BombayGirl10 thumbnail
Rocker Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail

Originally posted by: opsora2090

TRP ofcourse will effect , agar aise globally they are making overseas fans their subscriber gradually ... it is not about kzk only .. it is in general for all HS shows. even HS is hartak strict hai , they even could not tolerate the normal caps of episodes.. they bann the account . even a lot of our baju fan's account got suspend as they uploaded caps merely . i also thought the same , views only matter for them , no matter what from where and how.. but after getting this restriction , whatever i have understand they want subscriber as well as not only views. and ofcourse a crazy fan will take the subscription for watching no matter what . meanwhile vpn only used by overseas fans .. so they ofcourse will use VPN to watch from those countries where HS is blocked. so for them it is easy to locate and restrict. i am not saying about last week's TRP . it is not about kzk only .. it is overall for all HS shows . and i also heard they count the VIP premium views for day to day TRP count . so if a member Premium viewership lete hai toh unke liye jeyada faideman hui na ... ek toh subscription payment and sath mai viwes revenue... and i guess they are thinking from that place.

I know oppo that it sucks sometime because we want to watch something but cant because of cyberlaw and stuff but its ok i am actually quite surpise with hotstar's popularity is increasing in other places. I have been in usa from past few years and hotstar is very famous now here to among many indians. So its good thing as a whole.

šŸ‘

FarhaadkiMahi thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Paricarocks

zyada hogayana kzk ko itna bhaav kaise aajšŸ˜‚šŸ˜‚

rasgolla hai sona😳

agar maein legayee trp ka kya hoga.. Rakhthe hai usko

hogaye kamiyaab already, man maein tha vishwas ab hogaye kamiyab already

🄳 what a day 300 episodes and this online trp šŸ¤—šŸ¤—šŸ¤— its not just sonalika

Its entire kzk team which deserved this

Moloy turned mute

Mohini showed apna rang

Nivi proved she is rang badalthi hai

Anupam proved he is just spectator

Walnut proved and growed to watermelon

Makeup artist proved she can bring beautiful prerna without makeup

Shekhar proved he can take care of sharmas

Suman proved she can support family

Shivi proved she can keep prerna away from.basus.

Veena proved she can take care of her daughter without husband and support her emotionaly

Prerna proved she can live life without anurag & in his memories..

Kolkatta proved there are good ppl who can support sharmas and give them shelter other than basus..

Prerna got job to prove she is not college dropout

So milestone na so many improvementsšŸ¤—šŸ¤—šŸ¤—

aur mera anu kya prove kiya😔

BombayGirl10 thumbnail

Originally posted by: TakingAStand2

Hey, it went up, it went up, and it’s not surprising at all since the It’s plausible AP fans tuned in online. And wishing ratings drop cuz things aren’t going your way is futile cuz truth is no one invests in a sinking ship.

That said, online ratings aren’t truly indicative of the Actual TRPs, are they? Cuz 1) otherwise some other shows would be at a higher spot. 2) the first two shows actually weren’t in the TOP 10 when IF posted ratings last Thursday.

Also, people who watch on hot star, is there any ads? If not, does online TRP have any merit over actual TrPs ?

Hey,

From your post even i started thinking as in why starplus shows are in top in online rating over other channels whoes shows are much more popular as we see in weekly tv trp. I think this has something to do with hotstar's reach across other countries more than other rival channel apps. maybe this is the reason i could be wrong too but maybe its possible too.

Hotstar in USA is ad free not sure About other places. I think both online and tv trp is quite different in nature because of number of audiance included in online is not restricted to only india anymore. No idea about merit or credibility of their statstics though.

TakingAStand2 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: BombayGirl10

Hey,

From your post even i started thinking as in why starplus shows are in top in online rating over other channels whoes shows are much more popular as we see in weekly tv trp. I think this has something to do with hotstar's reach across other countries more than other rival channel apps. maybe this is the reason i could be wrong too but maybe its possible too.

Hotstar in USA is ad free not sure About other places. I think both online and tv trp is quite different in nature because of number of audiance included in online is not restricted to only india anymore. No idea about merit or credibility of their statstics though.

I am surprised you think that hot star has bigger reach in North America since it’s a paid subscription in Canada. But you could be right, in that it has the biggest reach out of all the channels.

But you know what, I was reading that neilsen ratings for American shows only count online streaming as viable ratings IF it has the same linear ads as when they air on TV. So if Indian Barc uses the same concept, would online ratings matter since there is no ad revenue?

BombayGirl10 thumbnail

Originally posted by: TakingAStand2

I am surprised you think that hot star has bigger reach in North America since it’s a paid subscription in Canada. But you could be right, in that it has the biggest reach out of all the channels.

