SheAish thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

I feel its not anything to do with gender....Its more to do with fangirling.

It could be favorite actor or just for what ever reason the character that you favor what ever their character traits are. People can even talk in favor of full on vamps or villains with no back story or anything to give them a more human feeling other than maybe just their feelings of love or attachment or obsession to another character which they find endearing.

From there on all that the other characters how ever mundane and inconsequential their faults are compared to murder, torture, blackmail, fake rape charges, you name it that those whom they favor do to total innocents, will still be considered better.

I've seen this happen in Beyhad forum and I can bet you would see this happen in Beyhad 2 as well...(Edit: I actually saw a really cool bunch of great jenny fans who are able to differentiate right and wrong even if its fiction and though they lauded Jenny's performance they were clearly against the characters actions and did not want her to succeed in harming all the other innocents in the show and did not ship the male lead with her...Even though I didn't interact with them it felt good to see people being real to real life values even in fiction.)

That is all there is to it I feel. Otherwise I have not seen such heinous crimes and actions lauded as still better than other faults that are nowhere in league with things like murder, torture etc. IF it is fiction people would not think twice calling anything and everything better than what the person they don't favor do....

I don't have a problem people being interested and invested in a particular character no matter how dark they are, but when they justify and say other more positive characters are still worse and deserve to be harmed and what not by these dark characters and gleefully celebrate such actions I feel really disturbed. But I tell myself its only because its fiction and hope against hope it would not have any relevance to real life situations.

What to do as long as famous actors and good looking people are used to portray the most heinous crimes and glorified as such brilliant beings, by makers, there would surely be an audiance who appreciate it too.

Edited by SheAish - 5 years ago
swap26 thumbnail

A very well articulated post Sabhayata..

The posts against Prerna mostly state how they are disappointed in her due to her behavior.

I guess people aren't interested in seeing the journey of a person. A normal human is sometimes weak and other times strong. Some have more affinity to their family than the others. Some break relationship to stay with family, some elope. Some think marriage is most important while for others a happy marriage is more important... But all these are choices of any normal person.

Here people have decided what is right and how Prerna has to abide by it to be liked. I guess this goes for all female leads and hence the thrashing.

As for male leads it's very simple, if you like a male actor ( sometimes character), then the character is justified and can do no wrong.

I have been there too :) Like you I too have watched KZK1 and I shipped Bajaj then, now I just can't.. Same goes for Sujal Grewal ( Rajeev Khandelwal ) from kahin to hoga..

I have written much.. hope something here makes sense 😃

Natalya_bedi thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: swap26

A very well articulated post Sabhayata..

The posts against Prerna mostly state how they are disappointed in her due to her behavior.

I guess people aren't interested in seeing the journey of a person. A normal human is sometimes weak and other times strong. Some have more affinity to their family than the others. Some break relationship to stay with family, some elope. Some think marriage is most important while for others a happy marriage is more important... But all these are choices of any normal person.

Here people have decided what is right and how Prerna has to abide by it to be liked. I guess this goes for all female leads and hence the thrashing.

As for male leads it's very simple, if you like a male actor ( sometimes character), then the character is justified and can do no wrong.

I have been there too :) Like you I too have watched KZK1 and I shipped Bajaj then, now I just can't.. Same goes for Sujal Grewal ( Rajeev Khandelwal ) from kahin to hoga..

I have written much.. hope something here makes sense 😃

Just wanna ask..if had shipped Bajaj in season 1...why couldn' you now?

Bajaj 1 had also done some snehre things ...is Bajaj se bhi badh kar.....

Just asking dear....

Natalya_bedi thumbnail

Many posts are floating on the forum regarding how Prerna is hated in the worst manner while the other characters do not bear the brunt and continue to have a joy ride.

You know I do not like Prerna's character ...and this is not because what she has been doing in the marriage with RB...because I don't think that RB should have that much rage towards her...he has no reason to.

Many are saying she is doing an EMA...but no that term doesn't hold true here....EMA is a different thing.

At the outset..what the makers wanted to convey when loyalty was being served to RB by Prerna ....what does loyalty mean in their books........I fail to understand. She said "mera body soul blah blah" toh I want to know RB ko mila kya.....sari loyalty ka kachra to wahin ho gya......(at that point of time Kuki was not mentioned)...but then too RB accepted because in his mind he wanted a mother for his daughter....so he must have thought "Mujhe ghanta fark padta hai ....jisko soulmate bnana hai banao". He signed up for it because he was not in love with her...and this love thing was no where close to his imagination also. In other words he signed for "what kind of loyalty..God knows".

And Coming to Prerna Mata....why I detest her character........Does she have any self respect........NO..and this thing just annoys the hell out of me. Even before RB entered she used to get SUCH GOOD WORDS from her dearest Kaki Maa....but na no retaliation..nothing..even when it came to her mother. Prerna 1 would have started slapping herself by now seeing this version of Prerna.

Secondly ...she shows ..how much she loves Kukki....but I have never seen her thinking of Kukki like a mother does....she is always like "Thoda pani pee lo ...thoda so jao..phir paani pee lena...phir so jana"smiley5

And the aarti which she did with Anurag...did she have an iota of what could be the consequences. You care for Kukki right.....people are gonna talk about that and this might reach Kukki's ears......not only in BB ..in school too. Aur kuch Kukki ke liye bhi maang lo "Meri Kukki theek ho jaye" ...all the time staring at A...is she keeping her part of the deal. Bajaj cannot think it of an EMA but other invitees can.

