bottle up the jitters and fall back on those night-long rehearsals at home. (I counted the number of times he touched his upper lip nervously.)

The episode is the Republic Day special, so the audiences are given tricolours and the teleprompter is fed with some patriotic lines. The roll-over contestant falls out early, and SRK ushers in the new one - a 20-something girl —with a hug. But that's just the beginning of the mushiness. Throughout the episode, Shah Rukh rides on his charisma, from serenading the hot-seat occupant to promising to marry her the next Sunday.

He also does a jig on the KBC song - though only after the cameras are switched off. The brain behind all concepts, questions and camera angles of the show is undoubtedly Siddhartha Basu. Confident and commanding, he directs everyone - from the spot boys and camera crew to Shah Rukh (FYI, he cues the host on what to say next every single moment - through the 'computermiyan')

SRK tries to bring in some originality. So, 'lock kiya jaaye' becomes 'freeze kiya jaaye' and participants have to say, 'Shah Rukh mujhe galey milo" instead of "I want to quit".

Although he won't be able to stop the million comparisons with Big B that will arise once the show is on air, no doubt his charisma and those huge dollops of mushiness should keep him afloat.

Fashion_2005 thumbnail
'I've always wanted to be SRK's designer'

By: Upala KBR
January 19, 2007

Karan Johar

KBC 3 goes on air on January 22, and no one's more excited than Karan Johar.

After all, best buddy Shah Rukh Khan will sporting threads designed by the stylish director. Here, Karan shares nuggets about designing for the superstar and his inspiration behind SRK's look for the mother of all television shows.

Whose idea was it that you design for SRK in KBC3?

It was my idea, of course! I don't know if the producers wanted me or not, but they didn't have a choice. I jumped into the fray. SRK and I have a standing joke that if he ever gets nominated for the Oscars, I will design his outfit and he will take me with him for the event. I would love to attend.

Tell us about the look.

KBC3 is an evening show, so the clothes can't be in-your-face or overly flamboyant. It's a quiz show and not a talk show, where one is required to look glamorous. The focus is not on his clothes but Shah Rukh, the man, the show and the contestants. Yet, Shah Rukh's look is very classic, simple and stylish. The idea is to blend in with the settings.

What about the colours?

They are not light colours, but have deeper tones. We have given him skinny ties to wear in all the episodes. Skinny ties are slimmer than normal ties and are back in fashion today. The colour pink is the new white for suits, and you will see a touch of pink in the first episode. There is also some minor detailing work on every suit.

Shah Rukh Khan

Will SRK be wearing Indian formals?

Yes, if it's an auspicious occasion and if there is a need for an Indian outfit. Otherwise, it will be dapper suits. The style is structured and set in clean lines — exactly what Shah Rukh represents.

Did you watch KBC when Amitabh hosted it?

Of course! Who didn't watch his show and who isn't a fan?

You were never on KBC. Will that change now?

If I haven't been on the earlier shows, it's because I'm afraid. I'm not sure if I want to expose my lack of general knowledge on national television! I like people to think I am intelligent. Appearing on KBC might expose people to the fact that I am actually quite dumb!

Rate SRK as a host on a scale of 1 to 10.

I have to see the first episode, but I'm hoping he'll be a 10!

When did you start designing for SRK?

When I first went on the sets of Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge, I used to feel like an outsider. Adi (Aditya Chopra) sensed my nervousness and asked me to take on the task of designing costumes for Shah Rukh.

Besides directing and producing, another career option was designing outfits. I thought if I designed Shah Rukh's outfits in DDLJ well, I would become his personal designer. It was my dream to become his designer.

After DDLJ released, it was different story as I became a filmmaker.

You've designed SRK's outfits in all his films?

Yes. I have styled Shah Rukh for all his films and photo-shoots for over 10 years. From DDLJ, Dil Toh Pagal Hai to Main Hoon Naa. Currently, I am designing for his home production, Om Shanti Om. In KBC3, I am being aided by designer Shiraz Siddique who began with me from K3G.