But you know what, I was reading that neilsen ratings for American shows only count online streaming as viable ratings IF it has the same linear ads as when they air on TV. So if Indian Barc uses the same concept, would online ratings matter since there is no ad revenue?

Yes hotstar is big in USA now mainly because the dish tv applications such a sling tv and other tv products for international shows are no longer showing any starplue or star related channels and that is the reason why people in usa need to subscribe with hotstar to watch star shows and even cricket sports channels for that matter.

I am not sure about ads but i think they are earning enough profit from subscribers and also partner with amazon samsung and roku that they dont need other ad resources as revenu here. They are trying to operate just like netflix and amazon prime here.

As for TRP is concern i think they just mean viewership and trp is just used a general term. That way they can calculate what works on online base and what not since that is also one resources for them to earn money. So i dont think online trp or viewship isn't fake its just a statstics tool to get the feedback on respective shows.

Edited by BombayGirl10 - 5 years ago
bashful_moon thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Yes hotstar is big in USA now mainly because the dish tv applications such a sling tv and other tv products for international shows are no longer showing any starplue or star related channels and that is the reason why people in usa need to subscribe with hotstar to watch star shows and even cricket sports channels for that matter.

I am not sure about ads but i think they are earning enough profit from subscribers and also partner with amazon samsung and roku that they dont need other ad resources as revenu here. They are trying to operate just like netflix and amazon prime here.

As for TRP is concern i think they just mean viewership and trp is just used a general term. That way they can calculate what works on online base and what not since that is also one resources for them to earn money. So i dont think online trp or viewship is fake its just a statstics tool to get the feedback on respective shows.

It isn't fake BG. It is the statistics of convenience. Just last week when the online TRP was not as impressive and Show was in the 4th rank, the same TRP was genuine and credible. There was a speculation that it will go down further. Now when it has shot up both in terms of rating points and ranks, it becomes fake.

IMO, online TRP is more genuine and representative of viewership as it represents the viewing by the ones who have paid for the subscription and watching it. I do not however think that BARC trp is that represntative. Just refer to the article below ( this is genuine because this is TOI)...

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/11816.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

In a country with a population running into billions, how representative is the sampling taken from just a few thousand households? So yeah...

Edited by bashful_moon - 5 years ago
BombayGirl10 thumbnail

Originally posted by: bashful_moon

It isn't fake BG. It is the statistics of convenience. Just last week when the online TRP was not as impressive and Show was in the 4th rank, the same TRP was genuine and credible. Now when it has shot up both in terms of rating points and ranks, it becomes fake.

IMO, online TRP is more genuine and representative of viewership as it represents the viewing by the ones who have paid for the subscription and watching it. I do not however think that BARC trp is that represntative. Just refer to the article below ( this is genuine because this is TOI)...

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/11816.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

In a country with a population running into billions, how representative is the sampling taken from just a few thousand households? So yeah...

Moon i just realised i was going to write it isn't fake 🤣 thank you for correcting me i meant what you meant to that its not something fake its a real thing use for business and thats how usually business analystics work now a days too. Thanks for this now i can go any type my missing word šŸ˜…

And well said it really is actually perfect business strategy better than tv trp i think. Your post sums up what i was trying to convey in my recent reply thank you so much šŸ¤—šŸ¤—šŸ¤—šŸ¤—

Edited by BombayGirl10 - 5 years ago
BombayGirl10 thumbnail

Originally posted by: bashful_moon

It isn't fake BG. It is the statistics of convenience. Just last week when the online TRP was not as impressive and Show was in the 4th rank, the same TRP was genuine and credible. There was a speculation that it will go down further. Now when it has shot up both in terms of rating points and ranks, it becomes fake.

They should stop using term TRP instead use something more meaning full for general audiance

bashful_moon thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

They should stop using term TRP instead use something more meaning full for general audiance

Yeah true that... And even if they want to continue using it, they should be installing the measuring device in more households. Refer to the article again (this is genuine too, cause it is economic times)

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/industry/media/entertainment/television-remains-the-choice-of-the-masses-even-in-digital-times/articleshow/65097493.cms?from=mdr

The article says there were 197 million TV viewing households in 2018. Even if one takes 1 percent of that population, the device should be installed in around 2 million households for representing one percent of sample size. The few thousands are not representative at al.l. Hence, I do not find it representative of India's TV viewing demographics whether a Show's rating (i.e. any Show) increases or decreases, barring a few, probably.

So yup... that is it for me.

Edited by bashful_moon - 5 years ago
1019702 thumbnail

Online TRP data is not based on just Online Viewership ..... Hotstar doesn’t even share their subscribers or viewership data .

There is no official body who give out Online data and hence BARC is considered imp .

Gossip tv just collects the episode discussions , trending , articles and views to collate this standings .