And that accident drama....first she defended RB and in a day ..360 degree turn...I am not bothered about the fact that she did not trust RB...my problem was...."Kuch toh consistency dikhao ladki...... mtlb just because someone said someting you will believe him....apna dimaag kahan hai🤔 Believing him or not was her choice ..but my point is..if you are taking a decision..stand by it. Kabhi haan kabhi naa has always been her forte.

But I don't think RB is facing some sort of injustice...he has time n again instilled in her mind that ..she is only Kukki's mother (when Kukki got locked in store room) ..and recently when he was confused about his feelings...he told her "You are only Kukki's mother and let's keep it that way"...........And once she thought also "Agar baat Kukki k bare me nahi hai..toh unhe koi fark nahi padega" so in her lala land....it is like Kukki ka khyaal rakhna hai...aur Baaki sab ki chhootsmiley41Although I find it hard to fathom how she never asks her husband of his discomfort when she talks about Anurag...but it is Prerna here we r talking aboutsmiley18

Also the famous RB's indifference in season 1..was shown at a point of time where RB was fully devoted to Prerna..and she lied to him. It was very cruel of her....but that phase cannot be compared to this phase of season 2

Prerna on the one hand shows that she wants Anurag to move on but from inside she doesn't. And every time she sees him in BB that craving intensifies. So here I think RB shouldn't have brought his family to BB in the first place... now that he realised what blunder he did...he is ready to rectify..but now Prerna Madam doesn't want to leave.

Makers should have taken some inspiration from season 1 to sketch her character.

Mrinmoyi_me thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

I agree with you.. I have always seen this pattern in ITV where writers mostly play with female characters.. Also they tend to turn most grey female characters into negative to a point of no redemption.. Whereas they do the opposite with male characters.. If a male character is grey they try to turn him into a positive character later to show a triangle.. Maybe they do this to please audience..

Persnally, I will treat Komolika and Bajaj similarly for forcing them on Anu and Pre's life..

swap26 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Natalya_bedi

Just wanna ask..if had shipped Bajaj in season 1...why couldn' you now?

Bajaj 1 had also done some snehre things ...is Bajaj se bhi badh kar.....

Just asking dear....

I meant I was naive once and couldn't bother to see the complete picture. Bajaj is pretty much the same, it's me that's changed and can see the same situation from different perspective :)

Bajaj - a smart and ruthless hero material was wow then. Today I can see that he's the one who arm twisted a lady into marrying him. And even if Prerna married him "willingly", had she been asked to marry him without any deal the answer would have been a big "NO". So for her to not feel for Bajaj, but feel deeply for Anurag is very natural.

I hope this helped..

euphoric thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

They have formulaes or as we say stereotypical characteristics where they define how women r to behave and conduct to confide by the norms of our society. So likes of prerna who puts family first, wear indian clothes, upholds the moral principles of society, follows traditions, sacrifice themselves, weave their lives in kitchen around their men and children are ideal women!

And on the other side, women who are selfish or displays any raw emotions or holds western values are vamps staying on the fringes of right and wrong. And so once they fell on the other side, they are condemned.

Whereas raw masculinity is worshiped. A trait tht men r stronger, they need to protect their families and provide for them. Male chauvinism is not considered bad instead brings for a cheer and ppl fell for tht sickly objectivity. We all wanna see that macho man who holds in them to twist the world around their fingers.

ITV just adopts new technologies to produce the content. Packet naya... Soch wohi... Content bhi wohi... Unfortunately its regressive and promotes false notions if u r nt careful to separate reel from real.

Natalya_bedi thumbnail

Originally posted by: swap26

I meant I was naive once and couldn't bother to see the complete picture. Bajaj is pretty much the same, it's me that's changed and can see the same situation from different perspective :)

Bajaj - a smart and ruthless hero material was wow then. Today I can see that he's the one who arm twisted a lady into marrying him. And even if Prerna married him "willingly", had she been asked to marry him without any deal the answer would have been a big "NO". So for her to not feel for Bajaj, but feel deeply for Anurag is very natural.

I hope this helped..

I repect your views buddy...but was just curious to know what made u like season 1 RB😊
Antara123 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

True that! This show is exceptionally poor in executing the female lead. However, I agree. Komo gets some villainous, vamp BGM and Bajaj gets some stud, alpha male BGM. I am focusing on the BGM alone coz that sort of determines the arc of the characters. A and P get the righteous, truth upholding BGM, I keep focusing on Bajaj's, coz I want to know what their portrayal of him is, despite people's perception of him as a villain. And despite interpretations, they don't portray him as one. Whereas, Komo could have also been portrayed as grey, but she's not. 😆 It's just sad, that's all. If a woman wants to desire anything, and she says, "He's mine. So back off." She's evil and not grey. Women can be grey too. Very few portrayals of them as such. And it's kinda sad no one ships Anurag and Komo, at least I haven't seen anybody shipping them here. 😆

Rafangirl thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5

that s how ek shows all abt...