We have worked in tandem to style SRK's ensembles. Now, Shiraz has turned independent and has also designed Shah Rukh's look for Chak De.

He has also styled Shah Rukh in the music video for KBC3 (to air shortly) and will be taking over Shah Rukh's designing from now.

Does that mean you've quit as his designer?

Not at all. Everything will always be run by me first.

Is SRK fussy about his clothes?

Not at all. He's the easiest person in the world to dress. Whether you give it to him on a platter or a hanger, Shah Rukh never interferes or argues. To him, clothes are the least important aspects. He says he's an actor; what he wears should be incidental.

Don't you feel odd when people call you SRK's designer?

No way! Some people find it odd that being a filmmaker I design Shah Rukh's outfits, but frankly, I love it. It's my hobby and I enjoy it tremendously. I had so many little dreams when I started out: designing for Shah Rukh, being a talk show host, anchoring, directing films… and all my dreams have been fulfilled. How many people get that opportunity?

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/january/150380.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
"Freeze It"

Faridoon Shahryar, IndiaGlitz [Wednesday, January 17, 2007>

"Freeze It," says King Khan Shahrukh Khan at the end of an energetic music video that has been steamrolled to spearhead the publicity wave of Shahrukh Khan's big gamble as a game show host for 'Kaun Banega Crorepati'. A game show that resurrected Amitabh Bachchan's sagging fortunes is being taken over by Khan in what is being touted as a war between the two titans. So, Bachchan's 'Lock Kiya Jaye' has become 'Freeze It'. And the eponymous 'Computerji' is all set to become 'Mr Computer'.

From Lenovo to Compaq….That's another big shift. While
Bachchan's 'Computer ji' favoured the Lenovo logo, SRK's 'Compaq' loyalties are well known. Khan is known to be an Airtel man, so it's not surprising that the Prepaids are going to be fast losing its SMS reservoir. While the public opinion is mixed whether Shahrukh Khan can outdo or match the Shehenshah, but there's no doubting the fact that, January 22 is going to be one big event as KBC shall be back. Leave aside the battle of the big anchors. The quiz format in itself is a good reason to look forward to the show. You can say "Freeze It" to that one….Isn't It!
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
New KBC's first man faced Big B too

New Delhi: Who will be the first person to take the hot seat opposite Shahrukh Khan when the third avatar of Kaun Banega Crorepati goes on air on Star Plus on January 22?

You don't have any lifeline to answer this. Neither do you have any option. For, those who had seen the last show of Kaun Banega Crorepati Dwitiya would remember that it had ended abruptly with the man on the hot seat only halfway through his race to grab the top prize.

He is going to roll over to the SRK show now. He's a Bengali Bhadralok, Prasenjit Sarkar.

Sarkar is making news as the luckiest participant of KBC, who is gonna see the best of both worlds, so to say. For, apart from being the first candidate on SRK's first episode of Kaun Banega Crorepati, he also happened to be the last contestant that Amitabh Bachchan hosted on Kaun Banega Crorepati Dwitiya.

"This is a dream come true. After meeting Bachchan, Khan was a bonus. I was very excited to have interacted with both of them," Hindustan Times quoted Sarkar as saying. It's akin to 'witnessing two sunrises', Sarkar beams.

Sarkar had to move out of KBC on January 13, 2006, the last time Bachchan shot for the show. By that time, he had earned Rs 80,000.

But Bachchan fell ill and the show could not be continued from then on. After waiting for a year, Sarkar got a call from KBC to participate in the show again.

"The organisers sent me a letter early last year, saying that I would be the rollover contestant once the show resumed," he told HT.

For this 39-year-old Central Excise inspector from Kasba, however, refuses to compared the two. The two have their own distinct appeal, he says. "Bachchan saab had a tremendous personality and would make the contestants feel comfortable. SRK is a powerhouse of energy, and this will make the show more interactive," he feels.

http://sify.com/news/fullstory.php?id=14370757